02038483628
Good afternoon, we have expert advice,
cruise reviews & exclusive cruise deals
on the widest selection of cruises
online... about Iglu.
Enter Cruise ID
Expert Advice and Booking
0203 848 3628
We're Open

Thomson Celebration Reviews

A great range of Thomson Celebration reviews written by our customers. To write your own Thomson Celebration review click the link on the right.
Average rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6 (from 48 reviews)

6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6     (17)

5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6     (20)

4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6     (4)

3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6     (4)

2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6     (3)

1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6     (0)

Search For Cruise Reviews

Cruise Line
Cruise Ship
Destination

Latest Thomson Celebration Reviews

User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 26 Jan 2018
Summary:  This is our second cruise on the Marella Celebration and it was fabulous. We have never been to the Carribean so we were very excited. We were given Cabin 0678 which is on Deck 2. We found it to be very clean and Desmond our Steward looked after us very well. We dined in The Lido and the Meridian and found the food was excellent. The Captains Gala Evening is a must as the food and the shows were amazing. The only very small niggle I have is if you require a boiled egg in The Lido there are no egg cups so you have to peel the egg. The excursions were brilliant and I would recommend. We can't wait to book another cruise with Marella but we may try another ship. The one thing about Marella is they are not so regimented as other cruise companies.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 03 Jan 2018
Summary:  Just finished a week cruise on the celebration and the staff and service has been outstanding. Cadiz the head waiter has been amazing. Nothing was too much trouble and he bent over backwards to make sure everyone was happy and satisfied. I couldn't recommend him and the ship anymore. Totally outstanding.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 16 Dec 2017
Summary:  Just returned from Caribbean cruise on the Thomson Celebration. Had an amazing time on this old but spotlessly clean ship. All the crew work extremely hard and bend over backwards to ensure you have the perfect holiday. Housekeeping is second to none. Cabins are cleaned every day and they even turn down your bed for you each night. Food is fantastic. Salads to hot meals to desserts. Waiting on staff are always cheerful and polite. Entertainment team are so professional and give you a different show every night. Brilliant. Only problem we found was on sea days. All sun lounges were taken very early on in the morning and front decking area was crowded. People did tend to "bag' a sun lounger and leave it for hours at a time. But all in all we had a fantastic time. Many thanks to everyone.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 10 Sep 2017
Summary:  Highland Fling. Places visited Edinburgh, Invergorden & Dundee Cruised from Newcastle 25th August 2017 for 5 day / 4 nights. Travelled by train to Newcastle and met by a friendly Thomson rep then taken to a shuttle coach outside. The service at the port was very speedy and efficient and we boarded the ship. A porter showed us immediately to our cabin. ( I travelled with my 84 year old mum with limited Mobility) and nothing was too much trouble for the crew and all the team on board. The ship is a little older than some but it was clean and cared for. The food was more than one could ask for,wall to wall eating if you wanted it! All of the entertainment was very good and the entertainment team worked extremely hard to make the experience memorable. In all a very good cruise for my mum for the first time sailing. Good value for money.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 02 Jul 2017
Summary:  Land of Midnight Sun Cruise, 11th. June 2017 First time on this ship but we have travelled on Thomson Cruises before. Boarded at Newcastle and first impressions were poor due to the almost chaotic arrangements at the port. However, the Celebration, although somewhat old immediately struck us as a "happy ship" with good, friendly staff. We had a cabin on deck 7, the cabin was large and very comfortable but we spoke to a number of people who were on the lower decks and they said it was quite noisy down there. Probably due to it's design, the ship does suffer from some shakes and rattles but after a couple of days we got used to them. The food on board was very good in both the waiter service restaurant and the Lido (buffet) restaurant. From the captain down all the staff we came across were very friendly and helpful with the exception of the Destination Services people who, in our opinion, at times did not seem to have much of an idea as to some of the ports of call. The entertainment was good, bearing in mind the limitations of size and reasonably varied. Summary..... a good cruise to interesting destination at a very reasonable price.
User Rating: 3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6
Date: 04 Jun 2017
Summary:  Sailed 21/05/17 from Newcastle Baltic Explorer cruise, don't book these cabins on deck 4 namely 369 367 365, reason being there is a hydraulic pump in a cupboard next to cabin 369 and it is used to open a door on deck 2 to let Pilot onto ship.The noise is horrendous and lasts for ten to fifteen minutes.We were in cabin 367 and were wakened at 3am 3.30am 4.10 am 6am and 4.20am. Complained to reception four times, eventually 4 day's from end of our 14 day cruise thy mentioned changing cabins, didn't except as was to late. My cabin booking fee was refunded, they are aware of the noise problem they informed me, but can't do anything to stop noise as pump is needed to open door.Nothing on website to inform you of noise.But now highlighted.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 13 Apr 2017
Summary:  Returned on Sunday from the Jordan and Mediterranean cruise, the last of its type, we found the Ship first class in every way, spacious cabins on deck 6, good variety of food in several restaurants,waiter service at the Meridian,always very busy, the self service Lido , both of them very nice. The Broadway Lounge ,basically a small Theatre, we saw all the shows and were very good and we enjoyed them, standing ovations for two of them. Reading some of the reviews you would think this lovely old vessel was falling apart, well it's not , the Captain was top class and brought in a helicopter evacuation for a very ill man, well done to him and Thomson going the extra mile. We would have no hesitation in rebooking on this ship, the staff were great, and the cabin was kept spotlessly clean.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 22 Jan 2017
Summary:  just returned from the cities of gold cruise fantastic week aboard great food entertainment and ports of call weather was great considering it was winter in dubai only downside was the constant vibration on the ship wich could be felt on all decks would recommend this cruise and ship to anyone added bonus was hardly any kids on board
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 07 Jan 2017
Summary:  Just come back from Cities of Gold cruise. Wonderful. Lovely hard working staff, excellent food varied entertainment.Only disappointment was the balcony we had booked. Expected a big 1 were i could lay on my sunbed, however only enough room for a table and 2 chairs
User Rating: 2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6
Date: 23 Nov 2016
Summary:  We returned from an Adriatic cruise on this ship and the cabin we were given on ship was 0904. The cabin smelt of fumes and there was engine noise and vibration and when it set sail was a hell of a lot worse that we couldn't sleep. After complaining 3 times and being offered earplugs and told to leave the door open all the time, we finally got moved to an inside cabin which was intended for a member of the crew! The crew on ship and the guest relations officer were not very helpful and tried to charge us £150 more for a spare delux cabin they had, but then sold it to someone else. We spent most of our first day trying to sort out this problem and waiting 6 hrs to see someone. They offered us £50 compensation which we did not accept. We complained to Thomson as soon as we got back on the 14th oct. Apart from an email to say looking into it we have not heard anything since and now it is nearly 6 weeks. We have been on 3 other cruises before with different companies and this is the worse we have been on and would not go with them again. It seems once you have paid they dont give a monkey, and to sell a cabin that is not fit for purpose is beyond words. Never have we been on a cruise and been offered earplugs to use our cabin! Thomson need to get their act together

Book with Confidence

We are ATOL Holders and members of ABTA for your financial protection.


Price Match Guarantee
Search Cruises
Your Shortlist

You do not currently have any cruises in your shortlist.


What our customers say


"I think your company is exceptionally good at looking after the interest of passengers both before and after their holidays and your help has been very much appreciated. I have sung your praises to my friends and I hope this will lead to many more bookings for you including more from me."

Ethel
(March 2018)

"I just want to thank you for making the changes to our upcoming cruise. You have enabled us to achieve exactly what we wanted."

Michael
(January 2018)


Read more feedback