0203 848 3608
02038483608
Good morning, we have expert advice,
cruise reviews & exclusive cruise deals
on the widest selection of cruises
online... about Iglu.
Enter Cruise ID
Expert Advice and Booking
0203 848 3608
We're Closed

Nieuw Amsterdam Reviews

A great range of Nieuw Amsterdam reviews written by our customers. To write your own Nieuw Amsterdam review click the link on the right.
Average rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6 (from 11 reviews)

6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6     (5)

5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6     (2)

4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6     (3)

3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6     (1)

2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6     (0)

1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6     (0)

Search For Cruise Reviews

Cruise Line
Cruise Ship
Destination

Latest Nieuw Amsterdam Reviews

12>
User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 30 Sep 2018
Summary:  The stateroom was very comfortable and spacious and we liked having a bath as well as a shower but it was noisy. On the whole the food was good but the self service restaurant was very crowded and it was often difficult to find a table even at time when we didn’t expect it to be busy. One had to be served from the salad bar which made it very slow and difficult to choose just what one wanted. It was impossible to book a table for 2 in the dining room in the evening between 5.15 pm and 8pm unless one did it several days in advance. The quality of the food was variable except on gala nights when it was excellent. Space was wasted round the pool by cabanas which he’d to be booked but remained unoccupied almost all the time during our cruise.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 28 Aug 2018
Summary:  Ship good but trips poor
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 28 Sep 2015
Summary:  Just back from a wonderful cruise on the Neiuw Amsterdam, it was the first time with Holland and America but the best ship we have been on in 17 cruises. We booked with Iglu and spoke to a very nice lady called Tina Conlan who was brilliant. She kept in touch by email with every detail and the transfers where there waiting for us, everything went smoothly. We even got an upgrade on the ship to a balcony which made it even better. Have booked another cruise to Australia and New Zealand so i am confident there won't be any problems.
User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 03 Mar 2015
Summary:  Can I start by putting into perspective my review. Our preference is small ships and priorities are destinations, accommodation and quality of food. So HAL for our taste did not hit all the spots. Pros, we were on a guarantee suite. At first we were disappointed to be 2 levels below the suite deck. However, we had an aft suite which was a first and we really enjoyed our accomodation and service from Evianna who was fantastically efficient. Destinations lived up to expectation so no disappointments there. Cons, food overall was disappointing. Generally food was of poor quality, seldom more than warm and unappetising.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 31 Oct 2014
Summary:  Thank You Iglu for a very organised holiday on the nieuw amsterdam and we were very impressed with the two day stay you organised for us in Venice, the hotel was comfortable and the transfers were brilliant.
User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 29 Oct 2014
Summary:  This was a lovely ship, all that you would expect from a cruise ship, the entertainment was a little poor, but then the entertainment team had only just got together before sailing to the Carribean. The food was excellent, although once again we felt the dining room service was slow, but think this is also down to newly recruited staff. The excursions and destinations were wonderful, however we did have a mishap with one tour which the staff booked incorrectly, but eventually agreed to give us our money back. Mistakes happen. I will be going HAL again in the future.
Nieuw Amsterdam reviews
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 05 Oct 2014
Summary:  Can't complain booked last minute on assignment a guaranteed Superior verandah ended up with a Deluxe verandah, bang on mid-ships in fact round the corner from the lift. The cabin turned out to be a special access one which meant it was "huge" with a double balcony, 7 foot bed, huge sofa and an enormous bathroom, we've had hotel rooms smaller! But the best thing? we were part of the Neptune class so that mean't your own concierge access to the Neptune Lounge, free laundry, access to the Pinnacle restaurant for breakfast, priority for the tender and many more benefits, so pleased. The downside, it's completely spoiled us for the next cruise that we will book, how can we go down a scale? Iglu we found very efficient at a competitive price and pleased with the private transfers that they arranged, also proved to be very flexible when arranging the flights. One happy traveller!
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 19 Apr 2014
Summary:  Well done Holland America, had a superb cruise on the Niiew Amsterdam end of August for 12 nights around the Med. Finishing off sailing into Venice past St Marks Square and it's many bridges, a really spectacular finish to our cruise. The food onboard was superb, and the chefs put on some really great BBQs. Hoping to do again this year. Love the ship, and all the crew made it a lovely holiday. 10/10
User Rating: 3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6
Date: 19 Aug 2012
Summary:  Our first cruise. Pro's -- Beautiful ship, excellent, if sometimes over attentive service. Top quality food and service in Manhattan restaurant. Good and varied entertainment in the Theatre and other venues. Cons -- perhaps we should have known better, but too many loud Americans ( America- a land of wide open spaces surrounded by gleaming white teeth ) Who else would complain about the heat in the Mediterranean in August? Did they not know there are some good cruises to the Antarctic? Ships photographers pushing a camera in ones face at every conceivable opportunity, they were most unhappy when I did the same to them! Prices-- ridiculous. On shore excursions totally overpriced as were drinks with a 15% service charge added ( is this optional? I think not) Passengers sleep in cabins not staterooms. I would have welcomed more talks on the culture and the history of the places visited, for example most people had no idea of the geo-physical history of Santorini . Tipping: why not pay the staff a sensible wage!
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 11 Jan 2012
Summary:  Spent Christmas onboard this beautiful ship, in the Caribbean with our two children, 11 and 15. Our 15 year old said it was his best holiday yet. The teen club was brilliant, loads to do and plenty of friends to make. The entertainment was great, the food excellent. Although we sampled the extra charge restaurants, the main dining room was so good, we dined there most often. The staff are impeccable in both appearance and service and the ship was really clean and beautifully appointed. We had two cabins which were a good size, both with balconies. Lovely public rooms, some with excellent views. The family pool has a cover that can be closed in inclement weather, which is a plus and our daughter was in it every day. The adult pool and hot tub are on the back deck and very civilised! We had breakfast out there most mornings. Christmas day was spent on Holland America's private island and again we had excellent service, along with some great shoreside activities. Would definitely recommend this ship.
12>

Book with Confidence

We are ATOL Holders and members of ABTA for your financial protection.


Price Match Guarantee
Search Cruises
Your Shortlist

You do not currently have any cruises in your shortlist.


What our customers say


"I think your company is exceptionally good at looking after the interest of passengers both before and after their holidays and your help has been very much appreciated. I have sung your praises to my friends and I hope this will lead to many more bookings for you including more from me."

Ethel
(March 2018)

"I just want to thank you for making the changes to our upcoming cruise. You have enabled us to achieve exactly what we wanted."

Michael
(January 2018)


Read more feedback