02038483628
Good afternoon, we have expert advice,
cruise reviews & exclusive cruise deals
on the widest selection of cruises
online... about Iglu.
Enter Cruise ID
Expert Advice and Booking
0203 848 3628
We're Open

Tui Discovery 2 Reviews

A great range of Tui Discovery 2 reviews written by our customers. To write your own Tui Discovery 2 review click the link on the right.
Average rating: 4.5 out of 64.5 out of 64.5 out of 64.5 out of 64.5 out of 64.5 out of 6 (from 9 reviews)

6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6     (3)

5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6     (2)

4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6     (0)

3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6     (3)

2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6     (1)

1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6     (0)

Search For Cruise Reviews

Cruise Line
Cruise Ship
Destination

Latest Tui Discovery 2 Reviews

1
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 08 Nov 2017
Author: Laura
Summary:  just returned from a weeks cruise to the canaries on the discovery 2 fab food great staff beautiful ports and great company already booked again for next year cant wait andy and laura
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 24 Jul 2017
Author: Tracy Heywood
Summary:  We sailed in June and I have to say could not fault our trip. Food was exceptional in all areas from the 24 7 restaurants right down to the snack shack which provided an excellent range. We had an outside Cabin on deck 2 which was more than adequate plenty of space and storage. All the staff that we saw were very pleasant . The entertainment was of a very high standard. You don't expect Michael Ball or Alfie Boe on a cruise but the team were excellent. Lewis and his director team were very good applause goes to Daniella who we have seen 4 times before in another role but is embracing her new role splendidly. All in all if you have any reservations don't it's not the QE2
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 17 Jul 2017
Author: Russell Barker
Summary:  Wow! just got back from discovery 2 ship. Food:amazing, so much choice,. Islands (buffet restaurant) was brilliant: they have afternoon tea in there too which goes down really well. The two a la carte resturants were of very high standard and the service is amazing. Drinks: great drinks package wine, fosters, John smiths, Guinness, corona, bud, strongbow, prosecco and most spirits. I'm not a massive drinker so not sure what the situation is with spirits, but there is quite a few cocktails too. Only let down for me was bottled water not being included. Entertainment: its true from previous comments the show team are young aspiring performers rather than established west end performers, but I tell you something they are brilliant. There is a show on music festivals and it's superb. I've been to many shows over the years and these guys are certainly as good. The sail away parties are terrific too. The head of entertainment Lewis I think his name was, was very good too, to presenter in the making there we reckon. Kids club are brilliant, it's a great holiday for kids. They have a busy schedule for kids of all ages and my son and daughter loved it. Cleanliness: second to none. In my opinion you'd be more likely to catch a bug in a hotel. Look, all in all I've never been on a cruise before this, weren't that fussed about going on one and now on the first day back I'm already looking to book again. I would recommend this cruise to anyone. You'll get minor faults on any holiday and there are always people who like to moan too. Book it, you'll have an amazing time I promise! ????
User Rating: 3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6
Date: 29 Jun 2017
Author: Dm Morgan
Summary:  I was on this ship for a two week cruise with some friends and I totally agree with the reviews posted . The food was Luke warm inviting any kind of bacteria that might just be hanging about.I have been on three previous Thomson cruises and all three could not be faulted.It seems that thomsons have cut down in every department eg bar staff not trained waiters not trained cabins dirty I could go on.I have booked to cruise on this ship in August and am very apprehensive to say the least.Hope these problems will be sorted by then.Come on thomsons sort it out and give us the real Thomson experience we are accustomed to.
User Rating: 2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6
Date: 07 Jun 2017
Author: Sha
Summary:  Just got home from the cruise on Discovery 2. Very dissatisfied the cabin was freezing air conditioning dial was not working to regulate it. I had to ask 1 day for clean towels because the room had not been entered or cleaned . The buffet Island restaurant was hard to get a seat in , the food was cold breakfast, lunch and dinner so disappointed. Entertainment was not west end standard just same group of young people trying their best every night.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 02 Jun 2017
Author: Barrie Durrent
Summary:  We were on the maiden voyage of the discovery 2. Previous Thomson ships had been a bit of a let down. This cruise and the ship were excellent most of the ship looked brand new - shame they didn't get around to cleaning the windows. Food and drink first class especially restaurant 47. Good entertainment in the brand new Broadway theatre. All in all a very special week and I wish Discovery 2 and its staff many miles of happy and peaceful sailing.
User Rating: 3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6
Date: 31 May 2017
Author: Selway
Summary:  Have just returned from a two week cruise on the Discovery 2 - its first sailing. Whilst I enjoyed my holiday overall I was left somewhat disappointed with some aspects of the ship. On arrival at lunchtime on 14 May we found the buffet restaurant dirty and messy, chairs being wiped down with the same cloth as the dirty tables and the food lukewarm. Bearing in mind the ship had been in dry dock for several weeks being refurbished we were certainly not expecting this - what a disappointment! It remained like this for the whole two weeks. We therefore dined in the waiter service restaurant which was much better, although service was somewhat hit and miss - waiters worked very hard but were often under too much pressure and some appearing as though they required more training. Food at the evening buffet in the Glass House was also, at best, lukewarm and many guests were overheard complaining of this. Entertainment wasn't as good as on the previous Thomson ships - seemed amateurish - One of the team completely forgot her lines. However, had good entertainment with Benjamin Moss, Andy Abraham and Anton Du Beck. Ports of call were excellent - Malaga, Marseille, San Remo, Barcelona, Valencia, Cartagena, Vigo, Porto, Lisbon, Cadiz and Gibraltar. Didn't do any of the excursions as those we had hoped to do (Monaco/Monte Carlo, Mijas, Marbella), weren't available - something we had not been advised on beforehand. The drinks package was very good with lots of choice included. However, could not understand why bottled water and canned soft drinks came with a supplement. As I say, I enjoyed my holiday but to me the buffet restaurant and entertainment really fell short of expectations. Personally, I prefer Thomson's older, smaller ships.
User Rating: 3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6
Date: 30 May 2017
Author: Cruisepunter
Summary:  Firstly its a step in the right direction purchasing larger ships in order to raise their bar but also retain the 'Thomsoness' of the ship. The refurbishment went well and their was a freshness to the ship with its new carpets, live lounge, casino as well as the brand spanking new crew uniforms. I felt it was a mixed bag overall and granted it was only the ships second cruise and things will need time to settle but none the less two important factors are lacking, namely the food and entertainment. The food was well presented, in smallish portion size but lacked a wow factor and was constantly lukewarm. Breakfast was basically the same every day with no variation. Entertainment was pretty average at best, but I suppose this is one aspect that would need time for the singers and dancers to gel and thereby improving. Staff were wonderful and the AI drinks package was pretty good with some charges for other 'premium' brands and selected cocktails. The wine aspect was baffling though as it was in my view expensive to have a non inclusive glass of wine. The spa treatment seemed extraordinarily expensive and this was perhaps reflected in spa staff touting for business at every opportunity. Overall a good cruise taking everything into consideration but certainly room for improvement.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 29 May 2017
Author: Liz
Summary:  I just want to say what a wonderful week we had on the discovery 2 ship, Out trip was their 1st sailing, we had an inside cabin but it was bigger than The Majesty from last year. All our meals were served quickly and hot, wonderful breakfast as much as you wanted. The shows were great,,we came home warn out. Can't wait to go again
1

Book with Confidence

We are ATOL Holders and members of ABTA for your financial protection.


Iglu Cruise 10 years
Search Cruises
Your Shortlist

You do not currently have any cruises in your shortlist.


What our customers say

"I can safely say Iglu has been the best holiday agency I have ever used. Your customer care both pre and post cruise has been second to none. I will definitely use you again and recommend to family and friends. Thank you once again"

Anna
(October 2017)

"I booked my first ever cruise on Tuesday 5th September 2017. After lengthy searching and much deliberation we booked through Iglu. So far, I am incredibly happy I booked with Iglu. This being our first cruise Debi proved very helpful. I was [also] very impressed with the level of assistance offered by Connie. She answered my questions and put my mind at rest. I am very impressed with all aspects of dealing with Iglu and I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for all your support. "

D.L
(September 2017)


Read more feedback