Good morning, we have expert advice, cruise reviews & exclusive cruise deals on the widest
selection of cruises
online... about Iglu.
Search Site / Enter Cruise ID
Expert Advice and Booking
0208 544 6614

Marco Polo Reviews

A great range of Marco Polo reviews written by our customers. To write your own Marco Polo review click the link on the right.
Average rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6 (from 103 reviews)

6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6     (36)

5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6     (40)

4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6     (12)

3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6     (8)

2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6     (4)

1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6     (3)

Search For Cruise Reviews

Cruise Line Cruise Ship Destination

Latest Marco Polo Reviews

User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 22 Mar 2015
Author: Graham Young
Summary:  Atmosphere on the ship was better than we expected. All staff we met were very friendly and helpful. The ship and cabins were clean and the other passengers were a very nice bunch of people. No children onboard was a bonus. Food was not quite as good as P&O or Cunard, but was perfectly acceptable and much better than MSC. (MSC even charge you for water at dinner, not even chilled) Service in the restaurant was really excellent (we have to mention the outstanding Ivan our waiter), but the buffet was generally too crowded with not enough seats so did not use that much. Had to move from cabin 515 as it was right under the Bistro kitchen and the noise woke us at 5am. Reception staff very helpful in changing to cabin 420 under the theatre, so a little noise in the evening but none in the morning. Engine failure meant an unexpected stop for repairs at Trondheim, so missed the Svartissen Glacier and the North Cape, and Tromso was postponed till a Sunday when everything was closed. One glass of house wine offered in compensation - not very generous. All in all we enjoyed it.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 18 Mar 2015
Author: Graham
Summary:  My wife and I have just recently returned from the Northern Lights Cruise on board the Marco Polo, and I must say what an absolute delight it was. This was our first cruise, and everything we could want was expertly catered for. Our waiter was what you would expect in a 5 star restaurant , very very polite and courteous, and as my wife is diabetic, he sought out the "sugar free option" for dessert evey night. The cabin attendant was expert in his job, always a lovely clean, neat and tidy cabin to return to, especially appreciated after a "rough night" at sea. The food was incredible, so much choice and variation, and it was not until the last but one night did we realise how many chefs there were onboard. How did they all work so well, in such a small area?. The onboard entertainment was very diverse, from musical shows to opera, a comedian, and also to "tv shows", and every show was of a high quality, all the dancers done very well to keep their feet, even so more appreciated when the ship "moved a bit at night" in heavy seas. It is very hard to reaslise from looking at the ship, that she is over 50 years old, as it is so neat and tidy, and also, very importantly, spotless inside, with the staff constantly cleaning and wiping handrails. We also were very impressed with everyone having hand cleanser offered to them prior to entering eating areas. A special word for the captain, who, on more than 1 occassion, changed the itinery slightly to avoid rough seas, but still made port on time, a few times, earlier than expected. Well done Sir. I would have absolutely no doubts about returning to this ship for another cruise, and am alread looking at the itinery for next year. A very big thank you to all the staff for a memorable cruise, and look forward to seeing you all again.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 04 Mar 2015
Author: D Barker
Summary:  Arrival and progress from the waiting area at London Cruise Terminal was on time with easy access through security checks and boarding procedures and issue of the Cruise Card/Passport checks. The Captain made successful maritime decisions to avoid extreme sea conditions and promoted safe policies during heavy seas. Passenger comfort and safety were a high priority. Marco Polo has been generally re-carpeted since sailing previously 2 years ago to public areas with other redecorations. Quite acceptable for a 50 year old ship. The set evening dining was well organised and allocated tables had two waiting staff and a wine waiter. The main evening menu had 6 courses with an additional sorbet offered during formal dining. Most food allergy alternatives were available albeit with a much reduced selection. Breakfast Lunch and Dinner had Bistro/cafe dining available as an alternative and for the 1st dining period 6.00 pm -8.30 pm. Bistro(Self serve) and restaurant alternatives with good selections for each course varying between 2 and 4 dishes for each course including veggie alternatives. Many staff engaged with clearing, cleaning and hand sanitation near all food areas and all staff knew their duties and were very helpful and responsive to passenger requirements. Visits and excursions were well organised at every port visited. Daytime and evening entertainment was available and high quality show dancing and Singing was supported by an excellent Ship Orchestra under the direction of the Cruise Director Jonathan who managed with all aspects of the passenger needs. Very much a ''Family Friendly Feeling'' and worthy of repeat visits.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 04 Mar 2015
Author: Adrian Legg
Summary:  Great value for money ship and staff fantastic. Only problem was other cruisers at meal times pushing and shoving no need plenty of food for all so sharpen your elbows if going on this ship.
User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 07 Jan 2015
Author: M Inkster
Summary:  We liked the ship, it was exceptionally clean & our cabin was the largest we have ever had. However, being small, we felt that there wasn't really enough to occupy us during the days spent at sea, in our case this was 8 sea days in our 14 night cruise. The daytime activities were quite repetetive & it would have been great to have had a choice of lectures to attend. The Cruise Director Richard Sykes was amazing & so multi talented & he really carried the rest of his young team. The evening entertainment was excellent & the dancers & singers worked so hard every night to put on very polished performances. The food was generally disappointing & only lukewarm on some occasions. We started off eating in the Marco Polo restaurant but it was too much of a battle trying to find a seat & then queue for one's food that we spent most of the meal times in the Waldorf restaurant, which a much more civilised affair! The staff were always friendly & helpful. On balance we would not choose this ship again
User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 07 Jan 2015
Author: M Inkster
Summary:  We liked the ship, it was exceptionally clean & our cabin was the largest we have ever had. However, being small, we felt that there wasn't really enough to occupy us during the days spent at sea, in our case this was 8 sea days in our 14 night cruise. The daytime activities were quite repetetive & it would have been great to have had a choice of lectures to attend. The cruise director Richard Sykes was amazing & so multi talented & he really carried the rest of his young team. The evening entertainment was excellent & the dancers & singers worked so hard every night to put on very polished performances. The food was generally disappointing & only lukewarm on some occasions. We started off eating in the Marco Polo restaurant but it was too much of a battle trying to find a seat & then queue for one's food that we spent most of the meal times in the Waldorf restaurant, which a much more civilised affair! The staff were always friendly & helpful. On balance we would not choose this ship again
User Rating: 1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6
Date: 07 Jan 2015
Author: Sylvia Merry
Summary:  Iglu is an excellent company to book holidays with however we would not have booked this cruise if we had known that it was not going to provide "hosted" ballroom dancing as it was we only had piped music in the Marco Polo lounge which had a very large stage upon which to dance. Majority of the people onboard were old aged pensioners & even they complained of unhosted ballroom time. Entertainment in the small Scott's Bar should have been in Marco Polo lounge guaranteeing people a seat which also had a bar . Noise of the propeller shaft was loud esp being in Baltic deck level 5. There was only one disable toilet for anyone in a wheel chair. All staff on board were excellent from cabin stewards to the captain especially Richard Sykes the Cruise Director-a star in the making. Shows in the evening were high energy, superb singing & dancing. The Marco Polo Bistro did not have sufficient tables & chairs consequently people had to sit outside when the weather was cold. Would have like a double bed instead of 2 singles however there were 28 drawers, 2 double mirrored wardrobes & a good shower.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 13 Nov 2014
Author: Vince & Daniela Friggieri
Summary:  My wife and I have just returned from the 'Land of the Northern Lights' cruise. It was our seventh wedding anniversary and we celebrated by seeing the Aurora for the first time. The cruise was very special and we want to express our gratitude to all crew members. Captain Michaloliakos is a credit to his profession and has a crew of whom he can be proud. The entertainment was very good, the choice of cuisine was varied and tasty, onboard activities were diverse and interesting and the fjords and coastal towns were fantastic. There was a mishap at the Lofoten Islands when bad weather made docking impossible and the ship was temporarily grounded on a mud bank. As far as we were concerned, this just added to the experience and provided another after dinner anecdote. We look forward to cruising on the Marco Polo again.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 13 Nov 2014
Author: Vince & Daniela Friggieri
Summary:  My wife and I have just returned from the 'Land of the Northern Lights' cruise. It was our seventh wedding anniversary and we celebrated by seeing the Aurora for the first time. The cruise was very special and we want to express our gratitude to all crew members. Captain Michaloliakos is a credit to his profession and has a crew of whom he can be proud. The entertainment was very good, the choice of cuisine was varied and tasty, onboard activities were diverse and interesting and the fjords and coastal towns were fantastic. There was a mishap at the Lofoten Islands when bad weather made docking impossible and the ship was temporarily grounded on a mud bank. As far as we were concerned, this just added to the experience and provided another after dinner anecdote. We look forward to cruising on the Marco Polo again.
User Rating: 2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6
Date: 12 Nov 2014
Author: Liz
Summary:  The Marco Polo was generally clean and comfortable and my cabin steward was pleasant and hardworking. However, many staff were sullen and unfriendly, especially bar and in the Marco servery. The food was mediocre and eating space insufficient, many meals were spent walking round the shup looking for a corner to eat the meal. The drink machine was totally inadequate for 800 passengers and poorly arranged so that there was even a queue for milk after queuing for coffee and tea. The restaurant was lovely and the waiting staff friendly and pleasant. The food was very good and nicely presented. The excursions were incredibly expensive and in many ports you could get similar local trips for 1/2 the price. Entertainment was mixed, some acts better than others and there was a reasonable mix of talks. Generally the Marco Polo was ok but I would not choose to travel with this company again and would not recommend.

All Other Cruise and Maritime Ships

Astor Azores Magellan

Book with Confidence

We are ATOL Holders and members of ABTA for your financial protection.

fv
Feefo logo
Search Cruises
Your Shortlist

You do not currently have any cruises in your shortlist.

View Our Awards

View Our Awards

What our customers say

Absolutely fantastic holiday from start to finish. Every bit of paperwork and arrangement was perfect and I was overwhelmed with the high standard of the hotels, transfers and customer service recieved whilst on holiday and before we went. A massive Thank You to Kerri and everyone involved in making our holiday one to remember. 

Mr & Mrs Edwards
(March 2015)

Read more feedback