Ventura
star star star star half star

Ventura Reviews

View Cruise Deals
4.2
star star star star half star
Based on 377 reviews
Cabin
4.2
Service
4.2
Excursions
4.2
Dining
4.2
Activities
4.2
Value for money
4.2
Entertainment
4.2
star star star star no star

Strictly Come Dancing June19 - few years since I cruised on Ventura, looking tired in places, food average, entertainment good (especially SCD). P&O aren’t in my opinion as good as they used to be, middle of the road now, no wow factor with cuisine, PG Tips served, very mature age group catered for. 3 passengers died, others suffered various medical emergencies while on board. We had 3 cabin moves due to various reasons which wasn’t very good. Would I cruise with P&O again probably yes but with lower expectations!

Verified customer
1 cruise
24 Jun 2019
star star no star no star no star

It was unfortunate that the itinerary was changed 2 weeks before cruising and I was not informed of this. The food was of a very high standard and the waiting staff in the restaurant very good. However I found the volume of music throughout the ship particularly in the Arena show lounge and Havana lounge was way too high for me to sit through and therefore I had to miss many of the shows and tribute acts. Use of flashing lights I felt unnecessary in the show lounge and made it difficult for me to watch the show. As a solo traveller I had requested fixed dining with other solo travellers and this was refused. I was allocated freedom dining with mainly couples on a large table and although I asked to be moved to be with other solo passengers this was refused. I did not feel my concerns over this issue were addressed at all. Due to unexpected sea swells in Monaco we were unable to return to the ship by tender. Ventura sailed to nearby Villefranche Sur Mer to calmer waters and hundreds of passengers waited over an hour in the sun in Monaco before we were told by P&O how we were going to get to Villefranche Sur Mer to re-board the ship. The organisation of this and lack of communication by P&O staff was very poor. Eventually those of us who felt able to walked to the train station and caught a train to Villefranche Sur Mer. Eventually we got back on board early evening. An exhausting stressful day. The experience left many of us very traumatised. I was very disappointed with this cruise and I will not be using this cruise line again.

Verified customer
1 cruise
23 Jun 2019
star star star no star no star

When we booked this cruise it was not a strictly come dancing cruise, and it was very disappointing, as there was not really any other entertainment for other passengers.... there were always queues for strictly tickets to see any shows. Admittedly there were talks by a photographer and a criminal investigation talk, cinema films but these were all in very small venues so many people could not get in to see them. The itinerary places were fabulous and could not fault that. The crew were very much about up selling which has never been the case before..... we will not be sailing with P&O again

Verified customer
1 cruise
23 Jun 2019
star star star star no star

Really enjoyed the experience of a cruise and couldn't fault the facilities. My only disappointment was that we didn’t take black tie clothes as an igloo member of staff didnt think this was required when I asked for confirmation prior to going. As we didn’t have black tie we were unable to eat in the restaurant only the buffet. This was disappointing as we had enjoyed the restaurant experience the previous evening. Good shows and lots to keep the family entertained.

Verified customer
1 cruise
11 Jun 2019
star star star star star

Ship was beautiful, everything about it was fantadtic

Verified customer
1 cruise
2 Jun 2019
star star star star star

This was my first cruise, the kids and I loved it so much that we’ve booked another one for next year.

Verified customer
1 cruise
2 Jun 2019
star star star star star

We enjoyed our mini cruise everything well organised from start to end

Verified customer
1 cruise
2 Jun 2019
star star star no star no star

Enjoyed our cruise which was excellent, except for the way we treated on last day. Due to an outbreak of gastrointestinal illness which unfortunately I contacted on the last day of our cruise and was told to remain in our cabin until everyone had disembarked. Which we did when one of the crew appeared to escort us off ship, to find all coaches had departed and the dock shed deserted of any P O Staffor cruse connect staff., we were left to fend for ourselves, not one person came to help or assist for approx twenty minutes, until a man appeared and offered to call a taxi for us which he did, we had to travel home to Liverpool by taxi at my own expense, As An 82 year old travelling with my son who has a learning disability this incident caused a great deal of distress and upset to myself and son coming after a most enjoyable holiday has put me completely off cruising and especial with P and O,

Verified customer
1 cruise
1 Jun 2019
star star star star no star

As a young couple, we had our very first cruise and sailed on the Ventura the first week of May 2019 from Southampton to Norway. We had a great time, loved being on the ship, lots to do all throughout the day and evening. Good Food available all day and really enjoyed the formal dining - food again was lovely - people will say the potions were small - but when you have eaten all day - they are the perfect size !!! And a different menu every night, three courses. Buffet is good too, food was hot and lots of choice. Evening entertainment was good, and they also show two films (update to date/recent ones) a day which is good for sea days. Great just to wander round the ship, or sit a relax. The staff are lovely too, always helpful and polite. You cannot blame the ship for bad weather days !!! Yes, we had a perfect day in Olden which was great and the other days were not so good but that did not stop us loving the stops we made (Stavanger, Olden, Alesund, Bergen). Yes the excursions (and being in Norway generally) are expensive - but have to be done !! We would definitely recommend this ship and voyage - we cant wait to do our next one !!!

Verified customer
1 cruise
27 May 2019
star star star star no star

Service from the point l pulled up in my car was excellent, car taken away to be parked and my bags taken from me, bags on board at my cabin and my car waiting for me on return. Timings and service on board was great.

Verified customer
1 cruise
20 May 2019