Good morning, we have expert advice, cruise reviews & exclusive cruise deals on the widest
selection of cruises
online... about Iglu.
Search Site / Enter Cruise ID
Expert Advice and Booking
0208 544 6614

Marco Polo Reviews

A great range of Marco Polo reviews written by our customers. To write your own Marco Polo review click the link on the right.
Average rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6 (from 107 reviews)

6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6     (36)

5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6     (42)

4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6     (14)

3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6     (8)

2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6     (4)

1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6     (3)

Search For Cruise Reviews

Cruise Line
Cruise Ship
Destination

Latest Marco Polo Reviews

User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 13 Apr 2015
Author: Geoff Southgate
Summary:  Easter UK Tour had a really good itinerary and the entertainment was excellent. The ship itself was fine and the staff good but the food was disappointing. It looked like portions and selection had been reduced to keep costs down.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 13 Apr 2015
Author: S Walker
Summary:  Enjoyed our stay on Marco Polo cabin good very clean steward very helpful. All staff were very pleasant and polite. Food was good plenty of choice, drinks were reasonably priced. Entertainment very enjoyable. Weather could have been better and unfortunately we were not able to visit Jersey and Guernsey. Trips were well organised but we would have liked longer at each destination.
User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 04 Apr 2015
Author: John Alexander
Summary:  The Spring Gardens cruise from 27 Mar to 2 Apr 15 took place during a spell of very unsettled cold and windy weather. This caused the cancellation of calls at both Jersey and St Peter Port, Guernsey as the swell was too high for safe anchorage. Cherbourg and Rouen were the alternatives selected. In our view an excellent and sensible decision, particularly with the extraordinary number of disabled elderly passengers on board. The ship was full resulting in Marco's Bistro being over crowded at times, but the food was good and no one went hungry. The tea and coffee dispensing arrangements are still in the dark ages using jugs of hot water, and hence a load on the catering staff. We felt all the staff were under extreme pressure but they coped well. We were surprised that the lifeboat drill separated men and women, something we felt would be unworkable in a real emergency as most couples would insist on staying together. Overall a very good cruise on a now ancient ship. The weakest points were a less than professional show team and room for improvement in the organisation of excursions, offset by excellent free shuttle bus availability in all the ports except Amsterdam. In summary a cruise that was very good value for money and we thoroughly enjoyed it.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 29 Mar 2015
Author: Mrs Bastin
Summary:  The ship was kept very clean, the staff worked non stop. It would be a good idea to put a small dish or pot on the tables in the waldorf restaurant to put tea bags in. I feel as this ship is 50yrs old it does need some safety work done on the windows
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 22 Mar 2015
Author: Graham Young
Summary:  Atmosphere on the ship was better than we expected. All staff we met were very friendly and helpful. The ship and cabins were clean and the other passengers were a very nice bunch of people. No children onboard was a bonus. Food was not quite as good as P&O or Cunard, but was perfectly acceptable and much better than MSC. (MSC even charge you for water at dinner, not even chilled) Service in the restaurant was really excellent (we have to mention the outstanding Ivan our waiter), but the buffet was generally too crowded with not enough seats so did not use that much. Had to move from cabin 515 as it was right under the Bistro kitchen and the noise woke us at 5am. Reception staff very helpful in changing to cabin 420 under the theatre, so a little noise in the evening but none in the morning. Engine failure meant an unexpected stop for repairs at Trondheim, so missed the Svartissen Glacier and the North Cape, and Tromso was postponed till a Sunday when everything was closed. One glass of house wine offered in compensation - not very generous. All in all we enjoyed it.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 18 Mar 2015
Author: Graham
Summary:  My wife and I have just recently returned from the Northern Lights Cruise on board the Marco Polo, and I must say what an absolute delight it was. This was our first cruise, and everything we could want was expertly catered for. Our waiter was what you would expect in a 5 star restaurant , very very polite and courteous, and as my wife is diabetic, he sought out the "sugar free option" for dessert evey night. The cabin attendant was expert in his job, always a lovely clean, neat and tidy cabin to return to, especially appreciated after a "rough night" at sea. The food was incredible, so much choice and variation, and it was not until the last but one night did we realise how many chefs there were onboard. How did they all work so well, in such a small area?. The onboard entertainment was very diverse, from musical shows to opera, a comedian, and also to "tv shows", and every show was of a high quality, all the dancers done very well to keep their feet, even so more appreciated when the ship "moved a bit at night" in heavy seas. It is very hard to reaslise from looking at the ship, that she is over 50 years old, as it is so neat and tidy, and also, very importantly, spotless inside, with the staff constantly cleaning and wiping handrails. We also were very impressed with everyone having hand cleanser offered to them prior to entering eating areas. A special word for the captain, who, on more than 1 occassion, changed the itinery slightly to avoid rough seas, but still made port on time, a few times, earlier than expected. Well done Sir. I would have absolutely no doubts about returning to this ship for another cruise, and am alread looking at the itinery for next year. A very big thank you to all the staff for a memorable cruise, and look forward to seeing you all again.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 04 Mar 2015
Author: D Barker
Summary:  Arrival and progress from the waiting area at London Cruise Terminal was on time with easy access through security checks and boarding procedures and issue of the Cruise Card/Passport checks. The Captain made successful maritime decisions to avoid extreme sea conditions and promoted safe policies during heavy seas. Passenger comfort and safety were a high priority. Marco Polo has been generally re-carpeted since sailing previously 2 years ago to public areas with other redecorations. Quite acceptable for a 50 year old ship. The set evening dining was well organised and allocated tables had two waiting staff and a wine waiter. The main evening menu had 6 courses with an additional sorbet offered during formal dining. Most food allergy alternatives were available albeit with a much reduced selection. Breakfast Lunch and Dinner had Bistro/cafe dining available as an alternative and for the 1st dining period 6.00 pm -8.30 pm. Bistro(Self serve) and restaurant alternatives with good selections for each course varying between 2 and 4 dishes for each course including veggie alternatives. Many staff engaged with clearing, cleaning and hand sanitation near all food areas and all staff knew their duties and were very helpful and responsive to passenger requirements. Visits and excursions were well organised at every port visited. Daytime and evening entertainment was available and high quality show dancing and Singing was supported by an excellent Ship Orchestra under the direction of the Cruise Director Jonathan who managed with all aspects of the passenger needs. Very much a ''Family Friendly Feeling'' and worthy of repeat visits.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 04 Mar 2015
Author: Adrian Legg
Summary:  Great value for money ship and staff fantastic. Only problem was other cruisers at meal times pushing and shoving no need plenty of food for all so sharpen your elbows if going on this ship.
User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 07 Jan 2015
Author: M Inkster
Summary:  We liked the ship, it was exceptionally clean & our cabin was the largest we have ever had. However, being small, we felt that there wasn't really enough to occupy us during the days spent at sea, in our case this was 8 sea days in our 14 night cruise. The daytime activities were quite repetetive & it would have been great to have had a choice of lectures to attend. The Cruise Director Richard Sykes was amazing & so multi talented & he really carried the rest of his young team. The evening entertainment was excellent & the dancers & singers worked so hard every night to put on very polished performances. The food was generally disappointing & only lukewarm on some occasions. We started off eating in the Marco Polo restaurant but it was too much of a battle trying to find a seat & then queue for one's food that we spent most of the meal times in the Waldorf restaurant, which a much more civilised affair! The staff were always friendly & helpful. On balance we would not choose this ship again
User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 07 Jan 2015
Author: M Inkster
Summary:  We liked the ship, it was exceptionally clean & our cabin was the largest we have ever had. However, being small, we felt that there wasn't really enough to occupy us during the days spent at sea, in our case this was 8 sea days in our 14 night cruise. The daytime activities were quite repetetive & it would have been great to have had a choice of lectures to attend. The cruise director Richard Sykes was amazing & so multi talented & he really carried the rest of his young team. The evening entertainment was excellent & the dancers & singers worked so hard every night to put on very polished performances. The food was generally disappointing & only lukewarm on some occasions. We started off eating in the Marco Polo restaurant but it was too much of a battle trying to find a seat & then queue for one's food that we spent most of the meal times in the Waldorf restaurant, which a much more civilised affair! The staff were always friendly & helpful. On balance we would not choose this ship again

All Other Cruise and Maritime Ships

Astor Azores Magellan

Book with Confidence

We are ATOL Holders and members of ABTA for your financial protection.

fv
Feefo logo
Best Price Guaranteed
Search Cruises
Your Shortlist

You do not currently have any cruises in your shortlist.

View Our Awards

View Our Awards

What our customers say

Absolutely fantastic holiday from start to finish. Every bit of paperwork and arrangement was perfect and I was overwhelmed with the high standard of the hotels, transfers and customer service recieved whilst on holiday and before we went. A massive Thank You to Kerri and everyone involved in making our holiday one to remember.

Mr & Mrs Edwards
(March 2015)

Read more feedback