02038483618
Good evening, we have expert advice,
cruise reviews & exclusive cruise deals
on the widest selection of cruises
online... about Iglu.
Search Site / Enter Cruise ID
Expert Advice and Booking
0203 848 3618
We're Open

Independence of the Seas Reviews

A great range of Independence of the Seas reviews written by our customers. To write your own Independence of the Seas review click the link on the right.
Average rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6 (from 154 reviews)

6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6     (74)

5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6     (51)

4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6     (14)

3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6     (9)

2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6     (2)

1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6     (4)

Search For Cruise Reviews

Cruise Line
Cruise Ship
Destination

Latest Independence of the Seas Reviews

User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 22 Nov 2016
Author: Drew & Isobel
Summary:  We had a fantastic time aboard the ship on our 15 days cruise round the Caribbean islands and to say the food was good is an understatement as we dined mostly in the windjammer and the entertainment was first class the guys and girls were brilliant and put there heart into everything they did and our balcony room was immaculate and very comfy too and all the crew and staff and waiters and the chefs couldn't have been more helpful so a big thank you to your company for giving us a wonderful time on our first ( hopefully not our last ) cruise Thank you very much
User Rating: 1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6
Date: 28 Oct 2016
Author: Rw
Summary:  We have just returned from a three day cruise on this ship. We wanted to try RC as a comparison to other cruise lines. Never again! This company is all about making money, which they do by charging ridiculous prices for drinks (plus 18% gratuity), charging for shuttle services, charging for any alternate eating experiences, restricting the buffet restaurant opening times and not opening a restaurant for lunches. In addition, our cabin was filthy and bedding ripped. We complained and the room was deep cleaned and staff were very apologetic. Despite the website stating there would be one formal night on this voyage, there wasn't. All evenings were casual. There was one positive in that we arrived at the terminal at 10.55am and we were on board by 11.15am. Having cruised on Thomson, P and O and Cunard, RC definitely comes last. Very poor value for money and more like Butlins at sea but four times the price.
User Rating: 3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6
Date: 22 Jun 2016
Author: Ann Fuller
Summary:  We have just returned from 2 weeks on Independence around med. The cabin was very small in fact so small we asked for the bed to be split as there was no way round it. It was touching a sofa one side and the units the other. My bed dipped in the middle and gave me a bad back, and the mattress topper was falling apart. This room needs a refurbishment! The TV did not work, we reported it and it was taken away and returned several times over 3 days but it still did not work until day 3 it did off an but we could never get a signal. This also happened even if we were in port! The weather was brilliant and the staff excellent but the ship is just so big getting everyone on and off it was a nightmare standing 45 minutes in sun along side to get back on as a minimum. The one and only tender port took us 3 hours before our tender number was called. Not worth getting off the thing If you have kids who will use the surf rider, rock climbing wall and ice rink. It would be great but for us no WOW factor at all and the food was disgusting I lost 8 pounds in the 2 weeks unheard of for me I usually put weight on. I just could not eat, it was either over or under cooked and not good quality and covered in salt,The cold salad meat looked like spam or teddy bear ham just very bad and the hot food was never hot.The staff tried their very best and deserve the praise I would go with RCCL again but not on one of their big ships just stressful
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 21 Jun 2016
Author: Graham Daubney
Summary:  Just come back from my second cruise on the Independence fantastic!.Everything so well run onboard within 20 mins all the crew helpful and polite.The food was excellent and the waiters could'nt do enough for you.Even the wine was poured out for you before you arrived at the table.Bar's were well run both on the pool desk and inside.The entertainment was ok but preferred the west end type show like on the Anthem last year.Guess we will be back next year but not sure which ship yet.
User Rating: 2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6
Date: 29 May 2016
Author: Ian Ross
Summary:  Sailed on a 14 night med cruise on 14th May out of Southampton in a suite. I had previously sailed on this ship 3 years ago for a New Year cruise to the Canaries which was the reason we chose it. Because of work commitments we have not cruised for 2 years but my oh my what a difference. There has obviously been a cost cutting exercise at Royal Caribbean. The quality of the food and service has fallen dramatically. Unusable tea and coffee facilities in our suite, fridge that didn't work, cold food served by room service, robes that didn't fit(god knows how some of the more portly US clients got on), All the problems are too long to list. All reported to our crown and anchor rep but nothing done. There were some excellent friendly staff on board which was always a hallmark of an RCI cruise but the majority looked frightened to death and generally inept. They must surely have moved there experienced staff onto the newer larger ships and appear to be struggling to replace them. I am a diamond member of the RCI crown and anchor society but if this is the standard of RCI's current offering I will be looking elsewhere! RCI should at least give customers what is promised!
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 17 Jan 2016
Author: Stanley Lawson
Summary:  This year will be our seventh cruise with Royal Caribbean and we would not cruise with anyone else. From the minute you board the ship you are the ship you are treated like Royalty and nothing is too much trouble. Best cruise line going and i cant wait to book this years cruise.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 29 Apr 2015
Author: Sandra Hill
Summary:  Been on the ship three times-in my view just the best of ships staff and service-absolute fan and cannot wait to book another cruise last year to the canaries was just wow-great service-great food-5 stars
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 13 Dec 2014
Author: Pete In Torquay
Summary:  We had our first ever cruise to Norway in May on the Independence of the Seas. From the time we arrived at Southampton my wife and I had the best time ever, we were greeted by Royal Caribbean crew which took our cases to our stateroom. Once onboard our first thought was WOW what a ship. Everything you need from a coffee shop to bars all over (spoilt for choice). All the food we had was of very top quality. Stateroom was fantastic, stateroom attentant was really helpfull, waiting staff were fantastic. To finish off my review about Royal Caribbean in one word and that is FANTASTIC.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 23 Nov 2014
Author: J. Clayton
Summary:  Just got back from the Independence of the Seas cruise and it was fantastic. The whole experience of cruising was fabulous. The food, the service, the cabins. Everything was spotless. Always something going on. Would highly recommend this cruise to anyone. This was our first cruise but wont be our last, from sailing from Southampton to sailing back was a fabulous holiday.
User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 18 Nov 2014
Author: Ryder
Summary:  This was our 1st cruise, we were with friends who had been with R.C before, they were disappointed with this cruise, we did have a lovely and fun time though, with other guests and staff. However the entertainment not as good as I would have expected. The ship seemed tired and in need of a face lift in some areas. The carpets in cabin corridors were dirty and in need of replacing, shower cubicle needed updating. The staff were all fantastic especially the waiters in the dining areas, all very obliging and worked very hard . We would definitely cruise again. Maybe go with another cruise line .

Book with Confidence

We are ATOL Holders and members of ABTA for your financial protection.


Search Cruises
Your Shortlist

You do not currently have any cruises in your shortlist.

View Our Awards

View Our Awards

What our customers say

"... I would just like to thank you for your caring, professional and friendly attention to my partner's anxiety regarding our Christmas cruise on Ventura. I won't bore you with the details...but you made one hell of a difference.. thank you x  ”

R. T.
(November 2016)

Read more feedback