Marella Discovery
star star star star half star

Marella Discovery Reviews

View Cruise Deals
4.2
star star star star half star
Based on 178 reviews
Cabin
4.2
Service
4.3
Excursions
4.1
Dining
4.2
Activities
4.1
Value for money
4.2
Entertainment
4.2
star star star star star

Staff very friendly and helpful, always smiling despite the long hours they work. Brilliant entertainment team and food for all tastes

Verified customer
1 cruise
17 Aug 2018
star star no star no star no star

Very disappointed. This is not a Luxury Ship Disappointed with the entertainment. Rooms did not have individual shampoo and body lotion as on previous ships. Ship is very worn and jaded. Excusions very pricey Duty Free Shops very pricey. Nothing worth buying. No value for money. As it is not a Luxury ship thi should reflect in what is sold in the shops. Entertainment seems to be all American themes. Soul singer one night was rubbish Comedian another night was mediocre. Sun bed towels well worn. Overall I thought the Ship scruffy. Food was Ok

Verified customer
1 cruise
22 Oct 2017
star star star star star

Went on this ship last week, 1st July. Went to Spain, Portugal and Gibralter. Can I just say this was an amazing experience. The staff were exceptional and my friend and I were amazed on how friendly they were. Dined in the 47 club and had the most delightful meals that I have ever tasted. The musical shows were excellent and the young artists worked very hard to entertain us. Many thanks to Maria on Deck Three for looking after our rooms. How anyone can complain is beyond belief. A lovely ship. Going on my own in August but will not feel lonely as I know That I will be looked after. A holiday is what you make it and I have no negative remarks to make.

Verified customer
1 cruise
9 Jul 2017
star star star star no star

6th May 2017 sailed on this cruise on western med highlights. We had a grand suite which is a great size no complaints there . The food onboard is really good apart from the glass house where you pay £10 extra to cook your own food on a hot stone the portions were minuscule and the service was really poor . The pizza in here is the thinnest pizza in the world I went to bed hungry that night . Overall an enjoyable cruise the waiters and staff are pleasant and helpful. Big let down was the dress to impress waste of time to get dressed up for a picture with the captain and then you could end up in a self service restaurant for dinner it only lasts for half an hour don't bother taking a tuxedo . Enjoyed the ports but unless you are really dedicated a trip to the Vatican is a slow shoe shuffle can hardly move for visitors and can't really enjoy the experience.

Verified customer
1 cruise
15 May 2017
star star star star no star

Flew from Gatwick on Dreamliner. Lovely flight well looked after. My husband is disabled and Thomson were supportive from start to finish first class service. Private taxi to take us to the ship arranged by Thomson. Sailed on Discovery around the Caribbean. Able to get of the ship as we had a wheelchair loaned to us by the ship. Balcony cabin on deck 8 was comfortable. Plenty of space tea and coffee available. Free safe which is a bonus. Our steward Afendi was wonderful he helped me with the wheelchair taking my husband to the lifts.. our cabin was cleaned and tidied and we had chocolates on our pillows most evenings. Sometimes hand creams or sprays for the cabin. A great touch. Our ice bucket filled every evening. The meals were a bit repetitive. Breakfast being the most enjoyable. We usually ate in the buffet restaurant. Leaving it until around 10am as it was crowded and not easy getting a wheel chair around. By that time still plenty of choice and good seats and superb views. Carlos was a wonderful help couldn't do enough and always was there to help find us a table with room for the wheelchair. Meals at lunch time there was a selection of hot and cold. Ice cream available from 12noon until 2pm each day. The snack shack as the name suggests just that. The fish and chips were good.The dinner in the evening was freedom dining only one night to dress to impress!! Like this idea. The rest of the week smart dress. Only my opinion but the food was rather hit and miss not sure at times what was being served on my plate. Service some nights was hurried other nights we had a long wait. Not always hot. Two retauaunts you paid extra . Didn't use them you had to book and pay extra. Did hear that it was worth it. Main swimming pool always crowded. The indoor pool in the glasshouse was lovely plenty of seats and loungers. Might be different in the summer this was January. The gym was first class plenty of equipment. The wall was small but some brave people did give it a try the track around the ship was good four times round it a mile. Not easy pushing a wheelchair but good exercise . The golf course was always busy. The shows in the theatre a bit disappointing. The casino small. But again busy. Plenty of places to sit and enjoy listening to singers or piano being played. Bar staff attentive as we were all inclusive not sure how the prices were compared to at home. Didn't hear many complaining. The shops on board the ship were what you expect . Quite expensive. Never really saw them busy. As this is Discovery's first year maybe a few creases to be ironed out especially the food ( might just be me) Evening entertainment needs improving. Will we go Thomson again. Yes it's just the right size and for once not the smallest ship in port.

Verified customer
1 cruise
25 Jan 2017
star star star star no star

Hi, I went on the ship this year August 2016, the food was lovely, always hot and the ship was fantastic. I have been on their other ships which I found not suitable for the disabled and needs refurbishing. The only thing I missed is the banter and friendlyness of the staff there was no connection as if they didn't really have time for you. However i am putting this down to a new ship and just came into port this year, and hopefully next year would have been up and running. I will say that my son has a food allergy and they could not do enough for him, he tried food that he would never have been able to do at home and if he didn't like it they would bring him another dish out . I am hoping to go again next year as I love cruises ,and hope that the Thompson staff on this cruise are more friendly and then the cruise would be absolutely perfect .

Verified customer
1 cruise
21 Sep 2016
star star star star no star

CruIsed last Oct on board Splendour of the Seas/Thomson Discovery (3rd time). Very good even though there was a fire in one of the engine rooms which meant Kefelonia was missed out as a port of call. No doubt Thomson Cruises will have ensured that everything was in A1 condition when they took over the ship

Verified customer
1 cruise
13 Apr 2016
star star star star no star

Been on this ship 3 times with Royal Caribbean. She is elegant and magical in so many ways. I honestly believe Thomson have raised their bar with this addition. I was last on her in Sept 2015 and she was still in great condition following a multi million dollar re-furb a few years earlier. Theatre is fantastic and the two story main dining room is beautiful. Want to try it myself but will defo miss the international flavour of the clients and a highlight of ours is the "Chops Restaurant" steakhouse, a pay extra restaurant. I think what soured our taste was a P&O cruise where the atmosphere was like a floating carehome. If your going on this ship you will love it.

Verified customer
1 cruise
2 Jan 2016