0203 848 3607

Over 1.5 Million Happy Cruise Customers

{0} out of 10 Rated Excellent
ATOL Protected
02038483607

Fred Olsen Black Watch Reviews

A great range of Black Watch reviews written by our customers. To write your own Black Watch review click the link on the right.
Average rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6 (from 38 reviews)

6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6     (18)

5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6     (12)

4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6     (3)

3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6     (4)

2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6     (1)

1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6     (0)

Search For Cruise Reviews

Cruise Line
Cruise Ship
Destination

Latest Black Watch Reviews

1234>
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 11 Sep 2019
Summary:  Most enjoyable with wonderful staff, excellent food, accommodation and entertainment. Iglu staff arranged everything perfectly for us.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 10 Sep 2019
Summary:  It was excellent; everything we wanted and more.
User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 27 Jun 2019
Summary:  Nice ship very clean with good activities. I enjoyed the ballroom dancing tuition but an hour is needed because it is rushed. The breakfast ordered into the cabin always arrived far too early so why have a half hour slot if its not kept to? The guest services staff are not very helpful.
User Rating: 3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6
Date: 10 Jun 2019
Summary:  Chose this cruise because the itinery seemed to meet our rquirements. Unfortunately the captain took the decision not to go to Shetland due to bad weather. While we accept his decision we felt more could be done to make up for this. All the people we spoke to said this was the port of call they were looking forward to the most. Instead we had 2 nights rather than one at Invergordon (NOT a holiday desination) Two buses were laid on at nearly £30 a time to go into Inverness (perhaps to offer this free would have been a nice gesture?) We took the local bus for about £11. Any other attraction was a long trip and expensive. Other things we were not happy with - Firstly , the car park in Liverpool was hard to find. Inadequate map and sat nav took you to a building site (not Fred Olson rsponsibility) - cabin - Lots of stoarge space and a bathroom that was larger than some. Single beds which are not our preference but they were comfortable. A fridge was provided but barely got cold. The biggest problem was the terrible vibration from the engines and a constant rattling of the cabin walls and ceiling which did not contribute to a good nights sleep. This is an old ship - modern ones have overcome this problem with new technology. Not sure what could be done here other than sound damping. - Buffet area quite small, not always able to get a table at busy times - While the ship was well maintained there was no main staircase or reception area and the entertainment was mediocre . - many of the staff had a poor grasp of English which could be a problem, particularly at guest services - WiFi expensive - Timing given in port were misleading for example 'late p.m actually meant about 3.30 in the afternoon. - Tours were very expensive, there were 4 of us so it made more sense to book a private taxi to take us to the places we wanted to see, which worked out fine. - Passengers were mostly quite elderly and infirm so activities were geared up for this. I did sometimes feel I was sitting in the common room of an old peoples home rather than a cruise ship! - Finally the disembarkation process was not a happy experience, but mostly this was due to the facilites at Liverpool cruise terminal Good points, main dining room was nice and our waiters were freindly and helpful and there was a very good wine list at reasonable prices plus the food was excellent. Would not go with Fred Olson again
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 10 Jun 2019
Summary:  Our first cruise, we enjoyed the experience immensely. Liked the smaller size of the ship, not glitzy! The food and service in the restaurant was exceptional. Al staff consistently pleasant and helpful. Will do it again.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 05 Jun 2019
Summary:  Good food, cabin ,entertainment and great staff.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 20 Apr 2019
Summary:  All Good
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 03 Nov 2018
Summary:  From the minute we embarked in Liverpool everything went well. The cabin was excellent and even though it was towards the rear it wasn't too noisy. As it was a Mystery cruise we didn't know where we were going but we visited Honfleur, Caen , Bilbao, Santander and Bordeaux. The weather was very good until we reached the bay of Biscay on the way home and the sea was rough all the way back to the Irish sea. The entertainment was good as usual and there was plenty to do. The food was amazing and we made lots of friends. We always feel that we can trust Fred Olsen and are looking forward to booking another cruise with them
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 29 Sep 2018
Summary:  We had a fantastic cruise . The Black Watch is a very beautiful ship with wonderful delicious cuisine. Entertainment we really enjoyed. The Captain of the vessel was very approachable and very kind to passengers and crew. We unfortunately encountered very rough seas and could not pull in to Ullapool and Tobermorey, as it have been to dangerous, we visited Belfast instead, which proved to be very interesting. We were served by very nice and cheery waiters. Are cabin was beautiful very cosy, we had a lovely cabin stewardess. We loved being able to board the shop in Liverpool handling staff.were amazing out luggage was whisked from our car and arrived outside our cabin before we arrived. All in all a wonderful holiday
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 08 Sep 2018
Summary:  Love the Black Watch. As with most of Fred's cruising folk it's their favourite. A better lay out than the others & recently refurbished. Mostly Filipino crew who are just the very best at looking after you. Adults only and if you are into sequence & ballroom dancing this for you. First class shows and entertainers as is food. Last year had a 24 nt summer Artic cruise taking in Norway, Svalbard Iceland, Greenland & Faroes. Simply the best! As with most ships try and avoid a cabin at the rear to avoid engine noise & vibration.
1234>

Book with Confidence

We are ATOL Holders and members of ABTA for your financial protection.


Price Match Guarantee
Search Cruises
Your Shortlist

You do not currently have any cruises in your shortlist.


What our customers say


"I booked a Fred Olsen cruise with IGLU last month and was so impressed by the service I received. The staff member I spoke to was Kimberley and she was exemplary. Capable, kind, professional, patient, friendly and knowledgeable. She went through every step of the way calmly and thoroughly. IGLU were recommended to me by friends and I have no hesitation in passing the recommendation along. Well done IGLU and thank you. "

Christina
(March 2019)

"So easy to deal with, I studied the Cruise I wanted, did my research with different company's and returned to Iglu. I had three quotes matching Iglu’s cost, but with one phone call they beat the price themselves by £40 without me even asking, how easy was that! "

Gary
(February 2019)


Read more feedback