02038483604
Good afternoon, we have expert advice,
cruise reviews & exclusive cruise deals
on the widest selection of cruises
online... about Iglu.
Enter Cruise ID
Expert Advice and Booking
0203 848 3604
We're Open

Marco Polo Reviews

A great range of Marco Polo reviews written by our customers. To write your own Marco Polo review click the link on the right.
Average rating: 4.5 out of 64.5 out of 64.5 out of 64.5 out of 64.5 out of 64.5 out of 6 (from 131 reviews)

6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6     (46)

5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6     (46)

4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6     (16)

3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6     (10)

2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6     (7)

1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6     (6)

Search For Cruise Reviews

Cruise Line
Cruise Ship
Destination

Latest Marco Polo Reviews

User Rating: 3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6
Date: 03 Oct 2017
Author: Patricia Casey
Summary:  Just returned from Canada in the Fall. Pound for Pound we got our money's worth. The ship was clean, the staff exceptionally friendly, helpful and caring. The food served was large in portion size although sometimes the vegetables were a little short. The selection on the menu was reasonable and varied. I don't believe however I will be going on the ship again purely and simply in 18ft waves the boat was tossed around like a ping pong ball and we could not get out of the cabin two days going and five days coming back. The staff attended to all our needs. The shore excursion staff went out of their way to assist as we had disability and mobility problems. We could not rate them high enough. The only con was they must either renew their cutlery or get the knives sharpened
User Rating: 2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6
Date: 03 Oct 2017
Author: Ian Ransome
Summary:  Have just returned from the mini cruise - Liverpool to Bristol via Dublin and Cobh. Do not stay in cabins on Baltic Deck between elevators. Small, no tea making facilities and the permanent smell / taste of diesel and VERY noisy. My wife suffers from asthma and this did her no good at all. Also took all day to get the air-con fixed - froze the first night. Outside cabin - two dirty potholes - not worth the extra money, Older ship and had a fairly good atmosphere but food service (first sitting) was frantic. Best thing - the entertainment, better than Holland America Alaska cruise.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 29 Sep 2017
Author: Graham Bailey
Summary:  We went on Marco polo from hull June 9th 2017 what a great ship clean and tidy and all staff could not do enough for you and the rooms were kept clean and we had loads of space and could not fault the food and service . We're are back next year same ship from hull 29th June cvm it's a great company greats ships and great staff keep up the good work would recommend cv to all my friends see you all next year.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 20 Aug 2017
Author: Sandra Yanowicz
Summary:  Just returned from cruise to the Faroes , Orkney and Skye. Absolutely fabulous in every way. Food, ship and staff all excellent. Took the all inclusive package which we found well worth the money. Been on quite a few cruises, including the larger ships. This was hard to beat .
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 18 Jun 2017
Author: R A Cowman
Summary:  First time on a cruise ship from the minute we boarded to the last the experience was excellent everything was well presented the ship was spotless the food was lovely the crew were very helpful nothing too much trouble .The entainment at night was excellent the shore excursions were very good in fact could not fault anything next year we will be returning
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 11 Jun 2017
Author: Karen Adams
Summary:  We have recently returned from a 6 night cruise on the Marco Polo and wanted to share our experience. The ship although old has lots of character and ample spaces to sit and enjoy the voyage. We were upgraded to an outside cabin which was an added bonus. The choice of food was excellent. The staff worked extremely hard to ensure that passengers enjoyed their holiday. The ship was clean and well cared for. Whilst away we had severe weather problems which meant the ship could not go to Antwerp whilst this was disappointing we fully understand the reasons and again staff did their utmost to ensure alternative excursions were arranged. We had a very enjoyable break and thought for value for money the cruise was outstanding. Thank you to all Cruise and Maritime staff we will definately recommend and use again in the future.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 20 May 2017
Author: Irene Aldridge
Summary:  This was our first cruise. I am 64 and my husband a very fit 69. We have always looked at cruises (especially on those floating blocks of flats) with horror. When we saw the 'Highlights of the British Isles' advertised we thought we'd risk it - mainly because of the destinations. We are so glad we did. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff who were friendly and eager to help. The ship has admittedly seen better days but I love its history (google it!). The atmosphere was relaxed but the formal nights were just that. We loved the food in the Waldorf Restaurant and although the portions were small there were 5 courses if you wanted them, and a buffet. And always at least 2 vegetarian choices for main course. Afternoon Tea had a lovely selection of cakes, biscuits and pastries although the sandwiches usually contained meat - not so good for us vegetarians but then I could rarely manage much then anyway. Tea and coffee were available 6am - midnight from the Bistro and was not bad. Our cabin (a standard inner) was fine with plenty of hanging space for our 11 night cruise and the beds comfortable. Our room steward, Ivan, kept the room spotlessly clean and tidy. Unfortunately I did meet people who said it was the worst cruise they'd been on and proceeded to click their fingers at the waitress in the bar and expected them to ignore the people being served and rush to their side. They said they would not travel on Marco Polo again. Hooray! That same waitress knew our names and our cabin number within 2 days and had a smile as wide as the Atlantic as soon as we walked in. But then we said please and thank you and didn't treat the staff like lesser beings. We thoroughly enjoyed the duo playing in the Captain's Lounge every evening with Nadia on piano and Volodymir on violin. They inspired my husband to get his clarinet out of storage. (Thanks - I think). We didn't go to many of the evening shows but did enjoy the Magic Show by husband and wife "Evans plus Evans". My husband had the honour of 'helping' with their human ventriloquist act. I laughed 'til I cried. Great show! If you like pretentious luxury and glittering surroundings and don't mind sharing them with thousands of others then don't come aboard Marco Polo. If you want a ship that's unpretentious, friendly, homely, has classic style then this might be for you Whether we will go on another cruise is open to discussion. However, if we do it will almost certainly be on Marco Polo.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 18 May 2017
Author: Glenda Allen
Summary:  Lovely ship with friendly and very helpful staff. Nothing was too much trouble. Embarkation and disembarkation went smoothly and our luggage was waiting for us when we arrived at our cabin. Would recommend this ship especially for first time cruisers.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 10 May 2017
Author: Robert Stevens
Summary:  Just come back from a weeks cruise on the Marco Polo, knowing it was an old ship didn't know what to expect, very surprised when we got on board very nice decor no worn carpets or chairs, the ship very comfortably and paid back , thought the food was very good , entertainment top class and very pleasant staff. Found this cruise ship very good value for money, booking a cruise next year on the Marco Polo.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 11 Jan 2017
Author: William Neicho
Summary:  Travelled on Christmas and New Year Canaries sailing. Crew were a happy bunch always friendly and smiling. Food good except overcooked bacon. Itinerary excellent. Ship old but took Bay of Biscay in It's stride. Given chance would happily use this ship again.

All Other Cruise and Maritime Ships

Astor Columbus Magellan
Astoria

Book with Confidence

We are ATOL Holders and members of ABTA for your financial protection.


Iglu Cruise 10 years
Search Cruises
Your Shortlist

You do not currently have any cruises in your shortlist.


What our customers say

"I can safely say Iglu has been the best holiday agency I have ever used. Your customer care both pre and post cruise has been second to none. I will definitely use you again and recommend to family and friends. Thank you once again"

Anna
(October 2017)

"I booked my first ever cruise on Tuesday 5th September 2017. After lengthy searching and much deliberation we booked through Iglu. So far, I am incredibly happy I booked with Iglu. This being our first cruise Debi proved very helpful. I was [also] very impressed with the level of assistance offered by Connie. She answered my questions and put my mind at rest. I am very impressed with all aspects of dealing with Iglu and I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for all your support. "

D.L
(September 2017)


Read more feedback