0203 848 3627

Over 1.5 Million Happy Cruise Customers

9 out of 10 Rated Excellent
ATOL Protected
02038483627

Costa Victoria Reviews

A great range of Costa Victoria reviews written by our customers. To write your own Costa Victoria review click the link on the right.
Average rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6 (from 6 reviews)

6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6     (1)

5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6     (1)

4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6     (2)

3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6     (1)

2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6     (0)

1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6     (1)

Search For Cruise Reviews

Cruise Line
Cruise Ship
Destination

Latest Costa Victoria Reviews

1
User Rating: 1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6
Date: 20 Apr 2019
Summary:  I could write a book about the shortcomings of this miserable Costa company. A short summary includes: Everything a complete rip off from the compulsory tips (over £500) to the compulsory water with meals (£100) to the extortionate trip prices, to the costly transport costs when in ports (mostly better to walk). Days at sea completely boring due to lack of planned activities. Meals microwaved processed crap mostly barely warm Entertainment at best mediocre at worst complete rubbish Embarkation and disembarkation was stressful chaos. I could go on and on Avoid Costa whatever you do. If you don’t, the chances are you won’t book another!
User Rating: 3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6
Date: 04 Mar 2019
Summary:  We booked this cruise mainly due to the itinerary and this was our first taste of a Costa cruise. I did not have high expectations of Costa after reading the reviews here and so was not disappointed!!. Our cruise was in February 2019 visiting Mauritius, Seychelles, Madagascar and Reunion. . My review is about the ship and not the ports visited. What is the first thing you associate Italy with and would presume an Italian ship would deliver??.....Pizza and Ice Cream!!!. What a let-down… Ice cream available at a cost from a small freezer cabinet at the back of the buffet on the rear deck in the style of a Cornetto. Pizza only available from one of the specialist outlet at €8.50. What a lost opportunity for them to incorporate an ice cream bar like other cruise lines and serve some of the amazing Gelatos you find in mainland Italy. Also, instead of serving beef burgers and chips (everyday) at the pool bar, this area could have served slices of pizzas, at, I’m sure, a lower cost than burgers. Arrival: This was one of the quickest embarkation we have experienced(Mauritius). N.B. Debit cards cannot be assigned to your account, only credit cards. Also, if you usually pay your account at the end of the cruise by cash, this money must be deposited within 48 hours of boarding. Drinks packages: These are a nightmare to work out…I believe there are about 30 different types. Here are a few: 24 Cappuccinos €75, 24 Expresso €44, 12 x 1ltr water €36, Brindiamo (beers, juice, coffee, wine by glass, shorts) €28 per day per person. Piu Gusto (as Brindiamo but includes some cocktails) €33 per day per person. Intenditore (total freedom for any drink up to €9 each) €46 per person per day. Coffee and water packages can be taken by one person per cabin but beware drinks packages must be taken by all persons in same cabin over 18 years old. We drink very little, and so only went for the water package and purchased drinks as and when we wanted them. We found the prices were not as high as some cruise lines i.e. €5.50 for glass wine, €3.45 for Coca Cola, €5 for a draught beer. Prices mentioned here includes the 15% surcharge. Minibar drinks not included in the drinks packages. N.B. No water or coffee is served with lunch or dinner in the MDR. Coffee, tea and water by the glass is available free in the buffet areas from approx. 6.30am to 9pm. Food: (Lack of hand sanitizer used by many passengers and no staff enforcing this) Buffet: Oh, what a let down. Same old, same old….. The buffet deck has 4 different food areas, but the choice changed very little day to day. No hot plates, so by the time you got to your table, the luke-warm food was now cold! The tea urn supplied during the evening in the buffet is very poor. I think they show the teabag to it as it was so weak. MDR: Breakfast and lunch is open seating with Dinner being served at 2 different times, depending on which dining room you are allocated. The 2 sittings are 6.30pm and 6.45pm and then 9pm and 9.15pm. Breakfast in the MDR was part self service and a few set items on the menu…again this was a fixed menu for the whole cruise. Beware some items are pre prepared and kept refrigerated, so arrive cold and solid. Coffee and tea available, but had to ask for a teapot otherwise it’s just a small cup, which takes ages to get a refill. Lunch: again very little choice and at best luke-warm food served. Dinner: A very basic 3 star affair and they know how to put you off eating too much!!...on entry to the dining room they display each of the meals on a plate in a cabinet, talk about a turn off. Any drinks, water etc is not free at the table, unless you have purchased a drinks package. I think this is the first cruise we have ever been on where water is not served free of charge with a meal ( I can get it free in the buffet, but not the MDR!). Formal nights/Gala nights were no different to any other night. We also saw people arriving in t.shirts etc to sit in the dining room. When I challenged the waiters to this ,they just shrugged their shoulders and said they couldn’t do anything about it…memo to myself: if I go on a Costa cruise again I will only pack casual clothes. Speciality dinner in Club Victoria…DON’T DON’T DON’T!!!! For a special offer of only €14 per person (this price is only if the lead person of the cabin books, otherwise the cost is €28pp) you can have a ‘gourmet dinner in an elegant environment’. We tried the restaurant one evening. The seating and décor is very well laid out but the food was nothing special. We took the menu with us to compare it to the MDR……guess what. IDENTICAL!!!! Word for word the menus read the same, even the wine they suggested with the meal. So for an extra €28, We ate the same food as if we had eaten in the MDR!!. By the way anyone who would prefer to eat in Club Victoria for the whole cruise, it will set you back €330 pp. Cabin: We booked an inside cabin. Our first cabin was 80527. It was the average size for a cruise ship. It had a hanging wardrobe with a few huge hangers locked onto the rail..grrrr, why oh why do they have to do that. Also it means there is very little room to hang more than about 12 items. There were also 4 drawers, 3 shelves, safe, fridge etc. Bathroom was a corner layout. Soap was in a dispenser in the shower and a small bar of soap on the side of the sink. No other toiletries were supplied. That evening we went to bed and then realised there was massive banging going on as much as 27 times in 15 minutes. By 2.30am my husband got dressed and went to reception, to be told it was ‘normal and just the waves outside’........it was flat calm outside!!!. With barely any sleep, in the morning, we asked our cabin steward to come in and listen..he agreed something was wrong. Complained again to reception and they sent an engineer. Again he agreed and even said he could hear it in his cabin. Anyway after a few more calls and meetings, they moved us to another inside cabin 90534…oh bliss, no noise. There is no turn down service in the evening and no chocolate on the pillow! There are no launderettes on board any Costa ship. In addition there was no washing line in the bathroom. To have a shirt laundered by staff was approx. €2.50. Shops on board: There was not much choice unless you like watches!. 3 watch shops, 1 handbag shop, 1 clothing shop and a general store. Toiletries were very limited in the general store. There was the usual sea day sales bonanzas going on. The best was the ‘scrum’ at these events, which seemed much livelier due to mainly European passengers!. Sunbeds etc: Usual complaints regarding sun beds being commandeered by passengers with towels left on them, unattended for hours on end. Again staff did not do anything about it. We had some passengers pulling sun beds across gangways and again staff just walked around them. Maybe staff don’t do anything as they are forcing you to buy time in the quiet area..€10-14 pp per day!! Tours/port transfers: Tours costs as usual were much higher than if you did them on your own. I only did one tour, on my own, by the ship (2nd day in Reunion). We did visit all places mentioned but due to the traffic congestion, time was cut from the stops, so we still arrived back at the same time. For all independent travellers there is no information or maps given out. Any port transfers to town were charged approx. €7. Generally…the staff are very friendly and helpful. We felt the staff were much happier than on other cruise lines we have cruised with. I wonder if this is due to the automatic tipping system that cannot be cancelled. On Costa it is called Hotel Service Charge at €10 pp p.n.. Finally, would I cruise Costa again??..never say never, but the itinerary and price would have to reflect another Costa cruise!
User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 24 Jan 2019
Summary:  Good overall cruise. Food has improved since we last went on the ship. We did Mauritius, Seychelles, Madagascar and Reunion Island. The entertainment was good as was the standard of the ship And staff. Hygiene could have better, ie the staff should make people use the hand sanitizers more as people were just walking past them and not using them, plus we’re filling their water bottles, no staff said anything to anyone doing this despite there being notices. By the end of the 2 weeks illness was rife with people with upset stomachs, everyone sneezing and coughing, which may not have been so bad if hygiene was enforced more. The trips were good that we booked with the ship, very memorable days but extremely over priced. We took 3 trips, one was 230 euros, another 190 euros, and another 150 euros per person! This was about 2 or 3 times more than you could buy the same trip ashore from a local person/company. Prices just not justified. You had to pay for water on the ship whereas most other ships they offer you a jug of water on the table at dinner free of charge. They didn’t seem to have soup spoons aboard or ever offered finger bowls with prawns... you also had to always ask for butter and the rolls were always rock hard and most of the food frozen. We did enjoy the cruise and knew the standard to expect so weren’t surprised at the standard as you pay for what you get. This was a cheap cruise and I can’t really fault it for what we paid.
User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 11 Jan 2019
Summary:  Overall my wife and I enjoyed the cruise and it was good value for money. Good points: Compared to other cruise ships we have been on it was very smooth and quiet as it moved through the water. The inside cabin was fine and the steward was excellent. 2 out of the 3 tours we went on were excellent. Some of the shows were good. Plenty of sunbeds and areas to sunbathe. Bad points: Compulsory service charge, extortionate price of alcohol and restrictions on personal alcohol, quality/choice of food disappointing, buffet breakfast was often stressful - overcrowded, long queues, cold cooked food, etc. No free ice cream! Few smoking restrictions - even on the jogging track (deck 6) which was absolutely ridiculous.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 15 May 2011
Summary:  Recently arrived back in Australia having done a 21 day cruise on the Costa Victoria from Buenos Aries, Argentina to Savona in Italy. We experienced truly lovely weather and the ship handled the seas superbly, not being a great sailor I had trepidation about length of cruise but was disappointed when it came to a close. The staff were all very friendly and willing to be of help when needed and the Captain certainly handled the berthing of the ship with great aplomb using the thrusters to their maximum capability. The quality of the food was very good considering numbers to be prepared for and the number of places to eat at very well presented. I thought the price of purchasing photos taken by ships people were too expensive and believe a lower price would encourage a lot more sales as most people have their own cameras these days and only the quality of the professional photos encourage you to purchase but the price must be targeted to the pocket. We took the Rio Tour organised by the ship and although thoroughly enjoyable the fact that we drove right past the two famous beaches with only a cursory glance through the bus window was a disappointment. Maybe the Christ the Redeemer and the Sugar Loaf Mountain section could be shortened and a fifteen minute break to at least get ones feet wet would be highly recommended. I would definiely recommend this cruise line to friends and will be looking online to find another cruise which will be of interest and as it will be our Third Costa cruise in 4 years.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 11 Jan 2008
Summary:  A very clean and comfortable ship. The crew were very pleasent and well trained, and the standard of food was magnificent. For the price we paid you would have to go a long way to get the same quality. Well done COSTA.
1

Book with Confidence

We are ATOL Holders and members of ABTA for your financial protection.


Price Match Guarantee
Search Cruises
Your Shortlist

You do not currently have any cruises in your shortlist.


What our customers say


"I booked a Fred Olsen cruise with IGLU last month and was so impressed by the service I received. The staff member I spoke to was Kimberley and she was exemplary. Capable, kind, professional, patient, friendly and knowledgeable. She went through every step of the way calmly and thoroughly. IGLU were recommended to me by friends and I have no hesitation in passing the recommendation along. Well done IGLU and thank you. "

Christina
(March 2019)

"So easy to deal with, I studied the Cruise I wanted, did my research with different company's and returned to Iglu. I had three quotes matching Iglu’s cost, but with one phone call they beat the price themselves by £40 without me even asking, how easy was that! "

Gary
(February 2019)


Read more feedback