Good evening, we have expert advice, cruise reviews & exclusive cruise deals on the widest
selection of cruises
online... about Iglu.
Search Site / Enter Cruise ID
Expert Advice and Booking
0208 544 6614

Marco Polo Reviews

A great range of Marco Polo reviews written by our customers. To write your own Marco Polo review click the link on the right.
Average rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6 (from 87 reviews)

6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6     (31)

5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6     (35)

4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6     (9)

3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6     (8)

2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6     (3)

1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6     (1)

Search For Cruise Reviews

Cruise Line Cruise Ship Destination

Latest Marco Polo Reviews

User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 11 Oct 2014
Author: Natalie Trew
Summary:  The cruise was excellent and so was the ship. The crew could not have been more helpful, attentive and friendly. The entertainment was enthusiastic and fun, very professional. The organising of everyone when in port was conducted in a fun and efficient manner, avoiding long waits. Excellent all round.
User Rating: 2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6
Date: 08 Oct 2014
Author: S Lloyd
Summary:  Just back from a week-end jolly to Amsterdam. The cruise was a thank you present from my daughter and the destination chosen for the opportunity to see Amsterdam and the museums. We have had many happy cruises on the Marco Polo and were looking forward to renewing acquaintance with a much loved ship. What a disappointment! Standards had dropped considerably since our last cruise when the ship was under a previous management. The Marco Polo was looking rather shabby, catering was very run of the mill and the evening 'entertainment' of poor quality. On the plus side the staff were courteous and friendly, the cabin immaculate. However the little touches that make a cruise experience special were missing. I suppose the destination and length of cruise attracted a particular demographic but I did not enjoy the drunken shouting and disgusting language which went on until the early hours of the morning. Cabin walls are not constructed efficiently enough to deaden the sound of party people.
User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 05 Oct 2014
Author: Madeleine Treloar
Summary:  Have just returned from a trip to the Baltic and St Petresburg which I thoroughly enjoyed, but I felt the company were not quite honest about the visa requirement. Yes you need a visa, but if you want to book your shore excursions in St Petersburg with a local firm you can and they will sort the visa and everything for you, you do not have to fork out for a visa independently as the ship's literature states. Other than that, it was a great trip, my second on Marco Polo and not my last!
User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 24 Sep 2014
Author: Mrs. Myrna J. Hayter
Summary:  Was not sure what to expect - have not cruised since Canberra Ship was clean and well-run. Shown to a cabin on lower deck which, frankly, smelt of damp and pee! Told cabin staff, who kindly showed me an alternative cabin on same deck, which smelt fine! Reported this to Reception - unpleasant woman said this was unacceptable. Only Reception could authorise change of cabin and who was this member of staff who dared to offer change!! Staff member kindly spoke to Reception for me and after dinner, different Reception member, Alex, kindly showed me upgraded cabin on higher deck, which was clean and smelt fine. Ship maintained very well. Unnecessary noise in corridors late at night and early morning, caused by selfish and thoughtless passengers and ill-trained cleaner smashing trolly against my corner cabin! Surely on a budget cruise, Marco Polo staff could remind the more drunken and thoughtless passengers to think about the rest of us, often older, cruisers, as clearly they need reminding. Food was definitely superior canteen - English Hotel type food. Perfectly good, generous portions and enough choice. Staff worked very hard with a large number of people and 2 sittings. Certainly not luxury, but good value for the sums involved. I would go again - for longer than the 3 night mini-cruise to make all the travelling worthwhile. But a slightly more expensive cruise would no doubt make all the difference!
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 24 Sep 2014
Author: Alan Hill
Summary:  Trip to Antwerp/Amsterdam was excellent. Ship very good, crew excellent, food fine. BUT they must get their lifts fixed. ("awaiting parts" will not do )
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 21 Sep 2014
Author: Anne Jackson
Summary:  We have just returned from 3 night cruise on Marco Polo; Tilbury, Antwerp, Amsterdam, Tilbury, It was a great weekend break and we enjoyed it very much. Lovely clean inside cabin on deck 6 (handy for the dining room) kept spotless by the cabin steward. Food was excellent as was the service. Over too quickly, and we were very lucky with the weather, nice and sunny which was a bonus. Will be keeping a lookout for future deals on the lovely ship.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 15 Sep 2014
Author: John S Turner
Summary:  I wish to say that my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our cruise with Cruise Maritime around The British Isles. The Marco Polo Customer service were excellent, entertainment 1st class and cuisine 1st class. Ship's company from the Captain to the cabin staff, every man Jack and Jill were very courteous. We are just waiting to go again.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 11 Sep 2014
Author: M&m Wood
Summary:  Just returned from our first ever cruise on the Marco Polo. We did not know what to expect as we are normally independent travelers. It was wonderful - helped by the good weather our trip around the UK - Scotland, Ireland and then Scilly, Guernsey and on to France was wonderful. The crew work amazingly hard to make things run as smoothly as possible. The food was very good too. A big thank you to everyone from the young men keeping the stairs in a constant state of cleanliness, the cabin staff who ensured our room was tidy to the excellent Captain who ensured he was highly visible around the ship. Our experiences were his too, so any faults he'd pick up and sort. We are more than tempted to go again - whilst the Marco Polo isn't a modern ship, it is what I call a "Proper Ship" so when we were in Invergorden along side a monster ship - I decided that the MP was the one for us. Thank you - and also to all the wonderful friendly passengers we met along the way.
User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 14 Aug 2014
Author: Elaineharrod
Summary:  Late deal for eight fuelled debate, with persistent strong smell of diesel (lower, rear cabin) being contentious issue for one couple who had paid extra for outside upgrade. (First time cruisers, who may have been permanently put off, regrettably.) Other 3 cabins (higher, forward) were fine for short trip: air-con, hot and powerful shower, comfy (though fixed twin) beds, adequate storage and good lighting, plus option of breakfast in bed. Embarkation effortless. Tasty buffet lunch. Blessed with sunshine as we set sail from Tilbury (for Antwerp and Amsterdam). Sun deck with loungers, 3 very hot tubs, and waiter service for drinks, was pleasant place to enjoy sun set. (No water in pool for entire trip.) Restaurant elegant. Ample choice and good quality of food. Unimposing, efficient service. House wine needs to be improved though. Photographers were intrusive at mealtimes. Dress code was unclear and haphazard. There was no official formal night, which was contrary to our expectations and therefore disappointing. Theatre was overcrowded. Entertainment appealed to the majority. Ports were fabulous. Both easily accessible from docks. Over too soon. Disembarkation ok. Would do it again without a doubt.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 11 Aug 2014
Author: Jackie Brown
Summary:  This was my first time on the Marco Polo and my expectations were not high. The ship itself and the service provided was better than expected. The Marco Polo is a very friendly ship, the cabins on the lower decks (Baltic) are clean and the beds quite comfortable but unfortunately we were in one near the engines, so engine noise and vibration disturbed sleep. However, I did not pay that much for the cruise so was not too disappointed. We were on this ship for the 50th anniversary of Pirate radio. The entertainment was fantastic! Georgie Fame, Eddie Floyd, Zoot Money, The Rythmn Kings and many more! Some of the entertainment seemed a bit disorganised but no real complaints. It was like party night every night! I would not like to spend more than a week in these cabins but I would go again. The passengers were mostly 60-70 age group but there were quite a few younger people too who seemed to really enjoy themselves.

All Other Cruise and Maritime Ships

Astor Azores

Book with Confidence

We are ATOL Holders and members of ABTA for your financial protection.

fv
Feefo logo
Search Cruises
Your Shortlist

You do not currently have any cruises in your shortlist.

View Our Awards

View Our Awards Including
14 awards in 2013

What our customers say

Dear Iglu, I wanted to thank you for all your assistance during the booking process for our forthcoming cruise which was seamless. Your knowledge and patience are both first class! I have now received all the relevant paperwork and have logged on to my cruise personaliser via the Cunard website.

Many thanks once again
Ray Clements
(October 2014)

Read more feedback