Emerald Princess

Emerald Princess Reviews

View Cruise Deals
4
Based on 27 reviews
Cabin
4
Service
4
Excursions
4
Dining
4
Activities
4
Value for money
4
Entertainment
4

We had a wonderful cruising experience and can only recommend it to our friends and family.

Verified customer
1 cruise
15 Sep 2019

The stateroom was good although there was an obscured view. Staff were all very good, the embarkation was good - no delays. Anytime dining is an excellent idea although 2nd sitting was booked. Both of our dietary problems were handled well by dining room staff, and the food very good but the quality seemed to fall on the last day. There was little variety of desserts, and drinks as usual were too expensive. The shows in the theatre were exceptional and very professional with superb entertainers. The music was too loud around the outside pool and sun loungers were being 'reserved'. The directions around the ship could be improved, but the Captain's announcements were clear, concise and informative. These were often missed if we were in the cabin and the TV was not on. This made it difficult if disembarking for a trip. There was a problem with the accounting system which lost a money birthday gift sent to the ship by our relatives - this might not have been received if we had not queried it with the staff. The dinal disembarkation was good.

Verified customer
1 cruise
8 Sep 2019

The cruise itself was very good with food, wine, housekeeping and reception staff all being good or very good. The ship's policy on dress code was not enforced especially regarding no shorts in the dining rooms. We have unresolved as yet one very serious problem in that my credit card details were compromised leading to a substantial sum being fraudulently claimed. We would like to see Princess Lines adopting P & O's tea and coffee making facilities in staterooms.

Verified customer
1 cruise
2 Jun 2019

Drinks were very expensive boarding on ridicules, e.g. $9 + 15% gratuity for a glass of wine and i would not sat it was a big glass. The menu choice in the fixe time dining was was limited and the food was bland at times, the food in the self-service was good and a lot of choice. Staff were great we could not fault them.

Verified customer
1 cruise
25 Feb 2019

Couldn’t fault the cruise ship, crew were wonderful, and food was wonderful, apart from a packed lunch when on a day trip. It was a miserable wrap with lettuce and a small piece of chicken. Very tasteless! Also we were dissapointed ( and we were not the only ones!) when visiting the James Bond island. ( one of the ships tours) You actually do not visit the actual island but circle around it several times only! There was room for us to land onto the this small island but instead we were taken to a much more commercialised island with shops. On the way back we were also taken to a large jewellery store, which nobody on the bus had any interest in and all people would have rather set for on James Bond island

Verified customer
1 cruise
20 Feb 2019

The cruise to the Hawaii and the Polynesian islands was the best I have had since cruising over a decade ago. The crew and the bar staff were very polite and helpful. The best part of the crew was that the waiters and my stateroom steward were the most helpful and efficient in providing service with no complaints or hesitation. The ship is bit old and needs to go into dock for upgrade. On the whole do not expect too much cheaper products on board. These are expensive and cheaper on the Port shops. Just to give you an example, when we boarded the ship in LA., I was looking to buy Princess own brand Polo shirts, which I also bought on my previous cruise on Diamond Princess. These Polo shirts were advertised 2 for $40 for all sizes. A week before the end of the cruise, there was a sale on board with upto 75% off on all merchandise. I looked at the price of these Polo shirts and to my surprise, they were still 2 for $40 but only for small and medium sizes only. The large and extra large were priced at $24.99. When I asked at the counter staff for the change in price, there was no explanation. I was not the only one who noticed the price of the other items the same or increased but others commented them as well. This is disgraceful and dishonesty on the part of the management not to give any reason for the increase in price when it clearly stated on large bill board at the entrance to the room that the sale is upto 75% off.

Verified customer
1 cruise
26 Nov 2018

Had fifteen fantastic days on board the Emerald Princess, can not fault anything. Can’t wait to go back. Just Beautiful.

Verified customer
1 cruise
24 Oct 2018

Weekend 3nighter with my daughter. Good stuff: The cabin was lovely and spotless. The restaurant food was as expected although we were slightly disappointed with the starters choices ... just a personal thing. Used the buzzers ... worked well and didn’t wait too longThe service was excellent. Brilliant production show. Plenty of sun beds/general space. Never felt overcrowded. Always found a table in the buffet.... lovely buffet food. Not-so-good: the hot tubs on the stern deck were not working ... they were just hot baths, and despite pointing it out we never saw anyone trying to sort them out. (They are an important part of the experience for us). All in all, great!

Verified customer
1 cruise
16 Oct 2018

Excellent cruise and staff/crew.

Verified customer
1 cruise
5 Oct 2018

Over all the cruise was excellent, the places we visited and the excursions were very good. The hotels at the start and finish were very good and the transfers went without a hitch. On the poor side although the ship was good queuing in the buffet for meals was a nightmare, but the food in the restaurant was excellent. I think when we fly long haul the next time we will book extra leg room as it was very cramped sitting in economy for 9 hours and I won’t comment on the food on the flight. We really enjoyed the holiday.

Verified customer
1 cruise
22 Sep 2018