02038483607
Good afternoon, we have expert advice,
cruise reviews & exclusive cruise deals
on the widest selection of cruises
online... about Iglu.
Enter Cruise ID
Expert Advice and Booking
0203 848 3607
We're Open

Fred Olsen Balmoral Reviews

A great range of Balmoral reviews written by our customers. To write your own Balmoral review click the link on the right.
Average rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6 (from 56 reviews)

6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6     (26)

5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6     (17)

4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6     (8)

3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6     (4)

2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6     (0)

1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6     (1)

Search For Cruise Reviews

Cruise Line
Cruise Ship
Destination

Latest Balmoral Reviews

User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 10 Dec 2017
Author: K H
Summary:  WE have just returned from a cruise on Balmoral which was 8 nights to Rouen Amsterdam and Antwerp. We had never cruised with Fred Olsen before and were very impressed. The waiters in the dining rooms were very attentive, plates were cleared really quickly in the Palm Court buffet and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The entertainment was the best we had seen on any cruise line. we were expecting it would be geared to an older audience, but found it to be modern with a rock music show, AC DC Queen etc. It was first class. We had booked the cheapest grade of outside cabin and it was huge with loads of wardrobe space. We will use Fred Olsen again.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 15 Nov 2017
Author: Elizabeth
Summary:  I recently went on Balmoral to the canary islands and thoroughly enjoyed everything about it. Previously I had cruised only with P & O and also enjoyed these but I have to say that I think Fred Olsen is better than P & O. The food was excellent (we dined in the main restaurant the first evening but the rest of the cruise used Palms Buffet) Could not fault the food, plenty of choice and beautifully hot. The entertainment was first class and the staff so friendly and couldn't do enough to please us. Everything spotless and my cabin perfect with a picture window on deck 6 (6004). Nice and handy for all facilities and entertainment on the 6th and 7th decks. All the shore tours were very well organized and our cases were outside our cabin before we got there. My friend unfortunately fell and hurt her leg on the 12th day and had to see the ship's doctor and required 23 stitches. The doctor and nurses were first class and really thorough. I would have no hesitation on booking another Fred Olsen cruise in the near future.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 18 Oct 2017
Author: Christopher.
Summary:  Baltic Wonders . What a wonderful experience ,full of highlights ( Russia,Estonia and Rodstock. 13 nights aboard Balmoral ,so here is my honest opinion. Balmoral .. Midship ship ( suited me ) clean ,super friendly crew . Activities ..Plenty from 9 am through to early hours of the morning ,something for most people .From lounge shows,cards,bingo art classes ,classical concerts,guest speaker talks . Food . Dinners were good ,but portions very small ,ate mostly in Palms buffet ,which was good with plenty of choices ,hot and cold dishes You can eat all day long and even have a 11pm supper club . Cabin .. inside , spacious with all amenities , except fridge . Age group mostly over 65 ,but boy they are full time of energy Drinks package ( never took it) but if you are a drinker,well with it This was a wonderful cruise visiting some interesting ports . Ship tours were very good,well organised and in my opinion were worth the cost . Crew ..Very friendly,caring ,happy to attend to your needs,never waited more than 5 minutes for anything ,a joy to have on board . This is not a All Bells and Whistles ship ,with ice rinks,but that suited me .There is plenty of open deck space . If you come with little expectations,you will be pleased, surprised and will enjoy ,if you come expecting all the Flashing lights, loud music ( all-day ) long ,you maybe disappointed. I loved it, best cruise ship I have been on, right size ,good food ,clean ship and super friendly crew . A magical 13 nights ,letting life drift by . I will be going on Balmoral again.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 10 Oct 2017
Author: Susan
Summary:  I have just returned from a 3 night minicruise to Honfleur, sailing down the Seine to Rouen and Giverny on Fred Olson's Balmoral. We had an outside cabin with a large window and we couldn't fault a thing. As this was my first cruise, the Balmoral was an ideal sized ship, being not too big. The food was excellent, the service was good, everyone was friendly and helpful and there was a good choice of activities and entertainment. I would thoroughly recommend.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 13 May 2017
Author: Edda Turner
Summary:  Having cruised on all the four Olsen ships, I have the highest praise for all of them. Why, would I need to cruise with any other when I have it all on Freds. The food is always of the highest of standards , much better than most hotels.
User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 25 Dec 2016
Author: Mark Jarvis
Summary:  After listening to Fred Olsen being the butt of many jokes on P&O, and other cruise lines, we finally decided to book for the Irish Christmas Markets. The markets in Cork and Dublin were poor in comparison to many we have visited just a few stalls. However we were very pleasantly surprised by the ship, although our room was dated and a little tired, it was kept spotless. The food in the main restaurants was equal to anything we have experienced on most cruise lines and better than many, the service was excellent. Drink service was very good for AI. Entertainment was also very good and varied, we were amazed by the amount of public space on the ship. After 16 cruises with many different companies we would not hesitate to go on on the Balmoral again.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 05 Nov 2016
Author: Robert Harris
Summary:  I'm about to go on my fifth Fred. Olsen cruise in two years and three months. One reason is that I'm single but Fred. does not usually charge single supplements. My first Fred. cruise was on 'Balmoral' in August 2014 when I went to the amazing Norwegian fjords. My seven days on board 'Balmoral' were superb, I had a smallish but comfortable cabin, excellent food and drink, I ate with agreeable single people and enjoyed the tours. This summer I went to the fjords again on 'Black Watch'. My second cruise on 'Balmoral' was to major cities of southern Scandinavia during 2015. It was as enjoyable as the earlier one. When I join 'Boudicca' next week I will have cruised on all of Freds. Olsen four ships.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 07 Mar 2016
Author: Pat Locke
Summary:  Just returned from 46 night cruise on our favourite ship Balmoral. As ever staff remembered us from previous cruises and gave us a very warm welcome, the cruise itself was very good, the Brazilian ports were definitely not, most were working industrial ports and meant we had to get a shuttle bus to get to a shuttle bus at the port gates. The Balmoral cruise company were more than excellent, shows worthy of West End. Phantom was amazing, I have special dietary requirements and could not fault the attention not only by galley staff but also waiters, we have 2 more cruises booked on Balmoral and can't wait to meet our phillipino and Thai friends again,
User Rating: 3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6
Date: 14 Jul 2015
Author: Dennis Kilbee
Summary:  Just done an 8 day cruise to the fiords on Balmoral on the 3rd of July 2015 We were late leaving Southampton as there seemed to be a problem with the out break of the dreaded virus on board from earlier sailngs. From the time we stepped on gang way we were sprayed with a saniatisation fluid from the time we got up to the time we went to bed. I can understand why this needs to be done to keep the ship clean, but I think the line must be drawn when we you used the toilets around the ship a member of staff would be in there watching your every move and making sure you washed your hands in the manner as described by the captain on his daily updates over the tannoy. This did not go down well with a lot of the guests as you can imagine. The cruise its self was good, the food was top class as was our cabin, and the staff were the best. The first port of call was Stavanger why arrive at a very pretty place like that on a Sunday to find the place is shut. A day at sea on a Sunday would have been better. I only did the cruise to go to Flam which was great and glad I made my own way rather than pay Fred Olsen the price they were asking. The ship was a good size which made it very friendly, but we will not go on this cruise line again something was missing but we cannot put our finger on it, perhaps being sprayed to death did not help.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 03 Jun 2015
Author: Jan Recknell-turner
Summary:  We have stayed on the Balmoral before and it is the largest of the Fred Olsen ships I believe. We had a very comfortable outside cabin which was extremely quiet. The food was excellent and I personally think it was better than on the P and O and Cunard ships we have stayed on. Staff were pleasant, cheerful and helpful and the entertainment seemed to be more varied and even better than before. I think the young cruise show team could bring their contributions a bit more up to date and introduce their acts rather than frantically pile through them non-stop. I was with my family who ranged from 14 to 72 and we all thoroughly enjoyed our trip.

Book with Confidence

We are ATOL Holders and members of ABTA for your financial protection.


Iglu Cruise 10 years
Search Cruises
Your Shortlist

You do not currently have any cruises in your shortlist.


What our customers say

"Please pass my thanks to everybody at Iglu, we have booked cruises at many other Companies but the service provided by Iglu was a level above the rest, so we shall be back to book another Cruise towards the end of next year."

Brian P
(December 2017)

"I can safely say Iglu has been the best holiday agency I have ever used. Your customer care both pre and post cruise has been second to none. I will definitely use you again and recommend to family and friends. Thank you once again"

Anna
(October 2017)


Read more feedback