Marella Discovery
star star star star half star

Marella Discovery Reviews

View Cruise Deals
4.2
star star star star half star
Based on 178 reviews
Cabin
4.2
Service
4.3
Excursions
4.1
Dining
4.2
Activities
4.1
Value for money
4.2
Entertainment
4.2
star star star star no star

Ship needs attention in many areas compared to other cruise lines.

Verified customer
1 cruise
25 Oct 2018
star star star star star

Excellent Cruise on the Marella Discovery in October 2018. The ship is just our size, entertainment was exceptional, we ate in the Italian restaurant every evening and enjoyed every item on the menu. Staff very friendly and helpful. Accommodation good and the ship is very clean and well looked after. Despite some inclement weather, which was to be expected in the Norwegian sea in October, we were blown away with the wonderful scenery and fascinating destinations on this cruise. We liked the cruise so much we booked our next Marella cruise while on board.

Verified customer
1 cruise
24 Oct 2018
star star star star star

Our cruise was very enjoyable, the staff and crew were all very helpful and we would like to say a very special thank you to Menchie the young girl working in the Buffet on deck 9, she was very caring and polite and always made us feel very welcome. We found the all inclusive was such a great idea as it also included tips ( only to find out that the workers did not receive any of this ) We tipped when this was brought to our attention.Your response to this would be appreciated. We would recommend and travel with the company again. Carle and Carole Worsam

Verified customer
1 cruise
16 Oct 2018
star star star star star

Balcony 6600 8nts European Experience dept 26/09/18. Southampton. Whole cruise went well from start to finish. Entertainment, Food, Drinks package all first class. I take this opportunity to bring to the attention of their Captain, Hugh Maynard, four members of his staff, Willy our Cabin steward for excellent service, and our Restaurant waiters table 141 Chris, Putu and Dara not only did they give excellent service they entertained and made my Wife and I feel at Home. We give them all 10 out of 10.

Verified customer
1 cruise
14 Oct 2018
star star star star no star

European cities 26th September. the entertainment is still as expected from Marcella,the food standards are falling,and that's since may this year on the same ship.the £6 shuttle bus is far too expensive for what should be a 2 euro bus ride at he most . Novo virus is just waiting to happen as no crew member is present on the entrance to the islands restraunt to ensure that passengers sanitise there hands on entering ,which has always been common practice over the years. Come on marella ,get your act together?

Verified customer
1 cruise
14 Oct 2018
star star star star no star

First cruise with Marella having cruised with several other lines previously. Having read previous negative reviews about Marella we were not expecting too much. However, pleasantly surprised we enjoyed every minute. The ship was clean, cabin was a good size and maintained superbly by Max, the steward, The meals in the restaurant and buffet were good All staff on board were excellent, friendly and helpful. The shows were outstanding, some of the best we have seen on any ships.

Verified customer
1 cruise
12 Oct 2018
star star star star star

Have been on a marella cruise previously (when it was a Thomson cruise) but this was by far the best one food could not be faulted staff and crew extremely pleasant and helpful making our cruise the best one we have been on (we have been on several)

Verified customer
1 cruise
12 Oct 2018
star star star star star

This was our first cruise and it was amazing. The amount of different entertainment had us spoilt for choice each evening; really enjoyed the shows in the Broadway theatre, comedian, tribute act. The music in the live room was great and also enjoyed the adults only Bar 11 disco. A bit breezy but we also enjoyed the experience of watching the outdoor movie with a blanket. The entertainment staff are wonderful. The staff are the nicest I have ever encountered and couldn't do enough for you; from making sure you had food you enjoyed, drinks kept topped up and the amazing crew who kept the cabins tidy. On the first evening we went to Gallery 47 and I was dismayed that even though I had stated I was vegan when I booked the cruise, there was nothing on the menu or a separate menu, thought I'd be living on lettuce lol; but Georgio the head waiter told me it was no problem and the chef could adjust anything on the menu. The food was delicious, I went to 47 which was also fine dining and I saw Georgio speaking to the head waiter, Marco, to explain and Marco also made sure I had a delicious meal. The chefs were top class. Every evening, a menu was slipped under my cabin door for me to select my meal and leave it with reception. I really cannot thank Georgia and Marco enough for ensuring I had a wonderful experience. We dined in most of the eateries and I enjoyed the food (which was available until 1 in the morning in the Oasis). The Oasis is a lovely place to relax, I went nearly everyday with a book, had a swim, chilled in the jacuzzi, snacks and lovely cocktails, it was also a nice place to meet new people and have a chat. Getting on and off at each port was straightforward and has made a refreshing change from the experience you have at an airport. We had the most amazing holiday and was a great way for us to celebrate our 50th birthdays. I wish I could thank each and everyone of the crew/staff on board.

Verified customer
1 cruise
12 Oct 2018
star star star star no star

We have just returned from a european 8nt cruise on the Marella Discovery. Embarkation was quick - less than 10 minutes. We had a grand suite for not much more than a balcony which was superb, large, clean and very comfortable. All the staff we met were really friendly and helpful. Cruise was All inclusive and included tips which made it even better value. We were fortunate enough to get 7 of the 8 nts with really good weather so even came back with a tan! Whilst the ship is over 25years old it has been updated and in very good condition. Restaurants were very good with the best being the Italian on deck 5. Only negative for us was the lack of a quieter piano type bar. Overall excellent value for money and highly recommended.

Verified customer
1 cruise
12 Oct 2018
star star star no star no star

well organised staff at the terminal making for effective embarkation. Once on board facilities were available immediately. The room was both spacious and clean but did not have tissues or individual toiletries. I am not surprised as the price would not warrant this. I was disappointed with both the variation and standard of food available both in the restaurant and buffet, chilli being one of the frequent options however all could be catered for.In my opinion the food was more of a cafe standard. Should you choose to eat in the restaurant rather than having to sit while waiting to be seated a pager was provided. The entertainment I am unable to comment upon as we visited the show lounge on one occasion and after thirty minutes felt the amateur standard did not warrant remaining. The sax player was very good in the atrium,if you could get a seat.The waiter/waitress service in the bars were hit and miss and on the last two nights staff appeared to be more interested in selling cigaretes than serving. While on this note, I was slightly apprehensive that as drinks were included there may be a lot of abuse but this was unfounded. Health and safety if you are a smoker is none existent, following glasses smashing and tables overturning due to the weather there was no attempt to relocate smokers to a safer area. Requests had to be made and assurances made that in inclement weather smoking would be permitted , in a covered area on deck 9. Managers appear to have very short memories!!!I would estimate 10% were smokers. The captain did react in a respectful manner when a fellow passenger suffered an accident and returned to port for medical attention, unfortunately to no avail.Will not be frequenting this cruise company in future however for the price would not have expected better

Verified customer
1 cruise
11 Oct 2018