Good evening, we have expert advice, cruise reviews & exclusive cruise deals on the widest
selection of cruises
online... about Iglu.
Search Site / Enter Cruise ID
Expert Advice and Booking
0208 544 6614

Marco Polo Reviews

A great range of Marco Polo reviews written by our customers. To write your own Marco Polo review click the link on the right.
Average rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6 (from 74 reviews)

6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6     (25)

5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6     (34)

4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6     (5)

3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6     (8)

2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6     (1)

1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6     (1)

Search For Cruise Reviews

Cruise Line Cruise Ship Destination

Latest Marco Polo Reviews

User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 05 Jul 2014
Author: Martin
Summary:  We have just returned from our fab holiday on the Marco Polo on a trip called "Majestic Fjordland". If you like stunning scenery, waterfalls and waffles then this is the trip for you! What about the ship? Well it's small but very friendly with a fab entertainment team that worked hard all week. The cabin was a "superior oceanview" and much bigger than I expected with a big bright picture window. Being a small ship it is very easy to make friends, the people we sat with in the main restaurant met up with us in the bars to do the quizzes and also in the evenings, a good time was had by all! A special mention to Rosario, our waiter, he never put a foot wrong and did his job whilst singing away to himself, also to Ryan, the best singer in the entertainment team. There are some niggles of course: The food selection in the Marco restaurant was only basic, the tea stations were congested, stuck in a corner, Also, plastic tea stirrers belong in MCDonalds not on an expensive cruise, please give us real spoons. Shopping is also minimal onboard but I suppose you can expect that on a small ship. These are only minor things and on the whole we have had a fab trip. Just a mention about the excursions, The Fjords are absolutely stunning but we were blessed with good weather for most of the week, had we not been then it would have been a different story, the main problem is the towns themselves. Skjolden for instance is an idyllic peaceful paradise, but there's not much to do there if you don't go on an excursion. I suppose I'm being picky, but if you go for the scenery then it's fab. Also Norway is expensive, I made the mistake of buying a stick of wrigleys chewing gum and it cost me 16kr (£1.60) - only 45p in uk! I'm still glad I went but if you asked me if I'd go on the Marco Polo again I'd probably say no.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 28 Jun 2014
Author: Fran Owen
Summary:  A Baltic Highlights cruise departing Newcastle in June 2014 aboard Marco Polo. The ship is approaching her 50th year but is still in good nick. I remember travelling on her 40 years ago when emigrating from London to Canada with Baltic Shipping - what a difference! The elegant lines and smaller size make this liner a pretty picture, especially when moored next to those modern superhulks. The ship is well managed and smooth to sail in, food is plentiful and very tasty, service is efficient and friendly. Entertainment and music band are first class - each show bursting with energy and enthusiasm. A varied daily programme of events keeps one running up and down the stairs but at least the corridors are not too long. An excellent choice for first time cruisers with many repeat customers.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 08 May 2014
Author: Neil
Summary:  I went on the 2nd May 4 night bank holiday treat to Amsterdam, Zebrugge and Honfluer. It was the first time I had ever cruised with Cruise and Maritime but it most certainly won't be the last. I loved the Adult-only ship and the crew were all so friendly and helpful. Yes it's an older ship but inside it is well kept, very clean and extremely comfortable. The booking in and embarkation process took no more than ten minutes. Can't believe how organised they were. Our cabin was very comfortable and the cabin steward was outstandingly thoroughout. My only small criticism was that the disembarkation took a bit longer than I would have liked as you had to wait for your time slot to disembark. Don't let that put you off though. Best value for money I have had in years.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 27 Apr 2014
Author: Patrick Mcnamara
Summary:  My wife and myself are currently aboard the Marco Polo in the Fjords . Please do not listen to any negative reviews about this ship, we are having a fantastic time. The crew and staff are really good with attention to detail. There is no enforced dress code I wore jeans during the day and an open neck shirt and chinos for dinner. The food is really good. I stayed in cabin 104 on the 4th deck, the cabin was clean and tidy with all necessary facilities. The beds were made every day and in the evening they folded your bed wear and turned down the bed. There is plenty to do with evening entertainment every day. Thank you Marco Polo for an outstanding holiday.
User Rating: 3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6
Date: 26 Apr 2014
Author: Beryl Waldorf
Summary:  Sorry but I was disappointed. The officers did not make "the rounds" at all. The Captain sat with the Junior Royals one evening. The Hotel Manager did not make contact with the passengers on other tables the evening he ate at the 2nd sitting. Mind you he did apologise when I pointed this out to him. Bad PR. Passengers who returned late from a tour found the teas had been terminated. Please ask the waiters to smile. Our waiters on table 58 did eventually when I kept smiling at them. They took the hint!! Did not have a adapter with me and I was told that it was not a British ship and should have brought one with me. I paid over £2,000 for my cabin 505!!! I had one window as the life boats were overhead and made a terrible noise early in the morning when being lowered. I have noted that one review states that some people were grumbling without reason......perhaps they had been cruising before, as I had, and had good reason to grumble. I was with a group of 57 and I am sorry to say that a majority said that they would not travel with Cruise and Maritime again....What a shame! Incidentally, the ship was very clean!
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 26 Apr 2014
Author: J Steadman
Summary:  After reading bad reviews prior to our cruise on the Marco polo Easter cruise to Norway, we were apprehensive about going. we were delighted to find the opposite was true. Good food, great entertainment, great staff and friendly passengers would go again also got to meat the comedian Bobby Dazzler.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 25 Apr 2014
Author: Carol Wylie
Summary:  We have just spent 6 days on the Marco Polo on a 6 day cruise to the Norway Fjords. Booking was easy and staff helpful, tickets arrived on time and instructions clear. We can not fault the whole experience from the car park attendances at Tilbury Docks at the beginning of our cruise to the arrival back home today on the 25/04/2014. The ship's staff are all friendly, polite, courteous and are happy to banter with passengers or leave you alone if that's what you prefer. The ship itself has character and is spotless and through out the day the staff are constantly cleaning and are quick at removing empty glasses/ cups etc. The food is excellent and plenty of choice and food available through out the day with tea/coffee being available at all times. The entertainment and daytime activities are well organised and fun to watch even if you choose not too join in. Trips and excursions are slightly more expensive to book but your choice to do it independently and no pressure to do it any way you want. Alcoholic drinks are also expensive so make sure you look out for 'happy hour'. The timings are excellent and the places we visited were beautiful and well worth the visit. Cabins are small but adequate and clean, beds are fairly comfortable and shower is good. Marco Polo is an adult only ship and is well suited for the more 'mature' age group. We had a brilliant week and loved the whole experience and would recommend it to family and friends :)
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 20 Apr 2014
Author: Val & Roy Albin
Summary:  We boarded Marco Polo on 4th Apr British Isles cruise. Locations very good, staff exceptional and food and conditions way up there too. The biggest problem was a minority of passengers who consider themselves to be 'cruise ship officianados' and who never stopped complaining, on or off ship. Fortunately, we found the majority of travellers to be happy with pretty much everything, as we were and just as determined to have a good time. Thank goodness!
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 07 Apr 2014
Author: Richard Coe
Summary:  We have cruised 37 times, 5 of which have been on the Marco Polo. You get superb value for money. The ship is old and there are no balconies but the public rooms are great and you get to socialise with fellow like minded passengers who want super destinations, good food and entertainment by a crew that seek to please. We don't want the glitz of the new superliners, just good old fashioned adult only cruising. Unlike the ships with thousands of passengers, Marco Polo is small enough to actually meet people and make new friends. Further comments can be found in my book which details all of our cruising and many other holidays to more than 100 countries. See Keep on Going by Richard Coe available as paperback and as Kindle E-reader.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 07 Apr 2014
Author: Rayharris
Summary:  Did a recent cruise to the Spring Gardens, sailing on Marco Polo. A lovely old vessel that we would not hesitate in returning to again and again. Could not fault the warm welcome that my wife and I received from the moment we boarded this sturdy vessel, I only wish I had the appetite to consume the food available to us on this wonderful holiday. Many congratulations to all concerned.

All Other Cruise and Maritime Ships

Astor Azores Discovery

Book with Confidence

We are ATOL Holders and members of ABTA for your financial protection.

fv
Feefo logo
Search Cruises
Your Shortlist

You do not currently have any cruises in your shortlist.

Vote for us in the Cruise International Awards 2014

Vote for Iglu as
Best Cruise Agent 2014

View Our Awards

View Our Awards Including
14 awards in 2013

What our customers say

We would like to say a big thank-you for our amazing holiday on the Regal Princess ship, she was beautiful. The staff were lovely, helpful, charming people who couldn't do enough for us. The ports of call were all amazing. A big thank you to Les Whiting who booked our holiday, we will recommend Iglu to all our friends and can't wait to book again. From start to finish this was truly an amazing holiday.


Carol & George Lindsay
(July 2014)

Read more feedback