02038483605
Good evening, we have expert advice,
cruise reviews & exclusive cruise deals
on the widest selection of cruises
online... about Iglu.
Enter Cruise ID
Expert Advice and Booking
0203 848 3605
We're Closed

Cunard Queen Victoria Reviews

A great range of Queen Victoria reviews written by our customers. To write your own Queen Victoria review click the link on the right.
Average rating: 5.5 out of 65.5 out of 65.5 out of 65.5 out of 65.5 out of 65.5 out of 6 (from 82 reviews)

6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6     (47)

5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6     (22)

4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6     (7)

3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6     (2)

2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6     (3)

1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6     (1)

Search For Cruise Reviews

Cruise Line
Cruise Ship
Destination

Latest Queen Victoria Reviews

Line: Cunard
User Rating: 2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6
Date: 18 Nov 2017
Author: Mrs. French
Summary:  We got on board Cunard Queen Victoria for 5 nights Channel Cruise in Nov 2017, we asked and got upgraded from inside cabin to a balcony cabin, for £150. Inside cabin was ok but very noisy with no windows and just a bed but balcony is fantastic in comparison, there is a sofa and table & a balcony with 2 chairs and a table. The bed is soooo comfortable with more comfortable pillows. Wardrobe space is limited but plenty of hangers, one cupboard has shelves which also can hold a medium size suitcase, we put the rest of our cases in the same wardrobe as our clothes. No shoe rack but enough room to put them next to the suitcase ( we like a tidy room ) depending on how high is bed and your suitcases you might be able to fit them under the bed instead. There is a safe which can hold laptop and some other small items & it’s on one of the shelves. Adequate shower, basin and toilet. Shower gel, soap & body lotion, shower cap and cotton wool, flannels, hand & bath towels. Shaver plug, box of tissue. In our balcony cabin we also got really nice fluffy large Cunard towels which wasn’t in the inside cabin. We got a 1/2 bottle of complimentary Champagne . They provide Bathrobes & slippers, tea & coffee making facilities & a small fridge. TV is big but channels are rubbishbut if you have a smart phone (not sure about iPhone) you can connect it to the TV, watch any downloads or any TV catch up apps you may have on your smart phone. Food is plenty and of high quality. There are sprinklers and fire alarms in ever cabin and all over the ship which is very reassuring. Many Restaurants and pubs. A buffet restaurant is open 24 hrs a day serving all kind of food from salads to hot meals, pizza & sliced meat & cheese, plus waiter service restaurants with set meals but certain opening hours. There is lots of slot machines, roulette and black jack tables. You have to buy WiFi , we didn’t & only used our own mobile data on each ports of stay. There are lots of things happening such as bands, singers, comedians, darts, quiz, ballroom dancing which are announced on the daily programme left in your room. Each port has a day trip, we bought the Amsterdam city tour & river cruise, we found the city tour very boring, the bus is too big to go to real places of interests such as Ann Frank house and traffic is heavy so lots of stops. We had been to Amsterdam 3 times before so may be that’s why we found it boating. We got an hour free time then the river cruise which was a bit more interesting than the coach trip. At each port there are free bus shuttles to the nearest town every 10 minutes which if you can walk around is much cheaper and you can do your own excursion. The outdoor lido pool is heated to 26c and is ok for a short swim in winter, there are 2 jacuzzi on either side, one day they gave me towels but not the rest of the time, I put the bathrobe & slippers on to get there & took one of our white towels with me. They pool is quite busy during Sea Days, but empty other times Dress code for waiter service restaurants are jackets for men , cocktail dress or smart separates for women. The Duty Free ship is NOT Duty FREE. Prices are expensive & they charge 20% VAT on top. So don’t plan to buy any alcohol, cigarettes, make up, skincare or perfume on board. Tap water is drinking water but they try to sell you a 1 lt bottle for $8.50 You can buy small amounts of water, alcohol etc... when at port and being in but they have the right to confiscate it. I found the 36hr sea day & night cruise awful, every one was on board therefore everywhere was crowded and packed, with public toilets starting to smell around the ship. We drove our car to Southampton and there is no choice but to use the only valet parking available for £75 for 5 nights. We opted out of the percentage they take out of our credit card for tips, you need to go the purser’s office as soon as you board, instead we tipped those who served us well in cash in US Dollars as the ship was sailing to the Caribbean next. It was our first time but never again
Line: Cunard
User Rating: 3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6
Date: 24 Mar 2017
Author: T.c.m.
Summary:  Just returned from a trip Southampton to Sydney and although we enjoyed the itinarary we were disappointed by how far Cunards standards have slipped. The ship was due to go for a refit at the end of this world cruise but this was overdue with dirty carpets obvious areas needing redecoration and in the Garden Room the sun roof was broken and couldn't be opened so the room was like a sauna in when the sun was shining through the glass roof. We are diamond world club members and have travelled a lot with Cunard but menus were so repetitious with virtually the same dishes being rotated on a weekly basis. The resident entertainers were not very good and shows were repeated, although most of the visiting entertainers were good. A minor point but in the Lido, the buffet restaurant, at peak times they ran out of cups and some plates. A tea or coffee in a paper cup is this Cunards new standard. We were ready to get off the ship when we got to Sydney and I don't know how I could face a world cruise with so much repetition.
Line: Cunard
User Rating: 1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6
Date: 18 Jan 2017
Author: R.scott
Summary:  A lovely experience but the constant bombardment of waiters plying drinks in all areas of the ship drove me crazy and I would never cruise again.
Line: Cunard
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 22 Dec 2016
Author: Gavin
Summary:  We have recently returned from a Christmas Markets mini Cruise on board Queen Victoria. Embarkation was smooth and painless. We arrived early due to hotel checkout time, this was no problem, we took our lettered card and waited patiently – it wasn’t long and we were on board having a look around. Having previously sailed on QM2 and QE, we knew what to expect and QV didn’t disappoint. On board we were greeted by friendly staff, live music in the Grand Lobby and some Christmas sparkle. Words cannot explain how fabulous Cunard ships feel. The ship itself was immaculate and even though the cruise had been sold out weeks before, it never felt overly busy. Our cabin was a standard inside on deck 5 aft. This was an ideal location with our friends staying just around the corner. The cabin was spacious with lots of storage space – we requested wine glasses on the first night and these were refreshed every day without asking, little things like that stand out. We found the room rather warm even with the air conditioning set to low, so it was a case of get dressed and get out exploring. We had a table of 6 for dinner which were all part of our group as we had joined bookings. The food was very good in my opinion, never a problem finding something delicious to eat. All meals we had were served perfectly, no issues at all. On the final night we dined at the Verandah which we had booked when it was $35 rather than the $49.95 it went up to recently. The food was well presented, best steak I have ever had. Unfortunately our sommelier seemed disinterested in us, maybe it was because I only chose a $45 bottle of wine and there was no mention of an after dinner port and we even had to ask for the wine bill on the way out. In our opinion we had much better experience in the select dining venues on QM2 and QE. Entertainment during the evening was ok. The first night was a 4 piece harmony group (Troubadour), they were very good. The second night was Roy Walker – this comedy didn’t really appeal to us it was just ok. We didn’t go to the final nights show, but friends commented that it was very good. We didn’t take any ship excursions, instead taking the free shuttle in to town and then a train to Bruges to have a wander around the Christmas markets. A return ticket is no more than 5 euro. Overall a very enjoyable 3 nights on a very nice ship – lived up to our expectations.
Line: Cunard
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 23 Oct 2016
Author: Roger
Summary:  An excellent 7 day cruise from Rome, including Corsica, Sardinia, Naples and Genoa. Could not fault the service, food and entertainment, and a lovely ship. Genoa was a revelation with UNESCO heritage sites. Port information was generally very poor if you wanted to go ashore on your own. Drinks, services and photos were expensive - priced in dollars with 15% service added 'for your convenience', and on this Rome to Rome cruise 21% Italian VAT added to purchases of many goods (not drinks). The BA flight information from Cunard was poor with no ability to choose to sit together, so separated from my wife, despite requests. All in all a very good cruise, slightly let down by easily sorted out but annoying niggles.
Line: Cunard
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 16 Jun 2016
Author: Madeline Searle
Summary:  We have recently returned from a Fjords cruise on the Queen Victoria booked through Iglu Cruises. What a beautiful and elegant ship to cruise on. We had a wonderful time and were fortunate to have fabulous weather throughout the week, which made it extra special. The Britannia restaurant was excellent - with a varied choice of food and excellent service. The facilities were all perfectly maintained and the ship was spotlessly clean. The entertainment was mostly very good and there was something for everyone. We thought the Blue Jays were fantastic, I think they were a firm favourite on board. We were very happy that Cunard are a little more formal in their dress code and at no time did it feel stuffy - this is how cruising should be done!! I would highly recommend the ship & the cruise line. Thank you to all on the Victoria!
Line: Cunard
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 28 May 2016
Author: Linda Susan Benn
Summary:  I have been on many cruises but nothing compares to Cunard. They set the standard high and manage to maintain it. Nothing is too much trouble. The quinine is of the highest calibre and staff equally superb. I could not fault the ship, it's entertainment, the cabins, the cleanliness are all superb. Thank you Cuba Rd.
Line: Cunard
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 08 Mar 2016
Author: Pauline Mclean
Summary:  Have just returned from half world trip on Queen Victoria. Lovely ship for a retirement home. The food was the best of any ship I have been on. staff wonderful. Cunard very unorganized as far as getting people off the ship for excusions and such. Bathrooms small take a shoe organizer to have room for your bathroom needs. To many formal nights. They say if your not dressed up to stay away from areas were people are, but when you go to the areas that are not formal a lot of the people in formal wear come there for a snack before tea and glare at the way you are dressed. Not on. All in all great ship, wonderful captain and staff. don't go if your under 80.
Line: Cunard
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 09 Feb 2016
Author: Terry Whyton
Summary:  I booked an outside cabin for my last trip. When I booked I was not told it had an obstructed view. I wasted £200 on the upgrade I would have been better off inan inside cabin. I complained to customer services who said I should have paid more! A letter to the CEO went unanswered. The ship is great, the service magnificent and the ports good. However the shore based operation leaves a lot to desire. The customer is always wrong.
Line: Cunard
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 29 Sep 2015
Author: Peter Wilson
Summary:  We have just returned from our first cruise and are well and truly hooked. I have worked in the Holiday trade for over 40 years and never experienced service such as that delivered by the crew on board Queen Victoria. The food, service, entertainment and accommodation were all first class. Well done Cunard and the Crew of Queen Victoria.

All Other Cunard Ships

Cunard Queen Elizabeth Queen Mary 2

Book with Confidence

We are ATOL Holders and members of ABTA for your financial protection.


Iglu Cruise 10 years
Search Cruises
Your Shortlist

You do not currently have any cruises in your shortlist.


What our customers say

"I can safely say Iglu has been the best holiday agency I have ever used. Your customer care both pre and post cruise has been second to none. I will definitely use you again and recommend to family and friends. Thank you once again"

Anna
(October 2017)

"I booked my first ever cruise on Tuesday 5th September 2017. After lengthy searching and much deliberation we booked through Iglu. So far, I am incredibly happy I booked with Iglu. This being our first cruise Debi proved very helpful. I was [also] very impressed with the level of assistance offered by Connie. She answered my questions and put my mind at rest. I am very impressed with all aspects of dealing with Iglu and I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for all your support. "

D.L
(September 2017)


Read more feedback