Ventura
star star star star half star

Ventura Reviews

View Cruise Deals
4.2
star star star star half star
Based on 377 reviews
Cabin
4.2
Service
4.2
Excursions
4.2
Dining
4.2
Activities
4.2
Value for money
4.2
Entertainment
4.2
star star star star no star

Ventura is a well run cruise ship which endeavours to maintain high standards. The actual cruise itself was excellent value. This was our third cruise on the Ventura and enjoyed every minute. Never been let down by P&O especially if you realistically valuate cost of cruise and high standard achieved.

Verified customer
1 cruise
12 Nov 2014
star star star no star no star

Having enjoyed several previous cruises on Ventura and Azura we were very disappointed with our latest 24 day cruise. Ventura is in need of a good refurbishment. She is looking tatty and worn. Food was not up to the previous high standards. alternative restaurants aboard have increased there prices and were very expensive. There was a lack of sunbeds due partly to closing off part of deck 16 so P&O can charge hundreds of £s to use the retreat. This caused friction and lots of moaning from passengers, which spoiled the atmosphere. If you like to sunbath then you need to be up BEFORE the sun to leave your towel on the sunbed! Even though P&O advise that saving of sunbeds and seat is not allowed. To watch a show either in the Arena, Havana or Tamerine we needed to be in our seats 45 mins before show or there was no chance of getting a seat. So a lot of waisted, boring time spent just waiting for poor quality entertainment. A high proportion of activities arranged onboard were just another opportunity for P&O to entice you to spend your money, to push producrs and squeeze every last penny out of you. Not to entertain or enhance your cruise. Worst of all for us was P&O's inability to police there own "No Smoking Policy" expecting passengers to police the policy for them. This also caused lots of upset. We will think very carefully who we book our Christmas cruise with. Sadly P&O are not the premier cruise line they once were.

Verified customer
1 cruise
12 Nov 2014
star star star no star no star

Have just come home from the reposition cruise to Barbados, and was very disappointed. I have been on Ventura many times but the standard of cleanliness has most certainly dropped. I thought that with 6 sea days they would have put on more entertainment but not to my knowledge, everything was the same as when we went around the Med, with the exception of the criminal talks that were very good. We will most certainly be looking for a different cruise line for our next holiday.

Verified customer
1 cruise
12 Nov 2014
star star star no star no star

My wife and I have just returned from Ventura's repositioning cruise having joined the ship at Malaga, and this, our fifth cruise, has been a somewhat strange experience. We enjoyed ourselves and although there were things that could have been improved (as with most things) we have no complaints regarding either the ship or her crew. Although having said that, we were mighty glad we had a balcony. The "seal colony" look of the upper decks full of sun beds looked truly horrendous and it appears that P&O's total failure to police this area led to some confrontations. That is hardly surprising when one considers the new wave of clientele that the competitive cruise market seems to be attracting. They appear to be a breed that might once have spent their time drinking at a holiday camp. Uncultured and even rude. their presence sometimes made life aboard seem like living through combined episodes of Coronation Street and Emmerdale and turned the vessel into a two class ship: those who inhabited the Lido Deck and self service restaurants and those who, on the whole, went anywhere but these places. The result for us is that despite enjoying ourselves, it has made us think twice about cruising again. If we do, we may well spend more and go with a line that caters for a more up market client base. (e.g. Celebrity or Cunard.) Cruising should be an elegant experience and I would have given Ventura at least one rating higher had it not been for the effect of this hitherto unencountered client base.

Verified customer
1 cruise
11 Nov 2014
star star star star star

Cruise from Malaga to Barbados across the Atlantic was excellent in all areas. The only real problems came from fellow passengers who tend to ignore the basics of respect for other passengers and then blame P&O for everything else. The food was excellent, the service was superb, the cabin was great and the entertainment outstanding apart from the mind reader on the last night. The weather could not have been better. Well done P&O

Verified customer
1 cruise
10 Nov 2014
star star star star star

We had a lovely time on the Ventura. Met some great people and the staff that looked after us were brilliant.

Verified customer
1 cruise
10 Nov 2014
star star star star star

Iglu made the whole process effortless, regular emails giving updates and all documents sent to download. Advisors were happy to help and just a phone call away. The holiday was fantastic on Ventura with so much to do and shows to see. All the staff onboard were brilliant. Only been back for one day and my wife is back on Iglu website looking for another cruise!

Verified customer
1 cruise
9 Nov 2014
star star star star no star

A fantastic cruise. P&O obviously make a point of putting people of similar ages, on the same tables. Worked superbly. Met some really fun, and mad people! Made the cruise. Disembarking instructions need to be improved. Charter flights get luggage transported from cabin, to your home airport. Scheduled flights, you have to pick up your bags from the port, and take to airport check-in. Very easy to leave bags at port, expecting to meet them at home airport carousel. Also, no mention that we were returning to different terminal. Becomes a big deal, if you have mobility problems! Cooked breakfast not available with room service (although very good at restaurant-only found out on last day) and real coffee at breakfast, but instant at other times with room service. Silly! Some food really good. Some more average. You quickly learn what to order. Ship very quiet and smooth. Staff very good and helpful

Verified customer
1 cruise
27 Oct 2014
star star star star no star

We had problems with our cabin which were not fully resolved until the final day of our cruise. Also, the staff manning the Reception Desk were not particularly sensitive to our needs. The food, entertainment and standard of service around the ship were excellent.

Verified customer
1 cruise
26 Oct 2014
star star star star no star

Excellent cruise, just not long enough.

Verified customer
1 cruise
25 Oct 2014