0203 848 3607

Over 1.5 Million Happy Cruise Customers

{0} out of 10 Rated Excellent
ATOL Protected
02038483607

Fred Olsen Balmoral Reviews

A great range of Balmoral reviews written by our customers. To write your own Balmoral review click the link on the right.
Average rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6 (from 101 reviews)

6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6     (44)

5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6     (31)

4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6     (16)

3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6     (7)

2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6     (1)

1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6     (2)

Search For Cruise Reviews

Cruise Line
Cruise Ship
Destination

Latest Balmoral Reviews

User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 24 Sep 2019
Summary:  This was our first cruise with Fred Olsen and having just returned from a 10 day Mediterranean cruise with Azamara, we weren't sure what to expect. However, we were not disappointed! Our cabin was surprisingly large and a very substantial bathroom! We were very fortunate in that we had amazing weather sailing from Scotland to Orkney and Shetland and even on our day at sea, we were unaware we were sailing. There were many features on the ship itself which were pleasing - my husband loved the carpets and liked the general decor on the ship. The food was good and the service efficient. For us, it was a huge bonus sailing from Rosyth - only a 40 minute drive from home!
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 31 Aug 2019
Summary:  Well appointed ship with varied passenger groups leaning towards older. The food was excellent and well presented and there was little or no queueing for anything. Good entertainment and superb staff!! Fair prices in all outlets however shore excursions were very expensive.
User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 30 Aug 2019
Summary:  This was my first ever cruise and I chose Fred Olsen for the destination and departure port. We had a very smooth check-in, embarkation and luggage delivery - you couldn't fault it. The suite was spotlessly clean and fresh, and was a very comfortable place to spend time. When underway you really had to strain your ears to hear any engine or internal noise at all. There were plenty of different public areas, but they were a little bland in appearance and all looked alike. The service, whilst overall very good, was lumpy. Breakfast and dinner were well executed but lunchtime had no finesse or style to it whatsoever. On several occasions, with just two of us dining, one person's plate was removed as soon as they finished and the next course served,straight way, which left us having different elements of the meal at the same time. The restaurant wasn't busy and there was no reason not to pace the service so that each diner was enjoying the same course at the same time. The Marquis Bar, on the top deck, had very poor service, and more often than not you had to go to the bar and order yourself. The Lido Bar at the back of the ship was, in contrast, somewhere where you wanted for nothing. What really let the ship down was the quality of the daytime and evening entertainment. It was beyond words. Daytime entertainment consisted of nothing more than 'Crafts with Marjorie' (that's a direct quote), Bingo, Carpet Bowling, or other mind-numbing offerings. The evening shows, with the exception of the ship's dance and singing troupe were equally dire, with several 'comedians' working hard to raise a laugh. The lesson to learn from that was to bring your own entertainment, for there was nothing to be found onboard. That said, we enjoyed it enough to decide to go again, as the overall journey, service levels, cabin environment etc were really enjoyable.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 08 Aug 2019
Summary:  We had a brilliant time, the food, the entertainment and the staff all excellent. The Fjords were blessed with 30 degree temperatures every day, result.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 08 Aug 2019
Summary:  We had a wonderful experience on this cruise. This was our first ever cruise and we were a little nervous at what to expect. However the week’s cruise to the Norwegian fjords was absolutely fantastic. The scenery was stunning. The staff on the ship were always friendly and helpful. The food was delicious. The entertainment was outstanding. This was an unbelievable holiday experience which I would strongly recommend.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 03 Aug 2019
Summary:  The staff were exceptional, fabulous food, we were treated like royalty. Each port we went into the disembarkation process went very smoothly. The ship was very clean The entertainment was very good. I would definitely go on a Free Olsen cruise again.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 20 Jul 2019
Summary:  Interesting ports of call. Excellent service. Immaculate cabin Good lectures Enjoyed table of 8 at dinner. Food generally good but not outstanding. Disembarkation very well organised
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 18 Jul 2019
Summary:  Cruised from Rosyth to Iceland and back and was the first time we had been with FO. On check in at Rosyth we were advised that our cabin needed urgent repairs and that we had been upgraded. We were moved from an Ocean View to. Superior Balcony. Never saw the room we had booked but the replacement was very nice and came with a welcome bottle of Cava and flowers. Only disappointment was that it was a twin bedded room where the beds could not be rolled together. The upgraded room came with a daily refresh of a fruit basket and also afternoon canapes. The room had the usual kettle, tea / coffee and minibar together with a daily refresh of a flask of water. Separate seating area, the loan of two umbrellas and a pair of binoculars, bathrobes and slippers. Some hotels still leave you with 3 or 4 bent wire clothes hangers. We must have had near on 30 wooden hangers between the two of us. These extras made the cabin very good quality. Being a smaller ship there wasn't the range of entertainment and distractions we've experienced on say, Cunard and Holland America. The library was very small for example. Some omissions were welcome however. The Port "talks" did not have the overt sales pitches to visit certain shops, the photographer's were not as pushy, there were no invites to art "auctions" to collect "valuable" free prints that were in reality poor postcards. I think there was a casino but never came across it but then I never looked for it. The food was mostly competent but not as refined as Cunard Holland America. However, it was very useful to mix and match at breakfast and lunch between a la carte and buffet at the same table i.e. you could have an a la carte waiter served starter and then help yourself to a buffet main course. The usual evening show varied between a company ensemble song and dance, comedian, versatile singer/ musician, and ships crew show. Our last cruise on Norwegian featured an excruciatingly amateur ships crew show. It was truly dreadful. Balmorals show however was a revelation. The singers sang in tune, the dancers danced in step and the engine room guys were hysterical - really good (the deck crew were not far behind). From the professionals Gordon Cree (singer/musician) particularly stood out. The Blue Lagoon trip as the fourth leg of the Golden Triangle trip was probably the highlight of the cruise. The lagoon changing area was so well organised. Not been to a public swimming pool in the UK for some time: never knew which coins you needed for a locker , trying to squeeze your clothes into too small a cubby hole and then pulling them out all crumpled. None of that at the Blue Lagoon : electronic wristband controlled lockers. Wristband also acts as a charge card for drinks at the swimup bar or premium mud facials in the lagoon, hanging space in the lockers, liquid soap and conditioner in the showers, hairdryers and mirrors even ear buds to dry your ears and a fluffy towel to dry yourself with. Overall, good value for the money.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 15 Jun 2019
Summary:  Excellent ship and crew with very good facilities but rather noisy in stormy waters.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 12 Jun 2019
Summary:  Ship clean as ever but is definately ready for it's refurb in December

Book with Confidence

We are ATOL Holders and members of ABTA for your financial protection.


Price Match Guarantee
Search Cruises
Your Shortlist

You do not currently have any cruises in your shortlist.


What our customers say


"I booked a Fred Olsen cruise with IGLU last month and was so impressed by the service I received. The staff member I spoke to was Kimberley and she was exemplary. Capable, kind, professional, patient, friendly and knowledgeable. She went through every step of the way calmly and thoroughly. IGLU were recommended to me by friends and I have no hesitation in passing the recommendation along. Well done IGLU and thank you. "

Christina
(March 2019)

"So easy to deal with, I studied the Cruise I wanted, did my research with different company's and returned to Iglu. I had three quotes matching Iglu’s cost, but with one phone call they beat the price themselves by £40 without me even asking, how easy was that! "

Gary
(February 2019)


Read more feedback