Marco Polo reviews | IgluCruise
0203 848 3604

Over 1.5 Million Happy Cruise Customers

{0} out of 10 Rated Excellent
ATOL Protected
02038483604

Marco Polo Reviews

A great range of Marco Polo reviews written by our customers. To write your own Marco Polo review click the link on the right.
Average rating: 4.5 out of 64.5 out of 64.5 out of 64.5 out of 64.5 out of 64.5 out of 6 (from 148 reviews)

6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6     (50)

5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6     (54)

4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6     (18)

3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6     (11)

2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6     (7)

1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6     (8)

Search For Cruise Reviews

Cruise Line
Cruise Ship
Destination

Latest Marco Polo Reviews

User Rating: 1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6
Date: 07 Jul 2019
Summary:  Have traveled with CMV and on Marco Polo before and found things OK. This time was different. I don't expect, as a paying customer, to be barked at by waiters in the restaurant at lunchtime as they demand you sit where they prefer and ignore your wishes. The same in the bistro. You could hardly move in this place and it seemed to be run by surly waiters and downright rude chefs for their convenience and not the passengers. One side of the buffet was always closed and not opened to ease congestion. There was one egg station at breakfast and the slowest most grumpy so-called chef I have ever seen in charge of it. A coffee/tea dispenser was "temporarily" closed for the whole cruise. Definitely a case of the tail wagging the dog in the running of this facility. The captain was a windbag who cancelled a port call for no good reason. In fact he lied about weather conditions. If you want to sue CMV I'll see you in court with the evidence. Never again with this company
User Rating: 3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6
Date: 07 Jul 2019
Summary:  Positives. Food was excellent. Cabin, bar and restaurant staff were very friendly and accommodating. Entertainment/shows/lectures all very good and the general cleanliness of our cabin and the public areas was fine. The itinerary was excellent although the excursions were on the pricey side but perhaps that was because we were in a very expensive part of the world, Iceland. Negatives. We missed a port of call for no apparent reason and unlike other companies I have cruised with who offer compensation, Cruise Maritime take no responsibility and expect you to claim through your travel insurance. Our cabin had a porthole, it was so high up that I had to stand on the bed to see anything outside. No tea and coffee making facilities in the cabin which I found to be a bit mean. We had the premium drinks package which was supposed to include Spanish house wine but unless you specifically asked for it the wine waiters/bar staff would try to palm you off with this ghastly Greek plonk. We had a complimentary bottle off this stuff left in our cabin and that's where it stayed, it might have been useful to the cabin steward to clean the drain/loo!! The furniture and carpets on this ship were well past their sell by date. The chairs in the bar/lounge looked as though the ships cat had been at them. In the Ambassadors club the bottoms of the seats were falling away and in the dining room most of the seat backs were greasy and grimey. To be honest I found this ship to be too old and tired and should be condemned to the knackered yard. Sadly I would think twice before travelling with Cruise Maritime again and it definitely wouldn't be on the Marco Polo.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 20 Jun 2019
Summary:  An excellent cruise. Speakers and itinerary were very interesting.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 15 Jun 2019
Summary:  A great cruise, we meet a lot of interesting people, a very friendly crew always accommodating, we will definitely consider the Marco Polo if we go on another cruise.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 09 Jun 2019
Summary:  The ship was well run with efficient staff. Food was good. The entertainment on board was quite good but accommodation limited for the more popular events. Where the holiday was less than satisfactory was in the matter of pre-embarcation information and the conflict between IGLU and Cruise Maritime with regard to help. Prior information with regard to joining and leaving the ship would have made the process more relaxing
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 08 Jun 2019
Summary:  We had a fabulous time on the cruise the crew on the ship were excellent the food was above expection we enjoyed the shows very much they were very profesional.also the other entertajnment.
User Rating: 1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6
Date: 08 Jun 2019
Summary:  There was no real vegetarian menu, really poor quality food. The day time entertainment was really poor. Bean bags thrown in a tin. Quiz masters didn't know the English language and staff spoke to each other in their own language whilst dealing with passengers. Drinks and beverages were overpriced and despite paying tips prior to sailing, some bills had a tick box for tips. It felt like a training ship for new crew members who asked passengers to put on their life jacket in the entertainment theatre? if there had been an emergency then people would have been trapped by their life jackets. The staff in the café area worked hard and cleared tables quickly, however the food selection for vegetarians was really poor. Porridge was made with water and resembled gruel. No fresh mile only UHT so no decent drinks in public areas. I think that bingo on a cruise ship says it all. Good things were craft lessons and our cabin steward. Also, unable to dock in Oban so diverted to Edinburgh which for us was a much better choice. Trip organisation by the ship were, at times, chaotic but the local guides were excellent. I would not recommend or sail on this ship again.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 07 Jun 2019
Summary:  We booked the round Britain cruise on the MP because they had a local departure and I liked the look of the small scale of the ship. A friend had sailed on it numerous times and spoke very highly of it too. When we arrived at the departure, the cases were whisked away from the car and through the scanners in the blink of an eye and by the time we had checked in and gone through security, were already outside our cabin. Every member of staff we encountered was welcoming and polite and helpful. They give you two cards at the end to nominate members of the crew - it isn't enough. The cabin steward, the bar staff, the restaurant staff - we could have nominated at least half a dozen. A big issue for me is the food, because I'm a fussy eater and I had no problem at all finding something to eat at each meal. Two evenings, I struggled a bit with the menu in the MDR, so we went to the buffet instead where they had similar offerings but a couple of extras too. I did also see at the bottom of the menu in the MDR that there were several options you could request. We had opted for a table of ten and it worked out really well, though we mostly ate breakfast and lunch in the buffet. We were upgraded to an outside cabin on Pacific deck aft and that was a great location for the buffet and Scotts Bar - which we preferred as it was smaller and not a walk through area. We had looked at the drinks packages and booked the VIP one which was excellent value for money. Bottle of wine on the table in the MDR and my husband tried all the whiskies on offer and the brandy and I had various cocktails and lots of hot chocolate! On the sea days I went to some craft classes and my husband to talks. We didn't take any excursions, but chose to do our own thing in all the ports. When it was time to get off our cases were taken the night before and waiting for us when we disembarked by deck. If we had wanted to get off at our own pace, we simply would have needed to take our own cases. So overall did we enjoy it? Yes it was amazing and excellent value for money. Would we travel again? Yes, we have already booked for Iceland next year. Last but not least, should you take any notice of the poor reviews on here? No, I don't know what they were expecting, but then I guess some people can and will find fault in anything.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 18 Jan 2019
Summary:  I sailed on Marco Polo before Christmas. It was a mini cruise to Dublin. The ship was really nice and the staff were friendly.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 15 Dec 2018
Summary:  Apart from the normal passenger complainers that always get you down the cruise to the West Indies and Azores was fabulous. This is our second time on Marco Polo. The staff on this ship are brilliant and ALL go the extra mile to make the cruise a perfect experience. Special thanks to our table team. I Putu, Kardec and Rohan . Also to our cabin steward. First class job by all. Thanks Marco Polo staff. Thanks C&M

All Other Cruise and Maritime Ships

Astoria Magellan Vasco da Gama
Columbus

Book with Confidence

We are ATOL Holders and members of ABTA for your financial protection.


Price Match Guarantee
Search Cruises
Your Shortlist

You do not currently have any cruises in your shortlist.


What our customers say


"I booked a Fred Olsen cruise with IGLU last month and was so impressed by the service I received. The staff member I spoke to was Kimberley and she was exemplary. Capable, kind, professional, patient, friendly and knowledgeable. She went through every step of the way calmly and thoroughly. IGLU were recommended to me by friends and I have no hesitation in passing the recommendation along. Well done IGLU and thank you. "

Christina
(March 2019)

"So easy to deal with, I studied the Cruise I wanted, did my research with different company's and returned to Iglu. I had three quotes matching Iglu’s cost, but with one phone call they beat the price themselves by £40 without me even asking, how easy was that! "

Gary
(February 2019)


Read more feedback