Good evening, we have expert advice, cruise reviews & exclusive cruise deals on the widest
selection of cruises
online... about Iglu.
Search Site / Enter Cruise ID
Expert Advice and Booking
0208 544 6614

Marco Polo Reviews

A great range of Marco Polo reviews written by our customers. To write your own Marco Polo review click the link on the right.
Average rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6 (from 99 reviews)

6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6     (35)

5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6     (37)

4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6     (12)

3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6     (8)

2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6     (4)

1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6     (3)

Search For Cruise Reviews

Cruise Line Cruise Ship Destination

Latest Marco Polo Reviews

User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 07 Jan 2015
Author: M Inkster
Summary:  We liked the ship, it was exceptionally clean & our cabin was the largest we have ever had. However, being small, we felt that there wasn't really enough to occupy us during the days spent at sea, in our case this was 8 sea days in our 14 night cruise. The daytime activities were quite repetetive & it would have been great to have had a choice of lectures to attend. The Cruise Director Richard Sykes was amazing & so multi talented & he really carried the rest of his young team. The evening entertainment was excellent & the dancers & singers worked so hard every night to put on very polished performances. The food was generally disappointing & only lukewarm on some occasions. We started off eating in the Marco Polo restaurant but it was too much of a battle trying to find a seat & then queue for one's food that we spent most of the meal times in the Waldorf restaurant, which a much more civilised affair! The staff were always friendly & helpful. On balance we would not choose this ship again
User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 07 Jan 2015
Author: M Inkster
Summary:  We liked the ship, it was exceptionally clean & our cabin was the largest we have ever had. However, being small, we felt that there wasn't really enough to occupy us during the days spent at sea, in our case this was 8 sea days in our 14 night cruise. The daytime activities were quite repetetive & it would have been great to have had a choice of lectures to attend. The cruise director Richard Sykes was amazing & so multi talented & he really carried the rest of his young team. The evening entertainment was excellent & the dancers & singers worked so hard every night to put on very polished performances. The food was generally disappointing & only lukewarm on some occasions. We started off eating in the Marco Polo restaurant but it was too much of a battle trying to find a seat & then queue for one's food that we spent most of the meal times in the Waldorf restaurant, which a much more civilised affair! The staff were always friendly & helpful. On balance we would not choose this ship again
User Rating: 1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6
Date: 07 Jan 2015
Author: Sylvia Merry
Summary:  Iglu is an excellent company to book holidays with however we would not have booked this cruise if we had known that it was not going to provide "hosted" ballroom dancing as it was we only had piped music in the Marco Polo lounge which had a very large stage upon which to dance. Majority of the people onboard were old aged pensioners & even they complained of unhosted ballroom time. Entertainment in the small Scott's Bar should have been in Marco Polo lounge guaranteeing people a seat which also had a bar . Noise of the propeller shaft was loud esp being in Baltic deck level 5. There was only one disable toilet for anyone in a wheel chair. All staff on board were excellent from cabin stewards to the captain especially Richard Sykes the Cruise Director-a star in the making. Shows in the evening were high energy, superb singing & dancing. The Marco Polo Bistro did not have sufficient tables & chairs consequently people had to sit outside when the weather was cold. Would have like a double bed instead of 2 singles however there were 28 drawers, 2 double mirrored wardrobes & a good shower.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 13 Nov 2014
Author: Vince & Daniela Friggieri
Summary:  My wife and I have just returned from the 'Land of the Northern Lights' cruise. It was our seventh wedding anniversary and we celebrated by seeing the Aurora for the first time. The cruise was very special and we want to express our gratitude to all crew members. Captain Michaloliakos is a credit to his profession and has a crew of whom he can be proud. The entertainment was very good, the choice of cuisine was varied and tasty, onboard activities were diverse and interesting and the fjords and coastal towns were fantastic. There was a mishap at the Lofoten Islands when bad weather made docking impossible and the ship was temporarily grounded on a mud bank. As far as we were concerned, this just added to the experience and provided another after dinner anecdote. We look forward to cruising on the Marco Polo again.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 13 Nov 2014
Author: Vince & Daniela Friggieri
Summary:  My wife and I have just returned from the 'Land of the Northern Lights' cruise. It was our seventh wedding anniversary and we celebrated by seeing the Aurora for the first time. The cruise was very special and we want to express our gratitude to all crew members. Captain Michaloliakos is a credit to his profession and has a crew of whom he can be proud. The entertainment was very good, the choice of cuisine was varied and tasty, onboard activities were diverse and interesting and the fjords and coastal towns were fantastic. There was a mishap at the Lofoten Islands when bad weather made docking impossible and the ship was temporarily grounded on a mud bank. As far as we were concerned, this just added to the experience and provided another after dinner anecdote. We look forward to cruising on the Marco Polo again.
User Rating: 2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6
Date: 12 Nov 2014
Author: Liz
Summary:  The Marco Polo was generally clean and comfortable and my cabin steward was pleasant and hardworking. However, many staff were sullen and unfriendly, especially bar and in the Marco servery. The food was mediocre and eating space insufficient, many meals were spent walking round the shup looking for a corner to eat the meal. The drink machine was totally inadequate for 800 passengers and poorly arranged so that there was even a queue for milk after queuing for coffee and tea. The restaurant was lovely and the waiting staff friendly and pleasant. The food was very good and nicely presented. The excursions were incredibly expensive and in many ports you could get similar local trips for 1/2 the price. Entertainment was mixed, some acts better than others and there was a reasonable mix of talks. Generally the Marco Polo was ok but I would not choose to travel with this company again and would not recommend.
User Rating: 1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6
Date: 12 Nov 2014
Author: Kevin Saunders
Summary:  Dreadful ship coming to the end of her days. Cabins were kept clean even if no longer in best condition. Ship was clean and being constantly washed with bleach solution which was good to see. Was very unimpressed by the cruise line was made to feel we were there just as an excuse to take money from us. Attitude of staff was to say the least awful the way we were treated in the dining room was nothing more than like herded cattle get us in feed us get us out no atmosphere waiter we had was ignorant. Breakfast selection was ok evening meal food was ok occasionally. Entertainment and Bar staff were good always doing what they could to make time on board enjoyable. Excursion trips were expensive and could all be done a lot cheaper once in dock with exception of Polar Park which was good value.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 29 Oct 2014
Author: C.temple
Summary:  We had brilliant food and entertainment. The crew were very polite and the staff on the reception/excursion desk were very helpful and attentive. Re the St Petersburg trip - very good value for the money, however the cleopatra needle and sphinx near the river could have been left out and a visit incside the church of the spilled blood included as there are interesting mosaic pictures etc. (I think) there-even if it was an extra payment the client had to pay (only about 250 roubels-I think) Perhaps make a half hour stop for those who wanted to see inside and make lunch shorter. On the first day we saw the fortress and cathederal of st Peter and paul St Issacs cathederal inside-outside the church of spilled blood plus the hermitage. On second day-as fountains were closed-saw inside peterhof palace and inside catherine's palace-absolutely wonderful. Tatiana was the guide-she was excellent-she also took us down to the beautiful metro stations (i.e. the tube)-a couple of stops-which was really interesting.Thanks to Violetta for recommending this.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 29 Oct 2014
Author: Pamela Pope
Summary:  Just returned from 12 day cruise on Marco Polo to the Baltic. Had a great time, good food and ports very interesting if wet, but has to be expected in October. Shame we had to divert to Lithuania instead of going to Stockholm as the port was very boring. Entertainment excellent the cruise director Richard was the star of the cruise. The marco polo is not a luxury cruise ship but comfortable and friendly.
User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 17 Oct 2014
Author: Teresa Parker
Summary:  Very good all round, Thank You

All Other Cruise and Maritime Ships

Astor Azores Magellan

Book with Confidence

We are ATOL Holders and members of ABTA for your financial protection.

fv
Feefo logo
Search Cruises
Your Shortlist

You do not currently have any cruises in your shortlist.

View Our Awards

View Our Awards

What our customers say

Dear Iglu. We must congratulate your company on being very efficient in dealing with our booking, the service we have received has been excellent. Also we would like to thank Vicky for being very good at her job her customer care qualities are marvellous. Thank You Vicky. We are very much looking forward to the cruise. Thank you again for everthing. 

Mr Nurding & Mrs Cox
(February 2015)

Read more feedback