02038483607
Good morning, we have expert advice,
cruise reviews & exclusive cruise deals
on the widest selection of cruises
online... about Iglu.
Enter Cruise ID
Expert Advice and Booking
0203 848 3607
We're Open

Fred Olsen Braemar Reviews

A great range of Braemar reviews written by our customers. To write your own Braemar review click the link on the right.
Average rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6 (from 55 reviews)

6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6     (23)

5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6     (24)

4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6     (3)

3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6     (3)

2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6     (1)

1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6     (1)

Search For Cruise Reviews

Cruise Line
Cruise Ship
Destination

Latest Braemar Reviews

User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 04 Sep 2018
Summary:  A most enjoyable cruise to Lorient, Bordeaux and Rouen. As always, the food was absolutely scrumptious, service excellent with friendly professional crew. The two excursions we went on were very informative and well worth the money (walking tours of Bordeaux and Rouen) The only criticism was the volume of the music, whether taped or live. It was so loud that we couldn't easily chat to new found friends and physically hurt my ears. I'm sure the decibel level was far above the maximum permitted! We are both in our seventies, but NOT deaf!!
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 04 Sep 2018
Summary:  I spent an enjoyable week on board with excellent food, friendly staff, great entertainment and all on a small ship which is large enough to have all the facilities whilst retaining a personal quality. Looking forward to my next cruise with Fred.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 02 Sep 2018
Summary:  Cruise was fine liked the itinery , food excellent embarkation was quick and orderly. Disembarkation was very poor, poor information about times, gangway was a lash up, I have complained both on the ship and direct to head office. It felt more like an eviction than an orderly disembarkation FO let themselves down badly.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 31 Aug 2018
Summary:  Great from start to finish. Loved the ship even more than Balmoral which was pretty good when w sailed on her four years ago. Perfect weather throughout the duration of the cruise which was an added bonus. This was my first cruise unaccompanied which enabled me to really enjoy my interest in ships by getting up early for arrivals and in one case, Stockholm, an 03-30 departure. Obviously the Kiel Canal was a highlight as was the stop at Bornholm which I last visited some 30 years ago. It has changed very little. Apart from Copenhagen all other ports were first visits for me. One small problem which did not affect me as I had done my homework was many people thought we were returning by way of the Canal which was not the case. I understand from the Captain that a transit is very expensive but it would have been the icing on the cake for me. I was allocated a place in the main dining room with seven other single travellers on a table overlooking the stern which made for great talk and a great view. Overall the cruise was wonderful.
User Rating: 1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6
Date: 27 Aug 2018
Summary:  Paid what we thought was a reasonable amount for our cruise only to find that for nealy £3000 we were in 'Anchor' this meant that our cabin was in the bowels of the ship and to change our evening meal time - we prefer the early sitting - we had to pay ! Also where there was a shuttle bus, only Anchor class had to pay. We knew we were sailing on a 'care home' cruise with most of the guests being well over retirement age, but where not happy they would get most of the window seats on days at sea to only fall asleep.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 04 May 2017
Summary:  This year March 18th 2017 for the first time, I booked a sailing ion Fred Olsens Braemer for two weeks for a Norway in the winter cruise. I had never travelled there and enchanted looked forward to this cruise. It was amazingly awe sinpiting. The ship is called a small ship, more intimate I a mother told than the larger ones. Amenities were wonderful, dining as expected, service was good, the staff were attentive when callled upon, and the entertainment enjoyable, its a spectacular event in its entirety and maintains a certain dignity whilst bringing together everyone from the captain and his hierarchy to each passenger on the ship. The weather was magnestisingky icy cold, the views wordlessly spectacular, it's amazing how an aaprray of mountains can be so magnificently beautiful in their ancient regal splendour , like a parade of giant monoliths stood firm in a changeable world. The ports were delightfully quaint and excursions hugely adventurous and unspeakably enjoyable. The stormy waters caused a delay at BODO and Tromso was bypassed but now I am reliably informed, I have very completed the arctic circle, travelled to the North Pole. Rough seas do little to less the ineffable sailing pleasure of cruising, and the onboard community by the end of each cruising are afmly acquainted with one another. A deliciously indulgent luxury I afford myself.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 20 Nov 2016
Summary:  Have just been on a mini cruise Southampton to Lisbon , enjoyed the experience very much, have cruised many times on the Olsen ships, and every time the crew, food and the service has been second to none. My brother himself a sea Captain decided on a cruise , he has been so impressed he cannot wait to book a longer cruise on the Braemar. Well done Fred.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 18 Jan 2016
Summary:  Looking forward to my next cruise to Caribbean in March 2017! My 5th time on this lovely Ship.
User Rating: 2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6
Date: 01 Aug 2015
Summary:  I am eighteen years old. If you are over the age of 60, you may actually read this as a six star review for the Braemar. I'll start by saying that without exception every single member of staff on board I encountered was very friendly and helpful. Food was delicious and there was a lot of it. All inclusive drinks package is incredibly good value for money. We cruise the Faroe Islands, Iceland and Norway, and enjoyed all seven ports very much. There was a lot to be enjoyed about the Braemar and it seemed everyone on board was having a great time, and I did thoroughly enjoy myself, as did my family. However, my parents (45), my brother (15) and I found that, frankly, this cruise was not targeted at us. The clientele for the Braemar, despite the fact it was a school holdiay, is very elderly. Of course that's fine, but it also means that everything onboard the Braemar is designed to suit the needs of it clientele, which of course is totally fair. It just means that if you are like my family (especially my brother and I), you may find some things on the Braemar frustrating. Firstly, breakfast finishes at 9 on port days and 9:30 on sea days. I'm sure that any of your teenage children (or grandchildren) will tell you that this is obscenely early for a holiday. If like me, you want to stay up until about 2 every night chatting and drinking, this is difficult to get up for. What is more annoying is that food is served only between certain hours. Lunch is at twelve, meaning thers is a 3 hour gap on some days where no food is available. Not ideal if you've missed breakfast. Secondly, although almost without exception everyone on board was very nice, as a teenager I struggled to make friends, simply because there wasn't really anyone my age. I always have made friends on holdiay, but was unable to on this one. I had a drink with some of the younger staff throughout the fortnight, such as a musician, the kids club staff etc, and that's about as far as I got. (They were lovely though.) So you, or your children, may struggle to make friends, simply because there aren't many candidates. Also, if I had made friends, thers would have been nowhere for us to go after about 12. I stayed up to watch the aforementioned musician pretty much every night. This will give you an idea of the average clientele. He literally had as many requests to turn his music down than he did for songs. By 12, the pub in which he played, and indeed seemingly the whole ship itself, had gone to bed, probably ready to get up for the obsenely early breakfasts sittings. Anyway, the thing with cruises is that even when they're "bad", they're incredible. I did have a great time, and if you and your young family want to see these parts of the world and the Braemar is your only option, I can assure you, you can make the best of it and have a brilliant holdiay. However, I personally can't see why a family like mine would chose the Braemar for a set of ports that a more family-orientated ship would cater for (such as the Canaries). And to reiterate, if you are elderly yourself, there is nothing at all wrong with this cruise.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 15 Jun 2015
Summary:  Excellent service and great staff. Thoroughly enjoyed our trip.

Book with Confidence

We are ATOL Holders and members of ABTA for your financial protection.


Price Match Guarantee
Search Cruises
Your Shortlist

You do not currently have any cruises in your shortlist.


What our customers say


"I think your company is exceptionally good at looking after the interest of passengers both before and after their holidays and your help has been very much appreciated. I have sung your praises to my friends and I hope this will lead to many more bookings for you including more from me."

Ethel
(March 2018)

"I just want to thank you for making the changes to our upcoming cruise. You have enabled us to achieve exactly what we wanted."

Michael
(January 2018)


Read more feedback