Grand Princess reviews | IgluCruise
0203 848 3615

Over 1.5 Million Happy Cruise Customers

{0} out of 10 Rated Excellent
ATOL Protected
02038483615

Grand Princess Reviews

A great range of Grand Princess reviews written by our customers. To write your own Grand Princess review click the link on the right.
Average rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6 (from 28 reviews)

6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6     (8)

5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6     (13)

4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6     (3)

3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6     (3)

2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6     (1)

1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6     (0)

Search For Cruise Reviews

Cruise Line
Cruise Ship
Destination

Latest Grand Princess Reviews

123>
User Rating: 3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6
Date: 16 Jan 2019
Summary:  Hawaii Christmas and New year.This was our 4th cruise with Princess, our first on Grand Princess. The standard of service from the staff was up to its usual excellent quality. Grand Princess is however looking and feeling rather tired in many areas. There was a greater level of rust visible around many of the outdoor areas. We had a mini suite D620. It is a lovely sized room with a very comfortable bed, and I highly recommend the upgrade from a balcony room. There were a few tiles which had lifted below the toilet and the patio door onto the balcony was almost impossible to open it was so stiff; the handle was hanging off. That was however eventually resolved but left the door draughty. The sofa had what appeared to be a small burn mark and the interior furniture was chipped in places. This may sound rather negative but is simply factual and in no way detracted from us having a great cruise holiday with Princess. We did notice an increase in the bar prices (not helped by the strength of the dollar of course compared to GBP) and felt that the dress code in the formal dining areas was far more casual than our previous experiences, tracksuit trousers or jeans being common place.
User Rating: 3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6
Date: 11 Dec 2018
Summary:  The room was very small and the ship needs some TLC I noticed quite a few leaks throughout. The quarantine procedure they have in place is ridiculous as they still allow you to stay with your family and only restrict the ill person from going out so the family could still be spreading the germs it doesn’t make sense!! My child was not allowed in any of the pools as he is only 18 months old and not yet potty trained we had swimming diapers but he was still not allowed I thought that was very unfair! also it was our honeymoon so wanted to spend some family time together and were only allowed one parent to supervise at a time in the tree house (childs play area) so one of us was left by ourselves for a few hours a day! I thought that was unfair too! the drinks packages are not worth doing a total ripoff! On the other hand the staff in the tree house and dining rooms were very helpful and pleasant and a few of the bar staff were also lovely. The beds were really comfortable and the food was good so it wasn’t a all bad.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 12 Nov 2018
Summary:  The physicality of the ships age showed in parts....but the staff,food,entertainment internal stuctures eere grest.The bar staff ,room stewards were fantastic x
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 11 Oct 2018
Summary:  Entertainment was excellent but we found the selection of food to be disappointing when compared to cruises we had previously done.
User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 22 Dec 2016
Summary:  My husband and I had a lovely cruise to Hawaii on 29th October from San Francisco and found the standard of service and food to be excellent on the Grand Princess. The ship is showing its age and the bathrooms need updating and with all these new elegant ships on the market, I think Princess should address this but it did not detract from the holiday overall. As always the staff were so friendly and our stateroom attendant seemed to work all round the clock. We enjoyed all the entertainment on offer. The Elton John tribute act was fantastic and great comedy acts too. I dealt with Kerry throughout the booking process and she was excellent and always got back straight away if I had any queries. Would definitely book with IGLU again.
User Rating: 2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6
Date: 01 Jun 2014
Summary:  Just returned from 7 day cruise from Southampton to Northern Spain, France and Guernsey. This ship takes 3500 people and was crammed full. Half term, we should have known! The embarkation in Southampton was a disgrace. People waiting for hours to board, hungry, tired children and adults. We were stuck in the embarkation terminal for 2 and a half hours. Never experienced anything like it before on any cruise. This is obviously a ship for families with children so unfortunately didn't suit us, an older couple. We shall not travel with Princess ever again. Stick to Cunard in future. Having said that the food in the formal dining rooms was good,not so good in Horizon Buffet. The cabin was comfortable if a bit on the small side, never been in such a small shower. The cruise was advertised as calling at Bordeaux in France, it didn't, it went to Le Verdon 100 kms away! The only way of getting to Bordeaux was the £50 each coach provided by the ship. It took 5 hours travelling on coach for return journey to have 3 hours in Bordeaux, a complete waste of money. Don't do it, just take the free shuttle to Soulac sur Mer , a pretty seaside place we were told, save your money!
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 08 Jun 2013
Summary:  My husband and I did the Spitzbergen cruise last year, it was fab. Only a couple of niggles, there was no tea making facilities in our cabin and the tea bags on the ship are Liptons (yuk). As we are non drinkers we opted for a soft drinks package which meant we had unlimited mocktails, hot chocolate and ice creams - excellent value for money. As for trips we made our own arrangements with the exception of the trip to see the huskies in Longyearbean - not good value for money as we could have walked there under our own steam - 20 mins walk from the ship. We also paid for the trip to the Blue Lake in Geiranger which was frozen but beautiful and worth the money as we would not have walked up there, the sun shone and it was 23 degrees. We saw Whales breeching which was very exciting and the Captain would announce which side of the ship they could be seen. Would I do this cruise again - yes but not with an inside cabin and not without taking loads of tea bags!!!!
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 08 May 2013
Summary:  We have recently returned from a trip to Hawaii leaving from Sans Francisco. Embarkment went smoothly Princess handled everything with ease. We were on Ahola Deck and had a balcony cabin. The staff aboard couldn't do enough for you. We have traveled with princess before on the Sea Princess. We had anytime dining and never had any problems with getting a table. We always had a table to 2 that's the way we like it. The food was wonderful. I had read on other reviews that people were saying that the drinks were expensive, but personally myself I thought they were no more expensive then we would pay at any restaurant in the UK. My husband is a smoker but we found there was a very nice area for smokers on deck 15 just above the horizon at the back of the ship. There was a good seating area with potted plants and a back steward to get you drinks when and if you wanted anything. It became quite a social area and we made some good friends through going up. There was also around this area an Adults only swimming pool and bar with sun loungers. The trips we went on were also well arranged by Princess. We did go to a few of the shows on board which were good, there was lots to do during the day if you wanted it. I also went to the gym and that was well fitted out and I could always find a piece of gym equipment to use. All in all I would say it was an enjoyable cruise except for the weather on the way out the first 2 days were quite cold as we got closer to Hawaii it got a bit warmer, whilst we were around the 4 islands the weather was great. The 4 days going back were much the same as going so this meant we couldn't make good use of our balcony. I would for sure take another trip with Princess cruises they know how to make a relaxing holiday.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 28 Nov 2012
Summary:  I went on a cruise on the Grand Princess to Scandinavia. I loved the overall expirienced, the food was great and the entartment was superb. I really liked Oslo, we booked a coach excursion as soon as we came out of the ship, you can pay in euros, pounds or US dollars. There is a stop on this itinerary which is a must — the Bronze sculpture in the park Vigeland — not many people stopped, but I can honestly say this park was so beautiful and the artist who made all the sculpture is a genius. We also went to see a medieval village which was fascinating, there was this wooden church which is speactaluar. I liked the Viking museum as well. When we arrived in Swede , Helsinborg to be precise, you notice how the air is so fresh and crisp. I was expecting more from Copenhagen but anyway people have different taste, I really did not like tivoli garden because it's expensive and full of children. We also went throgh the fjords and the view was amazing, unfortunately it was not a full on fjords cruise. My next cruise will be a full one to the fjords because I loved what I saw.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 26 Nov 2012
Summary:  I recently travelled on the Grand Princess to the Mediterranean and it was the high standard you would expect from a 4 star cruise. There was nothing I could fault, from the delicious food that was served every evening, to the great service from all the staff onboard. On sea days there was plenty of activites to keep you occupied, you can play a game of crazy golf up on the top deck, have lunch at the deli at the piazza or chill and watch a movie at the pool. Most night we dined in the main restuarant and being a fussy eater nothing was too much trouble for the waiters. We tried out the buffet retsurant and I was surprised how much choice there was and loved to try out the freshly made pastries and desserts. Its not all about the food with Princess the entertainment was fantastic too, from comedianes, caberat and West End style productions. You could even stumble up to the nightclub and dance the rest of the night away. As Princess is a American-style cruise it really was a relaxed atmosphere onboard, it can be as formal as you want it to be. On a 14 night cruise there were three formal nights with a champagne reception with the Capatain. But if you didnt want take part it wasn't frowned upon. The Grand Princess has been in service since 1998 and some people had said that she was looking a bit tired, but she has undergone a recent makeover and I found the ship with its new piazza, resturants, wine bars and shops very stylish. I stayed in a inside cabin and having travelled on many different cruise lines I found the cabin size quite gernerous. As I have said there was nothing I could fault with Princess, it would really suit couples and families who like faultless service, great food and entertainment with a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. I am already planning my next Princess cruise!
123>

Book with Confidence

We are ATOL Holders and members of ABTA for your financial protection.


Price Match Guarantee
Search Cruises
Your Shortlist

You do not currently have any cruises in your shortlist.


What our customers say


"I booked a Fred Olsen cruise with IGLU last month and was so impressed by the service I received. The staff member I spoke to was Kimberley and she was exemplary. Capable, kind, professional, patient, friendly and knowledgeable. She went through every step of the way calmly and thoroughly. IGLU were recommended to me by friends and I have no hesitation in passing the recommendation along. Well done IGLU and thank you. "

Christina
(March 2019)

"So easy to deal with, I studied the Cruise I wanted, did my research with different company's and returned to Iglu. I had three quotes matching Iglu’s cost, but with one phone call they beat the price themselves by £40 without me even asking, how easy was that! "

Gary
(February 2019)


Read more feedback