Ventura

Ventura Reviews

View Cruise Deals
4.2
Based on 377 reviews
Cabin
4.2
Service
4.2
Excursions
4.2
Dining
4.2
Activities
4.2
Value for money
4.2
Entertainment
4.2

We travelled in a group of seven: six adults and a teenager. One couple had never cruised before; the rest of us have each been on 10+ cruises. Apart from the three medical emergencies in the first couple of days, which the first-timers assumed were a regular occurrence and the rest of us assured them were not, the whole trip was very successful. (We all hope the two passengers who had to be taken off the ship are now fully restored to health, btw.) We all enjoyed many things onboard - quizzes, yoga, spa treatments, Pilates, joining the choir, the gym, guest speakers, dance lessons, the best Headliners shows ever - and also took advantage of some of the shore excursions on offer. Our first-time cruiser friends really threw themselves into it all and hardly had a spare moment on the sea days! The food was some of the best we’ve ever had on a cruise - and it’s generally been very good with a couple of (non-P&O) exceptions - and the staff were without exception friendly and professional. The captain was probably the best we’ve had, too. Very entertaining. All in all, a great trip.

Verified customer
1 cruise
23 Aug 2019

This was a different type of cruise for us scenery was excellent as were the ports we visited all centres were reachable on foot. We had best balcony cabin so far in 9 years of cruising right at the back of the boat (sorry aft) in the corner balcony space v good as was the cabin good hanging space & room for suitcases under. Cabin Cleaned daily as expected the only downside you couldn’t get your onboard account on cabin screen which meant visit to reception. Food ok but not brilliant waiters in restaurant need better training constantly leaning in front of you to serve other guests buffet very manic with strange opening hours. Food very British. A good family boat apparently there’s were 700 kids aboard enough to keep them occupied so they were no bother. Entertainment varied between v good & amateurish but plenty of it. In all enjoyed cruise but wouldn’t do it again P&O cruises are just below the standard we are used with American cruise lines

Verified customer
1 cruise
12 Aug 2019

The service we received on this cruise was brilliant, the food was always substantial and the menu’s varied enough for us not to be bored. The excursions were fun but a little expensive, also we may need a little more time in each port to fully enjoy the city.

Verified customer
1 cruise
11 Aug 2019

Great service and food - weather was also kind for Norway due to summer months. Recommend P and O for quality service and full mix of quality food for all ages and tastes. Top quality entertainment too. Only slight downside was the ships layout didn't seem to flow well - and it would have been nice to have a bigger pool instead of 2 medium and 2 smaller.

Verified customer
1 cruise
11 Aug 2019

Great service and food - weather was also kind for Norway due to summer months. Recommend P and O for quality service and full mix of quality food for all ages and tastes. Top quality entertainment too. Only slight downside was the ships layout didn't seem to flow well - and it would have been nice to have a bigger pool instead of 2 medium and 2 smaller.

Verified customer
1 cruise
11 Aug 2019

Ventura is old now, but loved. I miss the huge open spaces of RCCL, especially in theNDR, but Ventura is still a great ship and has all the necessary facilities. The quality of food is not what it used to be. Not a sniff of lobster all week. And any opportunity to make a quick buck is snatched up. Still, a great ship, good crew, with attention to d tail, and very good entertainment.

Verified customer
1 cruise
11 Aug 2019

Two years since we were on this ship and it seemed pretty much the same as before. The small differences were noticeable at afternoon tea - no crumpets and a limited selection of sandwiches. I got The impression a few staff were still 'learning' as a few mistakes were made. Given this was a Norwegian cruise, fjords were in short supply. Three coastal ports and only a limited time in Bergen - poor itinerary planning? The one fjord we did journey down (to Olden) we cruised out of at evening meal time! Entertainment was generally good and radiation and dissertation were excellent. The delayed departure from Southampton did not have any noticeable impact.

Verified customer
1 cruise
11 Aug 2019

LOVED THIS SHIP -HAD A REALLY LOVELY HOLIDAY-FOOD WAS VERY VERY GOOD-CABIN LOVELY AND CLEAN AND WELLKEPT--ENTERTAINMENT EXCELLENT--TWO THINGS STOPPING ME GIVING 6 STARS- DISLIKE FORMAL DINING WITH STRANGERS//ALSO A TINY THING IS THE ORANGES FOR BREAKFAST WERE NOT PEELED AND I DID NOT HAVE A SHARP KNIFE TO PEEL--MESSY JOB

Verified customer
1 cruise
9 Aug 2019

Very enjoyable cruise. Choice of food is endless and service very good. Disappointed to find you can no longer check your credit balance from the cabin on the tv and excursions were on the pricey side and cabin starting to look a bit tired and in need of redecoration, otherwise no complaints.

Verified customer
1 cruise
5 Aug 2019

Really enjoyed my trip and this was the first time I had OBS and oh my goodness that makes a difference even the £85 that I had Would definitely go on the Ventura again found the staff to be particularly helpful and friendly and a very nice captain too.

Verified customer
1 cruise
4 Aug 2019