Borealis
star star star star half star

Borealis Reviews

View Cruise Deals
4.1
star star star star half star
Based on 23 reviews
Cabin
4.6
Service
4.7
Excursions
3.2
Dining
4.5
Activities
3.9
Value for money
4
Entertainment
4.2
star star star star no star

The food, service,room and drinks choices were all excellent. The ship is a good size and nowhere got too crowded although that may have been partly due to not being at full capacity due to Covid. The entertainment was ok with an average comedian but a very funny magician. We are not big on song and dance but we heard that they were good music shows. We liked the regular quizzes as well. The excursions are like most cruises massively over-priced. If they were better value then fewer people would do their own thing (as we tended to do). While the food in all the restuarants was fabulous the 2 speciality restaurants were even better and well worth a visit. Colours and tastes was outstanding. While the service was wonderful, we were a little bit surprised that we had been charged for this. We were under the impression that all tips/gratuities were included in the price and we will be querying this with Fred Olsen.

couple
couple
6-10 cruises Superior Ocean View Cabin
19 Apr 2022
star star star star no star

Fred Olsen today is not like it used to be. Whilst Borealis was an excellent ship for social facilities, in my view it is let down by an 'average' menu - the self-service has a better choice of food menu than the main dining room. However, Fred no longer offers the midnight buffet with ice carvings, etc, or the 'captains' table for dining, no real problem but such things put Fred in a different category to most cruise lines. Further some of the 'dining' crew members were somewhat casual in providing service. However, overall, despite the poor weather, the cruise was enjoyable.

couple
couple
10+ cruises Balcony Junior Suites
12 Apr 2022
star star star star no star

Love smaller ships as they seem to have a friendlier atmosphere and the service seems a lot better. Borealis is both elegant and comfortable unlike the new O&O ships which have a cold bland feeling. Fred Olsen seem to have upgraded and seem to be heading for a Cunard standard which is great. Only complaint is there are no separate male/female saunas. This was mentioned a few times onboard.

couple
couple
10+ cruises Superior Ocean View Fully Restricted
9 Apr 2022
star star star star no star

No bridge camera which is important with a inside cabin. No music in cabin. Poor talks mainly about art. Too many foods with chili not all of us like chili.

group
group
10+ cruises Interior Cabin
9 Apr 2022
star star star star half star

We joined the ship in Liverpool which was so much closer for us to travel. Apart from initial testing etc we were enthusiastically welcomed by each member of staff we came across. We have never been on a ship that was so welcoming, courteous and polite from the Captain down to waiters, entertainment staff, crew, engineers,plumbers, electricians chefs etc The ship was spotless and very comfortable. We chose to take 3 excursions in Italy as this country would only accept excursions. We won’t take excursions again because we felt we didn’t see the parts of each area we wanted to... although the guides were very good. Dinner was our first meal where we met our super helpful waiters who couldn’t do enough for us. The food was very good indeed. We chose not to go to the theatre each night preferring to use the lounge and listen to live music mainly Glenn Williams from the Sweet playing the guitar. The waiter Stanley didn’t let our glasses go empty refilling them when needed. During the day we chose a few talks namely by Jamie Hayes which we thoroughly enjoyed and became friendly with. Unfortunately on the last Sunday of the cruise we tested positive for Covid! Wow! We were so well looked after...had to move rooms for isolation to a larger room and a large balcony. We had room service whenever needed,the Dr checked on us daily. Disembarkation was extremely well planned so we did not come into contact with other passengers or crew.PPE was used by crew who did come into contact with us. Well done Fred Olsen and Bollearis...we will sail with you again and recommend you to others. I actually wanted to write a personal letter to The Olsen Family to say Thankyou and how well their staff had been trained in every eventuality. Thankyou to you all...we had a ball.

couple
couple
10+ cruises Superior Ocean View Fully Restricted
9 Apr 2022
star star star star no star

Many of the crew did not understand basic English. After the first five days, the menu became repetitive and many dishes were reconstructed from the previous day's menu. Being charged £2 per person per night to dine early was unnecessary as the dining room was less than half full, we were just being charged for the hell of it costing three of us a total of £90 and we only used the dining room around six times.

family
family
10+ cruises Interior Cabin
8 Apr 2022
star star star star half star

My cabin was such a long way from lifts, right at the back of the ship and for a disabled person which I'm not. I did have my doubts when I booked back in October but as I said I would accept an upgrade I hoped I would be given one. Wearing a mask just made it too difficult to walk about.

user
user
10+ cruises Ocean View Cabin
24 Mar 2022
star star star half star no star

Two couples had booked this cruise but despite informing that we wanted the cabins to be near each other, you gave us cabins at two extremes of the ship. Secondly despite informing you that we were vegetarians there was very poor vegetarians choice on the cruise. We complained about the poor quality of food despite most chefs on the cruise were of indian subcontinent.

couple
couple
6-10 cruises Ocean View Guarantee
1 Mar 2022
star star star star star

First time with Fred Olsen, as we wouldn't normally take a winter cruise from the UK. Recently refitted ship was lovely, food was excellent and a good variety of entertainment was provided. Organisation and pre-cruise communication was very good. Crew were friendly and accommodating.

couple
couple
6-10 cruises Balcony Junior Suites
12 Jan 2022
star star star star star

Excellent cruise to The Canary Islands with some pre-booked tours. A great experience and, although I felt safe onboard, there were some passengers that didn't take Covid-19 measures seriously and openly moved 'do not sit here' notices from seats in communal areas and some lounges were rather overcrowded.

user
user
10+ cruises Balcony suite guarantee
23 Dec 2021