02038483604
Good morning, we have expert advice,
cruise reviews & exclusive cruise deals
on the widest selection of cruises
online... about Iglu.
Enter Cruise ID
Expert Advice and Booking
0203 848 3604
We're Closed

Magellan Reviews

A great range of Magellan reviews written by our customers. To write your own Magellan review click the link on the right.
Average rating: 4.5 out of 64.5 out of 64.5 out of 64.5 out of 64.5 out of 64.5 out of 6 (from 118 reviews)

6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6     (33)

5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6     (37)

4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6     (26)

3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6     (11)

2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6     (6)

1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6     (5)

Search For Cruise Reviews

Cruise Line
Cruise Ship
Destination

Latest Magellan Reviews

Ship: Magellan
User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 04 Nov 2018
Summary:  Ship size ideal. Venues all good. Food fantastic. Craft workshops a brilliant idea for at sea days and really well attended. Lectures 50% an absolute bore and badly delivered (Steptoe and son, really?) but the gardening lectures were OK. Evening entertainment good in parts and acceptable in others. Cabins (we had an inside as we booked late) kept immaculately clean, chip hygiene was very good. Not enough seating in public spaces, scrum for sunbeds on good days. No launderette, a bind when you have a 15 day cruise, and laundry service expensive - £2.50 a shirt? Undies at £1 a time? Anyway prefer not to have my undies laundered by male steward. Bar pricing very fair and reasonable, bar and restaurant staff incredibly patient, reception staff 50% unsmiling, almost hostile, the other 50% made up for it. All in all, a very good reasonably priced holiday. thanks
Ship: Magellan
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 04 Nov 2018
Summary:  I arrived at Bristol Portbury dock on Monday 22nd October 2018 to board the Magellan for a 6 nights European Cities and Rivers cruise. The checking in process was very quick, organised and professional and took about one hour for me. I was pleased that as soon as I boarded the vessel my luggage was already waiting outside of my cabin door. I was a solo passenger and all of the staff and fellow passengers were very warm and friendly There was a huge variety of food on board with various eating options from a large care dining for dinner to buffet style or even complimentary room service Cleanliness on board the ship was top notch and cabin stewards clean your room twice per day. Morning time whenever you leave and in the evening/,night whenever you left to go for dinner. You also have the option to put on your Do Not Disturb sign on your door. The only thing I wished was that there was iron in the cabin to press your own clothes if you are like me and packed in a rush so clothes were wrinkled. There was a laundry /iron service that you could pay for. The mini bar in the cabin was extortion so be mindful that a bottle of water costed £2.80 There was a lockable safe in the room but can't hold a 14" laptop. The entertainment on board was good and had something for everyone I would definitely travel with Magellan again and would definitely recommend
Ship: Magellan
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 04 Nov 2018
Summary:  Excellent ship crew and facilities the only critism is the disembarkation different dock not told port security had to redirect my taxi making a long wait in a freezing marker Food excellent
Ship: Magellan
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 31 Oct 2018
Summary:  my wife booked a taster cruise to ireland last year and it was terrible. before we went she booked this cruise. there is a new cruise manager on board and he has done a magnificent job.the food was excellent and plenty of it.entertainment was good and the crew were very friendly and helpful.the only down side was embarcation which was a total shambles. would i sail with cmv again yes in a heartbeat.
Ship: Magellan
User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 30 Oct 2018
Summary:  Enjoyable cruise to Madeira and Canaries except Las Palmas where we encountered terrible verbal abuse off the high street. Totally unacceptable. The service and food were very good. Entertainment okay. We had an inner cabin which was very nice and clean. Quite a few days at sea so bring plenty of reading.
Ship: Magellan
User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 29 Oct 2018
Summary:  Coming 2 days after finishing a Fred Olsen cruise it was difficult not to compare. Although I am no great fan of Fred they proved better in many respects to CMV, in my opinion. Several things really irked me, no chair in the cabin to relax on, just a square stool. Dinner at 5.45pm, show at nine. No tannoys in the cabin except those of the skipper giving longitude and latitude positions. All others you had to dash, half naked, to get into the corridor to hear what was going on. The safety drill took forever and worryingly was a joke. We were heading for our lifeboat, no 9 when we were diverted to 5. We were stood down eventually without being told which lifeboat to go to in the event of an actual emergency. The checking of the use of hand sanitisers was really hit and miss. Fred Olsen was 100% at every restaurant. The choice of beers for the Premium Drinks Package was, ......well there was only one choice, it was one German lager, take it or leave it. The choices for VIP beers are Fosters or John Smiths. Main drain cheap and nasty beer. Unbelievable. Not everything was poor, it was a nice clean ship, staff were pleasant but mostly Central European and no way compared with the friendliness and efficiency of Fred's Phillipinos. Entertainment was fine, lovely theatre, really good cabarets. Food was OK for me but a lot complained of poor cooking, tastelessness and over cooked. Bottom line was I met nice people and enjoyed myself. I am booked on the Magellan for Christmas 2019 but I really wish I wasn't.
Ship: Magellan
User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 29 Oct 2018
Summary:  Lovely cruise from Bristol. Much better than anticipated. Entertainment fantastic, food good, speakers very poor. I fear for the NHS after seeing the size of fellow passengers though.
Ship: Magellan
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 29 Oct 2018
Summary:  Excellent cruise.interesting ports. Excellent service throughout the ship.
Ship: Magellan
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 29 Oct 2018
Summary:  Very much below standard to want I am use to ,so will not be going with cruise and maritime again
Ship: Magellan
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 25 Oct 2018
Summary:  I was on a cruise in August to Spain,Portugal,Gibraltar and the canary canary islands there were 8 of us we had brilliant time the staff were fantastic especially our waiters Glen and Made also special thanks to Milos in the captain's club who i would like to keep in contact with

All Other Cruise and Maritime Ships

Astor Columbus Vasco da Gama
Astoria Marco Polo

Book with Confidence

We are ATOL Holders and members of ABTA for your financial protection.


Price Match Guarantee
Search Cruises
Your Shortlist

You do not currently have any cruises in your shortlist.


What our customers say


"I think your company is exceptionally good at looking after the interest of passengers both before and after their holidays and your help has been very much appreciated. I have sung your praises to my friends and I hope this will lead to many more bookings for you including more from me."

Ethel
(March 2018)

"I just want to thank you for making the changes to our upcoming cruise. You have enabled us to achieve exactly what we wanted."

Michael
(January 2018)


Read more feedback