02038483604
Good evening, we have expert advice,
cruise reviews & exclusive cruise deals
on the widest selection of cruises
online... about Iglu.
Enter Cruise ID
Expert Advice and Booking
0203 848 3604
We're Open

Magellan Reviews

A great range of Magellan reviews written by our customers. To write your own Magellan review click the link on the right.
Average rating: 4.5 out of 64.5 out of 64.5 out of 64.5 out of 64.5 out of 64.5 out of 6 (from 81 reviews)

6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6     (22)

5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6     (26)

4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6     (12)

3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6     (10)

2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6     (6)

1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6     (5)

Search For Cruise Reviews

Cruise Line
Cruise Ship
Destination

Latest Magellan Reviews

Ship: Magellan
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 13 Nov 2017
Author: Kathleen Duffell
Summary:  went on the Magellen ship sept 2017 to the fjords - couldn't fault anything - the moaners in the reviews have been at it again! one can't keep everybody happy! - nothing wrong with this cruise - staff, food, cleanliness all very good - plan to go on this ship sometime next year - this was our second cruise and we could not fault anything it was absolutely brilliant - roll on 2018 when we hope sail with the Magellen once again - can't wait!!!!!!!!!! There were 6 of us altogether and we will all be on the Magellen next year 2018.
Ship: Magellan
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 25 Sep 2017
Author: Mick Knibbs
Summary:  Our First cruise a majestic fjord cruise from Newcastle on board the Magellan. i have nothing to compare it against have only been on car ferries before. That said the crew where uniformly friendly and helpful. The ship does show signs of age in condition and decor that said it was still clean and tidy. My gripe was the engine noise on the first night as the cruise went on I noticed it less each night. I sampled very little of the on board entertainment when in port I was off the ship and at night we sat chatting to other passengers . The organised trips a shore were a little rushed for me I prefer to get a map and find places of interest myself. I never had a meal on board where there was no option for me to eat ( not a fan spice and curry's) we only had meals in the Waldorf where the waiters worked hard to keep everybody happy. the buffet option in raffles was far too crowded. Overall I thought it was a very good platform to get a feel for the Norwegian fjords.
Ship: Magellan
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 23 Sep 2017
Author: Jenny
Summary:  Myself and partner just left cab Magellan this morning after 6 days on board I cannot fault anything or anyone on board this vessel staff went above and beyond ever need to help food was excellent in all areas of ship cleanliness was superb the maintenance men were always working on some area making sure all areas were safe on board definitely 10 out of 10 for staff hard working would definitely book again and recommend the ship to family and friends look forward to sailing with you again well enjoyed holiday
Ship: Magellan
User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 22 Sep 2017
Author: Lynda Ogle
Summary:  Recently returned from the Rock the Boat cruise. We both had an amazing time. boarded at our home port and was upgraded to a spacious cabin. All staff were friendly and professional. Food at self service restaurant was O.K. Main dining room was lovely. We paid for the drinks package. All cocktails were on the package and we took full advantage of it! The other passengers were friendly and happy to be aboard. Entertainment was excellent. I would cruise with this company again and found it geat value for money. The ship is older. If you are expecting a high end cruise experience then give it a miss.
Ship: Magellan
User Rating: 1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6
Date: 12 Sep 2017
Author: Adrian
Summary:  We recently went on the Rock the Boat cruise aboard the Magellan. The music was great, too much to listen to. However, the ship was appalling. There was a permanent smell of sewage which was very prominant on deck 4, but could be smelt all over the ship at times. When this was reported to staff they just said sorry and carried on. Nothing was done about it at all. If you were sat in the Waldorf Restuarant amidships you had a waft of dead fish from the gallery.unpleasant to say the least. The food was mediocre at best and the buffets.....if you didnt want plastic reformed ham, lettuce and plastic cheese, then forget it. It would appear that the Magellan is due a complete refit in November which may explain the smells but not why we had to put up with it. Service in some parts of the ship was excellent but lacking in others. The cabin was given the once over daily but not really cleaned, we had a dust on the mirrors and water bottles all the cruise! The music was brilliant though, just not enough time to hear all the bands perform. Would we do it again, yes , but not on this ship or on the CMV line. If this was an example of their customer services then no way. This cruise has put us off CMV completely. Never again the appalling lingering smells ad lack of good food. there isnt a 0 star or else it would have got it
Ship: Magellan
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 06 Aug 2017
Author: Sailorman
Summary:  We just came back from a Cruise on Magellan to the Faroes, Iceland, Shetland and Orkney. Fascinating intinery. The ship itself is not new but is well kept - yes there is the odd glitch but the food, the staff from cabin steward to Captain are really good - cheerful and friendly. One exception was a lady on reception but we all have off days! 10 / 14 days was just about right for us on a ship of this size but 3 weeks is just about our lot on any cruise, thats our personal preference. Will we go again - yes we will. They are really customer orientated and we will look at one of their cruises maybe taking in the Channel Islands and Ireland simply because of this. If you are looking for a problem its mostly your fellow cruisers - some really overweight moaners , makes me wonder what sort of palaces some people live in themselves
Ship: Magellan
User Rating: 2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6
Date: 04 Aug 2017
Author: Stanley Stoker
Summary:  just retuned from Iceland . Food good, rooms clean.. The rest was dire.. The shows were poor, why were the films on when we were on excursions ?. I do not like bingo, or watching bartenders making cocktails, the lectures?? .. Ended up sitting in my cabin watching the TV .
Ship: Magellan
User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 24 Jul 2017
Author: Seamus Kavanagh
Summary:  Just finished a trip to France and the Channel Islands and the Isles of Scilly. The trip started in Dublin which is a great plus for us as we live there. The cabin we booked with Iglu was up the front of the ship. But when we got aboard we were given a cabin on the port side amidships. Unfortunately for us was that there was a large motor above us. The noise was dreadful. When we complained about it we were given Ear plugs. That didn't work. We moved the bed from the window towards the bathroom side of the room so that the noise was not as bad. Otherwise the trip was very good. However one passenger had a bad fall in to a tender taking us ashore in St Mary's there was quite a swell running at the time. Would I go back again? Well maybe if I got a better cabin.
Ship: Magellan
User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 18 Jul 2017
Author: Sue
Summary:  Just returned from the river and gardens cruise sailing out of Liverpool. It was our first time with this cruise line, having usually cruised with P & O. So expectations were on the low side. On first impressions we were pleasantly surprised. Good sized cabins, clean corridors and public areas. Good dining choices although the content of meat/fish in dishes is clearly well thought out and minimal keeping the costs within budgets. The dessert dishes are varied but contain lots of mousse. Great service around the ship which was refreshing. Sadly our main disappointment was the daily entertainment. Not enough of it unfortunately. The evenings are better, but during the day it is sparse, and does not compare to other cruise lines, surely this could be easily rectified? The prices are comparible with others, although the lack of day entertainment would make us reluctant to cruise on the Magellan again.
Ship: Magellan
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 08 Jul 2017
Author: Jenny Heron
Summary:  Having just returned from our first cruise, I have to say that I was very impressed with the Magellan. The cabins were bigger than I thought they would be. Ours was an ocean view on deck 6. The shower was more powerful than my own one at home, and always as hot as you preferred. The food was absolutely delicious, from breakfast to the nighttime buffet. Always an exceptional choice at each course. The staff can't do enough for you. Always a cheery smile. If I had to make a negative comment, it would be that maybe the optional tours seem to be a bit rushed but having said that, maybe they are just so you get to see the most on your "whistlestop" tour of each destination. All in all a thoroughly enjoyable holiday. Will definitely be cruising again in the future.

All Other Cruise and Maritime Ships

Astor Columbus Marco Polo
Astoria

Book with Confidence

We are ATOL Holders and members of ABTA for your financial protection.


Iglu Cruise 10 years
Search Cruises
Your Shortlist

You do not currently have any cruises in your shortlist.


What our customers say

"I can safely say Iglu has been the best holiday agency I have ever used. Your customer care both pre and post cruise has been second to none. I will definitely use you again and recommend to family and friends. Thank you once again"

Anna
(October 2017)

"I booked my first ever cruise on Tuesday 5th September 2017. After lengthy searching and much deliberation we booked through Iglu. So far, I am incredibly happy I booked with Iglu. This being our first cruise Debi proved very helpful. I was [also] very impressed with the level of assistance offered by Connie. She answered my questions and put my mind at rest. I am very impressed with all aspects of dealing with Iglu and I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for all your support. "

D.L
(September 2017)


Read more feedback