Azura Reviews

View Cruise Deals
4.2
Based on 350 reviews
Cabin
4.2
Service
4.2
Excursions
4.2
Dining
4.2
Activities
4.2
Value for money
4.2
Entertainment
4.2

This was our second time on Azura and we still love her just as much. Some of the staff even remembered us from last year! The staff are amazing. They work so hard and very long hours but are always polite, friendly and willling to help. Couldn't fault the staff. Food is generally fantastic with a great choice for vegetarians at breakfast and dinner, the buffet lunch is not so good, everything tastes the same although there are plenty of other places to eat with lovely food. Highly recommend paying the extra for Sindhu, Seventeen and The Glass House, they really are a cut above the rest. Comfortable cabins with plenty of storage space. We took 4 suitcases and still had room to spare for more clothes. Beds a little on the hard side though! Tiny shower room with annoying shower curtain that sticks to you, minor point though considering how beautiful and luxurious the rest of the ship is. Three pools to choose from, although all on the small side so only really good for dipping in and out. Can be difficult to find a sun bed on days at sea. Gym is excellent, good for burning off those extra calories! Saw some great comedians but didn't go to the other shows as they are so loud! Loved all the ports we visited especially Florence. We spent quite a lot of money on tours but they were well worth it, very well organised, interesting and imformative guides and made it easy to visit places that were not near the ports. All in all an excellent holiday, we shall be returning.

Verified customer
1 cruise
14 May 2011

We have just returned from a cruise to the Mediterranean with P&O on Azura. We normally choose to have breakfast and lunch in the dining room but on this occasion frequented the Verona or Venezia self service venues, where the choice of fare, particularly breakfast was more than adequate. We always choose set dining for dinner, as we prefer to reurn to our table (always) of eight to discuss the day's events with our newly found companions, who once again were a fabulous crowd. Four of us joined the Azura Choir of passengers, which proved most enjoyable. One evening, we dined together at the speciality reataurant XVII, which proved a culinary delight although there is a cover charge of £20 per person for this experience. We also tried the Glass House for a lunch time snack, which supplied a choice of any three items from their menu at a cost of £4.95. The portions were well worth the cost and in fact could have been amply shared between two persons. Bar prices are good with P&O, with the service charge already added in to the published prices and with the discount offered to previous cruisers (The Portunus Club), even better than most of cruise lines. The ship's entertainment team "Headliners" were magnificent and put on nine differenr shows, three times each evening and every one was a spectacle not to be missed. On other evenings we were treated to entertainers such as singers, instrumentalists or comedians, whose efforts were also accetable. At times, stays in some of the ports of call could have been longer but overall the cruise was good. We will definitely cruise with P&O again and have already placed a holding deposit on a non-specific future cruise but whether or not we return to these large ships will remain to be seen. We are looking forward at some time to trying the new "Adonia", a ship that takes only 710 passengers, instead of the 3,000 plus of Azura and Ventura.

Verified customer
1 cruise
14 May 2011

Sailed 28th September 2010 to 14 October on AZURA to central Mediterranean. Wonderful holiday. Balcony cabin excellent, and quiet. Excellent cabin steward. Dined in Peninsular Restaurant for dinner. Used the self service restaurants for lunch and breakfast. Sometimes had difficulty getting a table, so had to wander around to find one. Food and service first class. Sat on table for 10 at dinner, and we enjoyed the company of all our table companions. Loved visiting the ports of call especially Venice, Corfu, Dubrovnik, and Katakolon. Enjoyed most of the evening entertainment. The singing and dance shows were very good, but sometimes the volume was a little high! No really rough weather. However the ship rode the seas beautifully, better than Ventura. Over all, a marvellous 16 nights. Can't wait for our holiday this year. Would like to visit the same area again this year, but would like to visit a few different ports.

Verified customer
1 cruise
11 May 2011

First time cruisers tempted by deal from travel agent. This was a Caribbean/transatlantic cruise. Flight from Liverpool to Barbados excellent; free bar & food, plenty of legroom. Straight from plane to bus to ship. with cases following - brilliant. Outside Cabin was on P deck (deck 5), forward on starboard side. Convenient for all the dining and entertainment options on decks 5, 6 and 7. Cabin was like small "Travelodge", but had everything including fridge, hairdryer, interactive TV. Plenty of shelves & hanging space. We had been allocated First Sitting in the Peninsular Restaurant. Silver service to go with the 6 course menu; at least 4 choices for each course. In addition, our waiter would mix and match veg etc. as requested. Too good, put on a stone! Wine steward excellent, with good selection of reasonably priced wines; lot to choose from £11 - £16 a bottle. Entertainment was excellent, most evenings spoilt for choice. Being on 1st sitting meant some nights we could fit in 3 shows. Playhouse Theatre performers and production standards as good as any West End shows. Also good singers and comedians. Daytime activities, when not sunbathing saw something for everyone. Art and dance classes; historical talks and bridge lessons; bingo and horse racing. We did excursions on all the islands. Best excursion was the Rum distillery on St. Lucia. Best island tour was St. Maarten. Disembarkation at Southampton and coach back to Liverpool all straight forward. Negatives:- It was too cold of an evening to go up to the top deck for the midnight movie on the outdoor screen. Too many toilets out of order caused queues at busy times, both ladies and gents. Some passengers looking down their noses, wishing things would go wrong.

Verified customer
1 cruise
15 Apr 2011

We have just returned from a fantastic 2 weeks in the Caribbean on this magnificent ship. In all there is nothing negative to say about the whole experience. The staff are friendly and polite and can’t do enough for you. The food is out of this world. The ship is well laid out and the entertainment brilliant. Perhaps the one negative thing to say is totally unconnected to the holiday really but we found ourselves being annoyed at how rude some people seem to be to the staff and felt the need to apologise for them. I do understand that this is not a cheap holiday but manners are free!!!

Verified customer
1 cruise
28 Mar 2011

Absoulutley fantastic.How some people have any negative comments is beyond me. From fantastic food, and so much of it, to so many different venues catering for all kind of tastes. If any of you haven't yet done a cruise it's something you really must do even if it's just a short break. I'm saving hard for my next one. Go on you know you want to.

Verified customer
1 cruise
9 Mar 2011

We have just returned from a wonderful cruise aboard Azura. The entertainment and food were both outstanding. All staff were polite and could not do enough for us. P&O quality is the ability to organise everything from transfers to anything required individually. I would certainly recommend this ship.

Verified customer
1 cruise
2 Dec 2010

best holiday ever , we would recommend this ship this was our first cruise and we felt it was faultless in everyway.

Verified customer
1 cruise
4 Nov 2010

Have just returned from a fantastic cruise on the Azura. After reading some reviews before I went I was a little apprehensive but to my delight my fears where unfounded. The restricted inside cabin was exceptionally and unexpectedly roomy even though three of us shared the space we didn't get under each others feet. The food in the Meridian dining room was exceptional (although I personally prefer the way Princess do theme the food to the country we are in) and although we wanted to try the other restaurants which got rave reviews from people we chatted to who had been we just didn't get there. The entertainment was as good as anything I’ve seen in London and the Headliners theatre company are not to be missed, they do three shows per night and is a must. We had two cabins next to each other as we had two children aged nine and eleven with us. We didn't see them as they preferred to do their own thing from kids club to movies to swimming and we had to persuade them to eat with us and not their newly made friends on at least a couple of night just to touch base with them. Only negatives were the trips weren't great or very good value for money so I would advise you to do your own thing, especially Marbella, Porto Banus, Venice and Croatia. This was a big let down and with children to pay for not worth it. The last fly in the ointment was the staff didn't seem friendly and didn't interact much, in fact some seemed really miserable and when the chefs did their walk out at the end of the cruise I did notice a few of them cracking a smile. Finishing on a plus, P&O have reviewed their drinks policy and you can now bring your own drinks onboard for consumption in your cabin which we fully took advantage of though it didn't stop us purchasing drinks around the ship, it just gave us a little extra spending power at meal times where we quaffed Asti at a very reasonable quality for the price. Finally, I have very high standards and if there is something not to like I usually am the one to spot it, however in this instance there were few faults and I would definitely go again and recommend this ship to all! Bon Voyage!

Verified customer
1 cruise
12 Sep 2010

Just returned from 16 night Med cruise on the Azura. We had a wonderful time on this ship. The food was brilliant, probably the best food on any cruise we have already done. We find P&O's food and service in the restaurants far better than with any other cruise company as you get a more varied menu and also silver service on these ships. We opted for freedom dining for the first time ever and it really worked for us. You can choose if you want a table for 2 or sit with others and decide what time you want to eat. If they have not got anything available, they give you a pager and it bleeps when they are ready to seat you. The longest we had to wait was 15 minutes, but this was only on a couple of occassions on formal evenings. We also tried the two select dining restaurants - Sindhu and Seventeen. Although you have to pay a cover charge of £15 or £20 for these, we found it well worth it (even though I'm a Yorkshireman) as the food was absolutely delicious in both places. The bar prices were very reasonable as were the prices for bottles of wine a pint of beer was £2.70 lager was £2.95 and the cocktails were reasonable too (not that I drank cocktails!). The cabins were quite spacious with plenty of drawer and open wardrobe space. We opted for an inside cabin this time so we could spend more on excursions etc, but they were more spacious then we have previously had on other ships. The cabin steward did, as usual, a wonderful job of keeping our cabin in tip top condition. The entertainment on board was the best we have ever seen. There were two other entertainment lounges, apart from the theatre, (Malibar and Manhattan) where they had singers, comedians and magicians etc, who in our opinion were all pretty good. Sir Henry Cooper was aboard and did two different spots talking about his great boxing career, and also Roy Walker was aboard who was very funny as he always was. On the downside, there were a a few small teething problems with the ship eg, the cabin card door locks sometimes stopped working as did the cabin TV and sometimes the public toilets on decks were out of order, but this did not spoil any fun whatsoever. A problem, we found, which happens on all ships and hotels etc, was the reserving of sunbeds, especially when it tells you in the ships daily newspaper not to do this, but some people actually went to reserve their sunbeds in ideal positions on the ship before breakfast by placing a towel and books on them and then went away without even sitting on them to have breakfast and not return for a couple of hours. We did not like this behaviour and it caused alot of resent amongst passengers. My idea would be that if you use the sun bed for a couple of hours in the morning, you were allowed to go for lunch for a short while and then return to that same sunbed, but people just did what they pleased. Sadly I do not think there will ever be an adequate solution to this problem. Anyway this was a great ship & we had a great cruise. 

Verified customer
1 cruise
28 Jun 2010