Good morning, we have expert advice, cruise reviews & exclusive cruise deals on the widest
selection of cruises
online... about Iglu.
Search Site / Enter Cruise ID
Expert Advice and Booking
0208 544 6614

Marco Polo Reviews

A great range of Marco Polo reviews written by our customers. To write your own Marco Polo review click the link on the right.
Average rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6 (from 66 reviews)

6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6     (21)

5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6     (32)

4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6     (4)

3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6     (7)

2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6     (1)

1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6     (1)

Search For Cruise Reviews

Cruise Line Cruise Ship Destination

Latest Marco Polo Reviews

User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 07 Apr 2014
Author: Richard Coe
Summary:  We have cruised 37 times, 5 of which have been on the Marco Polo. You get superb value for money. The ship is old and there are no balconies but the public rooms are great and you get to socialise with fellow like minded passengers who want super destinations, good food and entertainment by a crew that seek to please. We don't want the glitz of the new superliners, just good old fashioned adult only cruising. Unlike the ships with thousands of passengers, Marco Polo is small enough to actually meet people and make new friends. Further comments can be found in my book which details all of our cruising and many other holidays to more than 100 countries. See Keep on Going by Richard Coe available as paperback and as Kindle E-reader.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 07 Apr 2014
Author: Rayharris
Summary:  Did a recent cruise to the Spring Gardens, sailing on Marco Polo. A lovely old vessel that we would not hesitate in returning to again and again. Could not fault the warm welcome that my wife and I received from the moment we boarded this sturdy vessel, I only wish I had the appetite to consume the food available to us on this wonderful holiday. Many congratulations to all concerned.
User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 03 Mar 2014
Author: Tony Litchfield
Summary:  Just back from a super 2 weeks cruise to see the Northern Lights. Really tired of the moaning I heard during the cruise.Get a grip, if your not paying 5 star prices don't expect it onboard. Complaining about waiting to get into restaurant - what's the rush ?? We thoroughly enjoyed our experience. For the money I would definately recommend it. So don't be put of bad reviews. Don't forget there prices are cheaper than anyone else doing similar trips.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 13 Jan 2014
Author: Sharon Bell
Summary:  First ever cruise and what a delightful experience. Had a two night mini cruise to Antwerp which was fantastic. The organisation from the minute you arrive until you get back to your car is excellent. The staff (onboard and onshore) are all amazing. The prices onboard are very reasonable you cant help but enjoy yourself. Got the bug now and cant wait to be onboard again!! Thanks to all concerned - 5* experience!
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 21 Dec 2013
Author: Janice Sharp
Summary:  Just arrived home from a brilliant mini break on the Marco Polo. The crew were polite, friendly, approachable and helpful. The cabin was clean and tidy as was the whole ship and the food exceptional. Well done Cruise and Maritime, I am booking my next cruise with you now!
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 14 Nov 2013
Author: Jeanette Cawkwell
Summary:  Excellent cruise to The Land of the Northern Lights(6/10/2013-20/10/2013). My Mum's dream came true, thanks to all the staff on board the Marco Polo. She, myself and my daughter got to see the Northern Lights not once but three times. All staff were very helpful especially the Medical team. When my daughter suffered a seziure they were excellent in her care and treatment. Everyone was so kind, helpful and reasuring. Food excellent although wine choices very limited and expensive. We will be booking again, next time we would like to feed the Arctic Wolfes as well as the Arctic Foxes. Seeing my daughter feeding the Arctic Foxes at The Polar Zoo was the most wonderful thing to see, she and I will remember this all our lives, just wish her dad could have been with us.
User Rating: 3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6
Date: 30 Oct 2013
Author: Alan Cox
Summary:  If you book this cruise you should be aware that the cabins are not to the standard of most other cruise ships I would say they basic and to standard of a three star hotel. The food was good even though it's to suit the Engish taste, the buffet restaurant is very basic but the tea station opened from 6am untill 10pm this is excellent even with the chiped mugs, but the chips was only on the bottom. The entertainment was of a good standard in a show lounge rather than a theatre with waitresses serving you at your table. The cruise was enjoyable until the final night after the entertainment the lifts was closed due to the crew taking passengers luggage to the Baltic deck ready for the morning with both lifts being used it made life difficult for passengers who were less mobil. On arriving back to our cabin the stewardess had removed the bath towels and anything that would make her job easier the following morning, she did even turn down the beds. The following morning whilst waiting to leave the ship I asked fellow passengers if they had the same problem regarding the cabin problem, this led me to understand it was only passengers on the Baltic and Carbic decks with the closing of the lifts most found it an inconvenience. I wrote to Cruise and Maritine to assertain if this was standard practice but unfortunately to date they have ignored my letter leaving me to believe this is the norn or they are not interested in passenger feed back.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 25 Aug 2013
Author: Amanda Tidey
Summary:  Just returned from Norway. Fantastic time, food very good, entertainment excellent. Staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The cabins and the rest of the ship were very clean. There was so much to do on board ship when not in ports. We only did two of the organised trips, didn't think the trip to the dam was worth it but the voringfoss waterfall was amazing. The trip to the glaciers and glacier centre were well worth it. Most ports we did our own thing and found tickets easy to obtain in port. Look forward to our next cruise on Marco Polo soon.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 06 Aug 2013
Author: Happy Cruiser
Summary:  Family of 4 including 2 teeneagers.Just back from a 12 night Land of the Midnight Sun and North Cape cruise. We had a great time and were very impressed by the Marco Polo, the food facilities and not least the staff. The ship was very clean and the variety of activities was impresseive there was something for all of us. Real highlights were the Lofoten islands, the North Cape, the violinist Tatiana who entertained us every night, the lectures (learnt a lot thanks to Louise) This ship has a very loyal following and we are sure we will be back to do a different itinerary. Thanks to Iglu for all Paul did for us at the last minute it was a geat holiday
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 28 May 2013
Author: Polly
Summary:  We have just returned from the 8 night Norwegian Fjords cruise departing 17th May. We had a cabin on Columbus Deck (720) which was spacious and comfortable, although the twin beds were rather narrow. We ate mostly in the Waldorf restaurant, food was good but the tables are crammed in. Service is good. The staff keep the ship beautifully clean. Entertainment was good. For what you pay this is good value for money and perfectly acceptable. I have read some of the more negative reviews and feel that they are unfair. One mentions chipped mugs at the coffee an tea 'stations', yes some are chipped, but they are chipped at the bottom of the mug where they are stacked not on the rim where you drink, and it is very easy to choose a different one. We liked the fact that it is a small ship and the embarkation and disembarkation were very easy. Sailing from Tilbury was very convenient saving the hassle of a fly/cruise. We would cruise on the Marco Polo again.

All Other Cruise and Maritime Ships

Astor Discovery

Book with Confidence

We are ATOL Holders and members of ABTA for your financial protection.

You money is 100% guaranteed when you book a holiday with Iglucruise
Feefo logo
Search Cruises
Your Shortlist

You do not currently have any cruises in your shortlist.

Vote for us in the Cruise International Awards 2014

Vote for Iglu as
Best Cruise Agent 2014

View Our Awards

View Our Awards Including
14 awards in 2013

What our customers say

"Since we retired 5 years ago we have booked numerous cruises with Iglu. We have been very pleased with the service and value from Iglu. Our personal cruise consultant James Turner is an asset to your company. James always goes the extra mile to ensure that our holidays run smoothly. Flights and transfers are arranged with care and James always manages to get us connecting flights from our local airport Newcastle.

From two very happy cruisers,

Susan and Harold Moses.
(March 2013)

Read more feedback