0203 848 3607
02038483607
Good evening, we have expert advice,
cruise reviews & exclusive cruise deals
on the widest selection of cruises
online... about Iglu.
Enter Cruise ID
Expert Advice and Booking
0203 848 3607
We're Open

Fred Olsen Balmoral Reviews

A great range of Balmoral reviews written by our customers. To write your own Balmoral review click the link on the right.
Average rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6 (from 86 reviews)

6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6     (40)

5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6     (23)

4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6     (14)

3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6     (7)

2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6     (0)

1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6     (2)

Search For Cruise Reviews

Cruise Line
Cruise Ship
Destination

Latest Balmoral Reviews

User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 09 Dec 2018
Summary:  Have just returned from a Spain Portugal and Canaries cruise aboard the lovely Balmoral, Everything, was as we had expected, the food staff are all a credit to Fred Olsen.
User Rating: 1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6
Date: 08 Dec 2018
Summary:  My first ever cruise was on board the Balmoral for 32 nights in October 2017 and I had a wonderful time. I have recently returned from a 2 week cruise on the same ship to the Canaries and Portugal and I was very disappointed. The cabin was very tired looking, in my opinion it needed a paint job and scrub down. The breakfast and lunches were very good, however the evening meals were no where near as good as they were last year. The entertainment was OK but nothing special. It didn't help that the 4 piece band who played in the Lido Bar were taken off the ship at a port of call for being drunk, and as a result, the last 4 nights of the cruise there was no live music in the Lido Bar, not even a DJ, just background Disco music. On the plus side, the staff were once again absolutely superb. A very disappointing cruise.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 02 Dec 2018
Summary:  We have just returned from a 12 day mystery cruise. It was a really good holiday. The ship was comfortable, very clean and reasonably warm in the public areas, the food was excellent, the entertainment was first rate and the staff were exceedingly polite and responsive. The other passengers, who were mainly British and in our age group (50+), were very friendly. Getting on and off the boat was very easy. Our inside cabin on deck 4 at the rear of the boat was spacious, clean, warm with a good shower, but it creaked and groaned a bit when under way.
User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 19 Nov 2018
Summary:  The staff were amazing. They work incredibly hard. Very disappointed to see them ignored or dismissed by so many on board. The ship is comfortable but this cruise ship is really only suited for British people who just want peace and quiet. The tours were far too expensive for what you got. The average age seemed to be late 70's to 80's. This ship really caters to a very small demographic but it is perfect for that group. The cabin was very comfortable and although the view was partly obstructed by life boat it did not feel hemmed in. Iglu made sure we were aware of this during booking. Would only recommend this particular ship to those who are British, over 75 etc. I think it is very well catered for people with limited mobility. There were many walkers, scooters and wheelchairs. This is wonderful for them. Again, the staff go out of their way to accommodate those with limited mobility. I cannot praise the staff highly enough.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 17 Oct 2018
Summary:  Have made quite a few cruises on the lovely Balmoral, every single one of the outmost cruise experience you could wish for.. Have read several of the reviews saying staff only just fair, food not good, do not know what ship they were on, although they say it was Balmoral, not really fair comments.
User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 13 Oct 2018
Summary:  Another excellent cruise due to quality entertainment on board, happy helpful staff, essential dance hosts good food, and friendly passengers. All this despite missing Swedish promised views and Visby due to bad weather and suffering extreme cold temperatures.
User Rating: 3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6
Date: 03 Oct 2018
Summary:  Staff excellent. However our cabin 5171 was far too noisy. The engine noise was unbearable. We were moved to 5149 after 2 nights, unfortunately this one was not much better. The cabins are old and dour, and the bed configuration was bemusing. On the plus side, the drinks package was good value.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 02 Oct 2018
Summary:  Beautiful ship,had a fabulous holiday, travelled on my own for the first time in my life and was made to feel so welcome.Sat with other single travellers for dinner and we all got on so well we pretty much stuck together the whole week,for anyone thinking o holidaying on their own I can’t stress how much you should try it,I was very wary but can’t wait to get on another cruise,felt safe the whole time and was waited on hand and foot,the staff could not do enough for us,the food was delicious and I felt thoroughly spoilt the whole 9 days.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 02 Oct 2018
Summary:  Enjoyed our Chocolates and Diamonds Cruise in spite of every rough weather and the Captain having to make some last minute changes to our itinery.our Ship was just beautiful with very nice Restaurants and our food was 5 * plus. Entertainment in the evening was varied and most enjoyable.This is a very friendly Ship and would certainly recommend it.We have cruised on Black Watch and Boudicea as well and hope to book up again on the near future.
User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 02 Oct 2018
Summary:  Disappointed cruise altered because of bad weather went to Amsterdam first which was ok but never got to Ghent zebrugga instead

Book with Confidence

We are ATOL Holders and members of ABTA for your financial protection.


Price Match Guarantee
Search Cruises
Your Shortlist

You do not currently have any cruises in your shortlist.


What our customers say


"I think your company is exceptionally good at looking after the interest of passengers both before and after their holidays and your help has been very much appreciated. I have sung your praises to my friends and I hope this will lead to many more bookings for you including more from me."

Ethel
(March 2018)

"I just want to thank you for making the changes to our upcoming cruise. You have enabled us to achieve exactly what we wanted."

Michael
(January 2018)


Read more feedback