Good afternoon, we have expert advice, cruise reviews & exclusive cruise deals on the widest
selection of cruises
online... about Iglu.
Search Site / Enter Cruise ID
Expert Advice and Booking
0208 544 6614

Marco Polo Reviews

A great range of Marco Polo reviews written by our customers. To write your own Marco Polo review click the link on the right.
Average rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6 (from 81 reviews)

6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6     (28)

5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6     (35)

4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6     (7)

3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6     (8)

2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6     (2)

1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6     (1)

Search For Cruise Reviews

Cruise Line Cruise Ship Destination

Latest Marco Polo Reviews

User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 15 Sep 2014
Author: John S Turner
Summary:  I wish to say that my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our cruise with Cruise Maritime around The British Isles. The Marco Polo Customer service were excellent, entertainment 1st class and cuisine 1st class. Ship's company from the Captain to the cabin staff, every man Jack and Jill were very courteous. We are just waiting to go again.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 11 Sep 2014
Author: M&m Wood
Summary:  Just returned from our first ever cruise on the Marco Polo. We did not know what to expect as we are normally independent travelers. It was wonderful - helped by the good weather our trip around the UK - Scotland, Ireland and then Scilly, Guernsey and on to France was wonderful. The crew work amazingly hard to make things run as smoothly as possible. The food was very good too. A big thank you to everyone from the young men keeping the stairs in a constant state of cleanliness, the cabin staff who ensured our room was tidy to the excellent Captain who ensured he was highly visible around the ship. Our experiences were his too, so any faults he'd pick up and sort. We are more than tempted to go again - whilst the Marco Polo isn't a modern ship, it is what I call a "Proper Ship" so when we were in Invergorden along side a monster ship - I decided that the MP was the one for us. Thank you - and also to all the wonderful friendly passengers we met along the way.
User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 14 Aug 2014
Author: Elaineharrod
Summary:  Late deal for eight fuelled debate, with persistent strong smell of diesel (lower, rear cabin) being contentious issue for one couple who had paid extra for outside upgrade. (First time cruisers, who may have been permanently put off, regrettably.) Other 3 cabins (higher, forward) were fine for short trip: air-con, hot and powerful shower, comfy (though fixed twin) beds, adequate storage and good lighting, plus option of breakfast in bed. Embarkation effortless. Tasty buffet lunch. Blessed with sunshine as we set sail from Tilbury (for Antwerp and Amsterdam). Sun deck with loungers, 3 very hot tubs, and waiter service for drinks, was pleasant place to enjoy sun set. (No water in pool for entire trip.) Restaurant elegant. Ample choice and good quality of food. Unimposing, efficient service. House wine needs to be improved though. Photographers were intrusive at mealtimes. Dress code was unclear and haphazard. There was no official formal night, which was contrary to our expectations and therefore disappointing. Theatre was overcrowded. Entertainment appealed to the majority. Ports were fabulous. Both easily accessible from docks. Over too soon. Disembarkation ok. Would do it again without a doubt.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 11 Aug 2014
Author: Jackie Brown
Summary:  This was my first time on the Marco Polo and my expectations were not high. The ship itself and the service provided was better than expected. The Marco Polo is a very friendly ship, the cabins on the lower decks (Baltic) are clean and the beds quite comfortable but unfortunately we were in one near the engines, so engine noise and vibration disturbed sleep. However, I did not pay that much for the cruise so was not too disappointed. We were on this ship for the 50th anniversary of Pirate radio. The entertainment was fantastic! Georgie Fame, Eddie Floyd, Zoot Money, The Rythmn Kings and many more! Some of the entertainment seemed a bit disorganised but no real complaints. It was like party night every night! I would not like to spend more than a week in these cabins but I would go again. The passengers were mostly 60-70 age group but there were quite a few younger people too who seemed to really enjoy themselves.
User Rating: 2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6
Date: 11 Aug 2014
Author: Tim Hill
Summary:  A tired old ship but grand in her day perhaps, the Marco Polo still cuts a fair dash at the ports she visits - we visited Antwerp and Amsterdam and she looked fine berthed there. With neither the flashiness of the new ships nor the luxury the tours have to either be very unusual or very cheap to make this a wise choice: our mini cruise was a celebration of Pirate Radio and featured Blues Rock musicians every night and talks from legendary DJs .. and a good time was had by all (though I think performers should not be allowed to drink before going on - the quality suffered!). The swimming pool was never filled with water and the facilities were limited, eating areas over-filled and a bit 'canteen-ish' but for what it was, we can't really complain. The parking at port (Tilbury) was efficient and Iglu were very helpful and accurate. Thank you.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 09 Aug 2014
Author: Lynda
Summary:  Six of us have just returned from three nights on the Marco Polo on the 50 years of Pirate Radio 'Boat That Rocks' Cruise and to celebrate my birthday. What can I say except it was all fantastic - the food exceptional, service excellent, staff friendly and helpful and this lovely old ship as wonderful as it was when I went to the fjords several years ago on her. The entertainment on this special cruise was wonderful and great to meet some of the pirates who broadcast in the 60s. Congratulations to the organisers and thanks for such a fantastic cruise. Antwerp and Amsterdam were great places to visit and were made better by wonderful weather. Will definitely be cruising on the Marco Polo again - thank you
User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 21 Jul 2014
Author: Mcfarlane
Summary:  First time on such a small ship, staff in all areas were top notch. Food comparable with much larger ships. Drinks much cheaper than expected with the exception of wines. Excursions comparable in price to other providers. Do not knock it till you try it.
User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 05 Jul 2014
Author: Martin
Summary:  We have just returned from our fab holiday on the Marco Polo on a trip called "Majestic Fjordland". If you like stunning scenery, waterfalls and waffles then this is the trip for you! What about the ship? Well it's small but very friendly with a fab entertainment team that worked hard all week. The cabin was a "superior oceanview" and much bigger than I expected with a big bright picture window. Being a small ship it is very easy to make friends, the people we sat with in the main restaurant met up with us in the bars to do the quizzes and also in the evenings, a good time was had by all! A special mention to Rosario, our waiter, he never put a foot wrong and did his job whilst singing away to himself, also to Ryan, the best singer in the entertainment team. There are some niggles of course: The food selection in the Marco restaurant was only basic, the tea stations were congested, stuck in a corner, Also, plastic tea stirrers belong in MCDonalds not on an expensive cruise, please give us real spoons. Shopping is also minimal onboard but I suppose you can expect that on a small ship. These are only minor things and on the whole we have had a fab trip. Just a mention about the excursions, The Fjords are absolutely stunning but we were blessed with good weather for most of the week, had we not been then it would have been a different story, the main problem is the towns themselves. Skjolden for instance is an idyllic peaceful paradise, but there's not much to do there if you don't go on an excursion. I suppose I'm being picky, but if you go for the scenery then it's fab. Also Norway is expensive, I made the mistake of buying a stick of wrigleys chewing gum and it cost me 16kr (£1.60) - only 45p in uk! I'm still glad I went but if you asked me if I'd go on the Marco Polo again I'd probably say no.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 28 Jun 2014
Author: Fran Owen
Summary:  A Baltic Highlights cruise departing Newcastle in June 2014 aboard Marco Polo. The ship is approaching her 50th year but is still in good nick. I remember travelling on her 40 years ago when emigrating from London to Canada with Baltic Shipping - what a difference! The elegant lines and smaller size make this liner a pretty picture, especially when moored next to those modern superhulks. The ship is well managed and smooth to sail in, food is plentiful and very tasty, service is efficient and friendly. Entertainment and music band are first class - each show bursting with energy and enthusiasm. A varied daily programme of events keeps one running up and down the stairs but at least the corridors are not too long. An excellent choice for first time cruisers with many repeat customers.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 08 May 2014
Author: Neil
Summary:  I went on the 2nd May 4 night bank holiday treat to Amsterdam, Zebrugge and Honfluer. It was the first time I had ever cruised with Cruise and Maritime but it most certainly won't be the last. I loved the Adult-only ship and the crew were all so friendly and helpful. Yes it's an older ship but inside it is well kept, very clean and extremely comfortable. The booking in and embarkation process took no more than ten minutes. Can't believe how organised they were. Our cabin was very comfortable and the cabin steward was outstandingly thoroughout. My only small criticism was that the disembarkation took a bit longer than I would have liked as you had to wait for your time slot to disembark. Don't let that put you off though. Best value for money I have had in years.

All Other Cruise and Maritime Ships

Astor Discovery Funchal
Azores

Book with Confidence

We are ATOL Holders and members of ABTA for your financial protection.

fv
Feefo logo
Search Cruises
Your Shortlist

You do not currently have any cruises in your shortlist.

View Our Awards

View Our Awards Including
14 awards in 2013

What our customers say

Dear Iglu, we had a wonderful holiday to the Baltic on the Eclipse departing in August. All of the departments at Iglu, pre-booking, post-booking, accounts, tours and upgrades were extremely helpful to us and we will definitely recommend to friends and will use you again when we next want to book a cruise. I would mention Mike, Mic, Violetta, Emma, Janice and Carol who were all very nice people to talk with and who all helped us in different ways. The advice to book our tour in St Petersburg with Tour de Force was the best tour we could have had.

Best Regards
E & J. Hamilton
(September 2014)

Read more feedback