02038483611
Good evening, we have expert advice,
cruise reviews & exclusive cruise deals
on the widest selection of cruises
online... about Iglu.
Enter Cruise ID
Expert Advice and Booking
0203 848 3611
We're Closed

MSC Armonia Reviews

A great range of MSC Armonia reviews written by our customers. To write your own MSC Armonia review click the link on the right.
Average rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6 (from 42 reviews)

6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6     (6)

5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6     (11)

4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6     (10)

3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6     (11)

2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6     (3)

1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6     (1)

Search For Cruise Reviews

Cruise Line
Cruise Ship
Destination

Latest MSC Armonia Reviews

User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 05 Feb 2017
Author: Nigel & Mandy
Summary:  Our first experience of cruising, 10/10 for this 14 day Cuba, Jamaica Mexico, Honduras Belize Caribbean islands. I had read some poor to average reviews of MSC and this ship, but I have absolutely nothing but praise. No queues getting on or off ship, or at lunch/breakfast meal times, restaurant service and food was excellent. Staff were very attentive kind and happy. All inclusive drinks package had no limits (except champagne) so excellent value for money. Food was fresh, good choice daily and always hot, even the lunch buffet was replenished regularly during service. Hardly any brits on board - about 15% , mainly friendly Italian french and Germans. The evening shows were the only real negative, three of them brilliant and the others just ok. We had a lovely spacious spotless cabin with a housekeeper who really excelled. Felt sad leaving, and will book again for next year.
User Rating: 2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6
Date: 05 Jun 2016
Author: Drew
Summary:  This is a review about the MSC Ammonia cruise around the Mediterranean Islands for 7 nights from the 28th of May 2016. The ship holds around 2,600 passengers and is considered medium sized. The clientele are European, Italian, French & German, with around 5% (max) English speaking Embarkation – after all the horror stories, this was really easy and there were no queues or fuss, maybe we were lucky? Arrived at Genoa airport, directed to the coach, apart from the coach being very warm inside everything went smoothly and arrived at the port around 10-15 minutes later. Short walk to hall and very easy process of getting cards. As per usual, immediate pressure of selling extras. We bought 15 coffees on board. Found our cabin easily our luggage arrived around an hour later. This could be likened to a ferry as people embark at nearly every port, therefore there is a safety drill every day (you only attend one). Rating: Good The cabin – double, with balcony, not large, but big enough, can see why some have said balconies are small, may not be considered deep enough by some, but fine for us. Shower in bathroom all well laid out though again small. No comfy chairs/settee in room, but safe behind mirror (opens on left hand side). Enough hanging space and cases under bed. Friendly steward keeps it nice and clean. Rating: Average Food – firstly with one of us being a vegetarian the choices were exceedingly limited and sometimes there are no choices at all. There are three options main dining, buffet, in room (pay for depending on board/ room choices). We were in La Pergola on floor 6, a table for 2 and had an allegro drinks package (5 wine, 7 water) with evening meal that was fine for us. If you are in the main dining room on deck 5 Marco Polo it is much noisier and seemed frenetic, especially as it had the kids in there. In main dining room, squashed in, not a lot of room between tables, not seated next to other English speaking people, we had Germans either side and couldn’t really talk as our German is non existent and their English was not great, we/they tried. There was an American couple diagonally opposite us and it would have been great to sit next to them. The waiters were helpful and friendly. The food delivery was interesting. They took your order from 6 courses, no coffee: Appetisers, soup, pasta/risotto, salad, main, dessert. You had one or two choices for each and did not have to have them all. However they arrived two at a time, so if you ordered 4 of 6, and your partner 3. You were eating your main course when they were having desert. The waiters served a dish to everyone in their area at the same time! The food generally was reasonable but only occasionally hot. For us only a few dinners were good all the way through. The room service has a limited selection and may have a charge – depending on your grade. The main buffet area is on deck 11 and the actual seating area is very limited and around the food counters can be a crush! The best buffet bit for us was the fresh pizzas and the pasta. Hamburgers not great but OK. At meal times this area was just too busy. Water is available here, but you are not supposed to fill up any bottles but lots do, as there is a charge for water otherwise. Breakfast is either in the buffet or room service or main dining deck 5. Unless you have booked the top grade then this is buffet too. There is a coffee shop but it is a charge. Sit at a table and wait for the waiter, hopefully they will come quickly. If you ask at the counter you get put behind all the table orders and can wait ages. They also do small pastries here. There are bars but we didn’t frequent them. Be aware as the non-smoking policy is different, in certain areas smoking is allowed, e.g. the English bar/pub. Rating: Poor Onboard Activities – very limited if you don’t want to baste yourself all day in the sun (this is what is expected). There are dance classes, fun and games for children, bingo, table football & tennis and others. A number of pools, kids water area etc. The mini golf was our favourite. They had a number of quizzes but even on rainy days only a few people participated. The main theatre is curiously laid out with two sets of seats per tier, in order to see clearly you need to be in the front set so arrive early as these get busy very quickly, the shows only last half an hour and are mainly visual, but good. Three shows per night. Rating: Poor Excursions – our comment about English is relevant to 2 of our excursions being cancelled, due to “lack of interest” this means not enough English speaking people wanted the tour, first MSC staff blame the tour operators, then lack of guides, when you point out the contract we have is with them and not their sub-contractor, they then quote the small print at you. We selected another tour on one occasion, yet that was run in dual language, English and German, so why couldn’t they do this for the one we originally booked? Also they know beforehand that some tours in certain languages are not likely to run e.g. English so put this warning on the web site especially the msc one! As we booked this cruise because of the destinations and wanted specific excursions that “were not available” and MSC don’t give a fig! When we tried to find out times and runnings of other excursions again it is a lottery what they say and whether you can believe them. When we were speaking to the manager, after one had been cancelled, I asked that due to our weak walking capacity, could we reserve the front 2 seats which he said he would do immediately. The next day we walked slowly to the bus and found there was no reservations! When asking his staff later they said we had to take that sort of requirement up when we collected our numbers from the relevant staff at the time, this would then be called through to the coach!!! The manager obviously doesn’t care so neither does his staff. In total 3 of the excursions we wanted to go on were cancelled and the number that were offered and then cancelled virtually every day was ridiculous. Totally unacceptable and unlike the other cruises we have been on where they got overbooked. We ended up on a Rome on our own excursion, went to see the Forum. After a day out, we arrived back at the coach for the allotted time, however a group of ladies were nearly 45 minutes late. This was despite being told by the MSC rep, the guide, both in several languages, what the time back was (16:45) and given a piece of paper with it on plus a phone number to call if they were going to be late. They had decided to go on the hop-on hop-off bus and arrived back late. We were left just waiting and the passengers were getting very agitated. When they finally did arrive, no apologies or anything, even to the guide. So rude! The driver got us back to the ship only 10 minutes late for departure. There should be a fine for making us late, say over half an hour that should be given to charity? The local guides on Minorca and Sicily were great. Ratings: MSC Staff Absolutely Terrible! Local guides and drivers - Excellent. The staff – the reception and excursions staff, clearly could not care about you. They have set things they can do and if you ask outside of those parameters they can’t /won’t help. The excursion manager lied to us and so did a number of the staff, just to stop dealing with us. I would go as far as to say they were rude. This is just not the sort of service to be expected. Had word with Houcine, who is the English/French guest relations person on board. Only found this out when attending disembarkation talk on the second from last day. On the daily sheet it says hospitality person and he said at the briefing no one had come to talk to him, that is because we didn’t know what he was. Stated about excursions and lack of choice for my wife as a vegetarian, he talked to the restaurant management and they added another option for that night and were attentive, however it was back to normal the final night, with just soup a salad and a main. Went back and saw him after final meal to point this out again. The restaurant waiters are great and very friendly/helpful. Rating: Terrible – apart from waiters ( good) Disembarkation – pink luggage labels, on main bags and outside door for 01:00. Had to leave cabin by 07:00 even though docking at 09:00. Suppose it was due to the 1,000 plus guests departing at Genoa, but even so seemed early. Supposed to be bag drop off area for hand luggage, but couldn’t find it, so ended carrying hand luggage around. Disembarkation at 09:45 from main theatre. Announcement made at 09:45 for pink, exited ship, found luggage and coach to airport. Again couldn’t have been more straightforward. Rating: Good Conclusions – if you want good food and decent entertainment do not come on an MSC cruise, unless you like lying in the sun all day, which you can do cheaper elsewhere. Being in a minority as English speaking also makes a difference, not that it should be an issue, apart from the cancelled excursions. If you want politeness from the majority of crew and passengers, again this is in short supply – people barge into lifts before you get out and they will fill a lift up even if it is going in the wrong direction, plus requests for them to wait simply don’t apply to them, this is probably a European culture issue. We’re told by Houcine that new ships and ethos in for 2017. It has a long way to go, to get us back on an MSC cruise. Have filled in email for getting survey and been promised this will be taken seriously, we shall see! Overall we would place this experience as the worst so far of our 4 cruises (others being Oceania 5*, Celebrity 4* and Royal Caribbean 3* – in that order). MSC would get no more than 2* at best.
User Rating: 1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6
Date: 27 Apr 2016
Author: M Whatton
Summary:  I have cruised on the msc splendida, thought this a well run ship and i had a wonderful time. But the Armonia I did not like this ship at all. I have been cruising foe 25 years ,cabins were clean ,that's about all I can say. information desk crew very unhelpful, entertainment crew to young thought more of themselves than the guests, except for dance teacher, the buffy restaurant was a nightmare no where to sit and eat. the other restaurants no better, keep waiting hours to get back on ship after trips.
User Rating: 3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6
Date: 30 Sep 2015
Author: James Harris
Summary:  I forgot to mention that Disembarkation was an absolute car crash! 100's of people going off the ship to collect their luggage in a small holding area then going to the coaches for transport to airports. One member of staff to deal with 100's of passengers, come on MSC! No numbers on the coaches and they also had the tour coaches next to the transfer ones ,it was an absolute mess for everybody .A couple on our coach,when we finally got on it , ended up on ours as there bags went away on another !?? . I do not think its hard to put names next to a number on a coach, its not rocket science is it. Just to finish, Genoa airport check-in was a nightmare! James Harris
User Rating: 3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6
Date: 30 Sep 2015
Author: James Harris
Summary:  Had 7 nights on this ship in the Mediterranean 19/9/15 - 26/9/15 with my wife. We are from Scotland age 55 and 52. Didn't know what to expect as only our second cruise but everything was good apart from some of the entertainment on board .I felt most of the bands catered for the Italians, French and Spanish .They ruled the roost as far as we were concerned. There was people from a lot of other English speaking countries but I don't think MSC were really interested in us, in my opinion. It was a good cruise, met some fantastic company but would probably not go with MSC again for a while, well not in the Med anyway. Staff great, cabin steward was amazing and so were the waiters and entertainment staff but the Disco at night only catered for the younger generation at night, am not ready to go to bed yet at 11pm! Regards James Harris
User Rating: 3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6
Date: 15 Jun 2015
Author: Margaret Brown
Summary:  As Golden Oldies we now know that we appreciate the smaller ships as the size takes a lot of getting round. It would help on the MSC Cruise if on the tables there was some type of container for waste in fact this applies to the whole ship. When you reach our age service and comfort is what you are looking for. The Cabin St eward was wonderful as was the waiters etc. at dinner in the main restaurant.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 08 Jun 2015
Author: Christine Forkins
Summary:  The ship was spotlessly clean, including the cabins, restaurants and communal areas. The crew were friendly and professional. I thought the times we were in port were somewhat accentric (but perhaps this was when they could get clearance to enter the ports). For example, we docked in Palma at lunchtime and stayed till 23.00 and then arrived at the next port at 14.00. I think it would have been better if we had left Palma earlier (most of the people were back on board by the early evening) and docked at Valletta in the morning. Other than that, everything was excellent.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 25 May 2015
Author: Donna Lee
Summary:  A lovely modern ship. Clean and well maintained. Food in main dining room was not as good as we usually get from other cruise lines but self service was very good with a great choice. The only draw backs for me were the fact that you could smoke on certain areas inside the boat such as 'The English Pub'. This i found this very off putting. My second moan is the size of the showers in the cabin. We had Ocean view cabin and the shower was tiny. I am pleaed we are not big people otherwise it would have been a nightmare. All in all a very nice casual holiday.
User Rating: 3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6
Date: 18 May 2015
Author: Nick Milne
Summary:  Hi, Just returned from a 7day cruise around the Med with MSC. Although good value, I would have been disappointed if we had paid their full price for this cruise . The ship has been extended and is being promoted for families, the problem is the self service area has not been extended although other areas have been especially the kids plying areas. It was carnage in a morning getting something to eat ! Steer away if your are a mature couple or would like some quiet time
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 13 May 2015
Author: Ian Bramford
Summary:  Once again great time had by all on board MSC Armonia. If you are looking for a relaxed cruise line, not to stuffy this ship has got to be for you. Everybody on board seems intent on making your stay as wonderful as possible. We were upgraded to a better cabin, we were given £100 cabin spend and given as an upgrade the Mid range aggrissmo drinks package, which was wonderful. Well done Iglu may you continue to operate forever.

Book with Confidence

We are ATOL Holders and members of ABTA for your financial protection.


Iglu Cruise 10 years
Search Cruises
Your Shortlist

You do not currently have any cruises in your shortlist.


What our customers say

"I can safely say Iglu has been the best holiday agency I have ever used. Your customer care both pre and post cruise has been second to none. I will definitely use you again and recommend to family and friends. Thank you once again"

Anna
(October 2017)

"I booked my first ever cruise on Tuesday 5th September 2017. After lengthy searching and much deliberation we booked through Iglu. So far, I am incredibly happy I booked with Iglu. This being our first cruise Debi proved very helpful. I was [also] very impressed with the level of assistance offered by Connie. She answered my questions and put my mind at rest. I am very impressed with all aspects of dealing with Iglu and I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for all your support. "

D.L
(September 2017)


Read more feedback