Ventura

Ventura Reviews

View Cruise Deals
4.2
Based on 377 reviews
Cabin
4.2
Service
4.2
Excursions
4.2
Dining
4.2
Activities
4.2
Value for money
4.2
Entertainment
4.2

Have thoroughly enjoyed a transatlantic / Caribbean cruise on the magnificent Ventura. We were aware of various negative comments about this ship but honestly had a wonderful holiday. The flight from Manchester to Barbados was excellent - complementary drinks, the luggage handed in at Manchester and delivered to our cabin and straight onto a coach in Barbados and no customs etc.. The ship is vast and really lovely. Excellent range of facilities - lots of bars, restaurants, great shops, numerous pools and we found absolutely no shortage of sun loungers. If you really want to sit around a noisy pool, of course there is limited space and loungers!! There were so many quieter areas, we were spoilt for choice. We sunbathed and read all the way back across the Atlantic - fab!! The food and service was top class - the best we have had on a cruise, both food choice and quality and our waiters were so attentive. The cabin was just a basic inside but was more than adequate and kept beautifully by our stewardess. This trip was outside of school holidays and there were a few children but they were never a problem. However please remember that this is a family ship and can have 100s of youngsters on board during holiday times. Pick your times!! There are a wide range of passengers and these days’ tattoos and somewhat large stomachs are very common. If this bothers you, you will really need to go very, very upmarket as we found just the same on Cunard ships. We found slight congestion in the self service restaurant, but there are 3,000+ passengers and it was never a big problem and we always found a table. As for the supposed" lack of teaspoons", get a life!! Altogether this cruise far exceeded our expectations.

Verified customer
1 cruise
31 Mar 2011

Fantastic ship, loved every minute of being on the Ventura, went for two nights, stopped at Bruges on the Saturday, which was worth the visit, lots of chocolate shops, and its such a beautiful place. Couldn’t wait to get back on the ship, the only complaint I have was the service was slow, from ordering the food to getting a drink, And we weren’t the only ones complaining about the service, but the staff were friendl. Entertainment was excellent, so much to choose from. We had our photo taken with Marco, saw Journey South, Four Tops, and George Michael tribute. Wish we went for a longer cruise. Anyone going on this ship won’t be disappointed.

Verified customer
1 cruise
30 Mar 2011

Just like too say that having spent our first time cruising we thoroughly enjoyed our holiday on the Ventura, myself and my sister had a wonderful time although the ship is very, very big you didn’t find yourselves over powered by it. The crew and everyone on board were so helpful and friendly and couldn’t do enough for you! We have now got the cruise bug and want too go again asap!!! Thank you P&O FOR A WONDERFUL TIME!!

Verified customer
1 cruise
30 Mar 2011

Second ever cruise, took the Ventura around the Med. Loads of negative views from reviewers, totaly nonsense a truely wonderful ship everything was 5 star, would recommend this ship and other P&O ships to all. Top class ship, ignore the negative reviews and listen to the people who are realists rather than habitual moaners over petty things. Looking forward to our fourth cruise with P&O in April 2011, incidentally on the Ventura.

Verified customer
1 cruise
9 Mar 2011

Our first cruise and what a fabulous experience. Our cabin steward was always smiling, helpful and could not do enough for us. The food and entertainment were to the highest standard. We cruises in the Caribbean, it's an experience that we will never forget and we will be blooking again in the near furutre. Thank you.

Verified customer
1 cruise
5 Feb 2011

WOW Don't think about it just do it Great ship Great staff Great value

Verified customer
1 cruise
24 Dec 2010

We decided to get married on the Ventura which took place on the 21st November 2010 at 14.00. Our ceremony was conducted by Captain Hamish Reid. He was simply fantastic and very very funny, what a character. The wedding photographer Kat was amazing, Sam the vidographer was brill and the wedding organiser was tremendous. Everything from start to finish was unbelievable. We had champagne delivered to our cabin along with flowers on our arrival. We had special canapes delivered to our room every day for the whole of our cruise. On our special day we were treated like royalty. Besides all of this we enjoyed the company of all the other staff on board the Ventura who were simply devine, gracious, courteous and worked so hard. There is no way any person can ever feel lonely or rejected on the Ventura. My now husband and I are still floating way above the clouds since arriving back in London today. I personally would recommend for any person with class to marry or have their vows renewed on the Ventura or even simply have a holiday that you will never forget. My only down fall was the food - I have put on so much weight as the food is out of this world!  Had we have got married a week later there would be no way that I would have fitted into my wedding dress and my husband into his suit hahahaha...Thank you P&O - you have made two people who were very happy even more happy and so spoilt. Anyone who complains about the Ventura experience needs to have their head tested as mistakes may happen as we are all human but things will be put right asap from this fantastic team. Our seven family members who travelled with us also felt exactly the same. 

Verified customer
1 cruise
4 Dec 2010

I've just returned from our first cruise; what an experience. As it was the first, we can't compare it, but it has given us a very high bench mark. The Ventura is beautifully fitted and despite the initial confusion due to it's size, it's amazing how well you can navigate around her.  We could not fault anything, from the staff at Southampton Terminal to the staff and crew on board. The entertainment was varied and to a high standard, the theatre group and cirque members were as good as you would see on any highly rated show in town. The staff were always clearing up anything that was left lying or misplaced; very attentive and pleasant. The facilities on board were excellent and suit all ages and tastes. Food was presented very well and again suited all tastes - too good at times! The children onboard were well catered for, as far as I could see, and the group leaders seemed to have a very capable technique in getting them to respond and take part in all the activities. The organisation on board reminded me of a beautiful swan, looking in control and elegant, buy no doubt in order for that to happen, there must have been many 'paddling' away furiously, but a passengers, we saw nothing of that side, and that is very good organisation indeed. Hopefully our first will not be our last. Thanks to all concerned for making it so memorable for us.

Verified customer
1 cruise
9 Nov 2010

We booked a two week Mediterranean cruise for my 40th birthday and felt a bit apprehensive as this was our first cruise, but we needn’t have, because it was fantastic, the cabin was clean and roomy, the food was excellent, as was all the varied entertainment, we were totally spoilt by the staff who couldn’t do enough for us. We loved it so much we have booked another for September 2011, roll on!!!

Verified customer
1 cruise
27 Oct 2010

(Staff review) Enjoyed a wonderful week on Ventura in the Norwegian Fjords. My favourite things were: Amazing value for money onboard for drinks etc... Varied entertainment Superb speciality restaurants, especially Marco Pierre Whites best coffee I’ve had on a cruise ship in the buffet The Indian food was fantastic - especially at the Indian buffet Big ship so plenty of deck space to find your own space - 4 outdoor pools (2 adult only for some peace & quiet), 1 with a retracting roof for colder climates. This ship caters for the British market but does have a big ship feel - great for families but I went as a couple and had a great time as the kids were in different areas of the ship to me. Great value for money!

Verified customer
1 cruise
10 Sep 2010