Ventura

Ventura Reviews

View Cruise Deals
4.2
Based on 377 reviews
Cabin
4.2
Service
4.2
Excursions
4.2
Dining
4.2
Activities
4.2
Value for money
4.2
Entertainment
4.2

This was a totally different cruise for us always doing warm weather cruises. The scenary was fantastic and being may it was rather chilly in fact it was a minus 2 wind chill up on deck 15. We did things on this cruise that we handnt done before like going to the pictures and listening to guest speakers. the entertainment was really good. we only did the restraunt for two nights then used the self service for the rest of the week. Our cabin was an inside one on B deck and it was lovely and quiet. Disembarkation at Southhampton was really good. I've sailed on the Ventura in the carribean but enjoyed the ship more this time. We decided that we would tip who we wanted to so cancelled tips at reception who we always found helpful this time. The trips we thought were very expensive so we along with lots more passengers wandered round the nice quiet villages

Verified customer
1 cruise
14 Sep 2012

Just back from a 4 nights cruise, this was an AMAZING 1st cruise experience. We have 2 boys age 9 & 12, we didn't see much of them, they were either in the pool in kids club or helping themselves to food!! Kids club was open until midnight, this meant we were able to enjoy the bars and casino. The freedom dining was great 5 courses every night. Captains night was great, seeing everyone all dressed up. The Ports were excellent and very organised. Our overall experience was first class all the way. Now saving for the next one :)

Verified customer
1 cruise
30 Jul 2012

We have just returned from a short cruise on Ventura and I must say I was more than happy with this ship. The food in the main dining room was very good indeed, and hot, which it was not on my last cruise on Ventura. The entertainment was also good with a selection of production shows, singers and comedy. Special mention for "The Money" a rock band who led sail-away and played a concert one night, they were excellent. The ship itself is looking good all in all with bright and clean public areas although the handrails on the balcony was in need of attention, as were all the others within sight. A point to note if you are thinking of a balcony cabin is that if you like the sun you need to avoid deck 14 for at least the back two thirds of the ship as there is such an overhang from the food court above the sun is blocked out for most of the day. Decks B,C and D were much bigger and better. That said cabin was very nice and I think that I can say that although we cruise a lot using a number of different companies we feel at home on P & O and will be back soon.

Verified customer
1 cruise
29 Jul 2012

Written from the perspective of a wheelchair user! Excellent food and service. Most of the ship is wheelchair accessible, with push-button sliding doors on the main decks and ramps. However, the buffet restaurant is a nightmare and best avoided unless you are prepared to have somebody select your meal for you and then you dine alone whilst they select their meal! Staff were unable to offer larger trays so that my husband could get meals for us both at the same time. No areas in the buffet are set by for wheelchair users, which can be problematic at busy times because more mobile persons arrive at the tables more quickly than one can wheel on the carpetted floor. The launderettes are inaccessible due to the narrower width of the internal launderette doors. PLEASE SORT THIS INEQUALITY P&0 - DISABLED PERSONS NEED TO WASH THEIR CLOTHES LIKE EVERYONE ELSE! The area set aside for the disabled in the theatre was reasonable, except for the behaviour of non-disabled passengers who selfishly felt fit to sit there without a disabled companion. (NO- I cannot move my wheelchair up and down stairs!). There is a hoist at the Beachcomber pool. Staff need more disability awareness training when assisting with getting on and off the ship in port, as it felt as though I were just a 'lump of meat' at times. One major irritation was the amount of debris left in corridors (eg room service trays, suitcases on embarkation and disembarkation, and room service trolleys). Whilst some of this cannot be avoided, the positioning of the same meant that my husband was constantly shifting these out of the way to make room for me to pass by. Poor man was exhausted by the end of the cruise! On a positive note, I was well accommodated in the restaurant, with additional space being made for my wheelchair. Our steward, Louis,was a delight, and did everything to make my cruise comfortable for me. Improve the accessibility P&0, and I'll be back!!

Verified customer
1 cruise
11 Jul 2012

My partner and I went on our first ever cruise for his 60th birthday to the Carribbean, and we certainly did it in style! My partner was giving me a treat and chose a superior balcony cabin which was amazing. Far superior to the majority of hotels we have stayed in over the years. The whole system was slick and professional even though there were hiccups when we first arrived onboard. No amount of reviews or photographs could have prepared us for the beauty and size of the Ventura. We looked forward to our daily newspaper every evening to plan our next days activities and would suggest anyone taking a highlighter to mark your choices. There is so much to choose from we had to keep referring back to remind us what we had actually decided to do! We pushed the boat out, if you pardon the pun, and did an organised trip at every port except one. The majority were great value, and allowed us to see things and do activites we would naver have managed to arrange ourselves. We also felt safer doing this in the Carribbean after hearing so many horror stories. We did go on one independant excursion but actually saved very little as when we arrived at the venue, there were additional entry charges which had not been discussed.Word of warning make sure you check EXACTLY what is included if you decide to venture out on your own steam. The food onboard was fantastic and very varied. The Bay Tree was as good as any top class restaurant. As a treat from myself we dined in Marco Pierre White's restaurant and it was amazing and well worth the additional token cost. We NEVER got bored as the entertyainment was so varied but what made it for us, was watching the sunsets from our balcony in complmentary dressing gowns drinking a cool long drink at the end of the day. There was notheing else to watch but vast expanses of water and the occasional shoals of dolphins etc. We can not wait to be able to return on any cruise with P&O but the Ventura has spoilt us from trying another ship. LOVED IT!!!!

Verified customer
1 cruise
21 Jun 2012

14 nights of fantastic Food and entertainment presented by great artistes without a fault of any description, Visited Cadiz, Barcelona, Villafranche , Cittavechia for Rome, Livorno for Pisa, Alicante, Gibraltar all lovely places to visit, could write a book but think enough to say the cruise was Fantastic Value for money a true gastronomic Delight and most sincerely hope to do it again on the Ventura. Michael & Joyce Mc Veigh

Verified customer
1 cruise
13 Jun 2012

We went to Norway last summer on the Ventura. She was a wonderful ship in every way. The food was excellent and all the staff just made you feel so... special. Everyone is thoughtful and friendly. There is absolutely nothing I can fault about the P&O Ventura, heaven in the ocean. Wonderful. Just wonderful. if anyone out there is considering a cruise on the Ventura, do not hesitate. I personally would definitely cruise on her again. Easily one of the best if not the best ship I have ever been on. Absolutely fabulous!

Verified customer
1 cruise
23 Apr 2012

Departing Southampton on April 1st 2015 and bound for the Mediterranean we arrived at a crowded reception hall. Thinking it would take hours, we were surprised to check in and arrive on board within 60 mins of arrival. We had to make our own way to our cabin Level 10 inside. It was tiny. A tour of the boat was then undertaken and it is very impressive. Beautiful atrium and theatre, fabulous spa and gym, and nice looking (but expensive) shops. It is so massive too. Sadly, on arrival we were informed by cruisenews that our scheduled stop in Cadiz had been amended to Gibraltar. Having previously visited Gibraltar and having hated it on each occasion we had visited this did not go down well with us, but we could always stay on board. 2 days at sea allowed us to acquaint ourselves with Ventura and our opinions of the ship were high. However, we soon realised that the crew were not a happy group of people. Outward smiles for passengers were often replaced by sneers and sniggers as soon as they thought they were not being watched (at least from white european crew anyway). The non european crew were not the happy group which we had previously come to know and love. It has been suggested that this was due to tips now being included in bills. But they worked hard and tried to smile whenever possible. A full range of activities was published daily. These included shipboard games (table tennis, quoits, and basketball), plus several daily quizzes and whist drives. Several days there were lectures, and there were occasional tours of the ship and galleys. There were several feature films shown during the cruise too. There really was loads to do. Passengers were also given the opportunity to form a choir (which about 50 did) and line dancing classes took place daily too. There were also daily Catholic mass and C of E services too. There really was loads to occupy everyone on board. Being school holidays there were in total 700 children on board with their parents. To start with the children behaved wonderfully, but as the cruise went on, the teenagers hormones began to get active and they became in many cases a nuisance. They did appear to be well catered for, but having got bored appeared to want to spoil things for other passengers wherever they could. Security officers soon became apparent to try and calm them down with varying degrees of success. We were allocated a second sitting in the Baytree restaurant and we enjoyed this very much. Good efficient service with a nice choice of meals daily allowed us to enjoy every meal we had there. Daily enquiries from the head waiter were also made to ensure all was up to scratch. Not all the restaurants on board were as good as the Baytree, but some were even better, so food was better than good overall. The bars and public areas had plenty of waiters looking to serve teas, coffees and alcoholic drinks. Often they were slow, and clients were not allowed to order at the bars. This often irked. But prices were reasonable and the staff tried to please. Stops at Vigo, Lisbon and Rome were good and we enjoyed exploring. Sadly high winds at Livorno stopped us mooring. this meant our trip to Florence which we had been very keen to make was cancelled. Why did some passengers applaud when this was announced? This allowed us to dock 12 hours early in Monaco. However, no-one had phoned Monaco to tell them we were arriving early and Monaco was closed when we got there. However, the next day it was as good as ever and normal service was resumed. Barcelona was brilliant and Gibraltar was horrid (even more so because the Azura the sister ship to Ventura was in port at the same time and 10,000 tourists arrived at one time). Entertainment was okay. The resident theatre company put on extravagant shows with great sets and lighting but their singing and dancing was at best okay. Many passengers thought they were great, but we have seen much better on other cruise lines. Comedians were poor with stale old jokes. Freddie Mercury tribute act was dire. Tribute acts seem to be the norm as Robbie Williams and George Michael also made appearances. Classical piano recitals also took place and other singers showed up too. they were okay. The ship had a resident 10 piece orchestra and they performed nightly. Passengers were also encouraged to learn to dance too. Overall loads of entertainment, but it could be improved. We only went on 1 shore excursion, Florence, and Cadiz being cancelled. It was way overpriced as were the 2 that were cancelled. Good feature was that in most ports shuttle buses were laid on to take us to civilisation. At each port of call, and at numerous times in between hordes of Ventura photographers descended on passengers to have them pose for photos. These photos were then put on display at extortionate prices of up to £17.95 or you could buy 5 and have them inserted in a book all for £100. You could also buy a video of the cruise in which your image could be inserted but showe d stock shots with sunshine of those places we visited. Robbery without violence. TV 's were provided in all cabins, but these were about as much good as chocolate fireguards. There was a choice of 4 news channels and Ventura TV which was mindblowingly boring. Oh, I forgot, there was the webcam from the bridge too. if you wanted to watch proper tv then you had to pay minimum of £5 for something like an episode of Vicar of Dibley. Come on P&O. This is the 21st century. The ship also encountered Gale Force 8 storms on pour journey home. This meant the outdoor areas were closed on our sea days and resulted in the teenagers marauding the corridors and public areas. Many people just stayed in their cabins, perhaps feeling under the weather, perhaps wanting some peace and quiet. Overall we expected more from P & O. The Ventura is a fantastic ship, but the attitude of the staff was poor and needs to be addressed. The behaviour of children and in many cases their parents too was irritating to many. Entertainment could be improved. Cut costs of shore excursions and photos. On the plus side great facilities, great leisure programmes, great ports of call (those we did visit). Food was good too. May sound as though I am moaning but overall holiday was satisfactory and only a little less enjoyable than we had hoped it would be.

Verified customer
1 cruise
22 Apr 2012

my wife and i enjoyed 2 fantastic weeks in Nov 2011 onboard ventura,food better than i expected complimented with 5 star service from all the staff,our cabin E 502 was spacious and comfortable (outside obstucted view) for what little time we spent in it,entertainment was great, good clean comedians and tribute singers....Elton john,Neil diamond ect..followed by shows by the Headliners 10/10.Drinks, very reasonably priced my only gripe was with mother nature,we had a few days where the weather was overcast roll on Feb 2013 guess what? we are going again....cant wait. NOW THE BAD THING......on sea days I recommend you get up early because sun beds get occupied very quickly and those who don’t, come onto the top deck mid morning end up very disappointed and that’s where the fun starts..yes there are enough sunbeds but some people think they have the right to have one where they choose and as for the towel trick its simple give em 30 mins and remove it...

Verified customer
1 cruise
25 Mar 2012

Just back from Caribbean trip which started on 10 Feb 2012. This was our second time on Ventura. Had an amazing cruise and saw some of the best islands, beaches etc. Ship was wonderful and all staff on board amazing. The Captain was especially good and kept us all up to date with everything and told us where to look for dolphins etc he also told us to watch the sunset on a particular night and look for a green flash when the sun went down. He was so enthusiastic and so where the rest of his crew.

Verified customer
1 cruise
4 Mar 2012