Norwegian Star

Norwegian Star Reviews

View Cruise Deals
4.2
Based on 36 reviews
Cabin
4.2
Service
4.2
Excursions
4.2
Dining
4.2
Activities
4.2
Value for money
4.2
Entertainment
4.2

Too much reliance of the slow tenders - long waiting times, less time at the location. Entertaining fairly poor. Food was fantastic - even the garden café buffet. Service was very good. Resorts crowded with up to 5 cruise ships in at the same time. Overall, a good holiday, but could have been better.

Verified customer
1 cruise
23 Sep 2019

We enjoyed the food and the kids club. We were disappointed that there was only one (small) swimming pool, which was high in chemicals. We should have checked before we booked but we didn't think that a ship cruising the Greek Islands in the school holidays would only have one pool. It was also very loud by the pool - music blasting all the time. Even around the promenade deck there was always music playing. Why? Perhaps catering for the USA market? Our cabin very comfortable apart from the sofa bed which was way too small for an 11 year old.

Verified customer
1 cruise
26 Aug 2019

My friend and I were very impressed with our cruise. Everything was excellent, the staff, food, excursions.

Verified customer
1 cruise
29 Jul 2019

I was not happy about the booking I did with you Reason when I arrived at Barcelona airport there was no body to pick me up I had to wait three hours to be picked up from airport It took nearly six hours to reach cruise liner which was suppose to be one hour journey Guide who came did not know much about the timings Again in venice I had the same problem No body was there to pick me up and even cruise liner people were not helpful My other group was waiting for me at the hotel to join them which I missed It stressed me out Ramesh 

Verified customer
1 cruise
2 Jun 2019

I chose the cruise due to the itinerary but can’t say I was impressed with NCL. The cabin steward was first class but supervisory staff in the ‘clowns’ self service restaurant were negligent, turning a blind eye to people filling water bottles from the drinks machines. Hand cleaning was very hit and miss and numerous soap dispensers in the various gents toilet were either broken or empty during the cruise. The food was generally very good, however. Evening entertainment was generally good but there appears to be a lack of co-ordination of some onboard activities, with many taking place during time when people on shore. I cannot see me booking with them again, but at least I have had the experience. The highlight for me was the way Iglu demonstrated real customer care. Thank you.

Verified customer
1 cruise
31 May 2019

Returned a few weeks ago from the Panama Canal aboard Star and have to say we had no complaints anywhere. About 20 years age we sailed with NCL in the med. and vowed never again but we are now converted! Chose this for the itinerary and we were not disappointed. Lovely balcony cabin and good sized bathroom. I've never had a bath on board before, which meant plenty of room for hubby to shower, unlike some where he hasn't room to turn around, and he's not that big. Shower gel, shampoo, soap and body lotion all there. Didn't meet our cabin man for a couple of days, but everything was spotless, he even filled the ice bucket each day. Used Versailles for most meals - the garden cafe was always heaving and we like to be waited on, we are on holiday after all. Can't say we had a bad meal in fact the beef was always particularly good. We tried to get a table with Miguel each night he was so attentive but found all of the staff to be extremely friendly and kind. Booked a trip in each port of call through NCL all most enjoyable although not much to see in Nicaragua. Our guide Irene in Costa Rica was so interesting and knowledgeable we could have stayed for days, and the Panama Canal was so interesting. Ships own singers and dancers were brilliant - memorable can can with Amy from London leading -although at times seemed to be competing with the band, also good but very loud. Dreadful hypnotist who had 18 people on stage but didn't manage to hypnotise anyone! So the usual variations. On arrival in Miami we had booked NCL's trip on a bus around Miami, then to a shopping mall before being dropped at the airport for an evening flight back to Heathrow. Far nicer than sitting in the airport all day. Ç

Verified customer
1 cruise
29 Apr 2019

2nd time on this ship and was very good again. Iglu arrangements re transfers and hotels were excellent. Food on board and drinks package was 1st Class. Only 2 irritants ...... we had the premium meal package, but was told on the 1st day the Cagneys Steakhouse had been fully booked 3 months previously!, and NCL refused to allow a 30 minute advertised internet addition because I had purchased the qualifying package on NCL site and not on board the ship.

Verified customer
1 cruise
19 Oct 2018

Amazing staff and ship, but the standard entertainment and bars closed too early some 10.30pm. Also I did not like the way we had a drinks and food package, but when on board were given additional information informing us we could not use some restaurants without paying a supplement.

Verified customer
1 cruise
15 Oct 2018

Our holiday was fab thankyou so much for your attention to detail on our trip to Lake Garda train to Venice followed by our cruise on the Norwegian Star. All transfers were there on time and our whole holiday was problem FREE thankyou Iglu

Verified customer
1 cruise
9 Oct 2018

The ship did its best as we were in a hurricane everything was creaking and clanking all the outside seating was lashed down for most of the holiday beware balcony cabin 8012 very small toilet blocked 4 times. Bedding was ripped and even though we asked only got ice for drinks in the room only once. The weather could not be helped but more could have been done in the entertainment on board as we couldn’t go on deck because of the wind . All in all we were glad to come home.

Verified customer
1 cruise
7 Oct 2018