Azura Reviews

View Cruise Deals
4.2
Based on 350 reviews
Cabin
4.2
Service
4.2
Excursions
4.2
Dining
4.2
Activities
4.2
Value for money
4.2
Entertainment
4.2

This cruise was the second year we had booked a cruise through Iglu Cruise and again on the 'Azura'. We flew from Manchester to Barados with Thomas Cook Airlines and although it was a long flight we were so impressed by with the flight. Meals, drinks and the attention we were given the stewards were first class. At Barados, we joined the ship which sailed that evening for St.Lucia. Our balcony stateroom on the Riveria Deck was ideal as it was so near to the Terrace Pool and the buffet restaurants, although we dined in the the evening in the Meridian Restaurant (Freedom Dining). The itinerary of this cruise also included St. Marteen, Tortola and then 5 days at sea to Tenerife and then 3 days at sea to Southampton. It might seem at lot of sea days but my wife and I just wanted to 'chill out' and that's what did but we knew there were lots to do on the ship if we wanted. Each evening we would look forward to dinner as we knew the standard of food would be excellent as was the service. I would recommend the Glashouse for lunch with its fine selection of wines. The theatre entertainment was of such a high quality, the Headliners Theatre Group would have given London's West End a run for their money. There was also entertaiment in the Malibar and the Manhatten Bar featuring various tribute acts. After disembarkation at Southampton, we were professionly escorted to the coach back to Manchester. I look forward to my next cruise with Iglu Cruises.

Verified customer
1 cruise
18 May 2011

P&O Western Med. Cruise taken in late April was a very nice experience. Never having sailed with P&O before we thought it might be "stuffy" but far from it because it was excellent. We have sailed five times with different cruise lines but we found that the pricing was very fair and not "rip off". The ship is one year old and maintained to a high standard with the facilities being more than adequate . The restaurant service and food quality was excellent and the staff, although quieter than the ones we have experienced before, very efficient. The alcohol policy is more liberal than other cruise lines and from what we saw was appreciated by the passengers and not abused.

Verified customer
1 cruise
17 May 2011

We did take a lot of effort to pick out our cabin and was very disappointed to find out that we had been "upgraded" to the Lido deck, so we were not very happy with our cabin to begin with, we also suffered dreadfully from sickness on the first day at sea - which did not help. However as the week progressed, we began to enjoy the cruise, specifically the entertainment which was excellent, we were very pleasantly surprised by the cost of onboard drinks, which seemed on par with pub prices, we ate in the main restaurant and the food was good, although not as good as those we have had on other ships. On the whole by the end of the week, despite the cabin we feel we would go with P&O Cruises again.

Verified customer
1 cruise
16 May 2011

We had a fabulous holiday on the Azura in March. It was a relocation cruise from Barbados to UK. The weather could not have been better and as always the Caribean islands were fantastic to visit.  We took the Pitons Cruise trip and relaxed on board whilst being fed rum punch, after the swim in the sea. We also took a sailing ship cruise the next day which was wonderful.  The Azura is a beautiful ship and we tried the Asian speciality restaurant, the Nineteen restaurant and both provided wonderful alternative meals to the main restaurant for a little additional cost. I would certainly book to go on Azura and to do this trip again. Fantastic ship, fantastic service. 

Verified customer
1 cruise
16 May 2011

Joined the Azura in Barbados after a early morning flight from Gatwick with Thomas Cook which was pleasantly comfortable and more importantly on time.  First time on Azura and first time on a ship this large first impressions were good, the design and decor were of a good standard and the cabin was larger than we expected - we were in an inside on lido deck. The cabin had a walk in wardrobe which made access very easy. The bars and deck areas were adequate and as with all P&O ships drinks were reasonably priced. The food in the buffet both for breakfast and dinner was of a good standard, and the main restaurant was equally as good.the entertainment left a little to be desired although in the main we enjoyed it.  The Caribbean islands were a pleasure to visit and once again P&O did not let us down.

Verified customer
1 cruise
15 May 2011

My wife and I have cruised many times with Princess and P&O, but this is the first time on the Azura. We opted for a Western Med cruise with and outside cabin on E deck (midships and a good choice). The Azura is a beautifully appointed ship, though one might feel it is a bit on the large size to begin with. Once we had sorted where the essentials were (food and bars) it was okay. When we booked our cruise we got the school holidays wrong, consequently there were a lot of children onboard just prior to Easter. They were not a real problem but did take over the pool areas and there were times when it had the Hi-de-hi feel. The cafeterias for breakfast etc had the usual good quality choice and the Trattoria in the evening was first class (no cover charge!) We used the restaurant evenings only and the food was something of a disappointment, bland, and one meal I sent back. There were a couple of evenings when the galley service was quite poor. We were kept waiting for some time for the main course. Silver service though was very good. Entertainment was fine and our cabin was excellent, spacious and well fitted out. Other passengers we spoke to had mixed opinions on the Azura. First time cruisers were excited, old hands not so. Would we sail on it again? Probably give it another go, but not during school holidays. If its guaranteed kids free you want, then the Arcadia is a better bet.

Verified customer
1 cruise
15 May 2011

Fantastic ship. Wasn't sure about ship being too big before we went. Had been on Independence of the Seas before and everywhere was so crowded with people. No problems whatsoever. Everything very well organised. from dining to getting on and off ship even on tenders. Food was excellent, only one small complaint of too many curry nights in buffet restaurant at night. The entertainment was superb, the Headliners company were incredible good as was the theatre and all the other entertainers. Brilliant comedians and lovely singers. All the staff were wonderful, nothing was too much trouble. We would certainly travel on Azura again. Am already looking at other cruises on her.

Verified customer
1 cruise
14 May 2011

From the moment we stepped aboard Azura to the moment we disembarked at the end of the cruise, we were impressed. The ship is spotlessly clean and the decor is of the highest standard. The staff are friendly, helpful and polite. The food is wonderful at all of the many available restaurants and also as a room service option. We enjoyed many shows in the large theatre, which has very comfortable seating, and really did feel that we could have been watching a West End production. The entertainment options were varied and had something to appeal to all age groups. Our cabin was only an inside but felt spacious even though three of us were sharing. I particularly liked the comfortable beds with lovely crisp sheets and the endless supply of fluffy towels. This was our second P&O cruise and I hope it won't be the last!

Verified customer
1 cruise
14 May 2011

Our holiday on azura was fantastic. The crew really couldnt do enough to help you. The onboard facilities are second to none and the entertainment is well looked after, even on port days. The only thing i would mention is the lifts on the ship. If you plan on using the lifts at any point then be prepared to wait a fair amount of time for one. We stood waiting for a life for near 20 minutes. One place i certainly recommend is the Malabar. During the day they turn it into a cinema, and at night its just a lovly place to relax. There are alot of things to do on the cruise, But some prior planning for certain activities is recommended.

Verified customer
1 cruise
14 May 2011

My friend and I have just returned from the Western Med on Azura. We had a marvellous time and were well looked after. The food was fabulous on Club Dining and we visited the Sindhu restaurant three times. Food was great and staff really friendly and looked well after us. The staff on board are excellent, Everything is geared for the guests. Looking forward to my next cruise.

Verified customer
1 cruise
14 May 2011