Marella Discovery

Marella Discovery Reviews

View Cruise Deals
4.2
Based on 178 reviews
Cabin
4.2
Service
4.3
Excursions
4.1
Dining
4.2
Activities
4.1
Value for money
4.2
Entertainment
4.2

Fabulous cruise. Every bit as good as other companies we have used. Entertainment brilliant, food good although a little lacking in choice some nights but that is being super picky. Crew amazing at every level and absolutely can't praise too highly. All inclusive great and no need to upgrade drinks package. Will definitely use Marella again.

Verified customer
1 cruise
26 Apr 2019

We enjoyed the ship,right size,good entertainment,food was ok,plenty of choice. The only down side was the visa situation,the management were clueless,and the information from Tui was lacking,that said we enjoyed the cruise and will probably go with Marella again,if only for the free drinks and tips.

Verified customer
1 cruise
23 Apr 2019

Good cruise, staff excellent problems over visas required not everyone was aware. Think they should still have a Captains dinner night and Baked Alaska parade. Some of the ports not the best and the port for Bangkok two hours away from the city which is too far. Service all round was excellent.

Verified customer
1 cruise
12 Apr 2019

Brilliant cruise, March 7th to 22nd, Thailand ,Cambodia,Vietnam, Malaysia Inc Singapore Only 1 complaint about the food, thin anemic custard. Crew and fellow cruisers fabulous, all very helpful . Ok some of the ports were commercial and therefore not scenic , The flights however were brutal, 12 hrs out, 14 back, food on flights surprisingly good on the return to Manchester. With temperatures ranging from mid 20s to near 40 some days, add to that the humidity , it might be stifling for some.

Verified customer
1 cruise
31 Mar 2019

We rate this ship a 4. We traveled on this ship 2 years ago and feel the standards had dropped slightly ie entertainment not as good and not many announcements. Saying that the staff were great, can we mention Grace, Ryan, Hazel and Silvy were fantastic. The food was of a good standard as what’s the drinks package. This was our 5th Marella cruise and would definitely go again.

Verified customer
1 cruise
30 Mar 2019

Went on Discovery last November , loved it, ship was lovely the food was amazing . Great value for the money, great Cruise

Verified customer
1 cruise
22 Mar 2019

Our cruise was in Malaysia, sailing from Langkawi and visiting Kuala Lumpur, Thailand, Singapore, Cambodia and Vietnam. I especially love Marella (Thomson) cruises because they always include a lot of ports and fewer sea days. The atmosphere on board was very friendly and relaxed. Formal dining has been reduced but as long as you dine in the waiter service restaurants, the standards are still high. I was initially concerned that “tailored shorts” would be acceptable for men, but in fact it was fine. There were still plenty of people wearing DJs on the more formal nights. The evening entertainment was excellent, although many of the daytime activities were not to my taste. However I did enjoy the afternoon play and the cabaret show ( both on sea days). The excursions were generally good value and I especially enjoyed those where we visited wildlife eg mangrove boat trip, orangutan island. It was a thoroughly enjoyable holiday.

Verified customer
1 cruise
22 Mar 2019

The food wasn’t as good as it should be

Verified customer
1 cruise
8 Mar 2019

October 7th 2019 come back from brilliant cruise on discovery. Went to Far East flight from Birmingham the staff on ship are the best always smileing we had breakfast and lunch in islands buffet. Then evening meal in 47 we sat at table 101 ace and his staff looked after us. The broadway shows were brilliant . We got of in Vietnam, Malaysia, Thailand, Singapore, what more can you ask for. We met some lovely people as well . Our cabin was 7062. It was great. It was our third time on discovery. And we are going on it again in November from Naples to the suez Chanel and Jordan.

Verified customer
1 cruise
22 Feb 2019

EnchantING Far East Cruise in Feb 2019. Departing Langkawi, Malaysia. Excellent cruise, ship very good, entertainment good, staff exceptional. Captain was on the dock when we left shaking everyone's hand and thanking them for Cruising with Marella, a nice touch. My only comment on the cruise itinerary is that some of the cities visited, Bangkok, Ho Che Ming are a long way from the ports, circa 2-3hrs, so gave them a miss. Weather also superb 30'C every day. A GREAT EXPERIENCE.

Verified customer
1 cruise
20 Feb 2019