Azamara Journey reviews | IgluCruise
0203 848 3601

Over 1.5 Million Happy Cruise Customers

{0} out of 10 Rated Excellent
ATOL Protected
02038483601

Azamara Journey Reviews

A great range of Azamara Journey reviews written by our customers. To write your own Azamara Journey review click the link on the right.
Average rating: 5.5 out of 65.5 out of 65.5 out of 65.5 out of 65.5 out of 65.5 out of 6 (from 43 reviews)

6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6     (33)

5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6     (6)

4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6     (2)

3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6     (2)

2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6     (0)

1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6     (0)

Search For Cruise Reviews

Cruise Line
Cruise Ship
Destination

Latest Azamara Journey Reviews

User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 27 Jun 2019
Summary:  Had a lovely cruise to Cuba and the Caribbean and up to New York in March. The cabin a inside was fine a the food was great ,we liked that the ship docked close to the centre of the town and mostly didnt leave until 10.00pm so plenty of time to go out a about. We found this ship small a friendly and met a lot of nice people to talk to , We were on board with our youngest son a fiance and they enjoyed the cruise as well . We would definitely book another cruise with Azamra and would recomend them ,We will be looking to book again next year .
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 05 Jun 2019
Summary:  The cruise and the initial 3 days in Rome were excellent. A significant contributor to this was the lesser number of passengers on the ship. The captain was actively involved around the ship, particularly focusing on safety regarding boarding and alighting from the tenders. Access to most of the ports was by tenders and there were some heavy seas that had to be dealt with. There were a couple of issues. Firstly, the specialty restaurants. We arranged a deal to eat in the specialty restaurants - 3 meals covering the 2 restaurants for $70 per head. We visited the Italian restaurant first of all but found the menu rather bland and there was some pressure in the restaurant to add a caviar starter to the cost as well as a bottle of champagne. Both were costly. A friend who came with us found the seafood starter to be off - it smelled bad. The maitre d' apologised and said that he would inform the chef. However, we talked to Guest Relations and said that we would like to cancel our second meal at the Italian restaurant and left her to determine the necessary adjustment to the cost of the 3 meal deal. We did retain our booking at the American restaurant. I have to say that this restaurant was the exact opposite of the Italian. The menu was varied and the food that we and our guests chose were all exceptional. The experience was helped significantly by the outstanding waiter who served us. In the end, the ship cancelled the cost of the 3 meals for all 4 of us and our guests - which was a good and acceptable resolution to the problem. The second issue relates to tickets we purchased from IGLU for access to the Monaco Grand Prix. They cost Euros 100 per person. We got to the circuit early and found the specified entrance to the circuit. Unfortunately it didn't provide access to the circuit, solely to a road that ran up a steep hill that was close to the circuit. It had already been accessed by hundreds of fans who obviously knew of the viewing restrictions - the crowd was 10 deep. We could hear cars and had the occasional sight of a car, but not sufficient to see the race. In frustration, because we had not been advised of the serious viewing restrictions, we decided to return to the ship and watch the race on the television.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 16 Jan 2019
Summary:  We enjoyed our Christamas and New Years Cruise to the fullest. The service on Azamara Journey was top noch. The only thing we missed as Europeans was to be able to get a liquere with our coffee after dinner and some sweet wine for dessert. That is in the normal drink package. No fancy labels, just a plain brandy, kalua and portwine. When the ship has 3 different whiskys to cater for the English speaking, it ought to also have something for us main land Europeans. Best regards, Anna and Per ( personal details removed) ,stateroom 4028
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 24 Nov 2018
Summary:  Fantastic service aboard Azamara Journey. Staff seem genuinely happy and are all very personable as well as extremely helpful. The cruse visited Santiago de Cuba, Grand Cayman, Cienfuegos and Havana. It was billed as “destination intensive” and included overnights in port, but in most cases left port at 6am which gave very little extra time for sightseeing compared to any other cruise. We liked the small ship and informal atmosphere, relaxed dress code etc. Onboard entertainment was perfectly sufficient although did not compare to that on much larger ships. The enrichment lectures were very disappointing as the barely related to the destination at all, and the presenters both seriously lacked in presentation skills! We had an inside cabin which was exactly what we needed, the bed was extremely comfortable and the cabin quiet and dark. The only problem was waking up in time for breakfast!
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 12 Oct 2018
Summary:  Very friendly ship, liked the captain doing his rounds at all and any time of day/night. Ship food to very high standard. Ship excursions very expensive. Ship beginning to show its age. Embarking and disembarking very smooth.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 20 Jan 2016
Summary:  We sailed on Azamara Journey in January 2016 as my wife had the Panama Canal on her bucket list (I have sailed through numerous times) and had a fantastic voyage.The ship is an ideal size (not the huge towering blocks of the liners that take thousands of passengers) and the staff are absolutely first class from the Master all the way down to the galley boy.Food and restaurants / bars are top rate as well We also found the entertainment on board fantastic led by a brilliant cruise director - Eric de Gray who is so versatile -Singer/Figure Skater/Musician etc etc --If you want to go on a FANTASTIC voyage--this is the ship for you.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 20 Jan 2016
Summary:  We sailed on Azamara Journey in January 2016 as my wife had the Panama Canal on her bucket list (I have sailed through numerous times) and had a fantastic voyage.The ship is an ideal size (not the huge towering blocks of the liners that take thousands of passengers) and the staff are absolutely first class from the Master all the way down to the galley boy. Food and restaurants / bars are top rate as well We also found the entertainment on board fantastic led by a brilliant cruise director - Eric de Gray who is so versatile - Singer/Figure Skater/Musician etc etc --If you want to go on a FANTASTIC voyage--this is the ship for you.
User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 27 Nov 2015
Summary:  We have been on lots of Azamara cruises over the last few years. We absolutely adore Azamara, the staff , the food, in fact everything about the ship and the whole experience. However, we came back from our last cruise on the tenth November, having left ten days before, Monte Carlo to Barcelona, and were dissapointed in it all. Unfortunately, if I were to name things that we felt had gone downhill, I would sound very petty, e.g. boring fruit in the cabin, one Apple one orange, one bandanna, whereas before the fruit, which is replenished daily, was a bit more interesting and more of it, the flowers in the cabin where a sorry little bunch, before it was a big beautiful vase. No postcards anymore at reception. Rather mean with the soap. I am not going on any further with what was different, as it really does sound petty, but the attention to detail has gone. There also seemed to be less staff around, and they didn't seem as happy as before. In general it was not as "POSH" as before. Although the prices have come down, one can see the drop in service. The drinks package was a real hard sell, and rammed down our throats as soon as we boarded. Still lots of great bits, the concert in Palma Cathedral was wonderful, and Eric was a fabulous cruise director, very professional and funny. But in general, something has been lost, can't say we were impressed this cruise, as I say, we adored Azamara in the past and thought we would cruising with them for ever, but sadly no. Staff still very hard working, thanks.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 04 Aug 2015
Summary:  We sailed on Azamara Journey for the first time for 5 nights in May to the Monaco Grand Prix following a 2 night stay in Nice. The ships cabins, service, food and drinks are excellent. The staff are fantastic and so many of them available in every area making for a very pleasant and relaxing cruise. We ate in the various restaurants , all were superb! The breakfast and lunchtime buffets were so well presented, fresh hot delicious food and so many choices. Main restaurant in the evening was just great, lovely service and excellent menu choices and well presented food at every meal. Bar service is excellent and the service was very quick at all times of the day. We enjoyed the inclusive drinks , cocktails and the wines chosen for each day which were very enjoyable, there is really no need to purchase any drinks separately really. We found it difficult to stop our glasses being refilled by the fabulous staff so ignore the silly comments from anyone who says otherwise! Cabins kept perfectly with stewards so happy to please. We enjoyed the entertainment, the club in the evening and the casino. The pianist played which was a pleasure to listen too, again, silly comment on another review made me wonder what they were listening to? An excellent cruise on a lovely small ship. Iglu cruises to be congratulated to on the excellent arrangements for us. Thank you . We have booked another cruise on the ship for November, proof of a lovely last holiday!
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 28 May 2015
Summary:  We found the cruise on Azamara Journey to be amazing,so relaxed with no standing in long lines. The restaurants and staff were excellent. This was our first time on Azamara and hopefully not our last.

All Other Azamara Cruises Ships

Azamara Pursuit Azamara Quest

Book with Confidence

We are ATOL Holders and members of ABTA for your financial protection.


Price Match Guarantee
Search Cruises
Your Shortlist

You do not currently have any cruises in your shortlist.


What our customers say


"I booked a Fred Olsen cruise with IGLU last month and was so impressed by the service I received. The staff member I spoke to was Kimberley and she was exemplary. Capable, kind, professional, patient, friendly and knowledgeable. She went through every step of the way calmly and thoroughly. IGLU were recommended to me by friends and I have no hesitation in passing the recommendation along. Well done IGLU and thank you. "

Christina
(March 2019)

"So easy to deal with, I studied the Cruise I wanted, did my research with different company's and returned to Iglu. I had three quotes matching Iglu’s cost, but with one phone call they beat the price themselves by £40 without me even asking, how easy was that! "

Gary
(February 2019)


Read more feedback