0203 848 3604

Over 1.5 Million Happy Cruise Customers

{0} out of 10 Rated Excellent
ATOL Protected
02038483604

Marco Polo Reviews

A great range of Marco Polo reviews written by our customers. To write your own Marco Polo review click the link on the right.
Average rating: 4.5 out of 64.5 out of 64.5 out of 64.5 out of 64.5 out of 64.5 out of 6 (from 154 reviews)

6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6     (53)

5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6     (54)

4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6     (18)

3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6     (11)

2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6     (8)

1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6     (10)

Search For Cruise Reviews

Cruise Line
Cruise Ship
Destination

Latest Marco Polo Reviews

User Rating: 1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6
Date: 12 Sep 2019
Summary:  I wanted to express my disappointment of the Marco Polo cruise we took from Rosyth on the 23rd Aug 19. The ship while kept clean is in need of a full refurb. The service in the bars and for coffee is excruciatingly slow. We waited for over an hour in the Captain's Lounge just to get a coffee, and had to chase it 3 times before we got 2 cups...getting drinks was equally as slow for the whole week. The crew were not easy to engage with and some downright rude. Very happy to talk and laugh between themselves, but as customers we felt like an inconvenience. Breakfast was a farce most mornings, and we tried different times -food had run out leading to long queues, no toast, no mugs to get tea and coffee. It was just a joke, and set the day off on the wrong note every morning. Scots bar was closed one evening for a staff party! But the ship was heading to Newcastle when we came home then to Tilbury with perhaps very few passengers, could the staff party have been then? Not a pleasant trip, and many of our travellers we ate with in the evening had complained onboard about the service. I would be very reluctant to recommend the Marco Polo or Cruise & Maritime after our experience and it’s unlikely we would want to travel with you again, which is disappointing as you will be sailing from Aberdeen in 2020. You need to review your management of the catering areas for breakfast and lunch, train your crew to be customer focused, and look to refresh the ship if you hope to get return clients, and that is where your business focus should be. Not what we were looking forward to on the cruise. To let you understand how disappointed we were, in 40 years of travel and holidays this is the 1st time we have complained.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 30 Aug 2019
Summary:  Our cruise was perfect. The staff were lovely all the way through the cruise, the food was wonderful and the staff dealt with a few mishaps for us with the best of service and attention which we thank them for. They were amazing!
User Rating: 2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6
Date: 22 Aug 2019
Summary:  We went on this mini cruise as we have never been before, but we were thinking about doing a three week cruise next summer. After doing this mini one to Rotterdam i'm not convinced. The ship was old, the seating is showing its age and is in need of updating. The swimming pool was shut until the morning we were to dock back home so all our clothes were packed and we couldn't use it. The hot tub was only open once during the trip. Some of the staff do not speak English and it was very hard to order drinks etc due to there lack of understanding on their part. The worst thing was the cabin. When booking I asked to be near the lifts as we are both disabled, but when we got onboard our cabin was the furthest away from the lifts at the back on Baltic deck. That made things hard for us, and when it came to sleeping there was no chance with the noise. I also booked a double bedroom but was given two single beds which could not be moved, so I asked if we could be moved and was told no, here have some ear plugs. I spoke to fellow passengers who booked late like myself and they had a nice cabin near the lift and quite a few floors up, so I guess it's down to luck if you get any sleep on a ship - but I couldn't do 3 weeks without sleep.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 21 Aug 2019
Summary:  Excellent facilities and hospitality. Friendly staff .
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 20 Aug 2019
Summary:  It was the best cruise I have ever been on. The food was excellent. The crew was extremely polite, helpful and always smiling. Of course, there will be one or two exceptions but this doesn't bother me. They provide good entertainment and services. I really enjoyed the cruise to Greenland for 21 nights (17 Nov 2019 - 2 Aug 2019). I will go again with this cruise.
User Rating: 1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6
Date: 19 Aug 2019
Summary:  A wonderful area in Greenland but the ship was poor to say the least.
User Rating: 1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6
Date: 07 Jul 2019
Summary:  Have traveled with CMV and on Marco Polo before and found things OK. This time was different. I don't expect, as a paying customer, to be barked at by waiters in the restaurant at lunchtime as they demand you sit where they prefer and ignore your wishes. The same in the bistro. You could hardly move in this place and it seemed to be run by surly waiters and downright rude chefs for their convenience and not the passengers. One side of the buffet was always closed and not opened to ease congestion. There was one egg station at breakfast and the slowest most grumpy so-called chef I have ever seen in charge of it. A coffee/tea dispenser was "temporarily" closed for the whole cruise. Definitely a case of the tail wagging the dog in the running of this facility. The captain was a windbag who cancelled a port call for no good reason. In fact he lied about weather conditions. If you want to sue CMV I'll see you in court with the evidence. Never again with this company
User Rating: 3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6
Date: 07 Jul 2019
Summary:  Positives. Food was excellent. Cabin, bar and restaurant staff were very friendly and accommodating. Entertainment/shows/lectures all very good and the general cleanliness of our cabin and the public areas was fine. The itinerary was excellent although the excursions were on the pricey side but perhaps that was because we were in a very expensive part of the world, Iceland. Negatives. We missed a port of call for no apparent reason and unlike other companies I have cruised with who offer compensation, Cruise Maritime take no responsibility and expect you to claim through your travel insurance. Our cabin had a porthole, it was so high up that I had to stand on the bed to see anything outside. No tea and coffee making facilities in the cabin which I found to be a bit mean. We had the premium drinks package which was supposed to include Spanish house wine but unless you specifically asked for it the wine waiters/bar staff would try to palm you off with this ghastly Greek plonk. We had a complimentary bottle off this stuff left in our cabin and that's where it stayed, it might have been useful to the cabin steward to clean the drain/loo!! The furniture and carpets on this ship were well past their sell by date. The chairs in the bar/lounge looked as though the ships cat had been at them. In the Ambassadors club the bottoms of the seats were falling away and in the dining room most of the seat backs were greasy and grimey. To be honest I found this ship to be too old and tired and should be condemned to the knackered yard. Sadly I would think twice before travelling with Cruise Maritime again and it definitely wouldn't be on the Marco Polo.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 20 Jun 2019
Summary:  An excellent cruise. Speakers and itinerary were very interesting.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 15 Jun 2019
Summary:  A great cruise, we meet a lot of interesting people, a very friendly crew always accommodating, we will definitely consider the Marco Polo if we go on another cruise.

All Other Cruise and Maritime Ships

Astoria Magellan Vasco da Gama
Columbus

Book with Confidence

We are ATOL Holders and members of ABTA for your financial protection.


Price Match Guarantee
Search Cruises
Your Shortlist

You do not currently have any cruises in your shortlist.


What our customers say


"I booked a Fred Olsen cruise with IGLU last month and was so impressed by the service I received. The staff member I spoke to was Kimberley and she was exemplary. Capable, kind, professional, patient, friendly and knowledgeable. She went through every step of the way calmly and thoroughly. IGLU were recommended to me by friends and I have no hesitation in passing the recommendation along. Well done IGLU and thank you. "

Christina
(March 2019)

"So easy to deal with, I studied the Cruise I wanted, did my research with different company's and returned to Iglu. I had three quotes matching Iglu’s cost, but with one phone call they beat the price themselves by £40 without me even asking, how easy was that! "

Gary
(February 2019)


Read more feedback