Marella Discovery 2 reviews | IgluCruise
0203 848 3628

Over 1.5 Million Happy Cruise Customers

9 out of 10 Rated Excellent
ATOL Protected
02038483628

Marella Discovery 2 Reviews

A great range of Marella Discovery 2 reviews written by our customers. To write your own Marella Discovery 2 review click the link on the right.
Average rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6 (from 59 reviews)

6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6     (24)

5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6     (19)

4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6     (8)

3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6     (6)

2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6     (2)

1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6     (0)

Search For Cruise Reviews

Cruise Line
Cruise Ship
Destination

Latest Marella Discovery 2 Reviews

User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 18 Jun 2019
Summary:  Having been onDiscovery 1 last year, this was all we were hoping for. The two ships are virtually identical in all aspects, although last year was to the arctic and this was Western Med. We visited some places we havee been tobefore and love, but also some new places: Corsica; Carrera. The cuisine is good although not exceptional but with different restaurants there was adequate variety. Mostly we were impressed by the friendliness of the staff, which seems to rub off on all the passengers - even I wasn't too grumpy! A big plus is that drinks are included, rather than the normal exorbitant prices on cruises, and even better there are no tips to be concerned about. That is a ridiculous US tradition, where tipping is almost compulsory rather than for exceptional service [which, nevertheless we received]. When I recover and am able, I shall certainly look for other Marella cruises before any other.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 19 May 2019
Summary:  super duper
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 18 May 2019
Summary:  I must commend staff and everyone who do theirs jobs so very well ,cabin stewards ,the bar staff waiters ,the most charming captain who you could wish to have in charge ,they resolved quickly 2 concerns ,this 80 year old single traveller says thankyou .
User Rating: 3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6
Date: 07 Mar 2019
Summary:  In comparison with other cruises this was of lesser quality. With the exception of Havana, port destinations only really offered seaside high street shopping and few places for real sightseeing. The optional excursions were expensive and most required the signing of a waiver which signifies that problems might occur. The sea at times was rough and the Marella Discovery 2 was not as stable as one would have expected. The initial muster for emergency procedures seemed haphazard and poorly dealt with. Dining experiences were marred by chilly air conditioning and unduly intrusive loud music (our complaints were ignored). The sunbed rule for towels was not enforced. Cabins were in need of some refurbishment; bed linen and towels were stained/threadbare in places. Having made negative comments, there were the positives of friendly staff, reasonable and varied food, sufficient activity on board and good tender facilities ashore. The weather was good throughout. Sadly this cruise did not measure up to expectations and was a reminder that what appears to be a bargain needs to be evaluated against quality and experience. The rating of 3 reflects this.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 22 Jan 2019
Summary:  Couldn't fault the cruise. Everything was excellent but would definitely book a balcony next time.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 15 Jan 2019
Summary:  Everything went to plan really enjoyed the trip good food excellent drinks package, good entertainment, met some lovely people. Was really proud of the captain, picking up 14 migrants taking them on board, completing all security checks and off course keeping all passengers informed of decisions made. Well done to all Rose Marie
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 15 Jan 2019
Summary:  Fantastic cruise. Everything catered for.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 15 Jan 2019
Summary:  Sorry room number should have said 2528
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 15 Jan 2019
Summary:  Very nice cruise premium flights definately worth the money. All ports docked at were nice and we chose to just do our own thing and venture into the towns met some lovely people. Explored the ship and was drawn to the atrium bar where we met some lovely people bar staff were excellent and couldnt do enough to help and were happy to see you everyday even though they never stopped working they always took time to speak 5 of the staff at the Atrium bar really stood out to us (Made, Ronnell, Petko, Raymond and Maribel) all of these staff always asked how we were and if we was ok for drinks and we made good conversation with them they worked tirelessly serving and making sure customers were very well served and went out of their way to ensure you enjoyed your holiday. The housekeepers for our room (5258) were meticulous always ensuring the room was spotless and turning down beds every night and ensuring the room was equipped with tea/coffee/milk etc. We did encounter some staff at the pool bar which seemed to not enjoy serving people and we didnt feel comfortable drinking there, so only visited that bar a couple of times. The islands restaurant was very well equipped and there was food for every taste all meals were lovely. The snack shack also offered very nice lunchtime snacks and the fish and cheeseburgers were lovely. We thoroughly enjoyed the cruise but think the staff that made us feel very welcome and friendly made it Would highley recommend
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 15 Jan 2019
Summary:  5 Comfortable and clean cabin. Excellent top notch Show Team deserves a mention as West End standard shows - dancers/singers a credit to the company. And the fabulous duo Alex and Georgy. All working together as a great happy team. Enjoyed all inclusive but dining options were a bit hit and miss- could be much hotter too and missed seafood options especially when berthed in such exotic locations renowned for their seafood. Shame there wasn’t a traditional Christmas dinner too. Feel the dress code could be pushed up a level at dinner- shorts and tee shirts should be acceptable in the buffet but disrespectful to fellow diners in the main dining rooms when most people have made an effort. And please employ a pianist for the beautiful black grand piano in the dining room- it would really enhance the experience. Missing a trick there. We felt it to be a happy ship with the presence of Captain Jason around and smiling staff. Will sail with them again!

Book with Confidence

We are ATOL Holders and members of ABTA for your financial protection.


Price Match Guarantee
Search Cruises
Your Shortlist

You do not currently have any cruises in your shortlist.


What our customers say


"I booked a Fred Olsen cruise with IGLU last month and was so impressed by the service I received. The staff member I spoke to was Kimberley and she was exemplary. Capable, kind, professional, patient, friendly and knowledgeable. She went through every step of the way calmly and thoroughly. IGLU were recommended to me by friends and I have no hesitation in passing the recommendation along. Well done IGLU and thank you. "

Christina
(March 2019)

"So easy to deal with, I studied the Cruise I wanted, did my research with different company's and returned to Iglu. I had three quotes matching Iglu’s cost, but with one phone call they beat the price themselves by £40 without me even asking, how easy was that! "

Gary
(February 2019)


Read more feedback