Marella Discovery

Marella Discovery Reviews

View Cruise Deals
4.2
Based on 178 reviews
Cabin
4.2
Service
4.3
Excursions
4.1
Dining
4.2
Activities
4.1
Value for money
4.2
Entertainment
4.2

This was our fist time sailing with Thomson leaving from Newcastle for a Baltics cruise. The embarkation was a bit of a pain with standing by your car waiting to be told you can move over to a cue outside a Nissan hut where you had to wait for a bus to take you to a bigger Nissan hut where again you had to sit and wait for your number to be called before another cue and then boarding another bus to take you to the ship. The ship itself was very presentable but what sets it apart from other cruise lines we have sailed with is the service, absolutely brilliant. The food in all areas is very good. Personally we found the shows a bit lacking and the overall entertainment throughout the ship very repetitive and in some cases not that good. We had booked a grand suite 8012 and when we arrived were very impressed, unfortunately this impression did not last - the noise from the above deck was a nightmare. We were below the buffet and bar area and the cabins do not have sound proofing so every scraping of chairs, tables, even people just walking along was horrendous and sitting on the balcony was in our case an absolute no no. We did complain and whilst there was nothing anyone could do the Guest Services Manager was very sympathetic, professional and tried everything she could to help the situation - A BIG THANK YOU. Overall it was one of the friendliest cruises we have been on, lovely happy guests which wad s obviously due to the attentiveness of the staff. I would not hesitate to cruise with Thomson again

Verified customer
1 cruise
20 Sep 2018

A most enjoyable experience on this friendly mid size ship. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff who were very efficient in all areas. The entertainment by the ships company in the theatre was the best that we have seen. The ship is light and comfortable, and has a good selection of dining options. The only disappointment was the size of our cabin which was very snug. We will learn from this when booking with them in the future. I would highly recommend.

Verified customer
1 cruise
19 Sep 2018

My Husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our Fjords cruise on Discovery very pleasantly surprised as some reviews were very negative. The ship is really nice lots of space the glass house is great for relaxing in, and everywhere is spotless, crew extremely friendly. Our inside cabin on deck 6 was very light and roomy, also kept spotless by our steward Risva. The food, with great choice of eating venues was also very good. Plenty of bars for varying tastes and all inclusive! The Entertainment team were fantastic, great shows, they all worked so hard. Brilliant. We will certainly be booking with Marella again. Diane S September '18

Verified customer
1 cruise
19 Sep 2018

Enjoyed the Ffiords cruise in September 18, my first with this company. I was impressed with the varied entertainment and excellent service from staff throughout the holiday. The food and variety was good. in whatever restaurant or buffet I visited. I have used Cunard before and was expecting a reduced level of service but given the amount of passengers it was a well run and efficient service from the crew. The freedom dinning suited me better for timing and also that I was not at a set table. Overall I would recommend this cruise company and will look to book in the future. On arrival at Southampton the boarding was very slow, I understand this was due to insufficient passport officials, I waited an hour but passengers reported a 3 hour wait in a hall with no seating, apparently at least 3 people collapsed. I had a few minor issues but these were remedied to my satisfaction.

Verified customer
1 cruise
19 Sep 2018

We had a great holiday onboard Marella Discovery visiting the Norwegian Fjords. The staff were brilliant. Food very good and the entertainment team were fantastic the shows were as good as those in the West End.

Verified customer
1 cruise
19 Sep 2018

first time sailing out from Southampton with Thomson (Marella ) usually fly to meet ship .embarkation was quite a long time as everyone seemed to be there at once .but no problem .once on board as usual staff were so helpful and all smiles .we were shown to our cabin .not too big ,but we didn't pay big price .and only sleep there so it was fine .the ship is bigger than others we have been on .and will definitely go on again .food is excellent entertainment is first class .in show lounge ,cant say anything negative ,only one thing we found and most other passengers is the lack of public toilets .please dont think this is a complaint just saying .again we managed .cant wait for next cruise .cabin boys are so nice and cant do enough for you ,and are always there as we leave our room to go for meals with a wave and a few words they work so hard .as do all other staff on board .

Verified customer
1 cruise
19 Sep 2018

My husband and I flew from Vancouver, Canada to take this cruise recommended by my friends in NE England. They were spot on value for money is amazing. The destinations were all worthwhile. Food was okay but fine for us. the entertainment, especially the Broadway shows were so sophisticated and professional. The cabin was very small bu we knew that before we left and we soon settled in. The ship was very clean and the staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. We loved the way the captain kept us informed the whole trip and the Q and A session was very interesting. Everything ran efficiently. The only complaint I have is customer service was very bad for us, partly because we live in Canada. Even contacting Marella cruises in the UK was impossible. I stayed on the phone for 1 hour twice and gave up. Despite these problems we have booked another cruise for next year and I would recommend the company. Pam Everett. Nanaimo, BC, Canada

Verified customer
1 cruise
7 Sep 2018

Staff wonderful. 3 day cruise cost £350 not value for money as food extremely basic.Buffet had lots of cheap cereals frozen.stuff and cheap cuts of Halsham etc I think staff did their best with very low budget but the worst and cheapest food l have had.The cabin was nice but apart from that not a lot was good

Verified customer
1 cruise
6 Sep 2018

The 80's Electric Sunset cruise last weekend was amazing. Priced just right we thought. The food, service and entertainment was spot on. Loved Go West and Sarah Cox especially. Next year is 90's not for us. 70's would be amazing. This was my first cruise but defo won't be the last. Thanks for an amazing time.

Verified customer
1 cruise
5 Sep 2018

The 80's Electric Sunset cruise last weekend was amazing. Priced just right we thought. The food, service and entertainment was spot on. Loved Go West and Sarah Cox especially. Next year is 90's not for us. 70's would be amazing. This was my first cruise but defo won't be the last. Thanks for an amazing time.

Verified customer
1 cruise
5 Sep 2018