Ventura
star star star star half star

Ventura Reviews

View Cruise Deals
4.2
star star star star half star
Based on 377 reviews
Cabin
4.2
Service
4.2
Excursions
4.2
Dining
4.2
Activities
4.2
Value for money
4.2
Entertainment
4.2
star star star no star no star

This was the first time we cruised with P&O and whilst we tried very hard not to compare experiences it inevitably happens. We were able to take more positives than negatives from our cruise and felt the value for money was excellent. We particularly enjoyed the ports, the shopping areas, the pools and although we didn't use them the children's areas looked good too. The stateroom was a good size although we weren't sure our air conditioning worked properly. There were some negatives, the ship itself is tired and quite tatty in parts and we felt the choice of food in the buffet areas was poor. Finding free sun beds on sea days is quite a challenge even though they are packed in and arranged in military fashion. The cleanliness of the toilet facilities in the public areas was of particularly poor standard and unpleasant. We took part in one of the formal nights but we're made to feel so far out of place on the formal night we didn't take part in that we retired to our cabin early. We felt that not taking part in the formalities was frowned upon to the extent we felt distinctly uncomfortable including times when my wife and I were literally being looked down upon. The staff also weren't as happy and keen as we have been used to on RCI and some could do with a bit more training in customer services. As our experience had more positives we felt we would consider another P&O cruise but this is largely due to cost and availability where we could take our entire family but probably not on Ventura. I'd recommend P&O to others whilst but only after pointing out our experiences. I would also say that going by feedback of others I spoke to it could be only Ventura that had declined as some we spoke to had been on her before and said she used to be much better, staff included.

Verified customer
1 cruise
3 Oct 2014
star star star star no star

Iglu arranged a fantastic holiday, 4 nights in Venice prior to a weeks cruise and then a stop over in Milan. All transfers on time, fantastic cruise. Roll on the next.

Verified customer
1 cruise
30 Sep 2014
star star star star no star

Another great cruise with P&O. The way they take care of the luggage is marvellous ,the food was very good and at breakfast they always managed to give us a table for 4 (we were with friends). Now charging for shuttle bus which we find a bit pernickety, but hey ho you do not get service charge added to your drinks so suppose it evens out. Very pleased also with Iglu, always manage to fit us on great flights and very knowledgeable about any queries you might have. The only draw back on our recent cruise was lack of a decent speaker on sea days and the theatre is always full, to ensure 4 seats together you need to be in the theatre at least 20 mins before show starts.

Verified customer
1 cruise
26 Sep 2014
star star star no star no star

We have just returned from a cruise on the Ventura, Genoa to Venice. Having sailed on her just after launch in 2008 out of Barbados we were a bit surprised about the condition of her in some areas The deck areas looked a bit tired the furniture on deck was poor and looked like the original fittings. Most of the windows on the ship looked dirty so much so it was difficult to see out of some of them. Just out after a major refit we'd expected more. The main problem with her is the casual dining in waterside etc its so poor very little choice and indifferent staff reminded me of school dinners. Other cruise lines like NCL and Royal Caribbean do this area of dining miles better. Entertainment was good but is let down by the small Arena theatre. Other cruise lines have larger venues, people couldn't find seats most nights unless you arrived at least half a hour before the performance. Deck space is another problem with lots of early birds at 6 am saving sun beds. Main dining was fairly good and the staff and service excellent. What we did notice was there didn't seem to be much general maintenance going on around the ship, usually you see alot off cleaning and painting of the ship we saw none of that.

Verified customer
1 cruise
14 Sep 2014
star star star star no star

Over all very good but Waterside Buffet lunch menu left a lot to be desired unless you want a curry or other spicy food. Wine waiters in the main restaurants could be a little bit friendlier. Cabin excellent in cleanliness and service. Waiters good in Saffron dinning room. Open deck areas good .

Verified customer
1 cruise
12 Sep 2014
star star star star star

Just returned from 2 weeks on Ventura. Superb food, freedom dining well organised and enjoyable and fantastic shows. Nice itinerary with rest days following days of greater exertion. Had a 'superior delux cabin on D deck. Very comfortable for 2 with room to sit and read or watch TV and plenty of balcony space. We were on Cunard QE last year and felt PO just do it better in every way especially drinks prices, wine reasonable and no 15% grat added to everything as Cunard...not to mention prices in US Dollars and not sterling, Cunard - the ultimate British cruise line, I don't think so, make way for P&O.  Neil Oliver is probably the worlds best cruise director and he's joining Brtittania for 2015 so there will be some fun on the new ship! Watch this space...

Verified customer
1 cruise
12 Sep 2014
star star star star star

Excellent ship, lots to do and the service was very good. We have 3 children and the kids club allowed us to have time on our own, the children loved going to the clubs.

Verified customer
1 cruise
8 Sep 2014
star star star star star

Our first cruise with P&O was to the Canary Islands in October 2013. We were pleased with our balcony cabin which was comfortably furnished. The service we received was splendid and we found everyone friendly and helpful. We appreciated the fact that all prices were in pounds sterling and the electric plugs being 3 pin, little things that mean a lot towards a hassle-free holiday. We are currenlty contemplating a cruise in 2015 on the new Britannia.

Verified customer
1 cruise
6 Sep 2014
star star star star no star

We had a lovely time cruising around the Western Mediterranean The staff and ship was top notch .

Verified customer
1 cruise
6 Sep 2014
star star star star no star

Had a very well organised and enjoyable cruise Auguest 2014. Only complaint entertainment was very poor.

Verified customer
1 cruise
6 Sep 2014