02038483618
Good morning, we have expert advice,
cruise reviews & exclusive cruise deals
on the widest selection of cruises
online... about Iglu.
Enter Cruise ID
Expert Advice and Booking
0203 848 3618
We're Open

Independence of the Seas Reviews

A great range of Independence of the Seas reviews written by our customers. To write your own Independence of the Seas review click the link on the right.
Average rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6 (from 159 reviews)

6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6     (78)

5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6     (52)

4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6     (14)

3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6     (9)

2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6     (2)

1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6     (4)

Search For Cruise Reviews

Cruise Line
Cruise Ship
Destination

Latest Independence of the Seas Reviews

User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 28 Oct 2017
Author: Mrs Susan Mitchell
Summary:  We arrived on board the ship , went to our cabin, & found it wasn't cleaned properly,very dusty ,crumbs in drawers & hairs ,& black mould & hairs in bathroom My mother & I checked the bedding & the pillows were stained & so was the duvet. We phoned housekeeping & they apologised & re - cleaned the cabin. The restaurant Mac Beth was really nice , & the food was superb, & to make it extra extra special we had fabulous waiting staff , Yollanda & Toma's .They scored scored 6 Excellent.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 07 Aug 2017
Author: Juliefreeth
Summary:  Our first ever cruise & not our last , sailed 3/6/17 booked again for following year on same ship , from stepping off coach at Southampton to our cabin was less than 15 mins , food was fantastic, entertainment was fab , plenty to do , never a dull moment , ashore was so easy , staff handled it so efficiently, & the welcome back aboard was great , staff in all departments were so helpful & nothing was ever too much trouble . Our stateroom on deck 6 cabin 6117 was perfect ,extremely clean & the house keeping attendant was superb, hope to see him next year , made some really lovely friends who we are sailing with next too, to sum this holiday up in one word has to be FANTASIC !!!
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 01 Aug 2017
Author: Graham Daubney
Summary:  Trip number three on the Indy this year we went in May so a bit cooler than June and September which were our previous cruises.Met some of the same bar staff as the previous years(wonder why they new us lol).All friendly and good banter as usual.The food was excellent and the ship cleaned to the usual high standard.Love this ship and a refit due next year trip number four coming up.The only complaint I would have was the port terminal getting off.No trolleys no staff to help out but I guess thats beyond RC's control.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 15 Jul 2017
Author: Alan Murphy
Summary:  Hi We have just returned from a 12 day cruise to the Canerys islands. This was our first cruise with RC .The ship was wonderful staff excellent but we have never paid so much for drinks. Glass of house red wine £10, bottle of zinfandel £29, which was the cheapest, a bottle of bud £6 plus 18% gratuity on top
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 05 Jul 2017
Author: Pelham Ship
Summary:  A memorable occasion for all concerned. Much appreciation for the efforts of the crew as well as the helpfulness of IGLU staff at every stage. Thank you! Pelham Ship
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 22 Nov 2016
Author: Drew & Isobel
Summary:  We had a fantastic time aboard the ship on our 15 days cruise round the Caribbean islands and to say the food was good is an understatement as we dined mostly in the windjammer and the entertainment was first class the guys and girls were brilliant and put there heart into everything they did and our balcony room was immaculate and very comfy too and all the crew and staff and waiters and the chefs couldn't have been more helpful so a big thank you to your company for giving us a wonderful time on our first ( hopefully not our last ) cruise Thank you very much
User Rating: 1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6
Date: 28 Oct 2016
Author: Rw
Summary:  We have just returned from a three day cruise on this ship. We wanted to try RC as a comparison to other cruise lines. Never again! This company is all about making money, which they do by charging ridiculous prices for drinks (plus 18% gratuity), charging for shuttle services, charging for any alternate eating experiences, restricting the buffet restaurant opening times and not opening a restaurant for lunches. In addition, our cabin was filthy and bedding ripped. We complained and the room was deep cleaned and staff were very apologetic. Despite the website stating there would be one formal night on this voyage, there wasn't. All evenings were casual. There was one positive in that we arrived at the terminal at 10.55am and we were on board by 11.15am. Having cruised on Thomson, P and O and Cunard, RC definitely comes last. Very poor value for money and more like Butlins at sea but four times the price.
User Rating: 3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6
Date: 22 Jun 2016
Author: Ann Fuller
Summary:  We have just returned from 2 weeks on Independence around med. The cabin was very small in fact so small we asked for the bed to be split as there was no way round it. It was touching a sofa one side and the units the other. My bed dipped in the middle and gave me a bad back, and the mattress topper was falling apart. This room needs a refurbishment! The TV did not work, we reported it and it was taken away and returned several times over 3 days but it still did not work until day 3 it did off an but we could never get a signal. This also happened even if we were in port! The weather was brilliant and the staff excellent but the ship is just so big getting everyone on and off it was a nightmare standing 45 minutes in sun along side to get back on as a minimum. The one and only tender port took us 3 hours before our tender number was called. Not worth getting off the thing If you have kids who will use the surf rider, rock climbing wall and ice rink. It would be great but for us no WOW factor at all and the food was disgusting I lost 8 pounds in the 2 weeks unheard of for me I usually put weight on. I just could not eat, it was either over or under cooked and not good quality and covered in salt,The cold salad meat looked like spam or teddy bear ham just very bad and the hot food was never hot.The staff tried their very best and deserve the praise I would go with RCCL again but not on one of their big ships just stressful
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 21 Jun 2016
Author: Graham Daubney
Summary:  Just come back from my second cruise on the Independence fantastic!.Everything so well run onboard within 20 mins all the crew helpful and polite.The food was excellent and the waiters could'nt do enough for you.Even the wine was poured out for you before you arrived at the table.Bar's were well run both on the pool desk and inside.The entertainment was ok but preferred the west end type show like on the Anthem last year.Guess we will be back next year but not sure which ship yet.
User Rating: 2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6
Date: 29 May 2016
Author: Ian Ross
Summary:  Sailed on a 14 night med cruise on 14th May out of Southampton in a suite. I had previously sailed on this ship 3 years ago for a New Year cruise to the Canaries which was the reason we chose it. Because of work commitments we have not cruised for 2 years but my oh my what a difference. There has obviously been a cost cutting exercise at Royal Caribbean. The quality of the food and service has fallen dramatically. Unusable tea and coffee facilities in our suite, fridge that didn't work, cold food served by room service, robes that didn't fit(god knows how some of the more portly US clients got on), All the problems are too long to list. All reported to our crown and anchor rep but nothing done. There were some excellent friendly staff on board which was always a hallmark of an RCI cruise but the majority looked frightened to death and generally inept. They must surely have moved there experienced staff onto the newer larger ships and appear to be struggling to replace them. I am a diamond member of the RCI crown and anchor society but if this is the standard of RCI's current offering I will be looking elsewhere! RCI should at least give customers what is promised!

Book with Confidence

We are ATOL Holders and members of ABTA for your financial protection.


Iglu Cruise 10 years
Search Cruises
Your Shortlist

You do not currently have any cruises in your shortlist.


What our customers say

"I can safely say Iglu has been the best holiday agency I have ever used. Your customer care both pre and post cruise has been second to none. I will definitely use you again and recommend to family and friends. Thank you once again"

Anna
(October 2017)

"I booked my first ever cruise on Tuesday 5th September 2017. After lengthy searching and much deliberation we booked through Iglu. So far, I am incredibly happy I booked with Iglu. This being our first cruise Debi proved very helpful. I was [also] very impressed with the level of assistance offered by Connie. She answered my questions and put my mind at rest. I am very impressed with all aspects of dealing with Iglu and I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for all your support. "

D.L
(September 2017)


Read more feedback