Marella Discovery

Marella Discovery Reviews

View Cruise Deals
4.2
Based on 178 reviews
Cabin
4.2
Service
4.3
Excursions
4.1
Dining
4.2
Activities
4.1
Value for money
4.2
Entertainment
4.2

Everything was great from start to finish and the whole staff did everything possible to make it a fantastic holiday. Well done to everyone. Only criticism is that the Islands buffet restaurant is not big enough particularly when demand is at its peak.

Verified customer
1 cruise
4 Oct 2018

Faultless. From start to finish the whole cruise was just brilliant. Having previously sailed with p&o on brittania, we didn't have great expectations of a smaller cruise ship. How wrong we could have been. The food and drink was always plentiful. The entertainment and the entertainment team were fantastic. We had great fun participating in the various performances. The excursions were always spot on. We really can say that we had a thoroughly great time and would definitely sail with marella again. Well done everybody involved. Mark and Jenny.

Verified customer
1 cruise
4 Oct 2018

Lovely ship and crew who were always ready to help in anyway they could. Daily shows in the broadway lounge were very professional. Food in restaurant 47 was lovely every night the only down side was nearly always having to have a buzzier to wait for a table, would have prefered to have been able to book. While waiting we were lucky if we were able to get a seat in the lounge, having to stand & wait.

Verified customer
1 cruise
3 Oct 2018

Did a Baltic cruise this September and thoroughly enjoyed our time on board. Had been a little apprehensive prior to going as the reviews were not too favourable but as with all our holidays prefer to see for ourselves. Our cabin was spacious and well looked after by Suwadi nothing too much trouble for him. Bathroom equipped with shower/hair gel and towels nice and white and clean. Tea & coffee making facilities in cabin replenished daily also water dispenser at the end of the corridor so no need to buy bottled water. The food on board in both serviced restaurants was very good and didn’t feel the need to pay for the specialist restaurants, the Islands buffet was good for breakfast and lunch but could be very busy at times and sharing tables a necessity, not always a bad thing as this was a good way of getting to know fellow cruisers. The staff and officers were all very pleasant and eager to please, the show team and guest entertainers were very good. Only drawback would be the absence of seating venues for days at sea or possibly bad weather as this did pose a problem for many people. We have cruised with Thompson many times before and will do in the future they offer excellent service for an inclusive price so no surprises at the end of your cruise just pay for your excursions and purchases bought on board, hope this will clarify some doubts for anyone that may have read negative reviews about the ship.

Verified customer
1 cruise
30 Sep 2018

Marella Discovery Sept 12 – 26 2018 This is a second hand ship so we had lowish expectations but it turned out to look quite good. We had an unassigned balcony cabin and it was midship on deck 6; could not have been better. Shortage of draws but adequate wardrobe space. The cabin safe was difficult to use with a 10 inch tablet. Bed was comfortable and the room warm. The weather on the cruise was not brilliant so did not use the balcony much for sitting out but it was worth the extra money for the great views. All the staff we met were very friendly and professional. The theatre looked great and produced excellent shows every evening; can not praise the Broadway troupe highly enough. The cruise is all inclusive which we liked. The drinks package included was comprehensive (choice of Gins, numerous cocktails, soft drinks etc.) so there really is no need to buy in the expensive Premium drinks package. Our first disappointment came within minutes of boarding and was a persistent problem. There are simply not enough seats in the Island buffet room, every meal was a fight to secure a seat before attempting to find any food. Finish eating and go to one of the bars for a drink and you have the same problem, so the great atrium which looked so good was difficult to find seating in, this was no more apparent than when the captain gave us a welcome speech when the majority of people were left standing. The balconies overlooking the atrium were devoted to selling photos or bike rides rather than providing more seats which just shows the priorities of Tui. Mass catering is never going to be great so no surprises that the food was average, but not always as hot as it should be. Our first meal in restaurant 47 was a disaster and when we tried to give it a second try we were told there was a waiting time of one hour. We did get into 47 Gallery and the meal here was quite good. Snack Shack provided a quick bite especially coming back onto the boat after a shore trip. The Island buffet, the main eatery on board, was a perfect disaster of planning; having found a seat and leaving your partner to guard it you then went to a series of islands to prise out a plate from the heated servery and then had to visit three different islands to get a main meal! The islands had an eclectic mix of fruit, chips and beans (green beans were available for every lunch or dinner we had !), move to another island to find salads and hot vegetables, curry and mashed potatoes; bizarre. Another thing we could not understand was having roast turkey, cranberry sauce, pigs in blankets and then having chips or mash as the potatoes served with it; next morning roast potatoes were served with the eggs!! . . this happened on more than one occasion. Want a croissant? you will not find them on the 'Bakers Dozen' island. The fruit juice, available only at breakfast time, turned out to be far too sweet for most peoples taste. We were encouraged to sanitise our hands on the way into the restaurants but the tables were rarely wiped and we never saw disinfectant used on the tables at all. On a sea day the heating in the Glass House/ indoor pool failed so people either wrapped up in towels or tried to find seating elsewhere, there was also an issue with lifts not working. The joining instructions from Tui were clearly written some time ago and have been added to over the years so that they no longer make sense, they tell you the ship sails at 15.00 and also at 16.00, they also say you can board from 13.30 until 14.00 or maybe 15.00; quite confusing. A very friendly ship that with a bit of reorganisation could be good. We would have to think carefully before booking with Tui again, but would not rule it out.

Verified customer
1 cruise
29 Sep 2018

Just returned from two weeks round the Baltic. Had a great time. Food generally excellent (with the odd exception eg cold porridge ) and plenty of choice). Staff very good and helpful. The all inclusive package was great with absolutely no need to upgrade to the Premium drinks package. We love the ship, having been on it before in its Royal Caribbean days. The only particular gripes would be that two lifts broke down and were not repaired, which caused some longish waits to get up and down. Also that the ship berths at some of the ports of call were a distance from the towns and a shuttle in and out cost £9 each, with no other alternative other than a long walk or a taxi. Overall, a very enjoyable cruise and would recommend. (Oh, and congratulations to the show team who had great voices, were excellent dancers, the main plaudits going to Sabby whose Freddie Mercury set was brilliant, particularly Barcelona! )

Verified customer
1 cruise
26 Sep 2018

Fantastic cruise from the moment we got on to the moment we got off at the end. The crew on board couldn't do enough for us to make it so enjoyable. I would particularly like to mention a couple of bar waitresses in the atrium bar Olga and Jasna who were absolutely fantastic and throughout the cruise we would class them more as friends than waitresses a d they deserve a massive thank you from us. Can't wait to book another cruise with Marella Cruuses.

Verified customer
1 cruise
23 Sep 2018

Fantastic cruise from the moment we got on to the moment we got off at the end. The crew on board couldn't do enough for us to make it so enjoyable. I would particularly like to mention a couple of bar waitresses in the atrium bar Olga and Jasna who were absolutely fantastic and throughout the cruise we would class them more as friends than waitresses a d they deserve a massive thank you from us. Can't wait to book another cruise with Marella Cruuses.

Verified customer
1 cruise
23 Sep 2018

The cruise wasn’t too bad the biggest problem was in Southampton we had to stand in line for 2 hours to register our credit debit card as Thomson would only pay for 5 agents to deal with 1800 clients this was a nightmare no one was happy so this as put us off using Thomson again

Verified customer
1 cruise
22 Sep 2018

I went on the Fantastic Fjords cruise on the Marella Discovery and had a fabulous holiday. We loved the ship and the staff were all so helpful and friendly.The bars, cabins food and spa were to a very high standard. The sushi and Indian restaurants and choice of drinks were excellent. We particularly wish to thank: Iuiva, Shannon and Misha up in Bar 11 for their excellent service and cocktails. John in the Sushi restaurant (so good we visited twice!). Richard for an incredible bike ride in Skjolden (most beautiful views of the holiday). The waiter Marc in Kora La and Raymond in the main restaurant. Flavia our cabin steward was very friendly Meminto for my exceptional deep tissue massage in the spa. Only recommendation would be to heat the glass house more as it was quite cold during the day and evening and for the hot stone restaurant to be maybe screened off to make it more pleasant (instead of like sitting in a cafe). overall I loved the ship and it was very good value (£100 per all all inclusive)

Verified customer
1 cruise
20 Sep 2018