Marella Discovery

Marella Discovery Reviews

View Cruise Deals
4.2
Based on 178 reviews
Cabin
4.2
Service
4.3
Excursions
4.1
Dining
4.2
Activities
4.1
Value for money
4.2
Entertainment
4.2

These are old ships and it certainly shows in some areas, but we got an exceptional deal so can't complain. However the entertainment was very uninspired except for the show on the very last night. I think my biggest complaint is about the food and the consistency of the service, particularly in the main restaurant. The food was bland and on 2 occasions inedible (we were rewarded with a plate of fruit in the cabin the first time, consisting of 3 squares each of orange, pineapple and melon!) Whilst I appreciate the constraints of produce there was no imagination and the people in the kitchen were cooks not chefs.

family
family
6-10 cruises Balcony Cabin
23 Mar 2022

I originally booked explorer 2 from Newcastle and paid for large balcony with mini bar and fridge the cruise was changed to discovery and we were given a small balcony with 2 chairs and table we had no mini bar or even a fridge . So I was very disappointed we were also delayed on flights there and back which meant slot of time wasted . We were thinking of booking again next March 26th as tui cruises are offering a good deal . But the balcony is much smaller on deck we were given . So it has put me off . It is also going from Newcastle which was the reason I booked cruise in first place . So we never used the balcony as it was too small . And we had no fridge to keep our drinks cool .

couple
couple
2-5 cruises Balcony Cabin
23 Mar 2022

We booked this cruise specifically for the itinerary which gave us new islands, which unfortunately were cancelled and replaced with alternatives - another day in Dominica, this was a bad day as we docked in the container and not allowed off independently and a tender to beautiful Bequai which we were not allowed to explore independently so we had to pay for trips and a 2nd day in St Kitts which was not a problem. We also had to book a trip for Grenada and then when we arrived were actually allowed out of the port so overall not what we expected our cruise to be. The upside is that we did get to go to the Caribbean and enjoyed ourselves despite the changes. We must praise all the employees on the ship who worked especially hard to keep us safe and look after us. We have done a lot of Marella cruises and were a bit disappointed with the shows in the theatre ( probably as we prefer the traditional shows) but thoroughly enjoy the bands and solo singers.

group
group
10+ cruises Outside (4 berths) - Deck 2/3
16 Mar 2022

All the staff were very helpful and friendly and couldn't do enough for you.

group
group
2-5 cruises Single Outside Cabin
9 Mar 2022

Absolutely brilliant tui discovery, when first saw the discovery thought yuk but had the best time ever brilliant ship. Fantastic crew great captain nothing too much trouble, food great in all restaurants, all the staff were so helpful and pleasant always smiling and with each other as well as guests.The excursions were really good value for money and we loved all the ones we went on especially the river tubing and trip to Nevis loved it all. Would definately recommend.

group
group
6-10 cruises Deluxe Balcony (2 berths)
9 Mar 2022

The’ Discovery ‘had an excellent crew, with a brilliant Captain at the helm-10/10+ However, For my next cruise I would book again directly with Marcella cruises rather than Igloo. I initially wrote a glowing review regarding this company, but was let down very badly. Given the opportunity, I would retract my input! Booked extra legroom to discover this was only on the return flight. To compound this, my daughter and I were placed in seating far apart. Also, I was refused access to Marella to request upgrades, reserve seating etc. I contacted Igloo regarding the ex legroom situation before departing, obviously without success. Most disappointing, never again.

couple
couple
2-5 cruises Deluxe Balcony (2 berths)
23 Feb 2022

Looked after very well the staff in the Islands and on deck 9 they worked very hard. If it’s possible can I have a print out of my spend onboard as the reception didn’t forward a statement as they usual do

group
group
2-5 cruises Outside (4 berths) - Deck 2/3
16 Feb 2022

Never left Barbados as there were Covid cases on board BEFORE we flew out. Bar menus had to be downloaded to view, no paper copies available. No entertainment as we believe these were the ones with Covid, recordings from earlier sailings only. No excursions as Captain never knew when we would be docked or have to stay at sea. Only positive, we are due to receive a refund for this element of our holiday, though still waiting to hear back from Iglu Cruises about this.

couple
couple
10+ cruises Deluxe Balcony (4 berths)
20 Jan 2022

Cruise was cancelled have way, due to Covid 19 among crew members, we were not allowed to leave Barbados port and spent days at sea due to no berth available. All entertainment was cancelled due to staff illness, poor choice of food, due to shortage of supplies

couple
couple
10+ cruises Balcony Cabin
12 Jan 2022

We enjoyed our cruise though we felt that the food was not as good as on recent Fred Olsen cruises. The cost of the cruise was high due to the time of year and the inside cabin disappointing, however the staff were very good. The entertainment team put on excellent shows, but there was a lack of individual entertainers. Sadly covid broke out on New Years Eve. We heard rumours that there were earlier cases, but as the entertainment team were affected this time it was difficult to hide when you have to cancel shows! We would travel on this ship again depending on price.

couple
couple
10+ cruises Inside (4 berths) - Deck 2/3
5 Jan 2022