02038483614
Good evening, we have expert advice,
cruise reviews & exclusive cruise deals
on the widest selection of cruises
online... about Iglu.
Enter Cruise ID
Expert Advice and Booking
0203 848 3614
We're Open

P&O Ventura Reviews

A great range of Ventura reviews written by our customers. To write your own Ventura review click the link on the right.
Average rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6 (from 223 reviews)

6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6     (89)

5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6     (74)

4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6     (30)

3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6     (23)

2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6     (4)

1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6     (3)

Search For Cruise Reviews

Cruise Line
Cruise Ship
Destination

Latest Ventura Reviews

User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 16 Nov 2017
Author: Sally
Summary:  Went on a solo cruise on the Ventura on 15th Oct to the Canaries. My first cruise. Had the best time ever. Brilliant entertainment, lovely food and helpful courteous staff. The cabin girl Christine who cleaned my room every day was a delight. My balcony room B243, although a bit dated ie. carpet and curtains, was clean and comfortable. The stop offs were well organised and the daily news letter was very informative. The only down side was having to get off the ship upon our return! Will choose Ventura for my next cruise ??
User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 14 Nov 2017
Author: Andrew
Summary:  ' Not as good as expected - could do better! ' Ventura - canary Island cruise 29/10/17 Super cabin - deluxe balcony with lounge, excellent cabin steward Enjoyed the quality and variety of the food Lisbon and Madera were lovely, took the tram ride and toboggan ride at these - very good (if not cheap) Generally poor service on ship (especially Saffron restaurant), staff looked disengaged, senior staff conspicuous in their absence around the ship Poor timing of entertainment in the evenings, lack of interesting daytime entertainment on sea days. Never once saw the hand rails being cleaned or staff enforcing hand sanitising - very worrying. Looks like I'll be returning to Thomson/TUI or whatever they are now calling themselves, as my previous four cruises with them were excellent
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 12 Nov 2017
Author: Jackie & Louise Carter
Summary:  My daughter and myself went on a 2 night taster cruise to Bruge on the Ventura. Never having been on a cruise before - we both went with an open mind, but can honestly say we were thrilled with the whole experience, from check in, to the lovely cabin we had (although we will choose an outside cabin next time). We were recommended to go on deck for the departure and had a great time - even though getting served at the bar was a bit hit & miss - but the waiters did their best to get everyone served. The restaurants were wonderful, and never had to wait for a table. Do try the fine dining experience (for a supplement) - we booked the Epicurian, and were not dissappointed with the quality of food and the professional service. Good choice of bars serving fab cocktails, and the entertainement was really good. Can't wait to book another short cruise on this great ship.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 07 Oct 2017
Author: Sylvia Henderson
Summary:  We have cruised many times, with Cunard mainly,and Royal carribean.Howeverthis cruise easily outshone each...Our mid ship balcony cabin was spacious, spotlessly clean,and beds comfortable.Steward was delightful,so courteous and respectful,and kind.We enjoyed all entertainment,it was varied.Dining was simply the best...Ever,We chose to sit at a large table and we're very happy to meet really friendly like minded people.Because of dietary requirements,,my wonderful Head waiter brought Menus ,to order for the next day,The food was delicious,and presented well by friendly,but always professional waiters.We had early sitting for dinner,at Baytree,and lunch at other restaurant,I have never been so well looked after...The tours were good value we felt,All in all I cannot wait to do another cruise,and it will definitely be either Ventura or Adonia.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 11 Aug 2017
Author: Theo Stickley
Summary:  Just returned from a 7 night cruise to Spain and Portugal. This was our 2nd cruise the other being on Aurora. So you do find you spend a lot of time comparing them both. Nevertheless, it was a shaky start, we requested early sitting 18.00 and was allocated 2nd sitting 20.30. This resulted in my wife and i spending the first 2.5 hrs on board queuing up and being sent away twice only to come back later etc which we did anther 2 times. In the end we opted for freedom dining as we just could not get first sitting. However freedom dinning is the way to go, it was superb. We never waited and all but one day we had the same table and waiters, so we could get to build up a relationship with. And they were fantastic. My daughter has special diet needs and the head waiter visited her every evening to go through the next day's menu. They always came up with suitable alternatives if needed. The dinning was fantastic, loved the formal nights as we opted out of that last time. They even let us use our bottle of wine we won in the ships quiz. Seriously this is a nice vessel considering its office block styling. Sorry! bit of a traditionalist here. Much prefer Aurora's curved stern. We had a superior delux balcony cabin. This is on deck D. (The widest part of the ship excluding the bridge). The room was superb with a double bed and a double settee bed and still enough room to swing a cat. The balcony was a good size however there is one drawback. As you are lying their relaxing and taking in the rays every one on the decks above you can see right down on you. So no naughty sunbathing there then. Entertainment was ok. Loved the Blue Jays 50's rock and roll tribute band. Headliners were good well my kids loved them. On sea day's there is all sort of small things to do i even had a go at learning to juggle. The guy teaching us had a lot of patience. Cabin spend is one beef i do have. in a party of 5 of us two in one cabin and three in the other all paid full price but, the cabin spend was £125 each for 4 of us and the 5th person dipped out! with nowt. However service charge is taken for all 5 of you from the cabin spend total. No reason given on this. Lisbon we opted to go it ourselves for the tram ride and saved a packet only missing out on canopes and drinks on the tram. We did have to queue which i guess on an excursion you would not. All the same would recommend this ship.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 24 Jun 2017
Author: Lillian Hunter
Summary:  Have just returned from a six day cruise on the Ventura. We have not cruised on a P&O ship for several years as our last four cruises have been with Cunard. We had a superb cruise on Ventura. The cabin was spacious and kept clean and tidy. All the staff were friendly, especially those in the Baytree restaurant. We had not boarded the ship with unrealistic expectations but could not believe how good the cruise was. It was a happy ship and people really seemed to be enjoying themselves. We felt the cruise was excellent value for money and would not hesitate to book with P&O again. We will also book through Iglu again as it was effortless as usual.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 04 May 2017
Author: Janet Wyatt
Summary:  Just returned from a cruise on Ventura. Didnt start well with a fire drill delaying us boarding by nearly 3 hours. Our Cabin C252 on deck 10 was great. It was an inside and had a small clothes hanging case storing are outside the compact bathroom. No noise in this room and never had a problem. Staff on ship were without exception fantastic. Food in the cafeteria was frequently repeated but adequate and in the dining rooms better. We did freedom dining never waited to be seated but happy to share and met some lovely people. Did miss the free squash though. Shows really need a bit of diversity. Motown and loud noise do not really make my day. One magician and three comedians. Highlight for me were the revolvers a 1960's group who had us dancing in the aisles and the two pianists. One tip if as on ours your fellow cruisers like the shows get there early, its a very small theatre for the size of ship. Speakers and painting classes fantastic. Ports all good and suggest you keep your eyes open for example at Mykonos we found the shuttle boat to town half the price of the bus and took us right into the centre of town. Trips we did were very satisfactory. Bad weather in one port resulted in the captain finding us another port to visit fantastic have not had this happen before. Will definitely cruise PO again.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 26 Apr 2017
Author: Ian Roxburgh
Summary:  I tend to use a number of cruise lines, depending upon the itinerary being offered and, from time to time, return to P&O. This time it was to the Greek Islands on Ventura in April 2017, a first on that particular ship. While I notice some negative changes - something that is, I fear, common across all of the cruise lines - I think P&O continue to offer a very good product and one that tends to suit my particular tastes; the more traditional, British style of cruising. First of all, the staff and crew provide an excellent service and there is a feeling of being welcome on board. Excursions, drinks, gratuities, etc. remain reasonably priced in comparison with the major American lines where these things have become, frankly, a rip-off. Entertainment, from guest lectures to theatre shows to invited performers, was generally superior to that which I have experienced on other lines. The Headliners worked very hard and are certainly talented but the themes of their shows have become rather predictable.....and clichéd. There was a very good - and varied - selection of films on offer in the Arena Theatre on sea days. I enjoyed, too, the formal nights where the vast majority of passengers comply with the dress code. I still tend to opt for traditional set dining and am pleased that this remains on offer, but there is now, commendably, the choice for those who prefer freedom dining. Catering was my one major disappointment and confirmed comments read in previous reviews. A highlight of cruising for me has always been the dining experience but, sadly, this is no longer as it was. Evening dining in the Bayview Restaurant I would describe overall as adequate, occasionally good but rarely memorable. I particularly missed the fact that the waiters at dinner no longer appear to have time to develop a real rapport with their guests. They once had the time for a bit of chat and banter and there was something very special about the way that they used to very quickly learn about your little likes and dislikes and cater for these accordingly. They do try their best and I apportion no criticism to them but perhaps they now have more tables to cope with and, given the freedom dining setup, training is less focussed. The menu in the self-service Waterside Restaurant at lunch was again adequate but singularly uninspiring most of the time. The speciality restaurants, for which a cover charge - increasingly expensive - is made, are very good. Would it be over-cynical, however, to suggest that the drop in standards in regular dining is a deliberate attempt to push passengers towards these venues? What about Ventura itself? Overall a lovely ship and reasonably well maintained. The cabins, I felt, were a little smaller than what I have been used to, especially the bathrooms, but this did not, in any way, detract from the overall experience of the cruise. The chairs in the cabin had seen better days but this was only a niggle. There seemed, always, to be at least one elevator out of service and this often meant a bit of a wait at busy times. Unrepaired wheelchair/buggy damage is evident in most of these and perhaps, given the noticeable increase in the number of these mobility aids being used around the ship, not surprising. There was one occasion, in the second half of the cruise, when a main engine malfunctioned but this was rectified quickly and with no noticeable effect on the itinerary or timing. This itinerary was excellent; quite a number of relaxing sea days and it was great to have full days in most ports. On my last cruise with P&O, I found that half-days were the norm and this seemed inadequate. Perhaps this is the best time of year to go, before the season gets fully underway and there is greater competition for berths. Resorts are much less crowded too. Another big plus for P&O is the provision of a good shuttle bus service where needed and where they are permitted to operate one by local regulations; free of charge for those on Select Fares. We were unable to enter the port of Katakolon as scheduled due to exceptionally high winds but were delighted by the fact that arrangements were made to visit Cartegena instead. My hope now is that P&O don't choose to pare back any more, further reducing standards. I, for one, would be prepared to pay a little more on the overall fare rather than see any further cutbacks that could become seriously detrimental to what is currently a very satisfactory product.
User Rating: 3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6
Date: 05 Apr 2017
Author: Dee
Summary:  Disappointed in this ship . Having cruised on many P&O ships large,medium and small. I can say this is by far the worst buffet I have ever tasted. The food was tasteless and lacked variety. The specialised restaurants were good . We had freedom dining and ate in the saffron dining room. We found the staff pleasant and welcoming and the menu choices were good. The main public areas and cabins are tired looking . The ship could do with a refurb. The Havana is an excellent venue for having a drink whilst enjoying the entertainment .
User Rating: 1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6
Date: 12 Mar 2017
Author: David Trevett
Summary:  Just returned from a 14 day cruise to Canary Island, Madeira and Cherbourg. Ventura has many good points but main dining rooms are very noisy and crowded. The menu is good if you like seafood otherwise not a great choice. The staff did not seem to want to in gauge possibly because they spent their time handing out survey cards at every opportunity. The atrium is small and was used for old time dancing catering for a very small majority, still there was also juggling. After leaving Cadiz there was not much to review as we sailed past Lisbon and ended up in Cherbourg (France on a Monday when all is closed and only a maximum of 5 hours to explore the local Hypermarket) I must mention the Waterside as this was by far the least enjoyable café I have eaten in to date.

Book with Confidence

We are ATOL Holders and members of ABTA for your financial protection.


Iglu Cruise 10 years
Search Cruises
Your Shortlist

You do not currently have any cruises in your shortlist.


What our customers say

"Please pass my thanks to everybody at Iglu, we have booked cruises at many other Companies but the service provided by Iglu was a level above the rest, so we shall be back to book another Cruise towards the end of next year."

Brian P
(December 2017)

"I can safely say Iglu has been the best holiday agency I have ever used. Your customer care both pre and post cruise has been second to none. I will definitely use you again and recommend to family and friends. Thank you once again"

Anna
(October 2017)


Read more feedback