Carnival Dream
star star star star half star

Carnival Dream Reviews

View Cruise Deals
4.1
star star star star half star
Based on 11 reviews
Cabin
4.1
Service
4.1
Excursions
4.1
Dining
4.1
Activities
4.1
Value for money
4.1
Entertainment
4.1
star star star star star

Excellent

Verified customer
1 cruise
2 Jun 2019
star star star star no star

I had booked this cruise as a part end of a two week holiday doing Chicago, Memphis and New Orleans where we joined the ship. I had read some mediocre reviews about Carnival so was a little worried about what it would be like but I have to say it exceeded our expectations. The ship had a friendly atmosphere and the food was excellent and the staff in the main dining rooms were amazing and every other night they did a song and dance performance for us which we found was just such good fun and everyone seemed to enjoy singing and dancing along with them... We didn’t use the buffet as there was always a queue but they had a 24 hr pizza place and burgers and tacos etc around the pool and on sea days served brunch in the main dining room till 1:30 pm so lots of different options to eat. Carnival’s ethos is fun fun fun and I have to say they do a brilliant job and I would have no qualms at all about sailing with them again....

Verified customer
1 cruise
15 Apr 2019
star star star star star

Excellent cruise very clean ship good choice of food in self service and in the restaurant no complaints at all but being English we would have liked a kettle and tea/ coffee in the room so we could make a drink first thing in the morning.well worth the money.

Verified customer
1 cruise
4 Oct 2018
star star star star no star

Great food friendly staff would cruise with them again. I have a gluten intolerance and they could not do enough to accommodate me

Verified customer
1 cruise
20 Sep 2018
star star no star no star no star

Carnival Elation. This ship was supposed to have been recently updated but there were many things that did not work. 2-3 elevators were out the entire cruise, 2 whirlpools did not work and maintenance were replacing/repairing tiles during our cruise. There was an empty coke can and a nasty stain on our pillow case upon first arriving to our cabin. The air conditioner in our cabin quit working and required maintenance. The shows were sub par at best. The food was excellent and the shower was amazing (plenty of hot water and water pressure)! the only 2 really positive aspects of the ship. My wife and I really were disappointed We have traveled Royal Caribbean in the past and plan on using them again in the near future. We would not recommend Carnival to our family/friends and we do not plan on using them again based on this experience. The Love and Marriage show should not allow minors at all and should be a night/late night show. i know it says 18 and up recommended but there were children in there who appeared to be 5-6 years old and they should not have been in there. We had an ocean view room on the 7th deck and our window on the outside was filthy. I understand it is not east to clean the outside of the window but we were still disappointed. Overall my wife and I rate this cruise a 4-5/10 at best.

Verified customer
1 cruise
14 Nov 2017
star star star star star

We went on this ship for my husband's 60th birthday and were really pleased with our choice. As cruise virgins we were very unsure what to expect and I did find the thought of sharing my holiday with 3000+ others rather daunting but the ship is so big it didn't matter.WE LOVED IT. Embarkation was a total shambles, with two of the lifts being used for luggage and, being wheelchair bound, everyone sidestepped past me. But one of the stewards, when told of the problem, allowed to use one of the lugage lifts, which put me back to holiday mode. Our cabin was fabulous, very large and well set out. Now to the staff! The service we received was out of this world! Henry, our cabin steward was superb, knowing our names from day one and one waiter, remembered not only our names but our drinks, from the second day. In the restaurant, I felt like royalty, the food, service and ambience was so special and the food was delicious! I tried foods for the first time and loved them all. What have I missed all my life? Also the entertainment was brilliant, very professional It's our 40th anniversary next year so we will be going on the Carnival Dream again . We're totally sold on cruising so thank you to all on Carnival Dream for introducing us to this wonderful world.

Verified customer
1 cruise
4 Feb 2017
star star star star no star

Just returned fron this lovely holiday. 1 week on land Chicago, Memphis then New Orleans... then cruise. 3 sea days lovely and relaxing after a hectic week. Dinning was not very good though. Lots of queuing for breakfast and lunch so when you finally got to sit down and eat, your meals were cold. Evening meals were freedom dinning. Again meals were not hot and served on cold plates and quite a wait inbetween courses. Sometimes not offered coffee had to ask then took ages to serve although all the waiting staff were lovely especially Myra. Who look for us every night even though we were not at one of her tables . She was always upset when we told her our meals were cold and kept reporting it back to head staff but still didn't,t make a difference. Ship was very nice clean and are cabins were very spacious compared to some ships l've been on, always nice to have a balcony

Verified customer
1 cruise
28 Nov 2016
star star star star no star

Love the fact this ship has an 'adults' only deck, especially during spring break with 1200 children onboard. Really need to have a small pool as well to be able to cool down, can't really do this in the 4/5 spa pools though. Lovely trip, ship and entertainment.

Verified customer
1 cruise
17 May 2015
star star star no star no star

The cruise was the second week of our full trip booked through IGLU which encompassed visits to Chicago, Memphis and New Orleans. The following review is based only on the second week, our cruise. The embarkation process was extremely quick and efficient and the cabin was ready on our arrival. The cabin was very well laid out and was spacious and comfortable. All of the staff on the ship were very friendly, hard working and efficient. We chose MY Time Dining and although we had to wait for seats on a few occasions this was a good option. Service of the meals was however very haphazard with long gaps between sitting down and actually being served. At tables of four or more very often two people would have their starters and the others had to wait another 10 / 15 minutes to receive theirs. Some nights the meal would last much longer than others almost twice as long, resulting in missing the evening entertainment. The main complaint however was that although the meals were of a high standard I never once in the whole week had a meal that I could say was hot. By the time the plate reached the table the meal was at best warm. The entertainment on the ship was good with the visiting comedians and acrobats the highlights of the week. In general very good with a good variety of activities on offer. Grand Cayman more of a shoppers paradise than an island to be explored. The major complaint and the one which will most likely stop me from using this cruise line again was their smoking policy. To allow smoking in major entertainment areas such as the casino which was a main thoroughfare to many of the other entertainment areas was I feel ill advised. The smell of smoke permeated many areas of the ship. Smoking was also allowed mid ship on the port side and if you had a cabin with balcony on that side as I did then you had to share second hand smoke and the smell. This policy I can only assume is to appease the many smokers who bring revenue to the company but is far out of line with most smoking policies of 2015. I am not exaggerating by saying that the smell of smoke particularly to a non smoker is extremely off putting. To find alternative routes to parts of the ship to avoid 'the fug' became a necessity steering clear of the port side at all costs.

Verified customer
1 cruise
17 Feb 2015
star star star star no star

We did the Chicago, Memphis, New Orleans trip by train combined with a Western Carribean Cruise on Carnival Dream. We loved every minute of our trip which Mikey at Iglu booked for us. All the hotels were great and the connections and reservations were all in place. The land trip was so amazing that the cruise could have been an anti climax, but it was thoroughly enjoyable, nice ship, great food and friendly crew. We enjoyed Roatan, Belize was really interesting and Cozumel was beautiful. The 3 sea days were a bonus because we actually got to have a rest. Highly recommended amazing value trip.

Verified customer
1 cruise
18 Sep 2014