Balmoral
star star star star half star

Balmoral Reviews

View Cruise Deals
4.3
star star star star half star
Based on 104 reviews
Cabin
4.3
Service
4.3
Excursions
4.3
Dining
4.3
Activities
4.3
Value for money
4.3
Entertainment
4.3
star star star star no star

Ship clean as ever but is definately ready for it's refurb in December

Verified customer
1 cruise
12 Jun 2019
star star star star no star

German waterways cruise from Newcastle, good staff, good food, clean cabin 6005, bathroom clean but in need of refurbishment. very good entertainment. only negative was other passengers sitting on steps blocking stairway prior to disembarkation at Newcastle , despite being asked to wait in lounges where there were seats.

Verified customer
1 cruise
7 May 2019
star star star star star

5 * Couldn't of been better Just a shame the beds were single ones . We have already booked our next cruise Hope its as good asl the last one as its a secret one Staff were brilliant

Verified customer
1 cruise
7 May 2019
star star no star no star no star

Been on 2 other fred ships, this cruise was good & bad points, boring on sea days, not enough activities or things to do, ok for very older passengers, we have never had any bad cruises , we've always enjoyed them, but this cruise was like being in a care home , I'm not being rude or being insensitive but we've met all ages on cruises but this one was not my cup of tea, drinks package poor, food good, staff very friendly, I was so pleased on last day to be going home, never ever said that before, will be booking a cruise soon but will stay with p& o & marella cruises, so much more to see & do.

Verified customer
1 cruise
6 May 2019
star star star star no star

Had a lovely time on-board the Balmoral. We met friends on a previous cruise (on the Royal Caribbean) . We suggested they do a cruise with us on-board a Fred Olsen ship. This was our friends first cruise with Fred Olsen. We were very pleased that at the end of the cruise they said it is one their best cruises (they've done most properly 40 cruises with other cruise line). They would not hesitate to book with Fred Olsen again. Keep it up Fred. The food is as good as anywhere. Small intimate ships and the crew and staff most properly the BEST around

Verified customer
1 cruise
12 Apr 2019
star star star star no star

Just returned from 11 nights on Balmoral out second cruise on this ship.the staff were excellent food very good .our cabin was on deck 3 and very comfortable and very quiet .we thoroughly enjoyed the shows in the Neptune lounge .other fellow passengers were very friendly we made some lovely friends . We are in our early sixties so we did feel one of the younger ones .Will definitely cruise on Balmoral again .

Verified customer
1 cruise
4 Apr 2019
star star star star no star

A lovely ship, lovely crew and lovely itinerary. Unfortunately they did not keep to the schedule following an error in picking up a fishing net at sea requiring urgent repairs. Port stays were much shorter than originally advertised. A great cruise company, however, and the best value for money.

Verified customer
1 cruise
29 Mar 2019
star star star star no star

Ship and most of the crew excellent. The main dining room staff are not as good as they could be Food on the whole excellent.

Verified customer
1 cruise
12 Jan 2019
star star star star star

Have just returned from a Spain Portugal and Canaries cruise aboard the lovely Balmoral, Everything, was as we had expected, the food staff are all a credit to Fred Olsen.

Verified customer
1 cruise
9 Dec 2018
star no star no star no star no star

My first ever cruise was on board the Balmoral for 32 nights in October 2017 and I had a wonderful time. I have recently returned from a 2 week cruise on the same ship to the Canaries and Portugal and I was very disappointed. The cabin was very tired looking, in my opinion it needed a paint job and scrub down. The breakfast and lunches were very good, however the evening meals were no where near as good as they were last year. The entertainment was OK but nothing special. It didn't help that the 4 piece band who played in the Lido Bar were taken off the ship at a port of call for being drunk, and as a result, the last 4 nights of the cruise there was no live music in the Lido Bar, not even a DJ, just background Disco music. On the plus side, the staff were once again absolutely superb. A very disappointing cruise.

Verified customer
1 cruise
8 Dec 2018