Azamara Journey
star star star star star

Azamara Journey Reviews

View Cruise Deals
4.7
star star star star star
Based on 56 reviews
Cabin
4.7
Service
4.8
Excursions
4.6
Dining
4.7
Activities
4.6
Value for money
4.7
Entertainment
4.7
star star star star no star

We have been on Azamara before and like the informal but good cruise experience. On this occasion the current situation meant that we wondered how it would all work with restrictions. However Azamara Journey and its crew made us feel safe and the service was excellent. The ship was very quiet due to low numbers but this was good for the passengers, not so good for the Azamara business I am sure. It felt almost like normal life, except for the masks so it exceeded our expectations

couple
couple
1 cruise Club Interior Stateroom
27 Jan 2022
star star star star no star

Only one complaint that they did not offer any transport for passengers to explore ports on their own. Many of the passengers were senior citizens and the walk to reach nearest town to port was too hard and also I travelled with a members of my family who definitely could not walk more than a few hundred yards. Even if there was a small charge to get us into nearest town to port that would be acceptable

family
family
10+ cruises Club Interior Stateroom
31 Dec 2021
star star star star half star

Due to less than half the amount of passengers it seemed to lack the normal sparkle and buzz. It seemed pretty safe and people generally played the game. Entertainment was not end to end with gaps. But we felt it was a good holiday and worth doing all the paperwork! It's nice to be back after nearly 2 years - hopefully more to come.

couple
couple
10+ cruises Club Interior Stateroom
30 Dec 2021
star star star star half star

The onboard experience was really good but shore-side, up to and including embarkation, was a complete shambles. It took repeated emails and telephone calls to Azamara to get the Guest Booklet / luggage tags sorted. We were supposed to have priority embarkation as we had booked a suite but this didn't happen; we sat in a queue for nearly two hours after arriving at the check-in (no refreshments were offered at any point until after we were onboard). Azamara state "more inclusive drinks" in their advertising. This is simply not correct. The basic package includes cheap beer (only 4 varieties on offer - everything else charged at full price) and spirits. I don't know who Azamara are competing with but they really need to up their game if they want to challenge some of the other boutique cruising companies.

group
group
10+ cruises Club Continent Suite
29 Oct 2021
star star star star star

I have taken 3 cruises on this ship. It is my favourite. The only drawback is travelling solo it is expensive. Love the Azamazing evenings. Johannesburg and Eric make a great team. I am always very happy and feel totally safe and at home. Great destinations and made some wonderful friends.

Verified customer
1 cruise
29 Feb 2020
star star star star star

This was our 5th cruise with Azamara and 3rd on the journey. It was absolutely fantastic.Captain Johannes runs an excellent operation and there was nothing we could fault .Entertainment was if anything slightly better than usual and the food and drink up to normal high standards . Service was outstanding as ever in the restaurant and the restaurant manager should be commended for the high standards amongst his team.We always book through Iglu for the best deals and everything always runs smoothly. Our next trip will definitely be on the Azamara Journey .

Verified customer
1 cruise
3 Sep 2019
star star star star star

We did b2b in March/April which included Cuba and the Caribean and into New York followed by Chstleston and Bermuda and back to NY. We love Azamara. Small and friendly..Great service. Docking in city centres so.shuttles are unnecessary and you can wander off at leisure fir long days of exploration with time to use public transport and local.services due to late departures. We have had 14 cruises with Azamara and never been disappointed whether in Erooe or Asia or the Caribbean Food and service and all crew aim.to please and make every trip memorable

Verified customer
1 cruise
9 Aug 2019
star star star star no star

Our second cruise on Azamara Journey. We have no complaints as such but a little more imagination and flare by chef would be good in the vegetarian options. That is not to say that the dishes were unacceptable, quite the reverse. Value for moiney we feel though tours a little on the priscey side.

Verified customer
1 cruise
5 Aug 2019
star star star star no star

Had a lovely cruise to Cuba and the Caribbean and up to New York in March. The cabin a inside was fine a the food was great ,we liked that the ship docked close to the centre of the town and mostly didnt leave until 10.00pm so plenty of time to go out a about. We found this ship small a friendly and met a lot of nice people to talk to , We were on board with our youngest son a fiance and they enjoyed the cruise as well . We would definitely book another cruise with Azamra and would recomend them ,We will be looking to book again next year .

Verified customer
1 cruise
27 Jun 2019
star star star star star

The cruise and the initial 3 days in Rome were excellent. A significant contributor to this was the lesser number of passengers on the ship. The captain was actively involved around the ship, particularly focusing on safety regarding boarding and alighting from the tenders. Access to most of the ports was by tenders and there were some heavy seas that had to be dealt with. There were a couple of issues. Firstly, the specialty restaurants. We arranged a deal to eat in the specialty restaurants - 3 meals covering the 2 restaurants for $70 per head. We visited the Italian restaurant first of all but found the menu rather bland and there was some pressure in the restaurant to add a caviar starter to the cost as well as a bottle of champagne. Both were costly. A friend who came with us found the seafood starter to be off - it smelled bad. The maitre d' apologised and said that he would inform the chef. However, we talked to Guest Relations and said that we would like to cancel our second meal at the Italian restaurant and left her to determine the necessary adjustment to the cost of the 3 meal deal. We did retain our booking at the American restaurant. I have to say that this restaurant was the exact opposite of the Italian. The menu was varied and the food that we and our guests chose were all exceptional. The experience was helped significantly by the outstanding waiter who served us. In the end, the ship cancelled the cost of the 3 meals for all 4 of us and our guests - which was a good and acceptable resolution to the problem. The second issue relates to tickets we purchased from IGLU for access to the Monaco Grand Prix. They cost Euros 100 per person. We got to the circuit early and found the specified entrance to the circuit. Unfortunately it didn't provide access to the circuit, solely to a road that ran up a steep hill that was close to the circuit. It had already been accessed by hundreds of fans who obviously knew of the viewing restrictions - the crowd was 10 deep. We could hear cars and had the occasional sight of a car, but not sufficient to see the race. In frustration, because we had not been advised of the serious viewing restrictions, we decided to return to the ship and watch the race on the television.

Verified customer
1 cruise
5 Jun 2019