Azura Reviews

View Cruise Deals
4.2
Based on 350 reviews
Cabin
4.2
Service
4.2
Excursions
4.2
Dining
4.2
Activities
4.2
Value for money
4.2
Entertainment
4.2

We have just returned from a trip on P&Os’ new ship ‘Azura’ and we’ve had a wonderful time. The service was excellent, food brilliant and entertainment wonderful from spectacular shows by the Headliners group, comedians, cabaret artists and talks. We only had an inside state room but were delighted with it as it was well fitted out with separate storage/wardrobe area and also clever console housing plasma screen/tea/coffee making facility and a fridge. There were wall length mirrors behind bed and in front so made room feel very spacious. We ate on first sitting club dining at 8.30 which suited us very well. For breakfast we went in table waited restaurants but lunch mainly self service. Having had a stroke last year and my walking restricted I found the ship easy to get about with all the automatic doors, lifts and rails everywhere.

Verified customer
1 cruise
29 May 2010

(Staff Review) I had the pleasure of being invited to the brand new P&O Azura launch ceremony in April 2010. From the moment I stepped onboard this modern superliner I was struck by the attention to detail and modern design. I stayed in a Balcony cabin on deck 10 and was amazed by the cabin layout and size; you also have tea and coffee making facilities available within. There are Single Staterooms but these sell out very fast so book early to avoid under occupancy supplements on double cabins. When it comes to dinning there is Sindu which is the creation of the Michelin star chef Atul Kochhar serving Indian food with a modern twist. For wine lovers there is the Glass House with wines chosen by expert Olly Smith and you can buy by the glass giving you the opportunity to sample a variety of different wine. I would recommend the Azura for couples families and first time cruisers as this fantastic ship will not disappoint.

Verified customer
1 cruise
14 May 2010

(Staff Review) This April (2010) I was lucky enough to go on the P&O Azura, and stay in a balcony cabin, I was very impressed with both the decor and style of the boat. The cabin had ample room for me to enjoy a 14 night cruise or even longer. The ship also had plenty of areas too relax and soak up the nice weather and plenty of bars to enjoy. Even though she is a large ship, the Azura doesn't give you the feeling of endlessly walking everywhere. My favourite part of the ship had to be the shows, what great productions they have something for everyone. As always the restaurants and service were wonderful. A 10/10 break

Verified customer
1 cruise
14 May 2010

(Staff Review) What a night! We were lucky enough to stay one night onboard the Brand new Azura ship, for their ship launch. It’s truly a beautiful ship! The Retreat made a huge impression on me, very different and a great way to relax. Definitely make a point to book treatments or half day pass there. It’s located by the Oasis Spa. Don’t forget the Glass House Wine bar and experience Olly Smith's delicious wines and I would recommend the shows in the Playhouse, they got me clapping and jumping around. I had a great time onboard, it was just too short!

Verified customer
1 cruise
11 May 2010

(Staff Review) The Newest ship in the P&O fleet met all expectations. Fantastically decorated and designed, anyone would feel at home on this British ship. Cabins are comfy and cosy. Not as big as some of the other cruise lines cabins however still enough space for you to feel relaxed. The new Oasis Spa has all you'll need to feel relaxed and pampered and they have a spa package which will be perfect for those wanting to make the most of the facilities. With a wide range of restaurants you will never go hungry on Azura, top line cuisine with great waiter service including Sindhu where the Indian inspired cuisine food is fantastic. After dinner there are many bars for you to see the rest of the night in with. There is something for everyone on the Azura, from the kids clubs to the quiet bars to the Playhouse, Azura’s theatre where you can enjoy a different show each night. With so much to do onboard, Azura is a great choice for any new and 1st time sailors to those on their 50th cruise!

Verified customer
1 cruise
6 May 2010

(Staff Review) We stayed in a balcony cabin overlooking the back of the ship. I particularly liked the wardrobe space which provided a small dressing area, very unusual for cabins of this grade. This ship offers unique features that set new standards for P&O, the deck area around the sea screen is very well designed to allow as many people as possible to view. The Retreat is amazing, a very tranquil area on the open deck , worth paying for that extra treat on sea days. Although I did not sample the food in the speciality restaurants they certainly looked very inviting, I particularly liked the open dining area in Seventeen. All of the public rooms are very spacious and are mainly located on one deck giving the impression that the ship is intimate than it really is. The food at dinner was delicious and the waiters were very efficient and friendly as you would expect from P&O.

Verified customer
1 cruise
29 Apr 2010

(Staff Review) I have just come back from the 1 night cruise launch events on the P&O Azura and it was Fantastic! It’s a beautiful ship, with so much space and I had no feeling of being crowed at all. We stayed in a Balcony Stateroom which had a comfortably sized balcony. The balconies are huge! The show was amazing in the Playhouse Theatre, it was called "Blame it on the boogie" One of the best I've seen and it gets you in the party mood to move on to Manhattan night club or Malabar for drinks. But the most amazing place onboard was the Retreat near the Oasis Spa. It’s an open-air spa terrace where you will be waited on hand and food. Dont miss out!

Verified customer
1 cruise
13 Apr 2010

(Staff Review) What a fantastic experience it is to be allowed to sample the delights of a brand new cruise ship before the "real clients" get their hands on it. A group of us from Iglucruise were amongst selected agents lucky enough to spend an afternoon and a night onboard P&O's brand new ship Azura, the night before she was named by her Godmother Darcy Bussell. The Azura was docked in Southampton, the port she will be sailing from for this summer. It was a gorgeously sunny day and the sight of a brand new sparkling white ship in the sunshine is enough to make anyone's heart beat a little faster! The boarding process was a breeze and the corridors were lined with smiling, welcoming staff. The whole check-in including security and passports was over within 15 minutes. My cabin, a superior deluxe balcony stateroom was pristine. Lovely firm mattresses on the twin beds with fluffy, mountainous white pillows - ideal for sinking into. With a walk in storage area the size of my garden shed there was no clutter left to mess up my cabin and in all truthfulness the shower was exceptional - a nice touch to have lots of bottles of White Linen potions and lotions. Although I could happily have spent the whole afternoon on the recliner on my balcony I joined my colleagues on an extensive tour of the ship. We started with the swimming pools - beautifully clean and large enough for a decent swim or a wallow - whatever the preference. The Spa area (The Retreat) is luxurious. The colour scheme is deep purple, cream and green and there are two large tents where you can hide away and be pummelled in privacy. The choice of restaurants is extensive and impressive but the one that really caught my eye was Sidhu, the Indian restaurant with Michelin Star chef Atul Kochhar at the helm. The decor is stylish, comfortable and luxurious and I am sure will be a wonderful place to enjoy an evening of Indian dining. Following a tour of the restaurants we were treated to glasses of bubbly at the Glass House. Olly Smith has chosen all the wines that appear on the ship and this bar was fun and lively with an obviously large range of wines to sample. The Theatre is cosy - I thought it would be larger but was pleasantly surprised to find that it felt intimate and I am told the show was very enjoyable - I was too busy wining and dining and enjoying the P&O hospitality to go. I think the Azura is a really fabulous ship and I was mainly impressed by the taste and style with which everything has been put together. I envy those customers who can set sail for a week or longer rather than having just a short taster that left me wishing for more!

Verified customer
1 cruise
13 Apr 2010

(Staff Review) The new P&O Azura 115,000 ton ship offers a more intimate feel than I expected of a large ship. Brodie's bar lounge and Casino have been cleverly combined offering a more relaxed and sociable venue. The Oasis Spa extending to the outdoor Oasis pool area is a great idea to relaxing in a tranquil environment after a workout or spa treatment. Food in restaurants is superb, Sindhu speciality Indian restaurant offers an exclusive dining experience. Olly Smith's Glass House is modern bar venue for the discerned wine lover offering wine by the glass. Live music and entertainment around the ship has been well distributed to spread the 3000+ passengers evenly around the ship. Aqua Pool doubles up as a dance stage when covered with the Sea Screen creating a great outdoor theatre experience. Staterooms are comfortable with tea and coffee making facilities. Single Outside and Inside cabins are a welcome option for the single cruiser.

Verified customer
1 cruise
13 Apr 2010

Although this ship doesn't launch until 2010, P&O have already stated that football world cup matches will be screened on the gigantic sea screen - so footy fans won't miss a kick! Ken

Verified customer
1 cruise
21 Oct 2009