02038483600
Good morning, we have expert advice,
cruise reviews & exclusive cruise deals
on the widest selection of cruises
online... about Iglu.
Enter Cruise ID
Expert Advice and Booking
0203 848 3600
We're Closed

Mediterranean Port Reviews

A great range of Mediterranean reviews written by our customers. To write your own Mediterranean review click the link on the right.
Average rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6 (from 21 reviews)

6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6     (0)

5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6     (9)

4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6     (8)

3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6     (4)

2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6     (0)

1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6     (0)

Search For Cruise Reviews

Cruise Line
Cruise Ship
Destination

Latest Mediterranean Port Reviews

123>
Ship:
Line:
User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 22 Nov 2012
Summary:  You can easily visit Venice on your own, rather than doing a shore excursion. The port is just outside Venice island, on the mainland. To the right of the port by the bridge there is a vaporetto stop (water bus stop). From here you can get on to get to St. Marks Square of the Rialto Bridge - will take you approx 30 mins. Yyou can get back from many stops on Venice Island. You are also just 1 stop from the train station.
Ship:
Line:
User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 22 Nov 2012
Summary:  To get from Civitavecchia to Rome on your own sounds and looks daunting, but is really really easy. All you have to do is get up early and get the cruise shuttle from the ship to the gates of the port. Then from there it is a 5 min walk to the train station. There are two fast trains an hour to Rome and this costs approx €5 per person each way. The fast train takes approx 50 mins and the slow train approx 1.30 min. Once you get to the termini you are right in the centre. Across from the station there is open air buses that will take you around. Everyone in the stations speak English if your Italian isn't that great (I speak non and got on fine).
Ship:
Line:
User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 21 Nov 2012
Summary:  No need to do a shore excursion at this port! Take their shuttle to the town, and walk around the citys walls (small fee). Great views over the town, and to sea. There is also a small harbour with a great ice-cream shop near by!
Ship:
Line:
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 15 Nov 2011
Summary:  When we checked the itinery for our cruise we noticed that we would be visiting both Dubrovnik and Split in Croatia. We looked forward to visiting Dubrovnik but were unsure about Split. Maybe Split would be a modern and uninteresting city. We were dropped off by the tender boat near the old town in Split. The old town is quite large and is less restored than the old town of Dubrovnik. This adds to the beauty and atmosphere. There is a feeling that Dubrovnik is a museum but Split is the real thing. The architecture, squares and pavement cafes were perfect. We agreed that we must return there on a 3 or 4 day city break.
Ship:
Line:
User Rating: 3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6
Date: 07 Nov 2011
Summary:  I was very excited about visiting Cannes. We tendered in, which took about half an hour. The port of Cannes was very picturesque and was exactly how I expected it to be. We didn't bother with an organised trip here, but made our own way along the seafront. We passed the convention centre (home to the Cannes Film Festival), taking time to look at the famous hand prints around the edge. As there was a major exhibition on whilst we were there it was very busy. We continued walking and made our way right to the other end of the bay which took the best part of an hour. The beach in Cannes was lovely. If I was to go again, I would recommend a few hours on the beach followed by a meal in one of the many nice restaurants that line the seafront.
Ship:
Line:
User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 07 Nov 2011
Summary:  I did alot of reading up on this port before departing, and after much deliberation decided on making our own way from Civitavecchia to Rome on the Train. First of all, make sure you are off the ship by 7.30am at the latest. Catch the port shuttle bus from the ship to the top of the pier. Then turn right and on the right hand side there was a ship advertising train tickets. We purchased the BIRG ticket for €9 each. Then continue walking down the seafront and you will see the train station on your left, the other side of the road. On the platform, don't forget to validate your ticket in the yellow machine. The trip into Rome Termini took about 1hr 20 mins. At the Terminin station we then made our way to the Metro and went 2 stops to the Colesseum. The Colesseum metro stop is directly opposite the Colesseum. We purchased our tour tickets and did a guided tour which was well worth the money. The Colesseum ticket (€12) also granted entry to the Forum which is over the road. Well worth a look. We got the train back at 1.30pm so was back safely onboard the ship by 3.00pm. We could have afforded longer in Rome, if I was to do this again I would leave Rome later. I felt that we got to see what we wanted to in Rome, even though we weren't there for long. Its easy to get the train, I certainly wouldn't pay the high prices for the coach trip in this port.
Ship:
Line:
User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 06 Nov 2011
Summary:  The port of Kusadasi was another early morning start for us with a tour to the ancient ruins of Ephesus. We disembarked from the ship and it was relatively easy to get to the coach. We really had a fantastic guide who gave us a rounded insight into Turkish life and also described how Ephesus developed into one of the ancient mega cities. When we had the guided tour the guide again was very precise and spoke excellent english (we later found out he was an english teacher) without being too dull over historical facts. It really gave us a good idea of the way Ephesus worked as a city and people's way of life. On the way back we visited a turkish rug demonstration and we actually found it quite interesting as I was gearing myself to a general sales pitch. I think the prices were quite high but I am now looking around in London for a silk rug with a bit more education under my belt. Ephesus was our favourite port of call and it was on par with Pompeii but it is less well known.
Ship:
Line:
User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 05 Nov 2011
Summary:  Naples was the last port of call prior to embarking in Rome for the flight back to London. We had an early start with an excursion to the ancient ruins of Pompeii. Our guide was sufficiently informative and not too dull. Luckily for us, there was not many cruise ships at the port so Pompeii was not overcrowded. We were guided through some of the main areas of the ruins such as the red light district, main square, we saw some of the fossilised remains and various temples. After the tour we stayed in area around the port for a while. All in all it was about visiting Pompeii and that made the port well worth visiting.
Ship:
Line:
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 05 Nov 2011
Summary:  The cruise ships dock on the edge of the town from where it is a short walk either up some steps and up into the town or along the road to the harbour area. The Old Town of Koper is a pleasant place for a leisurely wander around its shops and churches down traffic free lanes. Climb the 204 steps of the bell tower and then relax with a coffee in the loggia cafe facing the main square under the Praetors Palace with also houses the tourist information centre. Koper Regional Museum is well worth a visit for its archaeological collection and its collections covering the history of culture, art and history of Istra from its very beginnings to the end of the 19th century.
Ship:
Line:
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 22 May 2011
Summary:  Our excursion to Ephasus was extremely good value. Not only did we see one of the greatest Roman sites of the world, but the inclusion of Didyama and Miletus provided an extra dimension and greater overview of the civilisation. The restoration of Ephasus has been done to a very high standard, especially the facade of the library. Although the site was very crowded, the guides are efficient and the tour was informative. Each group has its own photographer at reasonable rates. Lunch was included, a buffet, fish main course and fruit, and the restaurant toilets clean and free. A visit to a carpet shop was also included, but not compulsory.
123>


Book with Confidence

We are ATOL Holders and members of ABTA for your financial protection.


Iglu Cruise 10 years
Search Cruises
Your Shortlist

You do not currently have any cruises in your shortlist.


What our customers say


"I think your company is exceptionally good at looking after the interest of passengers both before and after their holidays and your help has been very much appreciated. I have sung your praises to my friends and I hope this will lead to many more bookings for you including more from me."

Ethel
(March 2018)

"I just want to thank you for making the changes to our upcoming cruise. You have enabled us to achieve exactly what we wanted."

Michael
(January 2018)


Read more feedback