02038483611
Good afternoon, we have expert advice,
cruise reviews & exclusive cruise deals
on the widest selection of cruises
online... about Iglu.
Enter Cruise ID
Expert Advice and Booking
0203 848 3611
We're Open

MSC Preziosa Reviews

A great range of MSC Preziosa reviews written by our customers. To write your own MSC Preziosa review click the link on the right.
Average rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6 (from 22 reviews)

6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6     (5)

5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6     (6)

4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6     (3)

3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6     (2)

2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6     (0)

1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6     (6)

Search For Cruise Reviews

Cruise Line
Cruise Ship
Destination

Latest MSC Preziosa Reviews

123>
User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 20 Oct 2017
Author: Johnboy
Summary:  So we had booked an AI deal on Preziosa from Soton to Genoa and here is my review. I'll just say here that we have sailed on NCL, RCI and P&O before so I will try to not compare with those. Checking in and getting on was very quick (less then 40 mins from arrival at the port). First of all we went to cabin to collect our cruise cards that were waiting for us on the bed. Perfect. Then to meet up with our friends and begin to explore the ship. We were on deck 12 and here is what we thought of the room. Standard balcony room however with the wardrobe being by the front door it can be very tight to move around by the bathroom/wardrobe and cabin door. Enough hanging space for 2 people for one week I would say. About 7 small drawers in location too. Large double bed which I found very comfortable tbh. Phone, Hairdryer, large mirrors, dressing table, fridge, small TV all in place. Aircon but didnt get that cool. Bathroom was standard with a walk in shower and seemed bigger than other ones we have stayed in. Service was perfect for us by Dadi. No turn down service though? I'll talk about the food next. We were given 2nd sitting in the Golden Lobster for a table of 6 (just our party). Our waiter looked glum! And he was glum, at times service seemed to be a chore and quite slow. In fact I have never had to order my desert at the same time as my starter and main meal. Not good. Our wine waiter looked sad all the time too but he was much better and so he got a large tip from us all after the cruise. I was worried about the food as I had read so many different things about it. The portions were small! And I mean small...... The cheese plate was awful, elements were missing from the description from the menu. Like a crumble with no crumble? It got to a point where we ordered chips with every meal and 2 main meals each. The saving grace was the AI drinks that made the whole experience funny. Keep the wine flowing please!! Food in the buffet was good in comparison although don't be late for a sitting as it will be gone. Everyday there are burgers, chips and strange sausage. Pizza galore and salads. Always a carvery on too. Plastic plates dont keep food warm for long though. Tip, Get a table before food! Entertainment is really lacking on board. The theatre shows are lame and difficult to understand... They last about 35 mins only. The animation team are worse. Stay away from them shouting and singing at every opportunity. Awful... As for the ship, it feels cramped and almost claustrophobic in some places. It lacks finesse all over. Some staff are great and we have commended them on this. What MSC need to get right is the ports and the timings.. In most ports we only had up to 5 hours. We heard the excursions were rushed also. Value for money then Yes, Finesse and fine dining or being spoilt its a no!
User Rating: 1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6
Date: 07 Oct 2017
Author: Joyce Grange
Summary:  Just returned from a 7 day cruise to Northern Europe on the MSC Preziosa. First time sailing with this company i can honestly say it will be the last. Firstly let me say that the ship was absolutely stunning and could not be faulted for style, our cabin (balcony) was very nice and always kept clean, however that is where it stops. The food was disgusting and we never had a decent meal the whole 7 days. I am not a fussy eater, but trying to put a meal together form the selection on offer was bleak. The pizza and hamburgers were tasty but you can't eat that the whole time. Every morning i had to ask for a banana to go with my cereal only to be told they were running out of them and they would bring me one from the back. Butter was also a problem, not always out on counters especially at dinner time again when asking for it they would give you one from under the counter, it was like everything was on a ration. The hand gel was not used often and there wasn't always a member of staff to oversee this. On the subject of the staff they were extremely rude and everything seemed like an issue to them so much so after day three we took the gratuities off which is something we never do as we always appreciate what they do for us, however not this time. The ship was dropping off and picking up passengers at every port so was like a ferry and the turn over of guest were particularly rude (not MSC fault) but i do think the joining of new passengers at every port did not help. The captain never once came over the loud speaker to welcome guests or give update with sailing itinerary which other company's do. I know everyone has likes and dislikes about ships and the company's but like i said the ship is stunning but the rest....you can keep it.
User Rating: 1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6
Date: 27 Sep 2017
Author: Mr F Moss
Summary:  Just got back from our first MSC "cruise". Positives are ship was clean , accomadation to a good standard , we did pay for superior cabin and balcony , so our comparison is like for like with other cruise companies we have used. However the comparison ends there! The food was awful , the service was almost begrudging, not that the staff were rude ! More that they were tired , there just was not enough staff or were ill trained. The concierge reception were inundated with complaints , and, it became apparent some time later that far from being a "cruise" it was a hop on, hop off ferry service , with new joiners and departers in there hundreds at every port of call, which gave the whole experience an " unsettled feel" about it . Any complaint was met with a shoulder shrug and remained unresolved THE. Worst experience on board a ship we've ever experienced ! Think hard before booking !
User Rating: 1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6
Date: 21 Sep 2017
Author: Karen Meade
Summary:  Our cabin was spacious and clean and the fixtures and fittings throughout the ship are lovely, unfortunately that is where the positives end. The itinerary changed on a daily basis on one occasion we heard about the change from a waiter. We never left nor arrived on time at any port. Excursions were therefore cancelled or changed and travel time increased so shortened time in resorts. In Hamburg the shuttle bus was supposed to run every half hour. After waiting 2 hours a passenger tried the emergency number on the boarding card but nobody answered. Customer services had limited English and were abrupt and disinterested in dealing with our concerns. We had a cabin at the back of the ship and everything shook so much we had to use towels to stop doors shaking. We did not sleep any of the nights at sea. We asked to be moved for 3 days but they were not helpful. The buffet food was Luke warm and by the time you walked around to find something to eat it was cold. The best food was the breakfast in the restaurant. Our last day was the icing on the cake. We were due at Southampton at 7 but arrived just before 11. No MSC staff were in the waiting lounge nor when disembarking commenced. This was my second cruise with MSC and my last.
User Rating: 1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6
Date: 14 Sep 2017
Author: Gail Sowter
Summary:  Beautiful ship. Everything else rubbish. Itinerary was belguim, hamburg, Amsterdam, la Harvre. We docked at Belgium, hamburg, rotterdam. They do what they want when they want. Did not set sail on time once. Every one on board ship not happy. Staff not helpful at all. Avoid at all cost.
User Rating: 1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6
Date: 12 Sep 2016
Author: Bill
Summary:  Please don't make the same mistake as we did and book a cruise on the MSC Preziosa. We have cruised with Celebrity and Princess and don't considered ourselves to be unrealistic in our expectation but based on our recent med cruise with MSC we can say that we would never cruise with them again. The embarkation process at Rome was complex with little communication or signage. It was duplicated by doing some things multiple times and skipping important steps like hand sanitizing before boarding. Once on-board you can look forward to the the staff attitude which is one of a general distaste towards customers. If you dare to ask for a drink prepare to risk that being an inconvenience. But don't worry you have the entertainment to look forward to which is heavily catered towards an Italian audience so much of that passed us by and the quality was generally poor. The 2nd seat dining although advertised as 20:30 was in fact 21:45 so make sure to have a big lunch in the buffet which is repetitive and too small to cater for the number of guests. If that hasn't put you off and you go ahead with the booking be sure to check the cabin allocation. We weren't advised of an obstructed view but as the image shows we had one. Not only a bad view but the crew liked to jet wash the liftboats at around 05:30 so don't come on board expecting a relaxing lie in.... Cruise with MSC at your own risk...
MSC Preziosa reviews
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 08 Aug 2016
Author: Marilyn Hill
Summary:  Absolutely amazing first ever cruise. Beautiful ship and lovely staff. Thank you to waiter Antonio (Golden Lobster) for making our week so pleasurable.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 16 Jul 2016
Author: Sharon Bailey, Iglu Cruise Sales Consultant
Summary:  Travelled as a family of 4 on Preziosa in June from Valencia. We booked the Aurea package so had a balcony on deck 14. Great location and plenty of room for a family of 4. Food fab, some good shows. Lovely ship. Definately get the Allegrissimo drinks package at just £20pp per night for adults and covers everything including pasges and pages of cocktails. We only paid port taxes for the kids and got 5% discount off the cruise from MSc for returning. great family benefits
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 22 Feb 2016
Author: Leonard Miron
Summary:  The arrival and the embarkation had indeed a WOW factor. When the transfer bus stopped a butler was waiting for us already, he took care of our luggage and escort us to the special Yacht Club check-in area. A welcome buffet with some nibbles and Prosecco was waiting for us, the check-in formalities were quick and after that another butler escorted us straight to the ship passing all the lines and queues. We spend around 10 minutes in the Concierge area to have our credit card registered and we were escorted to the room. Our luggage was already there. From our arrival at the airport to entering the room we needed only 1h30minutes. Impressive and well done MSC! She is a beauty in a very Italian, Cinecitta style. If you like glitzy and glam, Preziosa is your perfect match. Of course the ship is new, so everything from the upholstery to the carpets is squeaky clean. Having been on a fair few cruise ships over the past couple of years, we expected garish interiors. But MSC Preziosa’s lounges and bars are different . Sure there is the standard opulent staircase and ornate chandeliers but the lounges and all public areas are decorated tastefully, bedecked with subtle colours and modern furnishings. There are 20 bars, including the new Diamond Bar that's one of the quieter venues and two outside pool bars. Others include the Green Sax jazz bar, chic El Dorado piano bar and the large Safari Lounge that hosts smaller shows with a very annoying animation team and has a dance floor. Our favourite place was with no doubts Green Sax with nice deco and good music (especially the mix duo Romanian-Ukrainian); and of course an amazing Romanian bartender, Vlad, who’s cocktails very close to perfection in mixology. BUT … MSC having a very cosmopolitan crowd on board all the announcements are done in 6 languages. Preziosa has nine dining venues, including a buffet that's open nonstop for 20 hours a day from 6 a.m. to 2 a.m. The main restaurants are the two-deck Golden Lobster on Decks 5 and 6, with seating for 1,155, and the panoramic 766-seat L'Arabesque, aft on Deck 6. Both operate two dinner seating and offer identical menus. Breakfast and lunch are served in the ship's main restaurants and self-serve buffet restaurants, the adjoining Inca and Maya on Deck 14, which offer all-day dining and the option of a more casual setting for dinner. BUT…again cutting the costs showing the results. The dining experience is far from a Mediterranean experience and you wonder where the famous fresh, spontaneous, inspirational Italian cuisine disappeared. While adequate, the food was not particularly fancy in terms of presentation. Courses seemed rushed, and the wine service was rather haphazard, with wait staff acknowledging empty glasses but not returning to replenish for some time, if at all. Similarly, in the buffet restaurant, there was a feeling the team hadn't really gelled. Some staff couldn't have been more helpful, while others barely made eye contact, let alone smiled.
User Rating: 1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6
Date: 09 Sep 2015
Author: John Campbell
Summary:  This was the worst cruise I have ever taken. The main criticism is the standard of the food.. always cold, same every day and poor quality ingredients used. The main attraction of a cruise is the high standard of the cuisine but this food was on par with a 2 star all inclusive package in Majorca ... where, after two days, everyone ends up eating outside the hotel. Unfortunately, there was no alternative to eat outside as it was a cruise. (on several ports of call we had our main meal before we returned to the ship as we could not face the food onboard. I was in the buffet about 20 minutes before it started serving the main meals and the food has been left out on the hotplates, which had not been turned on (maybe to save on electricity) but they were cold, therefore the food was getting cold from 20 minutes before it was served. I touched the hotplates and they were cold. The quality of the ingredients was very poor and it seemed as if everything was done on the cheap to save costs. I discussed this with fellow English passengers and all agreed that the food was below standard and everyone complained that it was cold. I ate in the main dining hall one night but did not enjoy the meal as the portions were very small - after we had eaten we went to the buffet to eat a little more as we were not served a sufficient portion. This was also echoed by fellow traveller. The level of housekeeping was particularly poor - our balcony was dirty when we arrived - it was covered in sand - I asked the steward to clean the balcony as we had a 1 year old in the room and he said the balcony does not get cleaned until the morning ie the second day of the cruise??? The next morning the baby found an opened safety pin on the floor and the room was not cleaned at all that day (however, the balcony was cleaned). There were dirty fingermarks on the doors, mirrors and mini-fridge, none of which were cleaned throughout the week. The day we arrived, there was no cot in the room for the baby (they knew a baby was coming for many months) I phoned reception who assured me one would be brought up immediately - we went for our first disappointing evening meal and upon our return, you guessed... no cot. Another call to reception and finally at 22:00 the cot arrived. These things may seem small but they simply do not happen on a proper cruise line. I have been on 12 cruises and this was easily the worst.. the ship looks beautiful but overall the company is so far behind P&O, Royal Caribbean etc, no comparison whatsoever. One further thing, the Captain joined everyone for lunch in the main buffet one afternoon and he queued up along with everyone else and he ate the same food etc. He is obviously aware how inadequate the cuisine is and I am sure he has been a guest on one of the proper cruise ships Royal Caribbean, Norwegian etc so in his position he should be reporting to his superiors how bad things are or perhaps there is not enough money to feed the guests properly and he is scared to say anything. Alternatively, he may have enjoyed it and thinks everything is fine .. yeah right, ha ha. A note about the staff - mostly Italian and they look so bored and look as if they do not want to be there. The guys who check the cards when you get back to the ship look so stern that you would think they were Ceasars personal Legionairre bodyguards - not one smile or kind word from any of them, not even to the Italian guests. Also, another simple thing, the main tannoy cannot be heard inside the rooms, you can hear it in the corridor, it is a good job they have nothing important to say..and on nearly all other ships the Captain comes on each morning for a few cheery words which is nice, not a word from our Captain. When we docked at several ports there was no announcement regarding which level you should disembark from (this changed throughout the cruise and we had to wander around to find the exit, again confirmed by other passengers) Maybe there was an announcement , but as we couldn't hear the tannoy inside the cabin, it may as well not have happened. This was a very,very poor cruise and my next port of call is the on-line review sites to warn other potential cruisers. You have so much work to do to catch up with the real companies. I will never find out if you sort your act out, as I will never be one one of the MSC ships again. I consider this entire episode as a very expensive mistake
123>

Book with Confidence

We are ATOL Holders and members of ABTA for your financial protection.


Iglu Cruise 10 years
Search Cruises
Your Shortlist

You do not currently have any cruises in your shortlist.


What our customers say

"I can safely say Iglu has been the best holiday agency I have ever used. Your customer care both pre and post cruise has been second to none. I will definitely use you again and recommend to family and friends. Thank you once again"

Anna
(October 2017)

"I booked my first ever cruise on Tuesday 5th September 2017. After lengthy searching and much deliberation we booked through Iglu. So far, I am incredibly happy I booked with Iglu. This being our first cruise Debi proved very helpful. I was [also] very impressed with the level of assistance offered by Connie. She answered my questions and put my mind at rest. I am very impressed with all aspects of dealing with Iglu and I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for all your support. "

D.L
(September 2017)


Read more feedback