Marella Discovery

Marella Discovery Reviews

View Cruise Deals
4.2
Based on 178 reviews
Cabin
4.2
Service
4.3
Excursions
4.1
Dining
4.2
Activities
4.1
Value for money
4.2
Entertainment
4.2

Excellent great itinerary to asia

Verified customer
1 cruise
18 Jan 2019

What an amazing cruise! We were lucky to spend Christmas and New Year onboard. Nothing was too much trouble and the staff did everything to try and please everyone (even though some people moan for the sake of moaning). We couldn’t fault the food in the 47 restaurant and the Gallery 47 restaurant was very good too. We tried to not eat in the Island restaurant purely because it was buffet style and we didn’t want to put too much weight on! The Captain Chris was such a lovely person and his intercom messages with Gavin (entertainment officer)had us giggling every time. One of his waiters was telling us the Captain was the best they ever had and you could see the staff’s respect in their eyes everytime he made an appearance. My husband and I could only criticise 2 things on this voyage. The table service in the restaurants and drinks service in the Broadway way show was impeccable on our first week (Christmas week), but the 2nd week (New Year) it dropped dramatically. We were also disappointed with the ‘Surf and Turf restaurant’food (which we paid for). We had better food in the 47 restaurant. Can I also inform customers that the Cruise liner can also arrange all visas for excursions on board, we were not informed this by Iglu or Tui. All in all it was a dream holiday and I hope to afford another one one day.

Verified customer
1 cruise
11 Jan 2019

Far east itinerary December 18 Lovely ship and great crew Well organised activities on board, fab food and well looked after. However, as a first trip for this holiday company the excursions were not great. Mostly very sedentary coach tours, and not much variety. Hopefully this will be extended for future tours. If booking this trip bear in mind some ports are quite far away from the main cities of interest so long journeys are required to get to some places regardless of whether you book an excursion or travel under your own steam. That said a very interesting part of the world with a vast difference between ports, well worth a visit. Personally Id recommend Singapore and Vietnam as my favorites:)

Verified customer
1 cruise
10 Jan 2019

Cruise fine when we eventually got going (lost a couple of days somewhere ) Indian ports of call were tips Sri Lanka only a shade better after that things picked up to average. The Thompson Dreamliners used to connect you to are in my opinion sad and are in need of a serious upgrade. THE RATING SHOWN BELOW IS FOR THE OVERALL HOLIDAY EXPERIENCE.

Verified customer
1 cruise
8 Jan 2019

After 4days the ships transformer brake down and we only got to one port. Muscat in Oman. We then had to sail for Dubai and as the transformer was not repaired and the ship only running on half power it took us twice as long to get there We got to Dubia on Sunday afternoon and spent another’s 4days there and that was where we left for our flight. The night before we left the ship we had a letter offering us 50% back on what we paired for the holiday I am now waiting for my refund which they said would take 8 to 14days after we left the ship But just to say everything else about the cruise was good and no one can be blaimed for a breakdown these things happen

Verified customer
1 cruise
16 Dec 2018

Amazing cruise from Malaga to Aqaba. The crew were so friendly and helpful, the food in The Gallery was excellent, lots going on onboard and plenty of exciting stops on the way. El Capitano was the best. Great value. Very clean. Lovely ship.

Verified customer
1 cruise
30 Nov 2018

Our first cruise had a mix of good and poor weather as we travelled around the Med and on to Jordan. The cruise entertainment team put on a wide variety of shows and single entertainer during the cruise - all to a very high standard. Choice of food was excellent in the various dining options. Excursions were well organised and informative. Our journey through the Suez Canal was unforgettable. Captain was active around the ship observing all aspects of his vessel and crew whilst remaining entertaining with his announcements. All in all a perfect first cruise.

Verified customer
1 cruise
30 Nov 2018

All very well organised and food exceptional, except last day as flights home were late, but were told to vacate cabins by 8am but could pay extra to have a cabin for the day at an expensive rate.

Verified customer
1 cruise
22 Nov 2018

Great service - every member of the crew worked tirelessly to make sure everyone felt special and had a great time. The food was varied, plentiful and well presented. The entertainment was excellent and suited all tastes. We had a great time and even saw the Northern Lights - Thank you Marella Cruises and thank you Iglu for the smooth booking process and timely information provided.

Verified customer
1 cruise
30 Oct 2018

The worst cruise ever. Will never go with Thomson again

Verified customer
1 cruise
30 Oct 2018