Good evening, we have expert advice, cruise reviews & exclusive cruise deals on the widest
selection of cruises
online... about Iglu.
Search Site / Enter Cruise ID
Expert Advice and Booking
0208 544 6614

Marco Polo Reviews

A great range of Marco Polo reviews written by our customers. To write your own Marco Polo review click the link on the right.
Average rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6 (from 96 reviews)

6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6     (35)

5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6     (37)

4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6     (10)

3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6     (8)

2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6     (4)

1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6     (2)

Search For Cruise Reviews

Cruise Line Cruise Ship Destination

Latest Marco Polo Reviews

User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 13 Nov 2014
Author: Vince & Daniela Friggieri
Summary:  My wife and I have just returned from the 'Land of the Northern Lights' cruise. It was our seventh wedding anniversary and we celebrated by seeing the Aurora for the first time. The cruise was very special and we want to express our gratitude to all crew members. Captain Michaloliakos is a credit to his profession and has a crew of whom he can be proud. The entertainment was very good, the choice of cuisine was varied and tasty, onboard activities were diverse and interesting and the fjords and coastal towns were fantastic. There was a mishap at the Lofoten Islands when bad weather made docking impossible and the ship was temporarily grounded on a mud bank. As far as we were concerned, this just added to the experience and provided another after dinner anecdote. We look forward to cruising on the Marco Polo again.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 13 Nov 2014
Author: Vince & Daniela Friggieri
Summary:  My wife and I have just returned from the 'Land of the Northern Lights' cruise. It was our seventh wedding anniversary and we celebrated by seeing the Aurora for the first time. The cruise was very special and we want to express our gratitude to all crew members. Captain Michaloliakos is a credit to his profession and has a crew of whom he can be proud. The entertainment was very good, the choice of cuisine was varied and tasty, onboard activities were diverse and interesting and the fjords and coastal towns were fantastic. There was a mishap at the Lofoten Islands when bad weather made docking impossible and the ship was temporarily grounded on a mud bank. As far as we were concerned, this just added to the experience and provided another after dinner anecdote. We look forward to cruising on the Marco Polo again.
User Rating: 2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6
Date: 12 Nov 2014
Author: Liz
Summary:  The Marco Polo was generally clean and comfortable and my cabin steward was pleasant and hardworking. However, many staff were sullen and unfriendly, especially bar and in the Marco servery. The food was mediocre and eating space insufficient, many meals were spent walking round the shup looking for a corner to eat the meal. The drink machine was totally inadequate for 800 passengers and poorly arranged so that there was even a queue for milk after queuing for coffee and tea. The restaurant was lovely and the waiting staff friendly and pleasant. The food was very good and nicely presented. The excursions were incredibly expensive and in many ports you could get similar local trips for 1/2 the price. Entertainment was mixed, some acts better than others and there was a reasonable mix of talks. Generally the Marco Polo was ok but I would not choose to travel with this company again and would not recommend.
User Rating: 1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6
Date: 12 Nov 2014
Author: Kevin Saunders
Summary:  Dreadful ship coming to the end of her days. Cabins were kept clean even if no longer in best condition. Ship was clean and being constantly washed with bleach solution which was good to see. Was very unimpressed by the cruise line was made to feel we were there just as an excuse to take money from us. Attitude of staff was to say the least awful the way we were treated in the dining room was nothing more than like herded cattle get us in feed us get us out no atmosphere waiter we had was ignorant. Breakfast selection was ok evening meal food was ok occasionally. Entertainment and Bar staff were good always doing what they could to make time on board enjoyable. Excursion trips were expensive and could all be done a lot cheaper once in dock with exception of Polar Park which was good value.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 29 Oct 2014
Author: C.temple
Summary:  We had brilliant food and entertainment. The crew were very polite and the staff on the reception/excursion desk were very helpful and attentive. Re the St Petersburg trip - very good value for the money, however the cleopatra needle and sphinx near the river could have been left out and a visit incside the church of the spilled blood included as there are interesting mosaic pictures etc. (I think) there-even if it was an extra payment the client had to pay (only about 250 roubels-I think) Perhaps make a half hour stop for those who wanted to see inside and make lunch shorter. On the first day we saw the fortress and cathederal of st Peter and paul St Issacs cathederal inside-outside the church of spilled blood plus the hermitage. On second day-as fountains were closed-saw inside peterhof palace and inside catherine's palace-absolutely wonderful. Tatiana was the guide-she was excellent-she also took us down to the beautiful metro stations (i.e. the tube)-a couple of stops-which was really interesting.Thanks to Violetta for recommending this.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 29 Oct 2014
Author: Pamela Pope
Summary:  Just returned from 12 day cruise on Marco Polo to the Baltic. Had a great time, good food and ports very interesting if wet, but has to be expected in October. Shame we had to divert to Lithuania instead of going to Stockholm as the port was very boring. Entertainment excellent the cruise director Richard was the star of the cruise. The marco polo is not a luxury cruise ship but comfortable and friendly.
User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 17 Oct 2014
Author: Teresa Parker
Summary:  Very good all round, Thank You
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 17 Oct 2014
Author: Martin Hall
Summary:  This was our first cruise, we booked it short notice before reading the reviews so we were a little bit apprehensive after reading them but thought we would make the most of it anyway. There was no need to be worried it was the best holiday we have had so far and we have had a few. Every aspect of it was great from the steward who cleaned the room to the cruise director Richard Sykes (distant relative of Eric Sykes) and just as entertaining, he even has his own following form ship to ship lol. We had most of our meals in the Waldorf Restaurant, top quality and 7 or more courses. Drinks were slightly expensive £2.05 for a can of coke and £3.50 for a can of John Smiths. You can gat a bottle of wine for £15 in Scots Bar. We thought a cruise would be a slow relaxing holiday but there was so much to do we were exausted by the end of 8 nights. Made lots of new friends from all over the country some of which we will definately keep in touch with. After listening to a lot of peoples stories about all their cruises we ar pleased that we went on one of the smaller ships they are muchhmore friendly. Looking forward to our next one.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 17 Oct 2014
Author: Colin Shaw
Summary:  Excellent value for money. Excellent food, good service, 6 superb dance shows, good choice of ports. Not perfect, criticisms are: 1 main lift out of action for whole 8 days. This is very poor as lots of passengers had walking difficulties. Unable to use any of my electrical items as had no 2 pin adaptor and the shop onboard sold out in 24 hours. Either Iglu or C&M should provide notice of this in their pre cruise documents. More details as to what tourist and transport facilities will be available in each port to get to town centre if not going on ship organised tours. e.g. are there free buses laid on or is there a Get On Get Off bus service, is there a tourist office or whatever. There seemed to be an assumption that because a lot of people had sailed with the ship before, then everyone else including first timers like me knew about what was available in the various ports. Many of the chairs in the lounges were not that comfortable compared with say P&O and NCL, but it's a very old ship and the price for the cruise was very good.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 11 Oct 2014
Author: Natalie Trew
Summary:  The cruise was excellent and so was the ship. The crew could not have been more helpful, attentive and friendly. The entertainment was enthusiastic and fun, very professional. The organising of everyone when in port was conducted in a fun and efficient manner, avoiding long waits. Excellent all round.

All Other Cruise and Maritime Ships

Astor Azores Magellan

Book with Confidence

We are ATOL Holders and members of ABTA for your financial protection.

fv
Feefo logo
Search Cruises
Your Shortlist

You do not currently have any cruises in your shortlist.

View Our Awards

View Our Awards Including
14 awards in 2013

What our customers say

Iglu made the whole process effortless, regular emails giving updates and all documents sent to download. Advisors were happy to help and just a phone call away. The holiday was fantastic on Ventura with so much to do and shows to see. All the staff onboard were brilliant. Only been back for one day and my wife is back on Iglu website looking for another cruise!
Martin Terry
(November 2014)

Read more feedback