Ruby Princess

Ruby Princess Reviews

View Cruise Deals
4.6
Based on 18 reviews
Cabin
4.6
Service
4.6
Excursions
4.6
Dining
4.6
Activities
4.6
Value for money
4.6
Entertainment
4.6

This was our third cruise (Grand Med itinerary - 12 nights - Sept 12) but our first with Princess - we will definitely travel with them again. The service was second to none, the food was good and I could have no complaints....some of the entertainment was a bit cheesy but actually, it is not the most important part of our cruise and the "Movies under the Stars" showing up-to-date movies each night on the big screen up on deck kept us occupied on a number of evenings. The itinerary was excellent and we crammed alot in but still felt relaxed on our return - that's the beauty of a 12 night cruise. I pre-booked private tours with local travel agents before I left for both Ephesus & Istanbul (still cheaper than the cruise line sold excursions) and I was really pleased I did as there was so much to see & learn. Otherwise we did all of the other ports independently - really easy if you do the research before you go. Overall we had a fantastic time and wouldn't hesitate to recommend either the ship or the itinerary to anyone....very well done!

Verified customer
1 cruise
13 Oct 2012

We arrived back in the UK after a spectacular cruise holiday onboard the Ruby Princess. The Itinerary( Grand Mediterannean) was heavy on the sightseeing - really recommend very comforable walking shoes - but a fabulous way to see all the best iconic places in Europe. The ship was immaculately clean, the staff attentive but not 'fawning' - the food was excellent and suited all tastes -my partner has quite restrictive vegetarian diet and he was more than catered for. The facilities, entertainment and port information on board was excellent. All round, a near faultless holiday - the only small comment was that we did not have any time at the start and finish ports, as our flights were late and early, respectively - so don't expect to see Venice or Barcelona unless you opt to add a day or two by yourself either side. Thoroughly recommend this cruise line, ship and itinerary.

Verified customer
1 cruise
11 Oct 2012

I'm not one for writing reviews, but having travelled with 9 other cruise companies I have to say that the Ruby Princess was as close to perfection as we have ever experienced.... From Venice to Barcelona we only had one complaint… We had to get off when the cruise was over... Back to Princess again next month... First time ever to repeat a cruise line, This time we are on the Ocean Princess for Alaska, The American companies know how to do it properly, and Princess know best of all.

Verified customer
1 cruise
26 Apr 2012

The Ruby is a nice ship and having been on board last year we boarded again In Fort Lauderdale and enjoyed 7 day itinerary of The Caribbean with Ports of call being St Maarten, St Thomas and Grand Turk. The weather In November was hot and sunny In contrast to the UK. Food was plentiful and good but the evening Entertainment not that good and certainly not as exciting as Cunard. As it was Thanks Giving there were nearly 3000 Americans on board and once again Princess went overboard to ensure they had coverage of American Football and other sports. No such luck for the Brits or other Nationalities on board with pathetic coverage of English Football In fact a big fat zero. This Is a regular complaint of mine even when Princess sail In Europe where again there is a deluge of American Sports and certainly minimal English Football, how biased is that? The Crew are excellent and Commodore Romano and Cruise Director Sam Hawker-Thomas are exceptional and a credit to the Cruising Industry. We also enjoy the benefit of the complimentary benefits we receive but In over 16 cruises with Princess, we have never enjoyed a stateroom upgrade, only getting what we pay for.

Verified customer
1 cruise
5 Dec 2011

We travelled on the Ruby Princess in July 2011 on the Grand Mediterranean cruise. This was our very first cruise and we certainly weren't disappointed. The standard of accommodation, food and entertainment was first class. We were lucky enough to have a balcony stateroom and nothing can compare with waking up at a new destination every day and enjoying breakfast on the balcony. The day we opened the curtains to find ourselves sailing past the Blue Mosque in Istanbul was one of the highlights. The variety of restaurants and bars was fantastic. We attended a couple of the lectures at sea and were very entertained by the cookery demonstration and tour of the galley which certainly impressed us, with the sheer scale of the behind the scenes operation required to feed the passengers and crew. We definitely intend to go on another cruise soon and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this to others.

Verified customer
1 cruise
5 Nov 2011

The Ruby Princess was fantastic. This was our first cruise and far exceeded our expectations. We were a bit wary of procedures before the trip but found Iglu personnel very patient and understanding. Once we had boarded the Ruby Princess it was as if we had entered into a time warp. We were immediately offered lunch by very attentive staff which became the standard of the cruise. We had been upgraded to a balcony suite and found it to be spacious, spotlessly clean with a very obliging attendant. There was always something to do, every day, whether it was just taking in the weather or attending Zumba classes or informative lectures. The whole cruise was a complete delight and we are certainly hooked and will be booking with Princess again.

Verified customer
1 cruise
18 May 2011

(Staff Review) I was on the inaugural trip from Miami and it was fantastic. The quality and variety of the food, on offer across the various restaurants, was outstanding as was the service. Furthermore, the ships design and furnishings are beautiful, and the open air movie screen is a great touch. All in all, I'm sure this ship will be a huge success!

Verified customer
1 cruise
3 Mar 2010

I couldn't find one single fault during the entire cruise of the Caribbean in January, in fact we enjoyed it so much we went on another cruise in May and have booked a third for November this year. Everything about the Ruby Princess was exceptional from the service, food, cabin, entertainment and facilities. We received a five star service throughout and opened our eyes to a new and exciting way to holiday.

Verified customer
1 cruise
2 Nov 2009