02038483614
Good evening, we have expert advice,
cruise reviews & exclusive cruise deals
on the widest selection of cruises
online... about Iglu.
Enter Cruise ID
Expert Advice and Booking
0203 848 3614
We're Open

P&O Oceana Reviews

A great range of Oceana reviews written by our customers. To write your own Oceana review click the link on the right.
Average rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6 (from 112 reviews)

6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6     (37)

5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6     (41)

4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6     (18)

3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6     (9)

2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6     (5)

1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6     (2)

Search For Cruise Reviews

Cruise Line
Cruise Ship
Destination

Latest Oceana Reviews

User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 09 Aug 2017
Author: Phil Green
Summary:  Sailed on P&O Oceana from June into July 2017. Fly cruise from Malta and sailed Central Med visiting Croatia, Italy and Greek Islands. I have sailed with P&O previously and was somewhat anxious having read some of the reviews about this ship before sailing. I had no reason to be. I joined the ship and despite a delayed flight the crew members got us on board as quickly as they could and without fuss. The itinerary was fine and although there were just two ports that I didn't enjoy, which I feel should not have been part of that itinerary it didn't spoil anything for me or for those travelling in my party. I understand the ship is due for a re-fit later this year and that may be necessary in some areas but overall I found the ship to be very clean, furniture more than comfortable and the staff very hardworking, polite and professional. The reports of furniture being threadbare and the ship looking tired and rusty were without foundation. The atrium is majestic and I spent some time during the early hours of one morning taking photographs of the interior of the ship and it was at this time I saw the cleaning staff working very hard to maintain its high standard of cleanliness. The restaurant was well run and I had no complaints about the food, indeed it was excellent and the waiters were more than willing to accommodate the needs of passengers. The buffet area was well run and out of 14 days I experienced only one day when it became a bit congested. The Beach House is a must and the food served from there was splendid..a great experience at a small additional charge. I had one bad experience on this ship during my holiday that involved us missing an excursion, which was the fault of a crew member. It certainly messed up our day but it didn't spoil the cruise. I would certainly recommend this ship to anyone. Do not be put off by any negative reviews you may read the Oceana is a lovely ship and I would cruise on it again without hesitation.
P&O Oceana reviews
User Rating: 3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6
Date: 19 Apr 2017
Author: E Cullen
Summary:  We paid for a higher grade outside cabin D712, the arrangement of loo to shower left little space and was the most cramped we have ever encountered on any cruise ship. We could hear the rehearsals and shows from the starlights below, there was no mention of this in the brochure. This should be highlighted or cabin grade lowered. We have been on three P&O cruises were there has been a Nirovirus outbreak and we have always complained that the use of hand gels is not enforced. There was none available at embarkation and nobody policed it's use at the restaurants. It seems P&O are very relaxed about this until there is an outbreak, then they blame passengers even though many crew do not use hand gel on boarding ship. The entertainment on this 19 night cruise was the worst we have ever had. Headliners did only 2 shows the excuse being they were a new group. Well shouldn't they be trained on shore and be ready to go when they join the ship. We realise maintenance has to be done but we couldn't get all the way around prom deck on any if the 10 days. One night my wife was ill when we went to the theatre due to the overpowering smell of varnish.
User Rating: 1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6
Date: 19 Nov 2016
Author: Sybil Holgate Wilson
Summary:  Arrived home after a 14 night cruise to the Canary Islands. The cruise itself was lovely. I was travelling with five other friends two of us wheelchair users one with a scooter. They organised accessable mini coach for each of our excursions which was excellent. However we have never ever had such poor service as we had in the dining room. Six of us shared a table and the first three nights in the dining room we had to complain about the quality of the food. Although the waiter said this would be reported nothing was done, on the fourth night I could not eat the lamb it was so tough, when the waiter removed it he didn't even make any comment, until I pointed out to him why I hadn't eaten it. After these disasterous meals we retreated to dining in the self service restaurant where our able bodies friends kindly waited on us. On asking around the ship many people had the same complaint. On the very last night we were visited by a senior staff member as he had read our survey and so we repeated our list of complaints he said he would look into the situation. As this was the 14 th night it seemed a bit late and we told him so. Since returning two of our friends have cancelled their future booking with PO...and I certainly will not use them again.
User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 17 Oct 2016
Author: Janette Radley
Summary:  Just returned from a 2 week fly cruise. Eastern Med and Adriatic. Great itinerary. Superb weather. Our first cruise with P&O having cruised with Cunard &Princess previously. Flight with BA and transfers were excellent as was embarcation or so we thought. Our key card opened the door to a cabin already occupied by a couple in bed and as unhappy to be disturbed as we were to disturb them. 3 hours later we were found a cabin of the same grade and one deck higher. No explanation was given for their error and no apology was given. I won't bore you with the cabin problems suffice it to say that we made 16 trips to reception with key cards which needed reprogramming and had 4 visits from officers to reprogram the lock. Our cards were not kept with other cards to demagnetise them or with mobile phones. For the last 3 days of the cruise our cabin steward took to leaving our door not closed as she too was having problems with the lock. As there is limited space in the cabin safe our possessions and the room was not secure. Our experience is that when thinks are going well then Oceana is a happy friendly ship giving value for money and a memorable holiday. When things go wrong it is as if P&O staff are unprepared to acknowledge the error or problem and imply the fault lies with the passenger. We are still waiting for an apology for the cabin double booking and the door lock problem. 55 mins is a long time to stand waiting outside a cabin when you have been told help is on the way. So despite most of our holiday being lovely we are unsure whether we would book with P&O again, which is a shame.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 17 Sep 2016
Author: Paula
Summary:  Just returned from a week on the Oceana, starting in Genoa and finishing in Venice, with stops in Livorno, Amalfi, Dubrovnik and a day in Venice. Had the best time ever on a fantastic ship, could not fault anything apart from the Wifi charges were a bit high. Staff were lovely and friendly, they could not do enough for you, entertainment was fabulous we saw some great shows every night. Food was lovely, we mainly used the Plaza buffet and the Ligurian, waiters in the Ligurian were great. Our cabin was on F deck with a window and was really nice, plenty of room and storage space. Excellent value for money and will hopefully be booking another cruise very soon.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 17 Sep 2016
Author: Barbara Evans
Summary:  Just returned from the Italian cruise. Loved every minute of it. Food crew and all staff were faultless. Have now booked the carribean cruise, can't wait!
User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 31 Aug 2016
Author: S R
Summary:  A bit of a delay with this review. We have just booked another cruise on Oceana next month so it couldn't have been that bad really! We had a 35 night cruise in Feb across the Atlantic. We had a terrible crossing Biscay in force 10 storm. Its true what other reviews are saying Oceana is tired, rust everywhere and frayed faded carpets. This didn't spoil our holiday one bit however. Our cabin was fine with some bathroom issues, the loo went out of action four times, the shower couldn't hold the temperature and was even worse after we reported it. Buckets in corridors catching water from the ceilings. We found the food/dining fine without fault. The buffet could get very crowded with very inconsiderate people. We found the entertainment fairly poor and flat, especially on sea days when an early morning stretch was the highlight! We thought the Headliners were poor ( the in house team) and didn't even bother to go to some of the shows. We liked the ship in general, the posts of call were very good. The crew were brilliant ( with the exception of one girl on the excursions team who was just unhelpful and rude, not just to us). Our fellow passengers were offish and seemed to think they something special ( some lovely exceptions) and we felt that at the time we would not be returning to P and O because of this. We have cruised with two other cruise lines and we felt this was the worst experience we had encountered. However and P and O are a very good price and their cruises have great ports of call. We have booked a Med cruise this time and really hope for a different experience this time, fingers crossed. Will let you know
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 19 Aug 2016
Author: R Martin
Summary:  Just returned from a week on the Oceana. We were made to feel special on this beautiful mid sized ship and would definitely return again.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 11 Aug 2016
Author: Brenda Leigh
Summary:  We have just got back from our first cruise around the Mediterranean and we had a great time, it was our first ever time on a cruise ship and we found it so relaxing and all the crew and staff were fantastic thay made us feel like royalty thank you so very much to you all and expecially to our steward who was fantastic, we are hopeing to book again for next year. And last but not least we thought the captain was great, very funny at time's but always professional.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 23 Jun 2016
Author: Kathleen Ravestein
Summary:  Wow just got back from our first ever cruise on the oceania. It was brilliant, very well organised, friendly staff, great food and great entertainment so don't be put off by negative reviews. It is fantastic for your money, thanks Iglu and p&o cruises.

Book with Confidence

We are ATOL Holders and members of ABTA for your financial protection.


Iglu Cruise 10 years
Search Cruises
Your Shortlist

You do not currently have any cruises in your shortlist.


What our customers say

"I can safely say Iglu has been the best holiday agency I have ever used. Your customer care both pre and post cruise has been second to none. I will definitely use you again and recommend to family and friends. Thank you once again"

Anna
(October 2017)

"I booked my first ever cruise on Tuesday 5th September 2017. After lengthy searching and much deliberation we booked through Iglu. So far, I am incredibly happy I booked with Iglu. This being our first cruise Debi proved very helpful. I was [also] very impressed with the level of assistance offered by Connie. She answered my questions and put my mind at rest. I am very impressed with all aspects of dealing with Iglu and I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for all your support. "

D.L
(September 2017)


Read more feedback