Marella Discovery

Marella Discovery Reviews

View Cruise Deals
4.2
Based on 178 reviews
Cabin
4.2
Service
4.3
Excursions
4.1
Dining
4.2
Activities
4.1
Value for money
4.2
Entertainment
4.2

My husband and I went on a 2 weeks cruise around the Agean and Adriatic sea from 2nd until 16h August this year. We had the most amazing time ever. Everyone who worked on the ship was super friendly, helpful and very hardworking. I could not say one negative thing about our holiday. All the staff had a smile on their face and were always bright, cheery and happy. The food, entertainment, shows, music, facilities, destinations etc were all AMAZING. The only complaint I would make is that on the 2 days that were just sailing at sea it was impossible to get a sunbed and we had to sit on chairs on the deck because they were not enough beds for everyone! We got off at every port, most of which were new to us. The destinations were simply STUNNING........Santorini, Crete, Zante, Greek islands, Athens, Corfu, Turkey, Venice, Slovenia, Split, Dubrovnik, and Montenegro. Arriving at, and leaving these beautiful countries was truly a magical and unforgettable experience, especially because the talented guy on the ship sang for us on the top deck at all of these occasions......(Wonderful world, Pure Imagination, Time to say Goodbye.etc.) It was a moving an emotional experience sailing to such stunning locations and he had me crying with emotion on several occasions. We would 100% recommend a Thompson Cruise to any and everyone we meet. You will not be disappointed with them. We will definitely sail with Iglu again and look forward to our next cruise with them. Thank you for the holiday of a lifetime.........we had to go on a diet and detox we got home because of the delicious and endless choice of food and drinks that were ALL INCLUSIVE in the package!!!!!!!!!!

Verified customer
1 cruise
15 Sep 2019

Excellent from start to finish. Staff could not have done anymore for us.

Verified customer
1 cruise
13 Sep 2019

We went on the Adriatic Cruise for one week, the ship docked very near to the towns we visited making it easy to access them. We booked two trips onboard which were very good value for money. We cannot honestly complain about anything onboard. The staff were very friendly and efficient. Everywhere was spotlessly clean. The entertainment was good throughout, food was lovely no matter where you ate and drinks were plentiful. We would definitely recommend this cruise.

Verified customer
1 cruise
4 Sep 2019

My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful 7-day cruise in the Adriatic on Discovery. This was the second time we had sailed on the ship and it's one of our favourites. The staff are all very friendly and hard working, the service was good, and being Marella all the tips were included (although we did leave a little extra for our cabin steward). Catering on board was very good...we liked breakfast in the main dining room as you order the hot food but then help yourself to cereals. breads, fruit, cold meats and cheeses etc from a central buffet table, so you can eat straight away knowing your hot food is being prepared, which speeds things up a lot. We also ate dinner and the occasional lunch in the Dining Room and the food was always served at the right temperature and was tasty. The cruise was all inclusive so all the drinks were included, and we felt no need to upgrade to the premium drinks package as the choice on all inclusive was fine for our needs. Entertainment was good, with a broad mix of live music, quizzes and game shows, and the West End style shows in the theatre were very good. The Adriatic Explorer itinerary was excellent, covering a beautiful part of the world, and it's an itinerary I would be more than happy to repeat. All in all it was a great value cruise and we would certainly choose Marella again.

Verified customer
1 cruise
3 Sep 2019

A totally brilliant holiday from start to finish. The ship and staff were lovely. Staff went out of their way to help especially when my partner asked if the poppodoms were gluten free and were told they weren't. The chef then turned up five minutes later with some he'd just made that were. Fantastic holiday and itinerary.

Verified customer
1 cruise
30 Aug 2019

Marella Discovery is a beautiful ship - slightly smaller than we have been on before but just as enjoyable. It is an ex-Royal Caribbean ship so has all the lovely details of that cruise line. The staff and cruise director could not have worked harder than they did to give everyone a fantastic experience. We did have problems on the only formal night as after we had seen the captain there was no room at the two restaurants to eat so we ended up in the buffet. This was disappointing as it would have been nice to dine in a proper restaurant. The Italian restaurant we really enjoyed but the main restaurant we gave a 5 out of 10. The service was quite slow in both. The buffet restaurant we found to be very good. We visited beautiful ports and listening to the opera singer on the way out of Venice was truly magical and something I won't forget. We would not hesitate in booking another marella cruise. However we booked late and we had a cabin on deck 2 which did prove to be a bit noisy. But no other complaints.

Verified customer
1 cruise
27 Aug 2019

We booked a 7 day cruise, Aug 2nd 2019, on Marella Discovery. It all looked good until we boarded the ship to find that we did not in fact have 3 rooms next to each other. Our invoice clearly showed room numbers allocated to us after paying extra an surcharge, but we ended up with 1 room on deck 3 and 2 rooms on deck 7. The reason for booking 3 rooms together was for medical issues. Staff blamed anyone but the ship's staff for the problem, even suggesting it was our fault for not checking again that the rooms we chose over the phone, when paying the supplement and that showed on the invoice, were the correct rooms? We were left with the difficult decision as to which family members' medical problem would mean them being 4 decks below us (thankfully there was no emergency). We left to make the best of the holiday after no attempt by desk staff to resolve the situation. TUI Rep dissolved the onboard TUI rep staff of any responsibilty as they not able to help in room issues. The holiday was spoilt by the room situation - but the ship is good and cruise in general was good.

Verified customer
1 cruise
19 Aug 2019

I did this cruise xmas 2018 absolutely amazing!! Deluxe balcony excellent...captain and all his staff are fantastic.. xx

Verified customer
1 cruise
15 Aug 2019

brilliant ,fantastic. food, entertainment, staff and service topped off with a junior suite .best holiday/cruise in 55 years of traveling. We dined @ table 42 in the 47 Degrees restaurant served by possibly 2 of the best waiters afloat, Thank you JUSTIN and JOYSON and all the crew onboard DISCOVERY. 

Verified customer
1 cruise
7 Aug 2019

All the crew made it an amazing vacation. Yanina in the reception helped alot. All the musicians in muz’k nation, B12 and Leoh was great every evening. Great food with alot og different choice. The housekeepers forgot to change towels and give new toiletpaper alot of times. But the cabin was clean. Travel from Gatwick to Corfu and back, and transfer to the ship was easy.

Verified customer
1 cruise
2 Aug 2019