Ventura
star star star star half star

Ventura Reviews

View Cruise Deals
4.2
star star star star half star
Based on 501 reviews
Cabin
4.3
Service
4.3
Excursions
4
Dining
4.3
Activities
4.1
Value for money
4.3
Entertainment
4.2
star star star star star

We decided to get married on the Ventura which took place on the 21st November 2010 at 14.00. Our ceremony was conducted by Captain Hamish Reid. He was simply fantastic and very very funny, what a character. The wedding photographer Kat was amazing, Sam the vidographer was brill and the wedding organiser was tremendous. Everything from start to finish was unbelievable. We had champagne delivered to our cabin along with flowers on our arrival. We had special canapes delivered to our room every day for the whole of our cruise. On our special day we were treated like royalty. Besides all of this we enjoyed the company of all the other staff on board the Ventura who were simply devine, gracious, courteous and worked so hard. There is no way any person can ever feel lonely or rejected on the Ventura. My now husband and I are still floating way above the clouds since arriving back in London today. I personally would recommend for any person with class to marry or have their vows renewed on the Ventura or even simply have a holiday that you will never forget. My only down fall was the food - I have put on so much weight as the food is out of this world!  Had we have got married a week later there would be no way that I would have fitted into my wedding dress and my husband into his suit hahahaha...Thank you P&O - you have made two people who were very happy even more happy and so spoilt. Anyone who complains about the Ventura experience needs to have their head tested as mistakes may happen as we are all human but things will be put right asap from this fantastic team. Our seven family members who travelled with us also felt exactly the same. 

Verified customer
1 cruise
4 Dec 2010
star star star star star

I've just returned from our first cruise; what an experience. As it was the first, we can't compare it, but it has given us a very high bench mark. The Ventura is beautifully fitted and despite the initial confusion due to it's size, it's amazing how well you can navigate around her.  We could not fault anything, from the staff at Southampton Terminal to the staff and crew on board. The entertainment was varied and to a high standard, the theatre group and cirque members were as good as you would see on any highly rated show in town. The staff were always clearing up anything that was left lying or misplaced; very attentive and pleasant. The facilities on board were excellent and suit all ages and tastes. Food was presented very well and again suited all tastes - too good at times! The children onboard were well catered for, as far as I could see, and the group leaders seemed to have a very capable technique in getting them to respond and take part in all the activities. The organisation on board reminded me of a beautiful swan, looking in control and elegant, buy no doubt in order for that to happen, there must have been many 'paddling' away furiously, but a passengers, we saw nothing of that side, and that is very good organisation indeed. Hopefully our first will not be our last. Thanks to all concerned for making it so memorable for us.

Verified customer
1 cruise
9 Nov 2010
star star star no star no star

We booked a two week Mediterranean cruise for my 40th birthday and felt a bit apprehensive as this was our first cruise, but we needn’t have, because it was fantastic, the cabin was clean and roomy, the food was excellent, as was all the varied entertainment, we were totally spoilt by the staff who couldn’t do enough for us. We loved it so much we have booked another for September 2011, roll on!!!

Verified customer
1 cruise
27 Oct 2010
star star star star no star

(Staff review) Enjoyed a wonderful week on Ventura in the Norwegian Fjords. My favourite things were: Amazing value for money onboard for drinks etc... Varied entertainment Superb speciality restaurants, especially Marco Pierre Whites best coffee I’ve had on a cruise ship in the buffet The Indian food was fantastic - especially at the Indian buffet Big ship so plenty of deck space to find your own space - 4 outdoor pools (2 adult only for some peace & quiet), 1 with a retracting roof for colder climates. This ship caters for the British market but does have a big ship feel - great for families but I went as a couple and had a great time as the kids were in different areas of the ship to me. Great value for money!

Verified customer
1 cruise
10 Sep 2010
star star star star star

Thank you Ventura… I have just arrived back from the Fjords and very much loved the entire cruise. Nice, clean and helpful staff. I can not fault anything… will travel again.

Verified customer
1 cruise
6 Sep 2010
star star star star no star

After reading reviews about the Ventura before we went I was a bit worried about our cruise. No need to have been, it is an excellent ship, friendly staff, good entertainment, excellent food and service. We did a lot of excursions by ourselves but Florence and Pisa is a must for a ship excursion or you won’t have time to see it all. Crossing was good just a bit bumpy on the way back. All in all a fab time was had by all my family and our friends try the Ventura it’s well worth it.

Verified customer
1 cruise
4 Sep 2010
star star star star no star

This was my first cruise and it was far above any expectations. My cabin steward was friendly and helpful. The entertainment was so varied that no matter what your taste was there was many things to enjoy. The shows were of a very high standard. I was travelling alone and really enjoyed sitting on a different table each evening for meals meeting different people each night. Over all it was one of the best holidays I have had.

Verified customer
1 cruise
25 Aug 2010
star star star star no star

The Ventura is awesome! My friend and I took a 7 night cruise around the Fjords and enjoyed every minute of it. The Fjords are just so special and like Scotland on steroids. The weather wasn’t great but we didn’t mind at all, in fact we thought the weather was very befitting for the destination and very atmospheric, snow on the mountains in July! The entertainment on board ship was fab, Cheryl Baker chatting about her life story, Roy Walker's son, Mark, and lots of 'West End' shows. Brilliant! My personal favourite was the Spanish Guitar player, Enrico! He is amazing in Las Ramblas :-) The staterooms were roomy and well planned. The food was first class and better than Cunard. All in all, I would have no hesitation in recommending this vessel to anybody and in fact am looking to rebook next year.

Verified customer
1 cruise
16 Aug 2010
star star star star no star

Food - Excellent service, we were freedom dining and it was great, providing flexibility for when we ate. The quality of food was also excellent. We tried the white room and it was good but due to the high standards in the other restaurants we didn't think it was much, if at all, better - still great though! Entertainment - First class, the Ventura theatre company were excellent and the dancers were superb. There were tribute acts, comedians and plenty of simultaneous activities going on to keep everyone, but the unimpressionable, amused. Spa - Really good, bit pricey and some sales pitches at the free seminars to enrol in their detox programme. I paid £33 for a BCA and it wasn't worth it, to listen to a sales pitch, but the gym was great just steer clear of seminars! Accommodation -Really good, our first cruise and we weren't disappointed. Disability - My mum had a disability scooter and my dad was partially sighted and they had a great time. Their disability cabin was great very roomy. Overall superb, great value and you were treated very well by the staff.

Verified customer
1 cruise
20 May 2010
star star star star star

This was our first cruise ever. My husband, son and myself. It was fantastic. The service was faultless, the accommodation was excellent clean airy and comfortable. The food was very very good, excellent variety beautifully presented. The staff in all the departments were helpful, happy chatty and very professional. My son who was 13 said it was his best ever holiday. He went to his club all day every day and met loads of new friends. We went every night to the entertainment which was breathtaking and such a variety. We all did various trips at the ports of call. Our favourites were Barcelona, Monte Carlo, Pisa and Gibralta. We are planning our next cruise in October 2011.

Verified customer
1 cruise
19 Mar 2010