Explorer of the Seas

Explorer of the Seas Reviews

View Cruise Deals
3.8
Based on 95 reviews
Cabin
3.8
Service
3.8
Excursions
3.7
Dining
3.8
Activities
3.8
Value for money
3.8
Entertainment
3.8

At check in they have 4 buffets empty and 3000 people hungry! After 4 requests to have our bed split they finally showed up and proceeded to take 1 bloodstain mattress pad from one bed and fold it and put it on the other bed we said NO! they went and got a clean one the bed I was on stunk so bad I didnt sleep it was the pillow and mattress pad they fixed the problem. The food sucked!! Dennys grade in the buffet! They do not know what a vegans eat, they lock up the soy milk so you have to track someone down to get the key so you can have coffee. 2 kinds of red wine both sucked. Bar service was horrible these people do not care. The 5th floor cigarette smoke everywhere and supposed to be non smoking expose to a lot of second hand smoke.The helps seemed very confused and un directed. The boat was beautiful and very clean.

Verified customer
1 cruise
24 May 2016

I have just been on this ship cruising from Dubai to Singapore and have to say what a disappointment it was. The entertainment was poor, the films were as old as the hills, the food was repetitive and lacked imagination. Everything had to be paid for, talk about a rip off, it was not worth the money at all. The trips were poor, the places we visited could have been better, in fact I wouldn't go on Royal Caribbean again if you paid me. Thomson are far better and a lot cheaper, it's a shame they don't visit far flung places. I wasn't the only one to say this either. We had to queue for 3 hours to get on the ship in Dubai, then we had to queue to be interviewed face to face by Indian immigration, so that we could spend a day and a half in India. What a waste of money. The cabins and balconies are a lot smaller than most ships. Never again.

Verified customer
1 cruise
10 Nov 2015

Enjoyed 2week cruise in September 2015. Inside cabins v.good, always spotless. Food great, huge choice in winemaker. Lovely table in Sapphire, the waiters were excellent especially Dionizio Rebello. Found difficulty finding seats often in bars and on Promenade deck. Not enough seating areas around ship. Would have been nice to have more films on deck in day instead of top gear! The destinations were good especially Madeira and Azores but Bilbao was a bit of a fiasco due to disembarkation. All the many staff were very pleasant and worked hard. Overall we had a good time but may choose one of the larger ships next time.

Verified customer
1 cruise
6 Oct 2015

Enjoyable 2 week cruise in September 2015. Inside cabins were v.good, always spotless. Food was great and huge choice in winemaker. Lovely table in Sapphire, the waiters were excellent especially Dionizio Rebello. Found difficulty finding seats often in bars and on Promenade deck. Not enough seating areas around ship. Would have been nice to have more films on deck in day instead of top gear!!!. The destinations were good especially Madeira and Azores but Bilbao was a bit of a fiasco due to disembarkation. All the many staff were very pleasant and worked hard. Overall we had a good time but may choose one of the larger ships next time.

Verified customer
1 cruise
6 Oct 2015

Just back from a 12 night cruise aboard the Explorer and one which I was not looking forward to after reading the reviews, well we had a great holiday, the ship is beautiful, clean and the entertainment was the best I have seen, I have been on a lot of cruises with the last 5 being with Royal Carribbean. The food was as always with RCI excellent as was the service, bbq on deck 3 times was great and my 19 year old Granddaughter had a ball in Dizzy's nightclub, us oldies quite enjoyed a little boogie too!! cant wait to go again.

Verified customer
1 cruise
7 Jul 2015

This ship has just been refurbished and looked very nice, staff were friendly and helpful. Food was good, entertainment excellent. Totally enjoyed our cruise to the Norwegian Fjords on this ship.

Verified customer
1 cruise
10 Jun 2015

Overall the ship was up to standard, Enjoyed the cruise as it was a rest period for my partner after hip operation I also had a one of walking problem so was resting most of the time and did not go to the theatre as too far to walk. Though not enough seating around the Promenade in poor weather conditions when unable to go on the upper deck. Winjammer was hectic at times coffee machines running out all the time and are located at the far end so had to walk the whole length of the Winjammer to get a cuppa. Glad we booked a late sitting for evening meal did not fancy My Time Dining even though we would rather eat at 18.30 like on other cruise lines. For the price we paid it is a 10 all round for this cruise really. No more rants.

Verified customer
1 cruise
8 Jun 2015

Apart from running out of 3 popular beers everything was perfect

Verified customer
1 cruise
6 Jun 2015

Excellent cruise. Excellent ship. Food outstanding and service excellent. Good entertainment, especially the ice show. Only negative was on children's activities. Also surf rider and rock climbing facility not available on this cruise. Due to weather on final sea day but not available whilst in port either. Swimming and hot tub great and drinks package recommended. Point re safety - photo shows railing. I consider my young granddaughter could have slipped through lower space between deck floor and first rail. Think it should be checked out.

Verified customer
1 cruise
6 Jun 2015

I have just been on this ship cruising from southampton to bruges and le havre on an all inclusive package. I have done about 10 cruises from cunard to thompson cruises this is far and away the worst cruise i have been on. Service on the ship was absolutely appalling you could not get a drink when you wanted one it appeared they had withdrawn staff to make it more difficult to get a drink. The food in the restaurant was really poor. when we got back we complained and we were told that they had had issues with staffing and gave us a refund. We had a really awful experience and would not recommend this ship to anyone

Verified customer
1 cruise
2 Jun 2015