Britannia reviews | IgluCruise
0203 848 3614

Over 1.5 Million Happy Cruise Customers

{0} out of 10 Rated Excellent
ATOL Protected
02038483614

P&O Britannia Reviews

A great range of Britannia reviews written by our customers. To write your own Britannia review click the link on the right.
Average rating: 4.5 out of 64.5 out of 64.5 out of 64.5 out of 64.5 out of 64.5 out of 6 (from 180 reviews)

6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6     (67)

5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6     (46)

4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6     (23)

3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6     (15)

2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6     (13)

1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6     (16)

Search For Cruise Reviews

Cruise Line
Cruise Ship
Destination

Latest Britannia Reviews

User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 24 Jun 2019
Summary:  The food in the dinning room was exceptional as was the service of our waiters. However, some of the staff in other restaurants were not so helpful and at times rude. Plenty of variety in the buffet. Entertainment mixed. Too many short talks on detox, non surgical face lifts etc which were just selling talks. Could have done with some interesting talks on the areas we were going to visit and or the Vikings etc. Good Gym and equipment. Plenty of classes but many of these you had to pay extra for. Cabin, for an inside cabin was good. Ship clean and tidy. They were not so hot on checking people were using the cleaning facilities before entering the eating areas as I have found with other cruises. A captain with a good sense of humour. Good variety of films on the TV channel and in the Cinema
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 23 Jun 2019
Summary:  This was my first cruise and I could not fault a thing! It was a fantastic way to see the Fjords in all their glory and in such an expensive country the all-inclusive ship was such good value. We tried to go with open minds but were worried about the ship feeling crowded, delays getting on and off, the room being tiny, and generally whether we would hate the whole experience! But it the room (the cheapest inside cabin!) was big enough, had lots of storage space and the 24hr webcam was the perfect window. The ship felt like it was half full wherever we chose to go - be it a bar or a show or anywhere - so we never saw a queue or delay. At the ports we were off the ship in no time and back on again so quickly, in fact in Flam we popped back on for lunch then got off again! The excursions were excellent value for money - 4 hours of sightseeing in Stavanger, railway & cycling in Flam and Kayaking in Olden - we enjoyed them all. The staff on the ship were plentiful, very helpful and friendly. There was so much to do all day and night that you could do as little or as much as you liked. The freedom dining option meant we never felt rushed or restricted in what else we wanted to do. The black tie nights were really nice as everyone made such an effort to glam up which we don't often get a chance to do. The cashless system was extremely convenient. Overall I was very impressed with the entire holiday and have been recommending cruising to everyone I meet! Thank you P&O.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 15 Jun 2019
Summary:  Third time on the Britannia, service gone down a bit since we last sailed on it. Lovely ship. Excursions team rude and overpriced.
User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 13 Jun 2019
Summary:  We had a delay of over five hours getting on to ship, not much information. But cruise was very good.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 10 Jun 2019
Summary:  As we are limited to school holidays we reluctantly booked this cruise on Britannia thinking it would be too big and busy for our taste. However, we were pleasantly surprised by how much we enjoyed the ship. Having been on over 20 cruises previously, we found the food and service in the buffet and main restaurant to be absolutely fine. When people complain about the food on a cruise we can only be envious of how they must be eating at home! We never had any problems getting a table in the buffet at breakfast or lunchtime. There were issues getting a table in the Freedom Dining restaurants in the evening but this is not a problem exclusive to Britannia. We do wonder how with ships getting larger, Freedom Dining can work. We had a very enjoyable evening in Sindhu and thoroughly enjoyed the food. We found the public areas and outside deck space to be perfectly adequate for the number of passengers. However, we missed have the shade of a promenade deck and unless you wanted to pay for the covered area of The Retreat the only option is to remain in full sun. The lack of ship’s staircase midships is a major design flaw; which at least has not been repeated on Iona. We do not bother too much about the entertainment but were disappointed with the limited choice of films in the cinema. The weather was better than expected (we have done a similar itinerary in July and only saw the sun once). The embarkation delay was unfortunate and not a pleasant experience for passengers or staff alike. This was our first experience of such a problem and we commented that it could put you off if you were a first time cruiser. However, once we were in Ocean Terminal the process went smoothly and we were on the ship within an hour. Self-disembarkation was well organised and straightforward. Overall, an enjoyable and relaxing holiday leaving us relaxed and refreshed. We would go on Britannia again.
User Rating: 3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6
Date: 08 Jun 2019
Summary:  Just got back from a 7 nighter. Positives Always somewhere to sit at night Food better than expected Decent entertainment Disembarking well organised Negatives Cabin maid never hoovered the room or topped fridge up with water. Announcements , can’t hear them. Embarkation and muster, complete joke. Ship design leaves a lot to be desired. Service at dinner below par, unless at one of the paying restaurants. People sat in the breakfast area just talking when it’s quite obvious they’ve been finished a while so always searching for a seat. What’s the point of having sanitiser on the entrance to restaurants if no one is going to enforce it, no wonder they get Norovirus outbreaks. Saw loads of people just walking in, and saw people in the toilets not even washing their hands. Internet.....a complete waste of time, even worse than the old dial up. 140.00 for 7 days. No chance of a deck chair up top, people just put towels on and disappear for hours. Will not be going with P and O again, not a patch on others.
User Rating: 1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6
Date: 07 Jun 2019
Summary:  We started cruising with P&O ten years ago, when we went on an almost identical cruise on Oriana for seven days to the Atlantic Coast, including La Coruna and Guernsey. We loved the experience so much we have now been on 22 cruises on various P&O ships, all of which we have enjoyed to a greater or lesser degree. However, if this had been our first cruise, it is doubtful if we would have returned. On the day before we were due to sail, we received an email from P&O asking us to delay our arrival at the ship by 5 hours, as it had been delayed due to “technical issues” returning from its last cruise. Unfortunately we were travelling by coach and this was not possible. although the coach driver did manage to lose a couple of hours by taking us to a retail park, We had to spend some hours hanging around in the cruise terminal. Our original arrival time had been set at 1.00pm but it was 6.00pm when we finally boarded the ship, and 7.00pm when we were allowed into our cabin. This of course had a knock-on effect. We were on fixed dining at 6.30pm so instead of the usual enjoyable first meeting with our dining companions, we ate on our own in the restaurant, still dressed in the clothes in which we had travelled down. Then, instead of enjoying the entertainment on offer, we spent the time unpacking. During this time it was announced that the safety drill would take place at 10.30pm. very inconvenient for parents with young children who could possibly be sleeping. After the drill we retired for the evening having had a very long, tiring and frustrating day. Also, the clocks were put forward that night, so an hour less of sleep. Although still a little tired from lack of sleep, we visited Cherbourg on day 2 in the morning. We were not impressed by the place but it was Sunday and most of it was closed. We explored the ship in the afternoon. Our first impressions were that it was a dark and somewhat gloomy ship in several areas. the artwork was uninspiring and we found it quite difficult to find our way around. In particular, as we were on Deck 8 midships we could not walk down a flight of stairs to the decks below as there weren't any stairs. Throughout the week, we found the lifts were often full by the time they arrived from the decks above as everyone had to use them because of this lack of stairs midships, and they were very slow due to the heavy use. I believe this is a major design flaw. The cabin has a socket for charging electric razors and this is mentioned in the brochure. What this fails to mention however, is that the two round pin sockets are European standard and a standard English 2 pin plug will not fit so we had to go to Reception to get an electric toothbrush, and an electric shaver recharged. The main swimming pools are situated next to each other, in effect making one large pool, and this area is invariably very congested on sunny days. Yet another design flaw, in my opinion , is the main theatre - the Headliners Theatre. This seems relatively small for a ship of this size and the number of passengers and the design is poor, perhaps even getting close to minimum safety standards, There is only one aisle feeding each of the left and right sections of the upper theatre. Therefore iIt is only possible to exit these seats in one direction. Also the aisles themselves are narrower than usual allowing only single file passage conveniently. There is no promenade deck on the outside of the ship, usually Deck7. A major inconvenience to joggers, walkers and passengers who simply wish to sit and relax. One good point here, the Horizon Restaurant on the top deck is well designed and spacious making it fairly easy to find a table. On two occasions the toilets on the upper decks where the swimming pools were situated were out of action and there was a notice stating the nearest available were on Deck 10. On the final day we dropped anchor in St Peterport harbour, Guernsey, and it was necessary to travel ashore via tender. We went to the Headliners Theatre to get a ticket but the queue was very long and we could not see where it ended. So we gave up and tried again straight after lunch. This time we got tickets without any delay only to be told there was a 45 minute wait. After 45 minutes we checked again and were told there was still a 45 minute wait and there were 5 tenders running. No explanation was forthcoming. During the time we had been waiting we had not heard any announcements of tenders being ready for boarding. This really is abysmal organisation. We subsequently timed the tender at 8 minutes from leaving the ship to arrival in St Peterport. Even including the time taken for passengers to get on and off, 5 tenders should be only several minutes apart. I think this ship’s design was driven by accountants with the aim of extracting as much income as possible by compromising on such things as stairs, prom deck, swimming pools, theatre and so on. It was certainly not designed with passengers’ expectations or requirements in mind.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 03 Jun 2019
Summary:  just back from bay of Biscay cruise and loved it, you do have to wait for lifts at busy times but if ones not going your way get in it anyway at least youre in one! very impressed with ship generally and would go on it again.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 03 Jun 2019
Summary:  This was our first cruise and we thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of it. The cruise ship, although huge, never felt crowded. Our cabin was larger than we expected and every detail was well thought out. We're so glad we followed Glen's advice and plumped for a balcony cabin. I was out there on the balcony taking photos as the sun came up over the fjords, without having to get dressed first. We were very impressed with the impeccable service and fabulous food in our allocated restaurant. I never dreamed I would have a separate vegetarian menu that changed every night, rather than just a few menu choices. There was always a great variety of entertainment on offer, and we found plenty of things to suit us both. On port days we were able to stroll straight into town to explore, apart from at Olden where we jumped on the shuttle bus conveniently located within sight of the ship. All in all, a 7 day cruise of the Norwegian Fjords was a perfect first cruise. It definitely won't be our last.
P&O Britannia reviews
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 03 Jun 2019
Summary:  First time on a cruise. The staff were friendly and professional. There was loads to do on the ship and although around 3500 passengers you never felt crowded and always got a seat or table. The ship was immaculate and even when the seas were moderate and it was windy you really wouldn't have known as the journey was smooth. The captain kept us informed at all times. I would recommend this trip.

Book with Confidence

We are ATOL Holders and members of ABTA for your financial protection.


Price Match Guarantee
Search Cruises
Your Shortlist

You do not currently have any cruises in your shortlist.


What our customers say


"I booked a Fred Olsen cruise with IGLU last month and was so impressed by the service I received. The staff member I spoke to was Kimberley and she was exemplary. Capable, kind, professional, patient, friendly and knowledgeable. She went through every step of the way calmly and thoroughly. IGLU were recommended to me by friends and I have no hesitation in passing the recommendation along. Well done IGLU and thank you. "

Christina
(March 2019)

"So easy to deal with, I studied the Cruise I wanted, did my research with different company's and returned to Iglu. I had three quotes matching Iglu’s cost, but with one phone call they beat the price themselves by £40 without me even asking, how easy was that! "

Gary
(February 2019)


Read more feedback