Queen Mary 2

Queen Mary 2 Reviews

View Cruise Deals
4.5
Based on 235 reviews
Cabin
4.5
Service
4.5
Excursions
4.5
Dining
4.5
Activities
4.5
Value for money
4.5
Entertainment
4.5

I have recently returned from a crossing to New York on the QM2. It is very large and maybe a bit too large as you get no feeling for the ship. It is in very good conditions showing small signs of wear but that is no bad thing. I had a Queen Grill cabin which was spacious, very comfortable bed, walk in wardrobe and excellent bathroom but the shower was over the bath with high sides so for older people not too easy to get in particularly if the ship is moving. The Queens Grill is a disappointment, the Britannia Restaurant being a more interesting room, and as a regular travelling on this route for 30 years seen the standards slip. The menus are uninspiring with a daily menu plus the same four old fashioned classic dishes on the menu every evening e.g. Beef Wellington. As far as I could see the food is more or less the same no matter which restaurant you dine in. You can still order ‘off menu’ but on this crossing the maître d was anything but enthusiastic to do the extra work! The two Grill rooms look like an after though at the back of the ship with no views except for other passengers walking and jogging around the open deck and is adjacent to the food court which is like a large cafeteria. It is a curious sight in the evening seeing passengers in evening dressing jostling with people wearing slacks and sports shirts pushing with trays to get to the counter. Cunard is now a part of a large American cruise company so has little in common with the old Queen Mary and Cunard. The British naval tradition, which they push, is only a marketing tool because, apart from the senior officers, it is very much an American experience. The Todd English restaurant I found overrated with highly salted food and curious pairings of ingredients and not worth the extra although I overheard an American passenger say it was one of the best meals he had ever had, so you pay your money and take your choice. Outside of the windows of this restaurant appeared to be the external smoking area for all passengers which was not very pleasant when you are eating. The crew on the whole were very personable and efficient except for the maître d in the Queens Grill who seemed to have little enthusiasm for his job until it came to the end when he expected to be tipped. It remains a very enjoyable way to cross to New York if you are realistic about your expectations but I would think seriously about paying thousands of pounds more for the Grills Experience’ and, apart from the larger cabin, not sure it is worth it. Also bear in mind the ship now docks in Brooklyn so not only is it an expensive taxi ride into Manhattan but also you lose the thrill of docking in mid-town Manhattan next to the skyscrapers and hotels.

Verified customer
1 cruise
19 Jan 2013

The ship is superb elegant and very glamorous. It is a massive ship, very stable and at 150 000 tons with only half the number of guests (2620 guests) of other similar size ships she boasta a much higher crew to guest ratio. The ship is very nicely decorated, a lot of art deco interiors also with lots of history of the other Canard ships. Decor is very luxurious. There is plenty of outdoor space which is great especially for summer months cruises. There are three outdoor pools and hot tub areas, large promenade deck. There are many activities ranging from dance lessons, discos, quoits, virtual golf, wine tastings and many more. The planetarium is fun and very educational also the lectures and shows are very intellectually stimulating. Cabins are very good size with plenty of room The food is first class and service is excellent very friendly but professional. The ship is magnificent, and the entire experience of cruising on QM2 is very British. I would recommend this ship.

Verified customer
1 cruise
26 Nov 2012

Recently went on QM2 to the Canary Islands, we had a sheltered balcony, which was fine for us, although when you sit down you can't see the seat. We didn't go on the organised trips, but found each port easy to navigate by either walking around the towns or get local buses and taxis, which await you at the ports.  

Verified customer
1 cruise
26 Nov 2012

New York is an absolutely amazing city, when cruising there with the Queen Mary 2, I recommend a few nights stay after the cruise to take it all in.

Verified customer
1 cruise
22 Nov 2012

just come back from med cruise on queen mary 2 it was fantastic food excellant service excellant the ship is fantastic our two waiters were so polite and helpful and dexter our cabin boy was very helpful will definately go again with cunard could not fault a thing.

Verified customer
1 cruise
16 Sep 2012

We embarked upon our second transatlantic trip on the QM2 in June and it will definitely not be our last. The planning and organisation was second to none and we were constantly amazed by the level of service we received from every member of staff we encountered. The food was excellent at every meal including breakfast and lunch. We were also more than happy with the range of entertainment available throughout the day and evening. We particularly enjoyed the 'enrichment programme' which consisted of lectures and talks by various experts e.g. film critics, authors (we had P D James - what a delight) and professors. The choice of films was also to our taste and we particularly enjoyed 'The Iron Lady' and 'War Horse'. We had an inside cabin on our second crossing (we had a balcony last time) and on a transatlantic crossing I would have to say it was more than adequate as there is not a lot to see mid-Atlantic bar the odd seagull. If you travel westbound you also benefit from 5 x 25 hour days as clocks are put back by one hour over 5 days during the crossing, what a bonus!

Verified customer
1 cruise
26 Jul 2012

I traveled to NYC with my young daughter on our first ever cruise and we had a wonderful time. The food was exceptional in the Britannia Restaurant, and the cinema was a real treat. My only negative comment would be the main buffet area Kings Court, which felt shabby and downmarket - but I suspect the buffet caters for those who understandably might appreciate not having to dress up and dine formally each night.

Verified customer
1 cruise
24 Jun 2012

My wife and I have just come back from New York after crossing the Atlantic on the QM2. I had read many reports re the QM2 prior to this cruise and was interested to test some of the more negative ones. I am happy to say that those who moaned about things like the golf simulator being booked up or the internet not being 100% or the Purser staff being rude - don't have a life. It was a fantastic trip, all staff were polite, friendly and helpful, the ship was amazing, bedding more comfartable than our own - and we are looking forward to our next trip with Cunard very soon.

Verified customer
1 cruise
21 Jun 2012

My wife and I were lucky enough to have been able to sail on the last two legs of this years world cruise from Hong Kong, we have read the previous review and agree whole hearted, in particularly about the wonderful bedding and sumptuous pillows, we felt as if we were treated like royalty, all staff went out of their way to be welcoming and polite. We are ballroom dancers and enjoyed the Queens ballroom, a big thank you to Manni for the music as well as the band, however, my only criticism is that there are ten dancing hosts, I feel they only need five as they can clog up the floor a little. We also enjoyed taking part in the 'Strictly Come Dancing' that was staged, great time, Richard & Jill.

Verified customer
1 cruise
8 Jun 2012

What a great and beautiful ship! We felt a sense of awe seeing her dwarfing the dock at Southampton and this sense was sustained throughout. Her size meant we never felt crowded and the ability to walk a full circuit of the ship at many levels added to the sense of space and freedom to move, so important in a confined space. The staff were wonderfully polite and room service, particularly at breakfast, was very welcome and discreet. The food? Hmmm — variable and perhaps not as great as hoped — a little bland, with nothing that made you go wow! That said, the food was plentiful and available, with the steaks, breads and puddings a highlight. The entertainment was similarly so so, apart from Rada, the dancers and a couple of the lecturers. Save your money on the overrated Canyon Spa and enjoy, as I did, being the only one in the pool on deck 7, overlooking the ship's wake every morning before a soak in the always hot jacuzzi and a good breakfast in King's Court. You shouldn't be bored on the QM2 and you'll always find a quiet spot to read and contemplate the ocean. The Transatlantic crossing also fulfilled a lifetime's ambition for me to see New York, little did I imagine the incredible feeling of arriving on the greatest of them all, the QM2. 

Verified customer
1 cruise
17 May 2012