Ventura

Ventura Reviews

View Cruise Deals
4.2
Based on 377 reviews
Cabin
4.2
Service
4.2
Excursions
4.2
Dining
4.2
Activities
4.2
Value for money
4.2
Entertainment
4.2

All good but alot of  kids out of school and annoying noise when u tried to watch a show but everything else was very good.   Will make sure don't cruise near a school holiday again.

Verified customer
1 cruise
21 May 2014

My husband and I decided to go on a cruise with our sons aged 10 & 14.  We were fed up with resort holidays which they love and we hate. So we had the grand idea of cruising. First of all, the little one was petrified as he was convinced it was unsafe and the teenager just knew that he was going to be "bored". From the moment we set foot on board, we knew we had made the best choice ever! They had a look round and we got told it was "alright". They had a look at the kids club and that was the last we saw of them. They were off with their friends all hours, literally. We invited them to join us for breakfast, perhaps lunch or maybe dinner only to be told they had plans to dine with their friends. For the whole duration we were there, we hardly saw them. When we missed them, we popped into the clubs, when they were not on the sky deck playing football, or on a treasure hunt or some sort. They would not leave the ship for the excursions. Worked out cheap for us but sad that they missed Pompeii. Had to bribe them to spend 15 mins with us to have our photos taken as a family. They moaned that they were missing their disco party. The kids club assistants were the best! Seriously, they love the kids. We felt like we were on our second honeymoon, as if we were without the boys! Except I also had the peace of mind that they were safe. I love them dearly but did welcome alone time with hubby. If you were not sure travelling with teenagers and pre-teenagers- hesitate no longer. Book it. Food was delicious, although felt the portions were a bit small. But still scrumptious. Service was great throughout the ship. Our steward Denis was fantastic. Entertainment was West End quality. We had the 4Tunes singers. Incredibly talented and classically trained singers. Just finished at the Jersey Boys West End show . Comedians, piano bar instrumentalists, the Ventura Orchestra band was amazing! I felt like it was all a dream and I was in it, savouring very minute. People onboard were great, chatty and upbeat. Hello? We are British. We don't do this normally. Not in London, on the tube anyway. Hygiene was spot on to prevent the dreaded virus and everything was clean. Lots to do onboard by way of entertainment if you wish, movies, group sessions, sail away parties, aerobics, talks, galley walk throughs, chocoholics tea party and beautiful people to share it with. Downsides - each extra you had to pay for such as excursions and drinks were expensive as they were taxed at 22% Italian tax. 'Duty free' was more expensive than British prices on the ship. Don't bother doing your shopping there. It was cheaper on shore. I kinda felt that the mentality was if you could afford the cruise, they would get their cut of your money too. Excursions were exorbitant. Cheaper on shore again. If you booked anything via P&O you know you were paying a mark up premium on the price. Coaches cost us £18 per person for a 4 min ride. Found out it cost approx £2 if you got a cab yourself. Apart from that, we felt pampered and relaxed by the time we left. I have since booked my parents on 2 cruises with P&O Cruises. They have been on one and looking forward to the other. If I can't go, someone in my family has to go. I am online everyday, scouring for cruising deals. My boys keep asking when the next one is so they can synchronise dates with their friends they met on the last cruise. We've all got the cruising bug and we are loving it!

Verified customer
1 cruise
3 May 2014

I do not normally write reviews on holidays but I wanted to compliment Iglu Cruise for their excellent service. This was my first cruise booked through Iglu Cruise. We booked a 7 night trip round the Med for my 50th birthday. We booked their saver deal which meant we would not automatically get an upgrade and my disability would not be considered but our Iglu Cruise rep said he would send them an email and true to his word when we arrived we had been upgraded and the location of our cabin was excellent for my disability. Ventura was a fabulous ship, the service and food was excellent. We are already looking at P and O for our cruise next year and will definitely be using Iglu Cruise.

Verified customer
1 cruise
4 Apr 2014

Sailed on Ventura in November, cross the Atlantic to the Carribean. Brilliant time, well done to all crew. Top tips to all passengers going to this part of the world - use public busses at most Carribean ports. Some times a bit cramped, but good fun, cheap and very easy to find. Don't be put off by the expensive taxis drivers. If you visit St Marteen, you must visit the the airport. There is a beach at the end of the runway. The jumbos and other large jets fly very low over your head. On your last day, do not wait on the ship for your shuttle bus to the airport, visit Carlisle Bay beach. When you walk out of the port gate, the taxi fare is about 8 US dollars each way, tell them you are going to walk it, they will come down to 2 dollars. When you leave the beach, walk to bus station in Bridgetown, to catch no 12 bus to airport, only 2 dollars each. When you get off bus , there is a bar. The beer is only one dollar a bottle, cheapest place in Barbados. When you leave thr bar, walk across road into airport, fly home. I have many other good tips, but not enough space.

Verified customer
1 cruise
3 Feb 2014

This was the first time me, my daughter and parents had ever been on a cruise and it was amazing. Food very good, waiter service very good, entertainment great. I will definatley go on another cruise, thanks P&O Cruises.

Verified customer
1 cruise
7 Jan 2014

We got a bargain price for this Caribbean cruise with Iglu (it was the first time that we could afford a balcony) We got the train from Durham straight into Manchester airport and stopped the night at the Premeire lodge (who did not provide early morning calls) No bother at the airport and our charter flight was good with plenty of leg room, worst part was having to pay for coffee and snack although our main meal was free. Landing at Barbados was good and we didnt have to through immigration, we got to the ship in 40 minutes and registration was very quick .Our cabin on deck 12 was spacious and well equipted (our steward ANIL proved to be the best we have ever had) This was our first time with P&O and it proved to be very good, meals and entertainment were excellent.  All the islands we visited were were very interesting and we docked at each one usually with other ships at St Maartins there were 5 and although busy we still had plenty of room. It was a bit hot for us with temperatures not falling below 30c but we would have complained if it had been too cold. Coming back was good Barbados airport was a bit hectic but our plane wasnt delayed much and arrived on time at manchester . A very good holiday at £999 for 2 weeks in a balcony cabin

Verified customer
1 cruise
28 Nov 2013

This ship although advertised as family friendly in reality it is very much for the more mature traveller, over 60's at least. The evening entertainment was very amateurish and very limited. All the shows started at 8.30pm and finished at 9.15pm, second shows started at 10.30pm, so to see a different show you had to move to another bar. The tribute acts were a joke apart from Elton John who, whilst not a fan of the original, was brilliant. Ship's staff were very serious, whilst I don't want a Butlin's atmosphere I want to feel like I am on holiday. Food was not brilliant. It was good, but I could have cooked better which is amazing given my limited ability to cook. The tours booked on the ship were excessively over priced and didn't do what it said on the tin. Very disappointing. Better to book a taxi when you arrive at port, you follow the P&O tours round but at half the price. Bar prices were reasonable, and a very good duty free shop on board. Workmen worked on the rust whilst we were sunbathing on the ship's promenade on sea days. They wore gloves and masks for the fumes. We wore nothing and they painted on rust preventon liquid above our heads!! All together a very good holiday, not down to P&O though. They were disappointing and I wouldn't cruise with them again, not until I am at least 70 or immobile. P&O you must try harder to entertain and create a holiday atmospehere, we were on holiday.

Verified customer
1 cruise
28 Nov 2013

We cruised on Ventura for 14 nights on the 8th of December, what a fantastic price. The only grumble I have is I would like to see softer cushions on the sun beds. The food and entertainment was fantastic. Would go again when another deal like that comes up.

Verified customer
1 cruise
27 Nov 2013

I travelled transatlantic on Ventura for the second time and found the ship has been turned into a giant Butlins . It no longer feels special. The food was good but since they have stopped Silver service it has become ordinary. I don't think I will go on this ship again nor any other cruise ship as smoking will be banned on balconies and that is one of the reasons for booking a balcony. I am also fed up finding out that if I had waited till the last minute to book I would have paid half the price I paid for a better cabin.

Verified customer
1 cruise
24 Nov 2013

I've been lucky to have sailed on Ventura three times now. The first time was in 2008 to celebrate my 50th birthday earlier that year. We really enjoyed everything about the ship, the food was fantastic, entertainment top class and the crew really looked after us. We felt thoroughly spoilt. The Caribbean Islands were all different and some we liked more than others, but we had a fantastic time onboard and off. My second Ventura voyage was 2010, I went with my friend to the Mediterranean for her 80th we had the same cabin that I had shared with my husband previously and it was just as fresh looking as before. We had the same service, food and great entertainment. The only thing we noticed was that people were not sticking to the dress code which is part of our holiday all the dressing up, so it was a shame that standards had gone down in this department. Third Ventura venture was in 2012 and the food was almost the same as on previous voyage and a lot of things were repeated during the fortnight but entertainment was still brilliant. I'm sad to say cabin was looking rather tired and cabin service wasn't of the same standard, also we noticed a lot more smokers around the pools and food areas. We still enjoyed our cruise but not as much as before.

Verified customer
1 cruise
23 Nov 2013