Good afternoon, we have expert advice, cruise reviews & exclusive cruise deals on the widest
selection of cruises
online... about Iglu.
Search Site / Enter Cruise ID
Expert Advice and Booking
0208 544 6614

Marco Polo Reviews

A great range of Marco Polo reviews written by our customers. To write your own Marco Polo review click the link on the right.
Average rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6 (from 110 reviews)

6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6     (37)

5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6     (43)

4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6     (15)

3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6     (8)

2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6     (4)

1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6     (3)

Search For Cruise Reviews

Cruise Line
Cruise Ship
Destination

Latest Marco Polo Reviews

User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 04 May 2015
Author: Jackie Harrison
Summary:  Just back from Norway on the Marco Polo. Lovely old ship! The cabin were clean & well maintained. our steward 'Robin' was lovely. cabin 449 Thin walls, we had happy neighbours woken up at 7.30 every morning by there laughing. (guess they were not married) Entertainment team were lead by a good all rounder 'Johnathan' the others were very average. Bar & bar waiting staff were all from Eastern Europe, not a people who serve! all polite but.... Food was tasty & plentiful, but Never Hot! buffet & Marco restaurant both clean & well staffed. (Take your own tea bags if you are fussy about a good cup of tea) lots of herb teas, Overall very enjoyable Cruise good 3+ star Ship.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 29 Apr 2015
Author: Fiona
Summary:  This was my first cruise and it exceeded all my expectations! From the minute we arrived at Tilbury Dock where I did not even see my suitcase being taken away until we got back, everything was absolutely fantastic. The organisation of everything was brilliant - food, service, entertainment. You do not have time to get bored on an 'at sea' day. There is so much to do. Absolutely no criticism. Even the weather played ball with, as the Captain said, the smoothest cruise ever! The only thing I would say is that the organised shore excursions are expensive. A little bit of research on-line beforehand will tell you that doing the excursions independently is cheaper and not a problem to arrange once ashore.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 21 Apr 2015
Author: Annette O'shea
Summary:  This was our first cruise, on the Springtime Fiords. Embarkation at Tilbury was excellent, we were in our cabin within half an hour with luggage already delivered. Cabin size was better than expected (602) and very comfortable, my advise would be to bring own hairdryer as the one in shower is not great. Spotlessly clean throughout, stewards are excellent. Walls are very thin, you can Hear your fellow neighbours. facilities on board were good, shops not very well stocked, but we had everything we needed. bars and lounges were all wonderful, different entertainment in each one, cocktails and drinks were such good value and the service was excellent. the cabaret shows were good with two shows every night. spa and gym area offered a good service. food very good, plentiful. You had a choice of formal or buffet. Early or late seating, all with excellent service.They make the best scones and shortbread! Outside decks were wonderful to relax on and there were always staff to serve you drinks.We did our own trips and getting on and off the ship was so easy. We has a fantastic week even though weather not too good and some rough seas. overall I would highly recommend the Marco Polo, she has wonderful charm,and great staff. My only complaint is the water, you get small glasses of water at the tea station but you are not allowed to fill any bottles. Bottled water is left in your cabin but each bottle costs £2.30 and at the bars its 2.80 you can get small plastic ones for 1.60.
User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 13 Apr 2015
Author: Geoff Southgate
Summary:  Easter UK Tour had a really good itinerary and the entertainment was excellent. The ship itself was fine and the staff good but the food was disappointing. It looked like portions and selection had been reduced to keep costs down.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 13 Apr 2015
Author: S Walker
Summary:  Enjoyed our stay on Marco Polo cabin good very clean steward very helpful. All staff were very pleasant and polite. Food was good plenty of choice, drinks were reasonably priced. Entertainment very enjoyable. Weather could have been better and unfortunately we were not able to visit Jersey and Guernsey. Trips were well organised but we would have liked longer at each destination.
User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 04 Apr 2015
Author: John Alexander
Summary:  The Spring Gardens cruise from 27 Mar to 2 Apr 15 took place during a spell of very unsettled cold and windy weather. This caused the cancellation of calls at both Jersey and St Peter Port, Guernsey as the swell was too high for safe anchorage. Cherbourg and Rouen were the alternatives selected. In our view an excellent and sensible decision, particularly with the extraordinary number of disabled elderly passengers on board. The ship was full resulting in Marco's Bistro being over crowded at times, but the food was good and no one went hungry. The tea and coffee dispensing arrangements are still in the dark ages using jugs of hot water, and hence a load on the catering staff. We felt all the staff were under extreme pressure but they coped well. We were surprised that the lifeboat drill separated men and women, something we felt would be unworkable in a real emergency as most couples would insist on staying together. Overall a very good cruise on a now ancient ship. The weakest points were a less than professional show team and room for improvement in the organisation of excursions, offset by excellent free shuttle bus availability in all the ports except Amsterdam. In summary a cruise that was very good value for money and we thoroughly enjoyed it.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 29 Mar 2015
Author: Mrs Bastin
Summary:  The ship was kept very clean, the staff worked non stop. It would be a good idea to put a small dish or pot on the tables in the waldorf restaurant to put tea bags in. I feel as this ship is 50yrs old it does need some safety work done on the windows
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 22 Mar 2015
Author: Graham Young
Summary:  Atmosphere on the ship was better than we expected. All staff we met were very friendly and helpful. The ship and cabins were clean and the other passengers were a very nice bunch of people. No children onboard was a bonus. Food was not quite as good as P&O or Cunard, but was perfectly acceptable and much better than MSC. (MSC even charge you for water at dinner, not even chilled) Service in the restaurant was really excellent (we have to mention the outstanding Ivan our waiter), but the buffet was generally too crowded with not enough seats so did not use that much. Had to move from cabin 515 as it was right under the Bistro kitchen and the noise woke us at 5am. Reception staff very helpful in changing to cabin 420 under the theatre, so a little noise in the evening but none in the morning. Engine failure meant an unexpected stop for repairs at Trondheim, so missed the Svartissen Glacier and the North Cape, and Tromso was postponed till a Sunday when everything was closed. One glass of house wine offered in compensation - not very generous. All in all we enjoyed it.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 18 Mar 2015
Author: Graham
Summary:  My wife and I have just recently returned from the Northern Lights Cruise on board the Marco Polo, and I must say what an absolute delight it was. This was our first cruise, and everything we could want was expertly catered for. Our waiter was what you would expect in a 5 star restaurant , very very polite and courteous, and as my wife is diabetic, he sought out the "sugar free option" for dessert evey night. The cabin attendant was expert in his job, always a lovely clean, neat and tidy cabin to return to, especially appreciated after a "rough night" at sea. The food was incredible, so much choice and variation, and it was not until the last but one night did we realise how many chefs there were onboard. How did they all work so well, in such a small area?. The onboard entertainment was very diverse, from musical shows to opera, a comedian, and also to "tv shows", and every show was of a high quality, all the dancers done very well to keep their feet, even so more appreciated when the ship "moved a bit at night" in heavy seas. It is very hard to reaslise from looking at the ship, that she is over 50 years old, as it is so neat and tidy, and also, very importantly, spotless inside, with the staff constantly cleaning and wiping handrails. We also were very impressed with everyone having hand cleanser offered to them prior to entering eating areas. A special word for the captain, who, on more than 1 occassion, changed the itinery slightly to avoid rough seas, but still made port on time, a few times, earlier than expected. Well done Sir. I would have absolutely no doubts about returning to this ship for another cruise, and am alread looking at the itinery for next year. A very big thank you to all the staff for a memorable cruise, and look forward to seeing you all again.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 04 Mar 2015
Author: D Barker
Summary:  Arrival and progress from the waiting area at London Cruise Terminal was on time with easy access through security checks and boarding procedures and issue of the Cruise Card/Passport checks. The Captain made successful maritime decisions to avoid extreme sea conditions and promoted safe policies during heavy seas. Passenger comfort and safety were a high priority. Marco Polo has been generally re-carpeted since sailing previously 2 years ago to public areas with other redecorations. Quite acceptable for a 50 year old ship. The set evening dining was well organised and allocated tables had two waiting staff and a wine waiter. The main evening menu had 6 courses with an additional sorbet offered during formal dining. Most food allergy alternatives were available albeit with a much reduced selection. Breakfast Lunch and Dinner had Bistro/cafe dining available as an alternative and for the 1st dining period 6.00 pm -8.30 pm. Bistro(Self serve) and restaurant alternatives with good selections for each course varying between 2 and 4 dishes for each course including veggie alternatives. Many staff engaged with clearing, cleaning and hand sanitation near all food areas and all staff knew their duties and were very helpful and responsive to passenger requirements. Visits and excursions were well organised at every port visited. Daytime and evening entertainment was available and high quality show dancing and Singing was supported by an excellent Ship Orchestra under the direction of the Cruise Director Jonathan who managed with all aspects of the passenger needs. Very much a ''Family Friendly Feeling'' and worthy of repeat visits.

All Other Cruise and Maritime Ships

Astor Azores Magellan

Book with Confidence

We are ATOL Holders and members of ABTA for your financial protection.

fv
Feefo logo
Iglu Best Price Guarantee!
Search Cruises
Your Shortlist

You do not currently have any cruises in your shortlist.

View Our Awards

View Our Awards

What our customers say

We had a great time on the Thomson Spirit cruise which you booked for us at short notice. Having booked late Monday afternoon was impressed by service as we had our E ticket by Tuesday lunch. Thank you for a very efficient service

W. Dallas
(May 2015)

Read more feedback