02038483612
Good morning, we have expert advice,
cruise reviews & exclusive cruise deals
on the widest selection of cruises
online... about Iglu.
Enter Cruise ID
Expert Advice and Booking
0203 848 3612
We're Open

Norwegian Gem Reviews

A great range of Norwegian Gem reviews written by our customers. To write your own Norwegian Gem review click the link on the right.
Average rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6 (from 9 reviews)

6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6     (0)

5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6     (5)

4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6     (1)

3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6     (2)

2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6     (0)

1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6     (1)

Search For Cruise Reviews

Cruise Line
Cruise Ship
Destination

Latest Norwegian Gem Reviews

1
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 18 Mar 2017
Author: Leafi
Summary:  We did the 2 nights Niagara, 3 nights New York, 10 days cruising on the Gem in February. This was our first visit to North America and our first ever cruise (so cannot compare to other lines), and we had a great time, although wouldn't go to Niagara again now we have seen the falls. We stayed at the Sheraton, which, according to reviews, is just about the best mainstream hotel available and ate in the buffet restaurant (1 dinner & 2 breakfasts) - a bit pricey but good and with fantastic views. The area around the hotel is very tacky with amusement arcades etc and not to our liking. Included transfer to train station to catch the Amtrak to NYC was fine, luckily got there early as within 1/2 hour was absolutely packed with Brits doing the same itinerary. Yes, the train was slow (total journey around 11 hrs) but we didn't mind as seats were comfortable. Husband queued for 2 hrs for coffee but, as he said, he didn't have anything else to do! Took taxi from Penn station to our hotel - The Marcel at Gramercy, which was fine for us, although compact, with a view of the Empire State Building. Had great 2 full days in NY - did 9/11 museum, Top of the Rock, brunch at Grand Central etc. Thoroughly recommend Bluebell Cafe near hotel, especially Sunday brunch. Included transfer to Gem very disorganised, our 'private' car was booked for 11.30 but we didn't get one until about 1pm and then had to share it. The same happened with included transfer from Gem to JFK at the end of cruise. Anyway, on to the Gem. We loved it. Yes it is geared up for the American customer but there were quite a lot of Brits and other nationalities on board and, believe me, obnoxious and loud individuals come from a variety of countries including the UK. Luckily the ship is big enough to get away from them! We ate in the MDR most of the time and found the food and service very good. We had bought the 3 nights speciality dining package but really didn't think it worth it or necessary. Always good choice available in buffet, especially at breakfast time. The drinks package was included in the deal and it was great not having to worry about the final bill. Our balcony cabin was midships on Deck 9 and very comfortable, especially the bed. We took 3 excursions with NCL as rookie cruisers, which were a bit pricey but very enjoyable. We loved the musician Leo who played guitar and sang in the evenings but didn't go to entertainment in the theatre once, so can't comment. A great first cruise and we are definitely hooked, having booked another one, this time sailing from Southampton, within 2 weeks of our return!
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 19 Feb 2017
Author: Ian
Summary:  Just returned from a ten day Caribbean cruise on the Gem. A great cruise and a superb experience overall. Only criticism is that because NCL is American owned we had to pay gratuities on everything we bought from the bar (we didn't have full drinks package). I don't mind tipping people that I choose to tip but resent that it is compulsory.
User Rating: 3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6
Date: 05 Feb 2017
Author: Jean Anderson
Summary:  Just returned from 3days Niagara, 3 days New York. No complaints. Joined Gem for 10 days cruise. Ship was fine, cabin was very good. Food was geared mainly to Asian cuisine, rice and noodles, lentils and spicy foods, OK burgers and french fries always available. The Grand Pacific - service was appalling and food not up to usual cruise ship restaurant standard. Garden Cafe had a special Asian Night - no change there as the food was very repetitive and Asian based for 10 days. As a frequent cruiser, will not be joining this line again as my personal experience is better served with other lines.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 16 Jan 2017
Author: Bev
Summary:  We have been on this ship twice now and we can honestly say it is fantastic. The crew are brilliant, although some of the officers could learn from the serving staff. Food and drinks were great. I must warn against buying art on the ship. We brought some prints in March last year. We paid all shipping charges, and import duties upfront. I could go on and on, but a long story short, we are still waiting for our important taxes to be repaid to us as FedEx charged us £120.00 because as far as they knew, we hadn't paid upfront. West park Gallery ingnore emails, finally said I would be credited in 30 to 60 days. That was 90 days ago and I am still waiting. Please don't be tempted to buy art if you live outside the USA. In no way do I blame the ship, it was amazing.
User Rating: 3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6
Date: 17 Nov 2016
Author: Carol Cox-cornwall
Summary:  I have just come back from a cruise on the Gem. I am a latitude member and have been a regular cruiser on NCL. I went with 11 other school friends. 10 of them are first time cruisers. We were not impressed when we were transferred from our hotel to the ship to have mentioned taking money to put our luggage on the ship. We all gave thinking these men were working for NCL. One of my friends did not receive her luggage until really late that evening and found that the staff were not interested.We were on a back to back cruise and found this very frustrating especially when it came to the photographs. We were told that the photos would stay on the computer screen. By the first day of the second week all our photos were erased from the computer. They were eventually put on manually and most of the photos were not put back on. Some of us prepaid for the photo package and this was not clear between the photograph department and guest services. We were also misled. When we arrived home the photos that were paid for were not what was put on our USB. I have complained to guest relations and still waiting for a response. Some of my friends also took out deposit for another cruise. I think this is appalling. This behaviour makes us feel that Gratuities should be paid to certain staff. The cabin steward was excellent and should be rewarded. I also booked for special birthday and this was not honoured. I think we should have been given a discount for bringing such a large group.
User Rating: 1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6
Date: 17 Jan 2016
Author: Julia Roli
Summary:  Just finished cruise on Norwegian gem this christmas, from New York to caribbean , whilst ship very modern with a cosmopolitan feel to it, I would have to say i was not impressed with our stay on board for 10 days, Service from staff was ok,considering , free style dining was dreadful, if I had wanted Butlins with a double glazing salesman in tow I would have stayed at home, it was a joke, cues a mile long for food at buffet, and half way around ship for barbeque, 2800 Americans boarded along with 750 kids plus i believe overbooked by 500, there was only 200 brits,Loud was not the word!! It was a nightmare, I we were not the only ones who felt this way nearly every one that transfered from Queen Mary 2 had the same comments. Transfers from ship to ship and back again were either hours late or never turned up, My Sedan was the company name and that was outrageous. stood alongside the quay from 10am, expected time of transfer was 11am, we were still stood there near on three hours waiting, phoned company, several times, in the end they did turn up, but was sold by another company that finally collected us that they always do that, take the booking and if they cannot pick up they sub contract it out, which is what happened, twice on each transfer. The one from the hotel to port next day was fine, but the two from ship to hotel was non existent, sub contractor turned up after we waited several hrs in freezing cold. Quite frankly, the whole trip was spoilt by the Gem and transfers. We have been on many cruises and used your services, but this has honestly ruined our cruise experience. We refused payment of certain gratuities for dining .
User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 17 Nov 2015
Author: Mary Tingley
Summary:  Went on the 2 days Niagara, 3 days New York and on to the boat for the islands for ten nights. Straight to the boat - found staff really good, no complaints there. The food was ok about 6 out of ten. Not worth paying extra for the restaurants that charge extra, about 20 dollars each on average. I have only been on a P and O cruise before and the food was much better. Also there were no hidden costs. We both found that charges for doing anything were far too high, example being 39 dollars for a bingo game with only three tickets, the prizes were really low. Entertainment in the theatre was fine, about 7 out of ten. No complaints regarding cleanliness of the ship. Again, they were selling tickets for draws all the time; even in the shows they put on. Got fed up with the constant draws, competitions and any other way of getting more dollars out of the people on the ship. They ring the bell on the back of the boat very frequently, someone said it was every time they hit 10,000 dollars !! On the whole the boat was enjoyable but I wont be booking again.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 01 Feb 2012
Author: Jack
Summary:  This was my first time cruising and I had the best time ever. The ship was incredible, the staff really friendly and the route (Med) was fantastic as well. As I was 17 at the time I thought cruises were only for old people, but it turns out they're not. I may have packed on the pounds, but I sure did loose a few on the deck, playing football in the Mediterranean sun.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 18 Nov 2011
Author: Ivan Brook
Summary:  I joined the Norwegian Gem Cruise and had a great time. The whole experience was wonderful and pleasant, I liked the bright interior design through out the ship. Lots of King-sized beds in the lounges and around the pool area, which gives a chill-out vibe. But one thing to watch out is the pool deck area around the water slide, as it get really crowded. There are plenty of activity o-board, the Norwegian Gem even have 2 bowling alleys inside the Bliss nightclub. Also if you are a sushi lover like I am, you must check out the all-you-can eat sushi menu. The sushi is top notch.
1

Book with Confidence

We are ATOL Holders and members of ABTA for your financial protection.


Iglu Cruise 10 years
Search Cruises
Your Shortlist

You do not currently have any cruises in your shortlist.


What our customers say

"Leighanne has been excellent dealing with my various queries this year. She has been kind and informative and obtained what i think is a good deal for me in October. She is persistent and very informative, so even when my 1st deal fell through I felt confident enough to approach her for this present Crystal cruise...”

I.G..
(July 2017)

Read more feedback